We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Just got round to writing a review for the Beau Rivage Hotel when I stayed there almost two years ago.
It has to be the best hotel I've stayed at, from the welcome drink to the last day it was everything you want from a holiday.

The promo video shows attentive waiters bringing you drinks and cleaning your sunglasses. Instead of good intentions, the waiters really are out on the beach at all hours. All the staff are friendly and attentive without being too intrusive.

We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites and was brilliant. It could have only been bettered if it was on the beach. Every evening, we received canapés and fizzy wine to the room.

The restaurants are were lovely and was well worth paying the supplement. A meal at Indochine Restaurant is unforgettable.

We hired an individual tour guide and car which was a great way to see more of the island. The capital city of Port Louis and the botanical gardens are well worth a visit but the sugar factory is little on the slow side. I wish had more time to see the rain forests.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuzzyfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,845
    414
    93
    34
    14
See reviews for
1,373
2,301
54
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW,scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had a brilliant time, The junior suites lovely are spacious but very dull needed improve all rooms and the toilet better without the door,everything was beautiful clean lovely candles were light at night time,the balcony lovely too looking out to the gardens, I like the pond,fish koi,birds and tropical flowers.the beach boys were very smart and helpful,the breakfast was amazing the chefs were very fast for making eggs on all kinds of poaching,boiling frying, omelettes and scrambles excellent food very fresh and the choice is very good, I am very fussy with food all the restaurants have a good taste my favorite was the le-mediterranean the waiteress looks after us the wine price are the same back home u.k. I really enjoyed the massage i feel relax the spa staff are proffessinal. Food and beverage manager lovely guy he can talk to us and he had time for us looks after us. First class hotel.we were surprised of the staff they were amazing because we are deaf.we will be back some time soon
I will be happy to answer any queries so do email.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALISTAIR-LYNDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

My wife and I booked the hotel in February as part of a business class travel package with “Emirates Holidays” and had a two week holiday in this fantastic hotel.
The pluses
The Hotel
1) Well designed buildings with a feeling of Luxury and a bit of a “Wow” factor. The rooms were spacious and clean. The public areas were airy and in harmony with the beautifully maintained and extensive gardens. The pool was large and never overcrowded and in common with the beach drinks and snacks were only a brief wave away.
2) The staff are the most pleasant and genuinely helpful that we have ever encountered. Whilst we were on holiday my wife was ill for two days. They arranged a doctor’s visit, the resident nurse rang every couple of hours to check on her and the restaurant staff prepared and delivered special food to the room. The hotel manager also sent a get well card and a selection of fruit.
3) The facilities, bars and restaurants were all excellent. The quality of food was first class. The main restaurant had theme evenings, Indian, Chinese, etc. and the quality evening entertainment reflected this theme.
4) We tried the spa for joint massage and the treatments were excellent and at reasonable rates
The flights
1) Business class flights both ways with “Emirates” including transfers, lounges, quality of food and the caring and cheerful service was virtually faultless, which gave a great start and finish to our holiday.
The Island
1) The Island and its people are warm and friendly
2) The weather was like a really pleasant summer day in the UK but with that extra bit of sunshine.
3) We hired a car for 12 days for £270.00 and there was plenty to see & do
The Minuses
The Hotel
1) Cost of drinks in the bars & restaurants were, even for a 5 star hotel a bit over the top (i.e. € 7.00 for a large beer, € 12.00 for a single Baileys)
2) Guests “reserving” sun beds around the pool. Most guests were from the UK so it was disappointing to see the adoption of this unreasonable habit pioneered by some of our European cousins.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday and can only thank the staff and management of the Beau Rivage and Emirates for their efforts which made this trip so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicandMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Plumpton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

We travelled to Beau Rivage on the 9th Sept 2009 for 14 nights.
Without going into great detail the hotel, staff, and food were superb.
We have travelled extensivley over the past 35 years to the Carribean, Americas and the
Indian Ocean including the Maldives and have never come across staff that were so helpful and wanted to please. It was a breath of fresh air.
Also a mention for the airline Emirates.
From collection at home, private transfers on the island, and transfer home marvellous.
Business Class via Dubai superb on all 4 flights.
We will visit the island and Beau Rivage again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midasvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

went to the beau rivage in September, absolutely wonderful, from the time we arrived to the time we left everything was fabulous.....on arriving we were treated like v.i.p., welcomed with drinks and wet towels, at the gate, escorted by 2 people to the lounge, reception came to us ( what a change from other hotels) when we were relaxing in the lounge area with a drink..........manager escorted us to our room (Junior suite) which was really nice, and only a step from the beach,,,The gardens are to die for with hammocks, palms trees beautiful cabanna's and pools with large gold fish...beach
wonderful white sand that streches for miles and blue see. Hotel configuration is 'spot-on' pool is magnificent with the bars and most of the restaurants overlooking...at night
it is really lovely........THe hotel its -self is so beautiful and all the staff are 6* star...so
wonderfully attired, well mannered, nothing too much trouble and above excellent with there service. in every department .( Special mention for the 'beach boys' and the medditerean beach restaurant....who looked after us so well each day.) Entertainment great, .............all the restaurants excellent... seems to be only one thing that most people complained about was the .........prices on drinks.......
maybe if you decide to go you should consider 'luxury experience' as we did.......found it was really worthwhile for us........need to read the package...too much on there for me to highlight.......however, worked for us........ spa - unbelievable, thought i'd died and gone to heaven.......... Would I go Back....IN A HEART BEAT !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather-beano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

The hotel is brilliant. I loved the property, the decor, gardens, the beach. The best thing is the service, which is simply outstanding and rarely to be found in Europe. Spa is very good too. Massage is fantastic as well as other treatments. They also have free yoga sessions two times a week.
Food is very fresh and the choice is excellent choice. There are four restaurants and I highly recommend IndoChine, which is an experience. The seafood restaurant is also very good as well as the buffets at the Rive Gauche restaurant. We especially liked Iniand and Asian nights.

When we came, the hotel was 40% full; when we were leaving it was 75% full. The main difference was felt at the beach. It was far too crowded, chairs next to each other. There was no privacy at the beach at all. This was the only downside.

Best season in terms of climate in the east coast is 1st October to 30th November. During our first two weeks of September, we had 3-4 days of mixed weather. Other days were fine, although it was always windy.

The best things to see: Iles aux Cerfes and Chamarel estate in the South, shop in Port Louis market - best prices. Do not buy at the beach and beware of taxi drivers and hired car drivers. They always drag you to the shops wherever they take you as they receive fees from these shops. I checked the prices at these shops and realized that I can do better during sale in Harrods. And I will know what I will be buying.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Nuys
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

The resort was amazing. The service, decor, restaurants, beach and activities was top notch.

We have raved on about this place since we left. We had dinner each night at the main restaurant and it was the best ever. On one occasion I wanted to have a lobster dinner and my wife is vegetarian so the chef prepared a special meal (identical looking but vegetarian substitutes) for my wife. It was very good service.

We both had Spa treatments and was well worth the money.

A great stay at a great hotel. We would love to return one day!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundance59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
4.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,290 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing