We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Visited Lux in January with a family of 4 - incl two daughters aged 4 and 5. We booked the beachside suite which was superb, spacious, sporting a terrace with dining table, open garden access, loungers. Modern but natural decor, bright, high standard. Pool, bars, restaurants all excellent, with good variety. Excellent beach. Evening entertainment varied, one evening its jazzy French singer, then African style dance show etc. Diving, boat etc facilities one would expect. Overall, it ranked as one of our top resort visits and we decided to extend our stay by another week whilst there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Henri-xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,153 of 5,631 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks and went all-inclusive having never gone all-inclusive before. Our apprehension was in whether we were getting value for money and if the all-inclusive didn't include a lot of things like drinks and/or whether we were forced to eat at a buffet bar or not. Well, were we glad we chose to do this!! The package included all our drinks (to include cocktails and wine) as well as allowing us to eat a la carte in the 2 additional restaurants they have, one being Indian inspired and the other more oriental. Both were fantastic, from the fresh tasting and varied food, to the attentive staff that knew us by name on arrival. If you go here, I would recommend going all-inclusive for definite and has convinced us that this is the way to go on future holidays.
Now, onto the hotel. It really has thought of everything, from a fresh juice bar by the pool, to a fantastic coffee bar in the lobby. I even did my PADI here and had an amazing experience with the patient teachers there. Everyone in the hotel is so nice and you can tell that it is genuine and not contrived in any way.
My wife and I have previously always travelled planning our own itinerary and fitting in as much as possible, having never done a relaxing 'sun holiday'. This experience convinced us that actually, this is what two London finance professionals need on their annual leave!
We did not need to travel outside the hotel (as everything and I mean everything you could ever want is here) but we did venture out to the local shops one day. What we did see on walking back along the beach was that we had most definitely picked the best hotel within a 2 mile radius!
If you are hesitating on choosing a hotel to stay in Mauritius, look no further than here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If there is paradise on earth it is here!
We stayed at the hotel for a week, it was a wonderful experience.
When we checked in there were slight issues, however they were addressed beautifully by Raj and Ravi. The rooms were luxurious and so was the resort.
The food was fresh and Mr Mahabir the cook was more than helpful. The hotel property is well maintained and luxurious.
They resort has quite a few unique features such as their very own ice creams which have a wide range of flavors each of them mouthwatering, their free telephone booth, cafe lux serving delicious in house coffee.
The beach is peaceful and gorgeous, loved each moment spent their. One of the favorite evenings was the movie under the stars. They have movie screenings thrice a week which are an amazing experience.
The Beach Rouge restaurant was our favorite, the view, the food, the ambience they all together made it a wonderful experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank aparajitaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Belle Mare for a couple of weeks in May 2014. It was a delight from start to finish. It was going to be our wedding anniversary while we were away and my wife had notified the hotel in advance and shortly after arrival we were contacted by Jennifer who arranged complimentary events for us to celebrate our anniversary including 45 minute massages, a cooking lesson with the hotel chef, a meal at a location of our choice with wine, a bottle of fizz in our room on arrival and more. Jennifer was extremely helpful during our stay and went out of her way to ensure all was well.
The food at the hotel was consistently good at the several restaurants. Senses was perhaps the best and there is a supplement to eat there but worth it for a couple of special meals. There was a fantastic choice of types of cuisine to suit all palates even at breakfast where there were always spicy dishes in addition to the less exotic. Always plenty of fruit, Asian, European etc and consistently high standard.
The staff were fantastic and cheerful and helpful. Special thanks to Dave in the main restaurant. He was unfailingly a delight and had remembered our names and eating and drinking preferences within 24 hours. Every other hotel should have a clone of Dave.
The hotel itself is beautiful. The beach is terrific and never a shortage of sun beds.
There is a management drinks evening every Wednesday and it was clear from talking to the managers that customer satisfaction and staff performance are a priority and the results show.
One of the highlights was the wardrobe that would materialise in the hotel grounds a few evenings a week. The wardrobe contained drinks at lower prices than the bar (drinks are fairly expensive). Another charming feature was the phone box in which you can make three minute free phone calls to friends and family. The complimentary toiletries in the hotel bathrooms were the nicest I have encountered in any hotel ever.
Features like these make this hotel outstanding. My wife and I have travelled quite a bit and have never written a review before so this hotel has inspired a reaction like none before.
Special thanks to Jennifer, Dave and Marina.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here mid-May for 10 nights and really liked the hotel. The beach is really nice, sunbeds are great, and generally the food was very good too. On a half-board deal we just had a late breakfast and dinner, with an ice-cream form the stand mid-afternoon.

The breakfast buffet was really very good. Everything from a fair imitation of an English breakfast to exotic fruit. There was a choice of four restaurants in the hotel - the buffet Kitchen (has the Indian buffet twice - just fantastic and an amazing choice, Senses (not included but great food), Beach Rouge (went twice, wasn't impressed, and whatever you do, don't have the confit of beef "burger" - not a burger and pretty revolting) and then... East. East was fantastic. I think we ate there 4 times, including the Indian Tapas night which was just fantastic.

The ice-cream stand and the coffee bar were really nice touches. The guys around the beach and pool were really helpful, and pretty much all of the staff were really nice and helpful.

Due to a BA "misunderstanding" we didn't get the room we were expecting, and it was one of the ones that hadn't been updated. Still pretty nice though.

Room Tip: Ask them if the rooms are the ones that have been updated. We were in a beach view room, which overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank North_Beach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The setting, the food and the service were exceptional and the room was light,airy,quiet and relaxing.
This is a memorable hotel where nothing is too much trouble and it is provided in an efficient and unobtrusive manner.
It is well worth another visit

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

During mid June this year, we spent four nights at Lux Belle Mare and 5 nights at Lux le Morne. If you have itchy feet, this is the way to go.

Lux Belle Mare
Warm efficient reception. Our two year old son received his own toddler toiletries!
The food was always fresh and well presented.
Any issues were handled without question. The F&B manager took it upon himself to make sure that our son had his mac & cheese SA style.
The guest relations managers were around and always made sure that we were all happy.
Stunning beach and swimmable - bonus. Always clean and well tended.
The beach restaurant changes color from day to night - edgy and funky.
The staff were very attentive towards our son. He was a regular at the ice cream bar and they spoilt him with little extras. Not sure whose room number he gave as we did not see any charges for that : ).

A very special treat was the movie night on the beach. Comfy beanbags & blankets were laid out and popcorn was served. All under a beautiful moon.
We stayed in one of the renovated beach suites, a stone's throw from the beach. Gorgeous views of the ocean. The room was very spacious and even had an additional fridge. Very handy when you are traveling with a small child.
On top of it all, my husband won a beach breakfast for us at the hotel's father's day Petanque competition. The staff went out of their way to make it a memorable occasion for us.

Thank you Lux Belle Mare Team.

Lux Le Morne
This resort is situated on the South West side of the island. Initially, we had a few issues with our room (junior suite), but they were swiftly resolved and the assistant front office manager, Moonesh, went out of his way to ensure that we were taken care of. He upgraded us to a beach suite, as the hotel was not at capacity. It made all the difference and the rest of our stay was superb. Thank you Moonesh - you are a true hotelier.

I can only describe this beach as 'paradise'. One of the best beaches I have seen in Mauritius. The sunsets are picturesque, the water clear and the mountain vista makes it picture perfect.
We were spoilt with free pizza and cold towels on the beach each day. Our son, once again, had an endless supply of ice cream and treats. Some for which I have yet to see the bill : ).
Coconuts are plentiful and free. The waiters are just too happy to slice one open and present it with a beautiful decoration. A very nice touch.

On our 3rd day, we came across a 'message in a bottle'.
The Lux Group has these 'treats' at their hotels -
- an old fashioned phone booth from which guests can make free international calls
- movies on the beach
- 'message in a bottle' - gift vouchers in bottles hidden away all over the property
We were lucky enough to find the latter and were treated to an amazing three course private dinner on the beach.

Make use of the free snorkeling trips offered by the aqua centre - a must.

As with Belle Mare, we could not fault the food and service. Our son fell asleep every night before 7pm, resulting in us having many room service dinners. The meals were of high standard and we never felt like we were 'missing out'.

Kudos to the Team at Lux Le Morne.

On a different note -
I have been in the travel game for many years and admittedly, have an over-critcal eye when it comes to detail. My message to both hotel managers - keep an eye on the general maintenance. If that can be achieved, your properties will be 100% top class.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TMICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,016 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,548 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
15.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £234 - £1,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing