We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined the end of my vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ruined the end of my vacation”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I am actually writing the review from the hotel as I check-out tomorrow.

my wife and I came to the Constance Belle Mare Plage for 2 days, to end our tour of Mauritius and Seychelles. During the last 2 weeks, we stayed in Lux Belle Mare, Hilton Northolme in Seychelles and Constance Epheria in Seychelles as well.

I am so happy we did not stay more than 2 nights. This hotel almost ruined our vacation.

Where to start?
It took them 2 hours to get our room ready on check-in even though we arrived at 7 pm(normal check in is noon, no?). Noboday cared to show us around or tell us where is what.

the internet does not work at all, nor the wireless in the lounge nor the wired in the rooms ( I am now conntected via Blackberry). The room is terrible, small, no lights at all, and smells like rotten eggs (supposedly a prestige room)

The food is terrible, especially the dinner food in Citronelle the main buffet lounge. Cold and untasty, totally not worth spending a dime there. At breakfast, we had food from last night (Chef, the same "Soupe a la Chinoise" which you served yesterday, is not suitable to be served today as well). Birds were wandering between the guests and on the tables and the buffet and nobody cared to address that.

All prices are quoted without the 15% taxes which magically appears on the bill (which was not the case anywhere else we went especially not in Lux Belle Mare). Everything is more than expensive (72 euros per person for dinner, no water, no soft drinks and no alcohol???).

We tried the Shiseido spa. Total waste of time and money. We got charged for a full hour but actually got 38 minutes of treatment.

to top it all, i just asked them for a late checkout as my flight tomorrow is at 6 pm, they told me that i will be charged for ~45 Euros for every hour after 12. I have been in more thatn 70 hotels so far, and this is the first time i hear of an hourly charge for late check out. When i informed them of my disgust at this, the answer was " so i understand that you dont want a late checkout"... I re-explained my whole bad experience to the front manager and he didnt seem to care much.

to sum it up, not worth a penny. Will definitively be back to Mauritius but surely not to Constance Belle Mare. They dont even compare to the Lux Belle Mare, 5 minutes away.
Moreover, they dont even compare to any other Constance hotel we have been so far.

A total disgrace to the Constance brand name

Room Tip: " if you want to have some good time, then dont come to this hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tito m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, Rooms Division Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Constance Belle Mare Plage in some of its aspects, and we welcome your comments as they help us to improve our service.

As your stay was not reflective of the usual guest experience with us, we would be very happy to talk to you about it more. You can contact me directly by email at rdm@bellemareplagehotel.com.

Kind regards
Barbara Elkaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,491
    479
    129
    42
    22
See reviews for
904
1,678
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

It wasn't the perfect time to go to Mauritius due to the weather (clouy and windy) but we spent one wonderfull week in this hotel.

The few restaurant are really good, the beach is amazing, the swimming pool and the garden are always clean, the golf are really nice, the service is always perfect. the personnal have always a big smile and they can satisfy any request at any time.

We liked it and we will come back !

Just Few recommandation :
- The breakfast tea is really strong.
- The scrambled eggs on the breakfast were always cold and not really good...
- For the dinner, we can wait for a long time to get the bills.
- We have few call and visits every day in our room (Bar service, cleaning ladies twice, reception to check if everythings is ok) and it was quite disturbing some time.

Anyway, thank you for the service & your professionnalism !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, Resort Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
It is a pleasure to learn that you have so many aspects of your stay with us even if weather was perhaps not always at your side during the stay. Your kind comments about our team service will be passed on to everybody.

We find also your inputs very valuable and those will be shared with our kitchen and restaurant teams, so to enhance our service.

Once again we wish to thank you for the kind words and hope to have honor to welcome you back here or any other of our Constance resorts.

Bruno Le Gac
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We just returned from our 10 night honeymoon at BMP and cannot fault the hotel, especially all the staff who ensure that you are looked after well. As mentioned in other reviews, theres alot offree activities to do and the equipment is provided mostly. I do reconmend honeymooners to try the spa massage, very relaxing indeed. Location of the hotel is good, away from the town noises and has a picture perfect beach scenery. My wife and I are both vegetarians and the staff ensured that we were looked after.

Special thanks to Jean Claude (Sous Chef) for ensuring we got a stir fry of our choice made at dinner, and his lovely colleague Shamma who always wore a smile whenever we walked up to the oriental stir fry area. Special thanks to Shoobash for ensuring we were looked after at our tables at breakfast, lunch and ensured our wine glasses were topped up at dinner (always a bonus). Last but not least a thank you to Kevina who organised a lovely honeymoon surprise with a nice bottle of sparkling wine and swan decoration on the bed.

Good job to all the customer facing staff of BMP who ensured that we had the best holiday and a perfect honeymoon. Definitely would recommend and would visit other Constance resorts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhavski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, Rooms Division Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
It is my pleasure to firstly congratulate for your recent wedding and at the same time thank you for such a wonderful review. We know how important honeymoon trip is in everybody’s life hence is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed so much yours whilst staying with us.

All of your kind words will be passed on to our team members mentioned who will surely highly appreciate it.

We would be very pleased to have you celebrate with us your anniversary or perhaps in one of our beautiful resorts in Seychelles and Maldives.

Barbara Elkaz
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My boyfriend booked this hotel for 6 nights and we worried that we may have made a mistake in traveling so far (from the UK) for only 6 nights but we had an amazing time. The hotel has 2 huge golf courses and one night whilst dining in the Deer Hunter restaurant we were amazed to see a stag stroll across the green!
The hotel's private beach is idylic, soft white sand and turquoise sea. There are fice pools to choose from and the water features throughout the hotel give leave you feeling tranquil.
The rooms are very good but I would recommend paying a little extra for the junior suites as they give you a relaxing lounge area. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided if needed when beds were turned down again at night.
I had 2 spa treatments which were possibly the best I have had!
Drinks are rather expensive and we took the advice of other reviews and visited the village on bikes to buy drink and snacks there to take back.
The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make sure your requirements are met. Water skiing is free as are other trips, we went snorkeling too!
I love this holiday and will be recommending it to friends and using Constance hotels if I ever visit the Seychelles, the Maldives or Madagascar.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suites, have a massage and give the water skiing a go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
It is a great pleasure for us to know that your trip from very far away and indeed for not so many days has worked out in a great manner and that you are carrying such fond memories of staying at Constance Belle Mare Plage.

We are indeed very proud of our location, on one side having 2 km powder white beach and on the other endless hectare of beautiful golf courses. Our 700 team members work passionately in 7 restaurants, 5 bars and 2 Spa’s, in order to offer the variety and quality of services to all of our guests, you among them too.

It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back here or perhaps beautiful Maldives or Seychelles.

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

From the moment you arrive it is obvious you are somewhere special. The 12hr journey was soon a distant memory as our bags were quietly taken care of and we were given a warm personal welcome by a member of the hotel courtesy team. That was the theme for the next 15 days and we were truly sad to leave.

The location is stunning, quiet, secluded and simply beautiful. The beaches and swimming pools uncrowded and spotless. It is no exaggeration to say that the beach is literally raked every day to keep it even and clean e.g. seaweed removed.

We had 2 junior suites and each was spotless with everything you required. The rooms were very large with large balconies and huge bathrooms with dressing area. Rooms were cleaned twice a day and there were always housekeeping staff available should you require anything. I have travelled to circa 35 countries and nowhere has the service been this good.

I read a few reviews complaining about the price of food and drink and the prices quoted of £20 - £25 per lunch are accurate. However, kids are half price. I would also point out that the quality of food is excellent. The cost is simply on a par with what you would pay in a good restuarant in most capital cities. This is after all a 5* luxury resort.

There was a very broad mix of guests. From honeymooners to golfers, from families to elderly couples. No group dominated. It was refreshing to not hear one profanity in the 15 days we were there.

I could write pages on the dinner buffet. The range and quality was outstanding. In addition to the dozens of dishes available there are several chef stations where you can choose your ingredients and have them cooked in front of you. There were chef stations for salad, pasta, stir fry, fish and they would accomodate any special requests e.g. french fries for the children. One family had a child with a gluten intolerance and they told me how amazing the hotel were in accomodating this from the moment they arrived.

I would love to return to this resort every year for 2 weeks of tranquility and luxury. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are wonderful but pay extra for the larger junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, Rooms Division Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
We sincerely thank you for such a wonderful review and are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed this much your stay with us, from the arrival to the departure moment and in all of its aspects.

Our culinary team is made of over 100 dedicated chefs which make every day effort to produce the best quality and variety of food in any of our restaurants, buffet or a la carte, and indeed besides that take pride in accommodating any personal request.

As you, we would also love to have you back every year or whenever you feel you require some of relaxing and quality time with your family, here in Mauritius or perhaps Maldives, Seychelles or Madagascar.

Yours sincerely

Barbara Elkaz
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have just returned from two fabulous weeks at the Belle Mare Plage. We chose the resort as it came very highly recommended and it didn't disappoint. Our son aged 7 requires a strict gluten-free diet and the staff simply could not have done more to cater for his needs. They obtained a whole variety of gluten free products in advance as well as freshly baking him gluten free bread / cakes / pancakes every day. Needless to say they accomodated all of his meal requests perfectly and this alone made our holiday extremely relaxing. Special mention to Rajesh (Exec Sous Chef) who met us on arrival and assured us that everything would be perfect - he would see to it! He liaised with all Chefs / Management in the whole resort to ensure that everyone knew our requirements from day one. He would ralso egularly check in with us to ensure that everything was perfect (not OK...but perfect) ..many many thanks Rajesh...you are a true asset to the Constance Group. Our son was treated like a Prince and we had no reservations whatsoever that his food would be perfect every day. If you're Coeliac or have specific dietary requirements, look no further ! Of course our food was superb too...we prefer A la Carte dining hence ate mostly in the lovely Deer Hunter restaurant as well as trying the Spaggio and Indigo. Indian and Lobster nites both amazing ! Definitely worth the extra for the lobster...don't miss it ! My wife also loved the Sushi and many thanks to the Sushi chef for his superb food & service! The Citronelle is also a great restaurant...we only used it for dinner twice but this is no ordinary buffet....food is of a very high standard. All of the staff were great right through from the Resort Manager, Concierge staff etc to the Sun Butlers / room staff /waiting staff . The Bar staff were also brilliant regularly mixing up new cocktails for us and genuinely good company as well. Personally I felt the drink prices to be reasonable...it is after all a 5* resort and I regularly pay far more in basic pubs in London. We were half board with drinks package and it works very well...meals are of very decent proportions. If you wish to treat yourselves, pay extra and have a deluxe suite as we did. It is double the size with a completely seperate bedroom and a massive double balcony. We had a beach front location and also nice and peaceful. The outstanding thing here is the service...everyone knew and addressed us by our names througout the stay and nothing, and I mean nothing is too much trouble. I have stayed in many beautiful expensive resorts around the world but the BMP is right at the top of the list for service. Normally when one stays at a resort, one or two staff members stand out for their extra service but tat BMP, excellence is the norm, so many many thanks to all of you at BMP...you made it a truely memorable holiday and Dylan sends his love and thanks to all of you. We hope to return one day and I have no hesitation whatsoever is recommending this heavenly resort.

Room Tip: If you have children, treat yourself to a Deluxe Suite....extremely spacious with completely seperat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at this super hotel and in our opinions, it surely cant be bettered. We were greeted after a long tiring journey by Valeri, the very epitome of smiling , attentive Mauritian hospitality- she remembered our names and chatted to us many times throughout our stay. ALL staff in this lovely hotel are friendly , cant do enough for you and are genuinely pleased to chat and ensure you are enjoying your stay. We have not experienced this in many other hotels before!
The views, surrounding gardens, beach front were all stunning and maintanied by the industrious staff to the very highest level. Not a leaf out of place!
We stayed in a junior suite, which was serviced to an excellent standard by the attentive, friendly maid Reitha. She decorated the bed with flowers and amazing towel sculptures along with Nayat who provided a lovely turn down service each evening whilst we were at dinner. This was so touching and unexpected and added extra charm to our stay.
The activities are plentiful so our two older teenage boys found plenty to do, the boat house staff were there to see to everyones needs. I enjoyed a marvellous 90 minute Shiseido spa treatment which was a real treat, the girl who did this was just so considerate and friendly.
A real highlight for us was the food- we couldn't see how it could be bettered- anywhere! To say it had a Michelin star feel to it is not over exaggerating- the chefs obviously use the freshest ingredients and prepare everything to appeal to the eyes as well as the tastebuds! The meals we had on half board menus at the Deer hunter, Indigo and on the last night at newly refurbished La Spiaggia were out of this world. As a vegetarian I was catered for without anyone batting an eyelid, even with no notice they took it in their stride and I had the most lovely food. THANK you to Percy at the restaurants including La Spiaggia for sorting me with great veggie food and no pasta !!! Also Delores at breakfast and at Indigo for her sense of humour and fun- a fantastic waitress who we looked forward to seeing.
We moved to a villa for the second half of our stay- this was such a wonderful treat and surely the icing on an already marvellous cake- thank you to our friendly and fun villa master Sharma who attended to our every need and to Rajen for being so courteous, and wanting always to provide us with the best holiday ever. We certainly had it, and we will be back to this lovely hotel.
I cant think of anything that would improve it- in our opinion 6 stars are too few!

Room Tip: Try for beach facing on second floor, but all rooms seemed to offer good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGlass_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,239 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,553 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,428 reviews
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
17.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Property: Constance Belle Mare Plage
Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Destinology, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing