We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world, Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of this world, Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We have never experienced anything so amazing in our lives before and are saving all our pennies until we can go back again.
We would definately recommend this hotel, if you enjoy absolute luxury and indulgence (they wouldn't even let us pour our own wine from the bottle at our table)

P.S. another great thing about this hotel is their tipping policy of putting the tips in the box at reception at the end of or during your stay. I think this prevents over competative waiter staff and helps to maintain a consistency of service and ensures the tips get shared out evenly, (at least this was our understanding of it).

The beach was absolutely amazing as was the pool. The staff even polished your sunglasses on the beach for you.

One excursion we would highly recommend is the undersea walk, which was a short trip away at Le coco beach hotel.

We definately hope to return in the next few years again!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingingSarahCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,978
    423
    97
    34
    14
See reviews for
1,440
2,350
57
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

people delightful
food diabolical
rooms a bit tired
facilities ..some corners cut
very expensive for the money

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorrainesfavourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

We booked this holiday through Emirates Tours, so got the flight (BC) and hotel, transfers all in. We also took a meal package for full board which was approx. £80/90 per day/head. Given the my expectations I was very disappointed at the disproportionate number of courses subject to supplments in the order of 30 euros. Do not expect to eat a lot of seafood (i did, and was disappointed) - supplements with lobster, king prawns seabass etc. Drinks were also very expensive.
Watersports activities are all free which was great and the boat house was very well equiped. We scuba-dived quite a bit - not the best location for scuba (murky/no sea life).
All in all, I would recommend this hotel but only if you have a a high budget for the holiday and don't mind wasting a proportion of it on hidden extras, despite paying for 'full board'. Service was excellent at the beginning of the trip but, once moe guests arrived, it went severly down hill. Not bad, but not as you would expect of 5*.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momo741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

I stayed here many years ago and thought it was great. I read many reviews which said it was awful and felt compelled to right a review.
Although it is not very good value, the staff are very friendly and the beach and pool are great! The staff did little things which made the stay special.
At lunch the served mini pizzas by the pool, which was a lovely touch. The chefs and waiters were friendly and so were the water sport instructors. My family went fishing off the beach and we caught a fish, we took it to shore and the chef at the beach restaurant cooked it fresh for us!
The cleaning staff were really lovely and very polite. They were very chatty and did little things we didn't expect like cleaning our hair brushes! I think all of the staff were encouraged to be helpful, as if customers mentioned their names at the end of the stay, they could get a bonus.
The beaches were lovely and white, and the water was clear. The weather was great too, as you would expect it to be.
There were lots of food options so you could always find something you liked.
I loved it anyway, and if you are thinking of staying there, you should!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily-P_12-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks at this hotel, having travelled out with Emirates as a package deal. We had not read any Tripadvisor reviews prior to our booking, but we did read some reviews before we left for the holiday. We were therefore prepared for some of the 'downside' features mentioned in these reviews, which mainly concerned the expensive drinks.
We travelled business class with Emirates and cannot rate this airline highly enough. From the time we were picked up at our door to the time we stepped from the aircraft following the second leg of our journey, via Dubai, we were pampered to the nth degree. We cannot fault any feature of the total four 7 hour flights we had with Emirates. I have travelled business class all over the world and as far as I am concerned Emirates knocks most other airlines into a cocked hat. Food, service and efficiency were paramount.
The Beau Rivage hotel met all our expectations. The service was first rate and the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We stayed in a senior suite (The African Suite) and this proved ideal. Lots of room with a comfortable sitting room, bedroom and bathroom, all well furnished and well maintained.
We stayed on half board terms and hired a car to see something of the island. Although we hired the car for 10 days, we only used it on 5 days, although it was certainly worth while to see the island on those days that we did venture out. Driving on the island was no problem, except for the poor signposting, although at no time did we ever feel lost or unsafe. There are several worthwhile visits to locations all over the island.
The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of choice and we looked forward to this on each day, such was the variety of food available. Evening dinner was also a good standard, but the highlight for us was the Indochine restaurant. This served some of the best food I have had anywhere in the world and I congratulated the chef and his staff at the end of each of these meals - they were outstanding.
Alcohol was expensive, although some reasonably priced wines were available from the hotel wine list. Obviously an island that has no home grown wines will have to import wine and use temperature controlled facilities to keep it appropriately. These will inevitably bump up the cost. However, on our tour around the island we did see wine in supermarkets that was obviously cheaper than that available in the hotel. This is not unexpected and applies equally to the UK.
The hotel was set in beautiful grounds with very easy access to a stunning beach. The ambience was quiet, comfortable and tropical.
We will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank upavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

We went to the beau rivage in November on our honeymoon and stayed for 8 days.The physical hotel is amazing, the best laid out hotel we've ever been too. We read a lot of tripadvisor reviews before going and planned to spend on extra food (we were half board) and drink. Knowing this going in made it less annoying that you seemed to be charged for everything but it did seem rather cheap that they make you pay for water at dinner and try to push the more expensive wines on you. The beach and pool were amazing, never had any problem getting chairs, and we weren't harassed by too many vendors even when on the beach (they go away immediately if you're not interested). We did run into some service problems with the hotel that really just shouldn't occur at a hotel in this class. After the first night, we switched rooms from a 1st floor to second floor room which we preferred. The hotel said they would arrange the move and to stop by the front desk after breakfast the next day. We did so but the room still wasn't ready, they said stop by in the afternoon. At 1 PM, when we were swimming in the pool a hotel staff member came to us in the pool and told us we needed to come now to change rooms. We went back to our room to pull our stuff together when a porter arrived ready to check us out of the hotel. When we explained that we were just moving rooms, he took us to our next room where we surprised the housekeeping staff still cleaning our room. We were told to wait in the lobby until our room was ready. This lack of coordination was disappointing. Other issues include our friends providing us with free scuba lessons that the hotel could not schedule for a general time to be determined later, instead the hotel scheduled it for when it was convenient for them and called to wake us up for our scuba lesson on their most convenient day. As a side note, the scuba lesson is less of a lesson and more of a: give you some scuba gear and learn-by-doing, not particularly safe. The food at the resort was great, the breakfast buffet was fresh and had so many options. Most of the time, we didn't eat lunch but when we did, we split a dish and it wasn't too expensive. The variety of dinner selections was great, we ate at all four restaurants more than once. Even the buffets (indian and mauritian) were very good. It's definitely worth paying a little more for some dishes if it's something you really want, nothing was ever disappointing. We had our honeymoon dinner on the beach which was nice, though the food wasn't quite as good as that in the restaurants. Besides the instances discussed above, our perceptions of the service were still inconsistent. The staff are outwardly kind, they remember your name within the first day, but when it comes to ordering if you decide you don't want a drink one day by the pool or wine with dinner, the staff will make their displeasure known (not outwardly). Overall, there might be better hotels in mauritius, it's hard to tell. I don't think anyone can beat the quality and selection of food and the beautiful grounds and pool, but the service may be better elsewhere (I would expect it for the price), and they might not be as cheap as to charge for water. I would recommend this place for a honeymoon, not much of a nightlife so go elsewhere if that's what you like. It's quiet and a great place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ordc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Everything about this hotel was excellent, we have been very fortunate to stay in top hotels across the world so we expect very high standards, but never have our expectations been met to such a consistent level over 2 weeks.

Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and the food was simply superb in every restaurant with exceptional service. We loved the fact that the main restaurant did a mix of buffets, gala dinner, a la carte set menus so that it wasn't buffet every night (like you get in all the main restaurants of hotels.) We loved the Discovery menu in Indochine and the lobster nights (two different menus) were exquisite.

The rooms were excellent and again I have never seen a hotel room cleaned to such a high standard - thanks Nitin!

The beach was awesome when the tide was in and out (unlike the Residence next door where the beach disappeared once the tide was in) and the sun loungers were extremely comfortable to lie on.

The spa was beautiful and very well run, gym had great brand new equipment and the facilities were excellent. I loved the aqua aerobics too!!!

The staff though are truly amazing and special thanks go to the following: Nitin, Selva, Ravi, Kris, Vick, Doorgha, Seghda, Dave, Martine, and Roopesh. Hoping I haven't missed anyone!!!

I would without hesitation say to anyone looking to stay in this area to stay at this hotel, we stayed at the Belle Mare Plage last time as my husband and I play golf and this hotel beats it hands down on every front.

We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelQueenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,331 reviews
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travelbag and Agoda so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing