We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,386)
Filter reviews
6,386 results
Traveller rating
5,703
519
113
37
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,703
519
113
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck laundry food truck coffee bar rum shack mixe restaurant tea house ashish modak rolls royce kelly hoppen message in a bottle beach rouge restaurant ice cream parlour amari by vineet our honeymoon events manager special thanks junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
2,527 - 2,532 of 6,386 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Belle Mare for a couple of weeks in May 2014. It was a delight from start to finish. It was going to be our wedding anniversary while we were away and my wife had notified the hotel in advance and shortly after arrival we were contacted by Jennifer who arranged complimentary events for us to celebrate our anniversary including 45 minute massages, a cooking lesson with the hotel chef, a meal at a location of our choice with wine, a bottle of fizz in our room on arrival and more. Jennifer was extremely helpful during our stay and went out of her way to ensure all was well.
The food at the hotel was consistently good at the several restaurants. Senses was perhaps the best and there is a supplement to eat there but worth it for a couple of special meals. There was a fantastic choice of types of cuisine to suit all palates even at breakfast where there were always spicy dishes in addition to the less exotic. Always plenty of fruit, Asian, European etc and consistently high standard.
The staff were fantastic and cheerful and helpful. Special thanks to Dave in the main restaurant. He was unfailingly a delight and had remembered our names and eating and drinking preferences within 24 hours. Every other hotel should have a clone of Dave.
The hotel itself is beautiful. The beach is terrific and never a shortage of sun beds.
There is a management drinks evening every Wednesday and it was clear from talking to the managers that customer satisfaction and staff performance are a priority and the results show.
One of the highlights was the wardrobe that would materialise in the hotel grounds a few evenings a week. The wardrobe contained drinks at lower prices than the bar (drinks are fairly expensive). Another charming feature was the phone box in which you can make three minute free phone calls to friends and family. The complimentary toiletries in the hotel bathrooms were the nicest I have encountered in any hotel ever.
Features like these make this hotel outstanding. My wife and I have travelled quite a bit and have never written a review before so this hotel has inspired a reaction like none before.
Special thanks to Jennifer, Dave and Marina.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here mid-May for 10 nights and really liked the hotel. The beach is really nice, sunbeds are great, and generally the food was very good too. On a half-board deal we just had a late breakfast and dinner, with an ice-cream form the stand mid-afternoon.

The breakfast buffet was really very good. Everything from a fair imitation of an English breakfast to exotic fruit. There was a choice of four restaurants in the hotel - the buffet Kitchen (has the Indian buffet twice - just fantastic and an amazing choice, Senses (not included but great food), Beach Rouge (went twice, wasn't impressed, and whatever you do, don't have the confit of beef "burger" - not a burger and pretty revolting) and then... East. East was fantastic. I think we ate there 4 times, including the Indian Tapas night which was just fantastic.

The ice-cream stand and the coffee bar were really nice touches. The guys around the beach and pool were really helpful, and pretty much all of the staff were really nice and helpful.

Due to a BA "misunderstanding" we didn't get the room we were expecting, and it was one of the ones that hadn't been updated. Still pretty nice though.

Room Tip: Ask them if the rooms are the ones that have been updated. We were in a beach view room, which overlooked the pool, and it hadn't been updated as per the pics on the website.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank North_Beach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The setting, the food and the service were exceptional and the room was light,airy,quiet and relaxing.
This is a memorable hotel where nothing is too much trouble and it is provided in an efficient and unobtrusive manner.
It is well worth another visit

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

During mid June this year, we spent four nights at Lux Belle Mare and 5 nights at Lux le Morne. If you have itchy feet, this is the way to go.

Lux Belle Mare
Warm efficient reception. Our two year old son received his own toddler toiletries!
The food was always fresh and well presented.
Any issues were handled without question. The F&B manager took it upon himself to make sure that our son had his mac & cheese SA style.
The guest relations managers were around and always made sure that we were all happy.
Stunning beach and swimmable - bonus. Always clean and well tended.
The beach restaurant changes color from day to night - edgy and funky.
The staff were very attentive towards our son. He was a regular at the ice cream bar and they spoilt him with little extras. Not sure whose room number he gave as we did not see any charges for that : ).

A very special treat was the movie night on the beach. Comfy beanbags & blankets were laid out and popcorn was served. All under a beautiful moon.
We stayed in one of the renovated beach suites, a stone's throw from the beach. Gorgeous views of the ocean. The room was very spacious and even had an additional fridge. Very handy when you are traveling with a small child.
On top of it all, my husband won a beach breakfast for us at the hotel's father's day Petanque competition. The staff went out of their way to make it a memorable occasion for us.

Thank you Lux Belle Mare Team.

Lux Le Morne
This resort is situated on the South West side of the island. Initially, we had a few issues with our room (junior suite), but they were swiftly resolved and the assistant front office manager, Moonesh, went out of his way to ensure that we were taken care of. He upgraded us to a beach suite, as the hotel was not at capacity. It made all the difference and the rest of our stay was superb. Thank you Moonesh - you are a true hotelier.

I can only describe this beach as 'paradise'. One of the best beaches I have seen in Mauritius. The sunsets are picturesque, the water clear and the mountain vista makes it picture perfect.
We were spoilt with free pizza and cold towels on the beach each day. Our son, once again, had an endless supply of ice cream and treats. Some for which I have yet to see the bill : ).
Coconuts are plentiful and free. The waiters are just too happy to slice one open and present it with a beautiful decoration. A very nice touch.

On our 3rd day, we came across a 'message in a bottle'.
The Lux Group has these 'treats' at their hotels -
- an old fashioned phone booth from which guests can make free international calls
- movies on the beach
- 'message in a bottle' - gift vouchers in bottles hidden away all over the property
We were lucky enough to find the latter and were treated to an amazing three course private dinner on the beach.

Make use of the free snorkeling trips offered by the aqua centre - a must.

As with Belle Mare, we could not fault the food and service. Our son fell asleep every night before 7pm, resulting in us having many room service dinners. The meals were of high standard and we never felt like we were 'missing out'.

Kudos to the Team at Lux Le Morne.

On a different note -
I have been in the travel game for many years and admittedly, have an over-critcal eye when it comes to detail. My message to both hotel managers - keep an eye on the general maintenance. If that can be achieved, your properties will be 100% top class.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TMICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After 4 days in Dubai, where we started our honeymoon, we wanted a change of pace; a nice, relaxing environment where all our needs were catered for. The Lux* Belle Mere did not disappoint. Many hotels claim to be 5* but most do not have the full package. Not only are the facilities fantastic but the staff are beyond reproach. Each one of them went out of their way to ensure that you are having the time of your life.
We arrived to be greeted by a cold towel and a warm smile. We were taken (by golf cart) to our beach front villa by our personal butler, one of two allocated to us for our stay. The villa was 10x more than we ever expected, so much so it brought tears of happiness to my bride's eye. We were taken to the Beach Rouge restaurant which is a relaxed, chilled out establishment that reminded me of Cafe del Mar. The food was sublime, the service impeccable and the view amazing. Once dinner was finished, the music picked up and the cocktails flowed.
Each day was fantastic - breakfast brought to the villa each morning - Bean bags on the beach - fresh coffee, roasted on site - watersports inc water skiing - great gym - activities arranged daily (beach cinema, bike rides, cooking classes) - different top class entertainment each night - ice cream parlour. The list goes on!

I would like to extend a special thanks to Ashish, Antoine and Sheila in the management team; Pravind and Khem our butlers; and of course Stephan, Pascal and Maista. You all made our stay extra special. We can't wait to come back and see how on earth you have improved your hotel with the renovations.

Thanks again,
Darryl and Sarah

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Darryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews