We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic to say the least!”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in one of the Suites with my partner for 3 days .. Wonderful! The staff were all pleasant and eager to assist .. We felt at home.
We forgot our valuables in the safe though and the hotel organised to have them brought to us. Intact. Very nice of them!
Thank you all. . Will surely be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lillyane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,349 - 2,355 of 5,788 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at one of the 12 villas and had the best experience. The service was amazing, the food was exceptional and it was the best holiday. I would definitely recommend lux belle marre to anyone thinking of going to Mauritius island on holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Not a huge fan of resort hotels but for a day visit this hit a sweet spot!
Friendly staff and a pool/ beach to rival any! The food was good at Beach Rouge, and the great bonus of being on a day package is you don't have to look at the prices as it's all included ( even the SA champagne!) however if you do look at them it does remind you are in a five star resort in Mauritius ! Paradise doesn't come cheap. We came back for our last day of the holiday for more!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for two weeks from April into May 2014. The hotel is set in beautifully maintained gardens with a terrific beach. It's nicely appointed with some very nice touches, flowers, decorations etc. The rooms are comfortable with very good AC. The staff are terrific (many thanks to Deepak and Shiela). The food in the buffet restaurant, The Kitchen, is very nicely cooked and presented with masses of choice. We also ate in Senses which is a very special restaurant with high end food and table staff. So many thanks for all of those things.

So why not 5*? We had a few issues which in isolation are probably very minor but when added up make it hard to say yes this is a 5* resort.
1. We had to report a blocked shower drain 3 times before it was unblocked. We also had to wait for two hours for a maintenance man to arrive to investigate a water leak in the dressing room.
2. The sealant around the edges of the shower was showing signs of aging and was mouldy.
3. Noise.. The room we had,1017, suffered from noise from the guests above and outside. We seemed to have a constant stream of noisy people going past the door, sometimes quite late at night. The guests above had a small child that ran across the room from coming in to going out. The footsteps although not particularly loud became an irritant, especially late at night and early in the morning. We also had noise from the evening entertainment, usually finishing between 11:00 and 11:30 PM.
5. Paying for water at the dinner table.. We found that if we wanted water at the table we had to pay 160MUR for a 750 ml bottle. This is the equivalent of just over £3:00 (UK) or $5.3 (US).
6. Prices in general. This is an expensive hotel for anything additional to the board basis.
7. We had a bad dive experience with the hotel dive centre. On surfacing from the dive we found that the boat driver had gone to attend to a sick friend on a nearby pontoon. We discussed this with the dive guide and boat driver. We recieved an apology from all concerned.

So in conclusion, a good holiday at a nice hotel wit fantastic staff.. is it 5*? not in our opinion. To be properly 5* all of the elements have to come together and in the Lux* Belle Mare case they don't, which is unfortunate as the staff work really hard to get it there. We would rate it 4* plus.

Room Tip: Don't go during school holidays if you want a quiet holiday. Do have the ice cream at ICI, exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighamptonGroomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Highampton Groomy,

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! A sincere Thank you for your balanced and detailed review for us. You have listed the several positives of the resort including the beautiful landscaped gardens, the well appointed rooms and the friendliness and attentiveness of our team members. A big Thank you for the same. I have noted with concern some of the points mentioned by you for us to improve upon. The points mentioned by you in context with the reaction time of our maintenance team and the drain issue have been taken up and I assure you and all the readers of this forum that we immediately work upon and rectify such service issues immediately to ensure these are not repeated. I have also noted your concern about the pricing of various incidentals in the resort. I would like to assure you that our prices are very much in line with the standard pricing followed by similar hotels across Mauritius and we continually review our pricing. Thank you for also highlighting during your stay and through this forum the matter during your dive. The same has been addressed strongly with the dive school team and the contracting company and a similar incident will not be allowed to recur. I am glad you had an overall pleasant stay and you also enjoyed the food and beverage experiences on offer including Senses; our specialty restaurant! I have always believed that our team here makes this place and your mentioning of a couple of our STARS like Deepak and Sheila reinforces this. I do hope you plan a return visit in the future and we hope to welcome you here;

Sincerely,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Returning to LUX* Belle Mare this April was, in many ways, like returning home. On arrival, we were welcomed by familiar faces from the team; friends including the wonderful Nagessen and Sheila who led us to the buzzing Cafe LUX for a "check in" like no other whilst enjoying personalised coffee art at its best. After a long journey in from London via Dubai, it's good to be back!

Pravin, our delightful butler for the week, collects us in the super buggy and drives us to our home for the next few days. The delight on our nine year old's face as the stone key is turned and we are ushered into the "Kelly" Villa is pure joy. The excitement is simply too much as seconds later the private pool is christened with a big splash. The " Kelly Villa" (coined by the fact that the interior design of these villas is care of celebrated designer Kelly Hoppen) is everything you could wish for, light with modern furnishings and cosy sofas to snuggle up when the mood takes you. The Villa has a master bedroom, and a very spacious bathroom complete with the bespoke range of LUX amenities featuring exotic scents of the Islands where the LUX properties reside, which we adore. In the roomy lounge, an extra bed is set up for the boy and his special Dodo; a new addition to the family care of the hotel shop, and there's also an open plan dining area and separate kitchen. The bedroom and living room open out onto a beautifully landscaped courtyard with private pool, and views out to sea beyond. Every evening, Pravin prepares a selection of yummy canapés complemented by a glass of Popcap bubbles.

Once settled in, the scene was set for what was a truly blissful few days ahead of us. There really is so much that I could mention so have noted just a few highlights.

The F&B should certainly be noted. The breakfast buffet is incredible, for presentation, choice and quality, surely one of the best on the island. The service team are all so hospitable, particularly Manager Kris for whom nothing is too much trouble. There is a new addition to LUX Belle Mare in the past year " Beach Rouge", a true destination restaurant by the sea admirably led by Ramess, Rahul and their team. It is a very chic place, part restaurant part lounge where long lunches generally enjoyed with the accompaniment of the Scrucap Rose can easily turn into pre evening drinks looking straight out to sea from the comfort of the lounge area, another gem of a Kelly Hoppen addition. Come evening, the blue and white daytime colour scheme is replaced by a wash of rouge as a DJ set begins and the party vibe continues under the stars. Dishes not to be missed at Beach Rouge include swordfish carpaccio with passion fruit, seafood linguine and the baked chocolate cake - simply divine. Vincent the Chef makes his rounds and collects many deserved plaudits.

If you are looking for a little privacy, try to find the Secret Bar. We were lucky to be hosted here by the enthusiastic and creative GM Ashish Modak, where I discovered the joys of the Coco Rouge and where the Mungo mocktail was created, masterfully blended by award winning mixologist Yogesh.

LUX Belle Mare is perfect for families and couples alike. There is enough space and facilities for both not to feel on top of one another.

For children though, this must be paradise. The team look after them so well. Yes, there is a great kids club, a huge pool, a safe beach with an abundance of water sports to keep them happy but beyond this the detail that goes into hosting the little people is excellent. From a special message in a bottle for children, the treat of ICI ice cream (featuring some interesting flavours of which you would never have contemplated), to cupcake decorating, mocktail classes to special screenings at Screen on the Beach. Even the Easter bunny made it to Mauritus leaving chocolate eggs on Easter Sunday, who'd have thought he could hop that far.

The adults don't fare badly either, when you get a moment disappear to the spa for an indulgent treatment using the special LUX Me products created especially for LUX by Shirley Page. The therapists are skilled too, no half hearted rub down here, they get to the root of the problem and leave you feeling relaxed and replenished and ready to run around after an energetic nine year old again!

Thank you LUX Belle Mare, for the wonderful time and very special memories. We suspect that this is fast becoming the place to be in Mauritius and we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelliniBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare - your home here in Mauritius!

Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review. It is always so encouraging to get repeat guests like yourselves who impose faith in us year after year and then to read such wonderful reviews.You have highlighted the various features which make our resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects of the resort! Thank you for also listing the various team members who made a lasting impression on you. I strongly believe our team makes this resort what it is and I sincerely thank you for mentioning this across your review. I shall be personally complimenting all the team members mentioned by you. It was a pleasure for me to meet you at the Secret Bar and I am glad you liked the special creations of the very talented Yogesh. We genuinely believe our resort combines the best of all the essential elements to make a beach holiday special and your comment reinforces our belief.

We hope to see you back soon;

Sincerely,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is in a lovely location right on the longest sandy beach on the island. Food, staff, ammenities and rooms were top notch. Great for a relaxing holiday! if you intend to explore the island try your own personalised taxi service, its a fantastic way to learn from the locals!




  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Lara D,

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this beautiful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and that the team managed to create some golden memories for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have taken a winter break every year for the last 15 in pretty much all the likely destinations (Dubai, Maldives, Mexico, Dominican Republic, etc) and this was surely one the best hotels we have stayed at (at comparable prices/ categories). The service is extremely good, the staff is always smiling and going the extra smile to make the holiday a memorable one. Although we did not visit much of the island on this occasion, we were pleasantly surprised by how nice everyone was everywhere we went. This is not always the case in such touristy destinations in our experience. The hotel itself is beautiful and extremely well maintained. The recently redecorated rooms (LUX suites) are very nicely done and the housekeeping team is great. The food was excellent, particularly at the Beach restaurant. My only slight criticism foodwise is that the evening menu at the Beach restaurant is a bit limited (1/3 of lunchtime options) and that the Buffet is very much influenced by Indian cuisine regardless of the theme, which can be a bit tiring after several days (especially as the fine restaurant also serves indian food). The boat house offers a wide range of water sports for free, which is fantastic as normally these are only available at a huge cost. The kids club is definitely the best we have seen. We, and our friends, had 4 kids aged 4 to 11 and they were delighted with the activities and barely wanted to live the club. Thumbs up to the team! Finally we unfortunately tested the medical facility as one of us got a nasty cut on a coral while snorkeling which required several stitches. The doctor was there in a flash and the locally based nurse team did a wonderful follow up job. A big thanks to everyone at the LUX Belle Mare for a fantastic holiday. We will definitely be back (hopefully not at the infirmary)!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the redecorated LUX suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear JCR R,

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and experienced a great winter sun holidays. I thank you for the detailed and wonderfully written review of yours.I am glad you found us as a resort and Mauritius as a destination better than many other places visited by you and this truth is really important for all future travellers to know when deciding on a holiday destination. Thank you for also mentioning the friendliness and attentiveness of the team and the activities they run at the kids club.The resort lays a lot of importance on creating special moments for all of our guests by offering a wide choice of unique experiences and I am glad we stood up to your expectations. We hope to see you back soon and I am sure the next time around (though they are very well trained and equipped) there won't be any need to see the nurses or the doctors here;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,150 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,584 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,500 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £164 - £686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing