We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely AWESOME! Can't wait to return!”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely AWESOME! Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Everything about this hotel was excellent, we have been very fortunate to stay in top hotels across the world so we expect very high standards, but never have our expectations been met to such a consistent level over 2 weeks.

Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and the food was simply superb in every restaurant with exceptional service. We loved the fact that the main restaurant did a mix of buffets, gala dinner, a la carte set menus so that it wasn't buffet every night (like you get in all the main restaurants of hotels.) We loved the Discovery menu in Indochine and the lobster nights (two different menus) were exquisite.

The rooms were excellent and again I have never seen a hotel room cleaned to such a high standard - thanks Nitin!

The beach was awesome when the tide was in and out (unlike the Residence next door where the beach disappeared once the tide was in) and the sun loungers were extremely comfortable to lie on.

The spa was beautiful and very well run, gym had great brand new equipment and the facilities were excellent. I loved the aqua aerobics too!!!

The staff though are truly amazing and special thanks go to the following: Nitin, Selva, Ravi, Kris, Vick, Doorgha, Seghda, Dave, Martine, and Roopesh. Hoping I haven't missed anyone!!!

I would without hesitation say to anyone looking to stay in this area to stay at this hotel, we stayed at the Belle Mare Plage last time as my husband and I play golf and this hotel beats it hands down on every front.

We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelQueenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,589
    453
    100
    35
    14
See reviews for
1,638
2,688
70
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

The first thing that we noticed on arriving at Beau Rivage was that the hotel was not built in the traditional architecture for a usual hotel. The hotel is very spread out and it gives you a nice private and cosy feeling. The rooms were prepared tastefully with flowers and champagne for us.
Now to the specific points :
The breakfast and dinner (which were complimentary with our stay) were absolutely wonderful. The break fast spread was very sumptuous and we always looked forward to it !
The staff were very helpful with anything at all.Whenever we left our room in a disarray, someone arranged it so well that it felt good just to look at it for a while. Once we left our jewelery safe unlocked and someone locked it, reset the combination and left us a note to inquire at the reception for the code.
The hotel is very nature friendly and during break fast and meals, you would find sparrows and small local birds skipping around your tables(and you can even feed them crumbs)
In addition to that there were a lot of things you could do in the hotel even if you did not want to pay for them :) The gym, steam, sauna and jacuzzi at the spa, some activities at the beach...
To summarize, it is the perfect getaway for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday away!

  • Liked — The spread out feel of the hotel
  • Disliked — the expensive internet access
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rajatnigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The hotel itself is stylish & comfortable with excellent amenities.
The food is nice but not remotely Mauritian, likewise for the entertainment.
Even staying half/full board basis, you will have to pay extra to access the full a la carte menu unless you are happy to pick from a limited range of dishes.
There was no seafood dish unless you paid extra.
Two nights a week is self-service buffet. The Indian night was rubbish - no taste of curry whatsoever and the Asian/Chinese night was so-so.
5 Star service? Not what I was expecting.
Using the mini-bar will burn a sizeable hole in your pocket - a half-bottle of white French while will cost around £27!
The high-speed internet connection was good - the £25/hour charge wasn't.
We felt robbed - and by the look on other people's faces, we were not alone.
Not good enough for the money paid.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Just got round to writing a review for the Beau Rivage Hotel when I stayed there almost two years ago.
It has to be the best hotel I've stayed at, from the welcome drink to the last day it was everything you want from a holiday.

The promo video shows attentive waiters bringing you drinks and cleaning your sunglasses. Instead of good intentions, the waiters really are out on the beach at all hours. All the staff are friendly and attentive without being too intrusive.

We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites and was brilliant. It could have only been bettered if it was on the beach. Every evening, we received canapés and fizzy wine to the room.

The restaurants are were lovely and was well worth paying the supplement. A meal at Indochine Restaurant is unforgettable.

We hired an individual tour guide and car which was a great way to see more of the island. The capital city of Port Louis and the botanical gardens are well worth a visit but the sugar factory is little on the slow side. I wish had more time to see the rain forests.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuzzyfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW,scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had a brilliant time, The junior suites lovely are spacious but very dull needed improve all rooms and the toilet better without the door,everything was beautiful clean lovely candles were light at night time,the balcony lovely too looking out to the gardens, I like the pond,fish koi,birds and tropical flowers.the beach boys were very smart and helpful,the breakfast was amazing the chefs were very fast for making eggs on all kinds of poaching,boiling frying, omelettes and scrambles excellent food very fresh and the choice is very good, I am very fussy with food all the restaurants have a good taste my favorite was the le-mediterranean the waiteress looks after us the wine price are the same back home u.k. I really enjoyed the massage i feel relax the spa staff are proffessinal. Food and beverage manager lovely guy he can talk to us and he had time for us looks after us. First class hotel.we were surprised of the staff they were amazing because we are deaf.we will be back some time soon
I will be happy to answer any queries so do email.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALISTAIR-LYNDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2009

My wife and I booked the hotel in February as part of a business class travel package with “Emirates Holidays” and had a two week holiday in this fantastic hotel.
The pluses
The Hotel
1) Well designed buildings with a feeling of Luxury and a bit of a “Wow” factor. The rooms were spacious and clean. The public areas were airy and in harmony with the beautifully maintained and extensive gardens. The pool was large and never overcrowded and in common with the beach drinks and snacks were only a brief wave away.
2) The staff are the most pleasant and genuinely helpful that we have ever encountered. Whilst we were on holiday my wife was ill for two days. They arranged a doctor’s visit, the resident nurse rang every couple of hours to check on her and the restaurant staff prepared and delivered special food to the room. The hotel manager also sent a get well card and a selection of fruit.
3) The facilities, bars and restaurants were all excellent. The quality of food was first class. The main restaurant had theme evenings, Indian, Chinese, etc. and the quality evening entertainment reflected this theme.
4) We tried the spa for joint massage and the treatments were excellent and at reasonable rates
The flights
1) Business class flights both ways with “Emirates” including transfers, lounges, quality of food and the caring and cheerful service was virtually faultless, which gave a great start and finish to our holiday.
The Island
1) The Island and its people are warm and friendly
2) The weather was like a really pleasant summer day in the UK but with that extra bit of sunshine.
3) We hired a car for 12 days for £270.00 and there was plenty to see & do
The Minuses
The Hotel
1) Cost of drinks in the bars & restaurants were, even for a 5 star hotel a bit over the top (i.e. € 7.00 for a large beer, € 12.00 for a single Baileys)
2) Guests “reserving” sun beds around the pool. Most guests were from the UK so it was disappointing to see the adoption of this unreasonable habit pioneered by some of our European cousins.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday and can only thank the staff and management of the Beau Rivage and Emirates for their efforts which made this trip so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicandMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Plumpton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We travelled to Beau Rivage on the 9th Sept 2009 for 14 nights.
Without going into great detail the hotel, staff, and food were superb.
We have travelled extensivley over the past 35 years to the Carribean, Americas and the
Indian Ocean including the Maldives and have never come across staff that were so helpful and wanted to please. It was a breath of fresh air.
Also a mention for the airline Emirates.
From collection at home, private transfers on the island, and transfer home marvellous.
Business Class via Dubai superb on all 4 flights.
We will visit the island and Beau Rivage again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midasvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,712 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,289 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,588 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing