We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We first went to The Belle Mare Plage to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and have been returning each year since. The Belle Mare Plage sits in a beautiful bay excellent for the many water sports offered at the hotel. The Jr Suites are spacious, comfortable and stylish with an excellent bathroom/dressing room -- my favourite part is the large balcony with its comfortable sofa and chairs. The perfect place to relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day. Both golf courses are excellent and the staff knowledgeable and friendly- be sure to enter the weekly tournaments great fun and really sociable. This year’s Golf and Dine package was excellent and really encouraged you to linger after golf and over an excellent lunch or dinner. For us the very best place to dine is The Deer Hunter restaurant. The food ranges from excellent to spectacular and the half board menu really encourages you to try different foods. I cannot praise all the staff at the Deer Hunter highly enough. Each year we are welcomed back and made to feel very special particularly on our anniversary when a exceptional meal, wines and cake were created for us. I could reiterate all that previous guest have said in praise of The Belle Mare Plage its facilities and excellent management and staff but I think It says everything that we have already made our reservations for next May and our 45th anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
It is the loyalty of our guests and seeing them returning over years, or reading such inspiring comments as yours, that is one of the best rewards for our team.

After several visits, you indeed know many of our team members, the slopes on our beautiful green courses and as well how relaxing it can be to sit at the terrace with glass of vine, as you suggest, or perhaps a book, and unwind with the sea view.

The Deer Hunter team – waiters and chefs preparing the food that you enjoy so much, will be passed on your kind feedback. We are pleased to know that you have appreciated the special summer drink package we have implemented this season.

We can not thank you enough as well for such nice compliments and are looking forward to welcome you back next May for your next anniversary, more golf and more quiet moments with the Indian Ocean view.

Yours sincerely

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,344
    450
    122
    40
    22
See reviews for
841
1,594
50
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
De Panne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We visited the resort end May beginning of June and stayed for 10 nights. Superb hotel. Warm welcome. Very nice room, always well cleaned, magnificent view on the pool and the ocean, really a mgnificent surprise , although we had booked a standard 'superior room'. Very nice furniture in the room and also on the terrace (!). It is an overall characteristic that this hotel has very often clearly something more to offer, than one generally expects. Staff is extremely helpfull. Magnificent 2 km private beach, unique view, beach service perfect, waterline cleaned every evening for seaweeds. Great sports offer, laser sailing, kayak, catamaran, surfing, FOR FREE, always available. Small boat transfert to very beautifull snorkling spot, once again for free, twice a day ! Nice tennis courts and surprising mini golf.2 18 holes beyond imagination. We visited the SPA and gym almost daily. Again superb service , TV screens available, and personal trainers advising you on the very modern fitness instruments. We always ate in the buffet restuarant and were incredibly surprised by the Golf and Dine arrangement which was included in our stay (again much more that I had expected : each evening for 2 pax a bottle of wine, to be choosen from the wine list, a bottle of mineral water and a coffee : unbelievable!). They have a sister hotel some 15 km called Prince Maurice, and it is also free to visit and shuttleservice is available. A superb experience, superb hotel, superb service !

Room Tip: Top floor rooms : better view and less noice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
We are very grateful for this kind words and to see that you have enjoyed most of our facilities.

Constance Belle Mare Plage is bearing the slogan “Total resort experience” due to its many facilities and activities it has to offer and this seem to have been what has made your holiday a great one – our accommodation , 7 restaurants, 2 beautiful complimentary golf courses, beach and water connected activities, SPA, and then mini golf, bicycles, gym and tennis for those who wish to do something off the water and the golf greens.

This summer special drink package has been introduced as a response to listening to our guest reviews and is great to know that you found it good.

We thank you once again and hope to be able to welcome you back here , or any other Constance property, whenever you are in need of some beautiful natural settings, relax and 5 star facilities.

Yours sincerely

Barbara Elkaz
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

It was our first time at Mauritius and it was really wonderful time. We visited many countries and lived in different 5* hotels. So, we have a good experience to compare. Belle Mare Plage is one of the best place we have ever been. Everything was exellent! We enjoyed a blue ocean, restaurants, just walked at the area of hotel (the area is big and has very nicy landscape). We played golf, made snorkling, visited SPA center etc. Every evening we listened to the life music.
We lived in prestige room, had breathtaking ocean view from the big balcony. The room is very cozy and comfortable.
We hope to come back to celebrate our Tenth Wedding Anniversary next 2013 year!

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view are quieter. It is more comfortable to take room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladislavleva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Having such a positive comment from well experienced travellers who have visited many countries and thus many resorts as well, is a special compliment to us and our team.

Our 2 km long beach is known to be one of the most beautiful in Mauritius, and our team diligently works on providing all the other services and facilities which you have used and enjoed - golf, SPA, food, water activities and entertaiment.

We too sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back for your 10th wedding anniversary - Mauritius surely is a beautiful place where to celebrate it.

Yours sincerely

Barbara Elkaz
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Resort is beautiful. Rooms are nicely decorated. Staff very friendly. Food is average. Overall great place to stay. Glad we chose it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorhasanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
We thank you for positive review and for having chosen us to celebrate your special occasion.
There are many beautiful places around the world and we are honoured that it was exactly us and that you find our resort setting beautiful and service of our team friendly.

We regret to learn that you were not entirely plesaed with out food offer - our resort is known for its culinary spirit spread around in its 7 restaurants. We sincerely hope to be able to show it to you during your next stay - the location and food of some of them is well known and seeked for.

Once again, sincere thanks from the whole team for choosing us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back here or any other Constance properties.

Yours sincerely

Barbara Elkaz
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We visited again in April/ May for the third time and stayed for 16 nights. We found theGolf and Dine Package which we were presented with on arrival fabulous and a complete surprise as we were unaware of this. We took advantage of the free buggy on the Links and spent a lot more time socializing at the golf club than perhaps we normally would have. We introduced several other guests to the wonderful Blue Marlin which is a nice change from Pheonix. The golf courses were in excellent condition despite the rain.

The staff cannot do enough for you and go beyond the call of duty never mind what time of day or night. The staff at the Deer Hunter as always were superb. and even made us a anniverysary cake. We are hoping to spend next year there again for our 30th wedding anniversary. So see you there!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you like to be away from the main hotel and the pools stay in a Prestige Room down near the Presi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliMack_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

Congratulations once again to your 29th wedding anniversary.

Indeed it’s a pleasure to read your review and we would like to thank you for your time you have spent on sharing your experience with us.

We are happy to know that you were pleased with our Golf and Dine package and that you experienced it as an opportunity for more socializing and enjoying your time in our golf club houses. After a round of golf our guests appreciate the relaxed and casual atmosphere either at the Links, watching the sunset behind the mountains or on the Legends, over viewing the greens with our so often visiting Java deers.

Our staff are dedicated to serve our guests and to turn their expectations into memorable holiday experience. Therefore they go out of their way to satisfy our guests’ wishes.

Thank you once more for your feedback and be assured that we have forwarded your comments to all our team members.

We are definitely looking forward to welcome you again next year and we are pleased to get the opportunity to turn your 30th anniversary into another amazing memory for you.

With best regards from Mauritius
Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Overall very enjoyable, initially we were in a Prestige Room with a seafront view, very clean and presentable room; after one week we were upgraded to a juniour suite as we were celebrating our anniversay,again a great room with a massive balcony, however there was evidence of the room not being cleaned that well due to thick layers of dust on a glass shelf and skirting boards/ door.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly, Jack one of the beach front waiters could not be more helpful and really looked after us well,
Golf courses are fantastic.
The restaurants we ate at all offered very good food overall, but the nights that the Citronella restaurant offerd a Table D hote menu, the staff seemed unable to cope and serice was poor despite their best efforts, however the La Spiaggia was exceptional with its service and food and made us feel very special on our anniversay.
The birds in the restuarant in the mornings is an issue when trying to eat your breakfast and having to guard your food.
We were on the golf and dine package which was good value for money, however we felt the minibar and bar prices were expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
With our best wishes for your wedding anniversary we would like to thank you for your time, writing a review and sharing your experience during your stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall holiday in Mauritius and that you liked your room. As far as our occupancy rate allows, we are happy to treat our guests with special arrangements for their special occasions. We are sorry that the cleanliness of your room was not exceptional but please be assured that we have done the necessary with our Housekeeping team to ensure improvement.

It’s very kind of you to mention our dedicated staff who always make sure to provide satisfying service for a memorable holiday and we have already shared your feedback so that our team will be even more motivated to keep up our standards.

Our 2 golf courses are worldwide renown and fun to play for amateurs and professionals alike. For beginners, our Pro’s are pleased to give golf lessons in our Marc Farry Golf Academy. We hope that you got the chance to meet our beautiful Java deers which are living in the nature of our Legend Golf Course.

With pleasure we got to know that you had a precious experience in our La Spiaggia restaurant which is just situated on the edge of the beach and therefore the very location for romantic evenings. It’s our pleasure to provide a free candle light dinner to all our honeymoon and wedding anniversary guests.

We regret that you were not fully satisfied with our service during the special theme night “table d’hôte” in the La Citronnelle restaurant. Regular training is given to all our employees to steadily improve our service performance and your comment will be well considered for further training sessions.

Thank you also for your comment about the birds in our main restaurant. As mentioned in one of the previous reviews, Mauritius is a tropical island and usually the resorts have open restaurants. So do we, but we will do our utmost to resolve the inconveniences caused by the birds.

Our Golf & Dine package is well appreciated by our guests since it came to practice in April 2012. Guests booked on this package are granted free house wine and water during their half board/full board dinners in La Citronnelle and the Deer Hunter as well as a drink in the bars on our golf courses after golfing.

These packages means a benefit to our guests while minibar and bar prices are calculated in accordance to the benchmarking with our competitors. We always try to situate ourselves in the middle range.

We thank you once again for your genuine review and would be pleased to welcome you again in Constance Belle Mare Plage or in one of our sister properties.

With best regards
Bruno Le Gac
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Had a pleasant weekend at the Belle Mare Plage. Without doubt a beautiful property and located on a stunning beach. Food was the issue for me. Firstly the local birdlife like to share breakfast - even pecking off the scrambled egg spoon, in the bread baskets and out of the cereal containers. And the Chefs do not seem to care... amazing! It was really disgusting. Also, the buffet on an evening was slightly dull - no WOW factor at all. Boring, overstewed veggies. Unimaginative salads. Meat was OK - but not fab - as one would expect for the nightly rate. Dress code on an evening is random also (rules on long trousers) - depends who is on duty and who lets you in the Restaurants. Very annoying to say the least. All in all a nice place - but not 5* in food delivery or food hygiene. Still shivering about the birds all over the tables and serving areas...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brindle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Though we regret to know that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at our hotel, we would still like to thank you for your comments. Those are important to us in accordance to our culture of change and improvement.

We are sorry that you were not pleased with the quality and variety of food in our buffet restaurant La Citronnelle and you can rest assured that we have forwarded your feedback to our Executive Chef and his team. This review may inspire their creativity to deliver a higher variety and more imaginative food creations. As Mauritius is a tropical country, we have open restaurants throughout the resort. We still thank you for this comment and will surely do everything possible to minimize the bird disturbance but without interfering in the nature.

Regarding the evening dress code in our restaurants, we are sorry that you have experienced our requirements as randomly decided by our personnel. Indeed we appreciate our male guests wearing long trousers and closed shoes for dinner to create a 5* dining atmosphere.

We want you to know that your comments are appreciated and will definitely be considered in our daily operation procedures.

Once again, we regret that we did not meet your expectations to the fullest. Nevertheless we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you either in Belle Mare Plage again or in one of our other properties throughout the Indian Ocean.

With my personal regards
Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
13.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,329 reviews
13.7 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Property: Constance Belle Mare Plage
Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Destinology, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing