We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value with very few faults”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2011

It was our first time in Mauritius and this hotel delivered a fantastic holiday for our family (3 children under 11). More importantly the all-in price was very competitive so it was a high value offering. Choose it as the best value luxury hotel below the vastly more expensive Tousserouk & One & Only. The best aspects of the hotel include 1. the beach, probably the best stretch on the island and we spent hours in the sea..snorkelling was good for the children but lower your expectation if you have travelled around 2. the food - esp the seafood 3. clean and large sized rooms 4. decent non-intrusive shows in the evening 5. the high levels of service and most importantly 6. the Pure Discovery package. Do not go here unless you book & pay for the PD offer. It takes away all the hassle and pressure over deciding what to eat & drink (can I afford this or that) and what activities to choose. Basically it provides access to all restaurants and most food & drink (huge list of drinks) bar some minor supplements and throws in a long list of offers from massages to tennis to day trips. Top tips - 1. change much more cash than you think at the airport - it soon goes on tips, side trips (riding, waterfall trip) and souvenirs & it is costly to change it at the hotel 2. always tip a few quid in local currency cash to the staff for good service (rather than add it on the bill) - it goes a long way & transforms the relationship 3. check out Emirates as an alternative to BA and Air Mauritius. 4. do the day trips eg Ile de Coco, Dolphins and the waterfall - it is fun getting on speedboats and the like. Weather in Feb - yes a bit of wind and rain but we all have mega-tans. Bound to return before the children grow up further and yes the people are very kind in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWRCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,997 - 3,003 of 5,631 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

After our 12 hour flight from London we arrived tired and ready for the holiday, we were met on arrival at the Beau Rivage by welcoming happy staff, sat down on a comfy sofa and given a cool drink whilst the check in took place. We were then shown to our room where our luggage had been delivered to, this was the begining of one of the best holiday experiences we have had. The hotel is all Suites, with balconies which all have a view of the ocean. The room was beutifully looked after and we are still missing the flowers that were placed on the bed and towels every day. Golf was arranged on the nearby courses, which were fantastic. We chose the Pure Discovery Package, which included most food and drink, also a couple of treatments each in the Spa, which we found very inviting. The service was both attentive and very friendly, from the Senior Management down. We were looked after above and beyond the call of duty. There were 4 restaurants to chose from, all of a very high quality. We will be returning to the Beau Rivage and look forward to doing so in the near future.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah_T_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Our second visit to Beau Rivage was more than great. Service, location, food and staff is really good. We enjoyed 9 days at this beautiful hotel doing nothing but relaxing and enjoying life.

This hotel offers plenty of things to do. We enjoyed playing tennis in the afternoon and the great SPA with many different massage options. Make sure to get a Jet-lag massage when you arrive - this is amazing.

We just want to mention some of the staff members for giving great professional service at all levels. A special thanks to Roopesh, Vick and Amar at the Indochine Restaurant, these guys did all they could to make us feel welcome. Also a big thanks to Darun, bartender at Club Savanne, for making the best cocktails.

We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soendergaard2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We have recently returned from our honeymoon which consisted of 3 days in Singapore and a week in Mauritius. We stayed at Beau Rivage and could not have been happier with our experience.

When we arrived we were given a cold hand towel and refreshing lemongrass cocktail- the attention and detailed customer service followed through the entire week. All of the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and 5 in particular made such a difference to our stay. Our room attendant Sunita was a friendly girl always restoring our room to perfection! Ashvind in the Reve Guache restaurant chatted easily to us and was extremely lovely so much so we missed him when he had a couple of days off work! Ashwin worked in the bar and on the beach- he was a very nice to talk to you polishing our sunglasses and very efficient! Mickel and Vijay who work at the Monsoon bar were great fun and we enjoyed several nights and lunches chatting to them whilst they made a mean cocktail!

The quality of the restaurants at Beau Rivage was impressive- 4 evening restaurants which served such a variety of food, the Indian themed night at Reve Gauch was fabulous and the service in all the restaurants and bars always the best. Being on the all inclusive ‘Pure discovery’ package was great- we felt we had more than enough choice and enjoyed a lot of good food and drinks and the mini bar would miraculously replenish itself over the day!

There was so much included in our package that we did not have time to experience it all, we did take up the massage and facial each which was beautifully relaxing and we felt pampered and very happy. We went on the trip to the ‘Il de Deux Cocos’ which was well worth doing- the speed boat was great fun and we have a new found love of snorkelling! The staff on the Island were attentive and lovely to be around and the BBQ was out of this world – honestly the best prawns we have ever tasted! The cooking class with the Chef was brilliant and we plan to have ‘Mauritian night’ at home and re create the chicken curry- having a look around the kitchens was of particular interest to us and good to see what a 5* kitchen set up is. The entertainment was fun with some lovely singers and the Indian and African dancing- we did not feel bored at all over our stay!

3 of the 4 restaurant had a policy of no sandals or shorts for men which we were not aware of until we arrived so my husband had to buy another pair of trousers- perhaps this could be made a bit clearer on the website as my husband would normally wear tailored shorts- but shorts none the less. As it turned out he was able to wear to his dark smart jeans and we did notice that the policy did not seem to be strictly enforced.

We took a trip to Casala Park to go ‘walking with lions’ – this is one of the highlights of our honeymoon and a real once in a lifetime experience! We would recommend to anyone to do this excursion and enjoy the sights of Mauritius as you drive across the Island! Beau Rivage prepared a picnic for us as we were out for the day and we had a huge choice of delicious sandwiches and other goodies!

The facilities at Beau Rivage are the best, the pool just a beautiful large space and the beach so close. Everything is very clean and we even noticed staff sweeping the seaweed up to be buried!

Overall we feel we have had the honeymoon of a lifetime, the Mauritian people are 5* in themselves. We would love to return one day!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay6635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We had previously visited Mauritius 5 years ago and stayed on the west coast and it was our original intention to return there but circumstances prompted Beau Rivage and we were happy to book.
We had a Lagoon Suite and also took the Pure Discovery package (all-inclusive) and maybe we could have saved with a standard, and pay as you go, but as a main holiday, its nice not to worry about escalating room bills. Was it woth it? Well, having been before, during our 15 night stay, we only went out for 2 days spending the rest of the time on the beach or using the room's patio - it was on the ground floor. Mauritius is not opressively humid like the Carribean and with the hotel on the east coast, you do need to move around on the beach to benefit from full sun. But the beach itself,and its position is in my opinion, certainly the best in the area.
The room was faultless and well worth the extra - the only minor quibble is the minibar was missing gin, and the tonic bottles were slow in replacment! Our maid, Amrita, was superb and in the main restaurant, Brian, the head waiter was excellent. During our 2 weeks, we did not weary of the restaurant choice, or the menu variety. Yes, the main restaurant does have varied buffets 5 nights a week but you always have a choice. The IndoChine tasting menu is well worth it!
Evening entertainment, spa facilities and watersports are well up to what you would expect for a hotel of this class.
It is popular with the French and from what we saw, the weddings were quite spectacular.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve0756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I had gone to this hotel with my husband for my honeymoon. It was my best holiday ever. The hotel is absolutely brilliant. It has the biggest swimming pool in the whole of mauritius and a very nice and huge private beach. There are water sports organised by the hotel within the premises itself. The hotel also has 4 restaurants which serve delicious food, though you may find it a little difficult to get the right food if you are a vegetarian. The hotel spa has loads of services to offer and has a very well trained staff. The entire staff of the hotel is very helpful and courteous. All and all, the best you can get

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sethi_sakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Hotel is Superb.... I got a Lagoon Suite in the Hotel right in front of the Beach. Try to get that a Lagoon Suite Facing the Beach. The room i got was spectacular, Awesome view from my Bedroom, Jacuzzi, Balcony. The Service in the Hotel is excellant. The Beach is beautiful and clean as it is maintained by the hotel. The dinner menu in the hotel changes every day, like Italian cuisine, later day it will be french cuisine, indian cuisine.. so every day the the cuisine changes.... The hotel is five star and the people come here are very classy. I also visited 3 star hotel Pearl Beach and i can feel the difference of class of people from Beau Rivage and Pearl Beach.

Hotel has a nice range of Water Sports... dont miss Water Sking... it was included in my package.. also kayak, glasss bottom boat, etc. I enjoyed the Water Sking and the staff in Beau Rivage is Excellant.. They try to help you every possible way to make your trip successful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patilprasanna2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,016 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,548 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
15.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £234 - £1,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing