We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Simply the Best"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just back from a 12 night holiday at this resort hotel and we had a fabulous time, best holiday yet, weather was excellent.

Flight

We flew from Gatwick with BA no problems; online check-in avoids queuing, and makes it a lot quicker and less hassle which allows you to get on with your important shopping in the duty free shops. The long 12hr flight is tiring, but what awaits you at the other end is well worth it, and even more so when you arrive at your resort.

The Food

The quality and range - could not be faulted. We had breakfast, and dinner at La Citronelle, and lunch at La Kaze, which was mainly buffet style, no matter how extensive, there is something for everyone taste. Although this can get a little repetitive if you are staying a long-time, but we broke this up with using our package option, by using the other restaurants. What is a must is a visit to The Legends Restaurant where the food is fantastic, and you might see a herd of deer in the evening light pass quietly around the 18th green!

The Staff

Were proficient, courteous and attentive. The entire complex and the gardens were kept immaculately clean. The extensive staffs in all the restaurants, not forgetting the reception staff and buggy drivers - all were most helpful throughout our stay.

The Accommodation

You will not be disappointed in what you have arranged, we were meant to be in a Junior Suite Beach Front, but on arrival we were upgraded to a 2 Bed Beach Front Villa with Pool + a Butler which was more than what we expected. A special thank must go to the Villa Master Dilip who looked after us through out our stay.

The Golf

There are two golf course which are free to BMP, which includes golf carts at The Links and a small charge at The Legend. The Legend and The Links are outstanding, and you won't be disappointed, breath taking views, what ever your handicap happens to be it will test the best of your golfing skills. You will need to take plenty of golf balls, but you can replace any lost balls by purchasing from the many locals circulating round the golf courses for a reasonable price.

Excursions

There are plenty of things to do so it is well worth meeting with your Holiday Rep who will guide you through what is available, we went Quad biking and it was brilliant, and the scenery was spectacular.

Overall, an excellent holiday. We recommend (without prejudice!) Belle Mare Plage!

Room Tip: JS Beach Front Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

We are indeed very grateful for your visit and kind words.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the accommodation offered and the privacy of our villas.

At our resort we have team of around 100 passionate chefs, which constantly work on quality and variety of the food offer, and who will be glad to learn that you have enjoyed it.

Our golf courses are often mentioned to be among the best and most beautiful in the world, and are surely adding to the holiday experience .

We lastly thank you for such great feedback on our team - around 750 dedicated hospitality professionals who are here to look after our guests from arrival to the departure moment.

We thank you once again and look forward to welcome you back to Constance Belle Mare Plage or any other of our properties.

Yours sincerely

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,667 of 3,826 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the Belle Mare Plage to celebrate my husband's birthday and our anniversary. I really wanted to totally love the hotel after all the positive reviews I'd read, but felt it just didn't quite make the mark.

We had booked a junior suite, which was lovely - and in a quiet block, as we'd requested. The hotel laid on a late snack, which was very nice, given we only checked in at 23h00. The two room attendants, Catherine in particular, were attentive and kind. We thoroughly enjoyed the towel art and floral decorations.

The hotel was at full capacity throughout our stay, and this showed most in the main restaurant, La Citronelle, which serves half board guests breakfast and dinner. We were frequently left waiting to be seated, and on several occasions gave up and seated ourselves. The buffet dinners were also disappointing. As I am gluten intolerant and struggle with spicy food, this meant two of the four main meal serving stations were out of bounds for me - which left a choice of roast meats or south east asian cuisine every night for 12 nights. It is the first time I've ever had a problem finding food to suit my needs. Other hotels in Mauritius often vary their buffet evenings by having a different theme each night - and it's something the Belle Mare Plage should perhaps consider doing to relieve the often bland monotony of their buffet menu. We did eat twice at the Deer Hunter (a set menu is included in the half board package), and the first meal was wonderful, the second, not so much...Both food quality and service were lacking the second time round - a pity, as the first meal and service had been outstanding. Consistency is clearly something of a problem at the hotel in terms of both catering and service.

This latter point is further borne out by the lackluster beach service. While you are given flags to call a waiter's attention, it can take over a half and hour for the flag to be noticed - and then usually only when one starts waving the flag!

The hotel's spa is well worth a visit and I'd strongly recommend the ayurvedic massage. Both Melanee and Nila are wonderful therapists. I did, however, object to the experience of my final massage. First off, the massage given was a straightforward Swedish massage, when it should have been a massage working on the acupressure points. Secondly, while I was still partially slumbering on completion of the massage, the therapist adopted a "hard sell" approach, insisting that I should try a "candle massage". Not at all appropriate and not appreciated.

Finally, my observation is that the Belle Mare Plage is a hotel far better suited to golfers than those seeking a beach holiday. With two golf courses and access to two other courses, golfers are spoiled for choice. The beach, on the other hand is certainly not one of the best on the island. It should be borne in mind that the east coast is, for a start, windier and cooler than the west coast - and sea temperatures are also slighter lower. Additionally, the beach is long but quite narrow, shelves very steeply into the sea and is full of broken coral and patches of what appear to be regrowing coral on the shoreline. There is also quite a strong current and the water can get uncommonly choppy for a lagoon. The swimming area is restricted to the stretch of beach to the south of the property - the rest is open to speedboats and other craft. The best section of beach is pretty much in front of the main buildings of the hotel. Snorkeling is pretty much a non starter - again, I've experienced far better snorkeling on the west coast.

While I realise this review no doubt sounds critical - I would still say that the Belle Mare Plage is a lovely hotel and well worth a visit - particularly if you're a golfer. Ultimately, I think perhaps it simply wasn't the right hotel for us. And while comparisons are generally odious, unfortunately, we've had better stays elsewhere on Mauritius.

A final shout out to Barbara Elkaz, for standing us our final evening's drinks and giving us a copy of the Constance group's beautiful coffee table book. Thank you.

Room Tip: Junior sea facing suites in blocks 700 and 800 (in front of the spa) are quietest. Upper floors off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a family reunion in April 2013 at Belle Mare Plage; some from Egypt and some from England.we were pleasantly surprised on our arrival to have been upgraded to a 2 and 3 bedrooms villas when we only booked for 5 junior suites.
The villas were immaculate, spacious and well furnished and 24 hour butler service who were most obliging and very polite with fluent English and French.
The whole team of the hotel were very hospitable and obliging, charming and very polite;nothing was too much for them.Thank you again to Praveen, Nidish, Kailash and Aman who escorted us on a tour of the golf course which was breathtaking.

Room Tip: A villa is a good choice for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabreen E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

We thank to you for such positive feedback on your family recent holidays with us. We are glad that you have enjoed privacy and space of out villas and the service received by our team members. Please rest assured that it will be shared with the whole team as it is such reviews as yours that motivate us in daily work.

Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel thanks you again for choosing us for your holidays – we all look forward to welcoming you back, here or any other Constance Hotels.

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We visited Belle Mare Plage in April 2013. We booked a deluxe suite as were travelling with our 2 year old daughter. The room was amazing - we had a living room where we had the travel cot set up and in the bedroom there was a queen size bed and a huge round bath in the room. The balcony was double length compared to others with soft seating where we sat in the evening overlooking the sea and listened to the waves. We had contacted the hotel in advance to have a cot, milk, toddler toilet seat and step stool in the room. All were there when we got the room together with a little kids bath robe, slippers and a teddy bear. The room cleaning staff would always ask if we needed anything else for the room so thank you to Unoop, Jean-Noel and Gay. I found the bed extremely hard and by the 2nd night my back was in slight agony and i was lacking sleep so i rang Unoop and asked for a mattress topper which made a great difference.

We went on a "full board plus" basis which included all meals and drinks with meals. So at lunch we would have beers, a bottle of water and a soft drink for our daughter and at dinner we had a bottle of wine, bottle of water and soft drink. The breakfast buffet was huge with ample choice. The chefs at the egg station will make them however you want with whatever you want in them. Lunch was at La Kaze restaurant which overlooks the sea with a beautiful view. Plenty of fresh food where they would make dishes on request plus the standard buffet items such as chips and pizza.

In our package we had a choice of the buffet restaurant La Citronelle which where they also serve breakfast or the Deer Hunter. The buffet restaurant again had ample choice with a mauritian/indian, rotisserie, asian, pasta/pasta section. Large salad choices if thats your thing. You have to book the Deer Hunter restaurant in advance. We went there 3 times. We saw deer on 2 occasions and on one night we celebrated my birthday. They had made a cake for me and the pianist played the happy birthday song whilst my daughter blew out the candles. Def worth the visit. You have a 950rupee credit at the other restaurants but we didn't bother as there was so much selection at buffet and it never seemed too busy. The dessert selection is quite something with a wide variety available each evening plus some lovely fresh fruit and delicious ice creams (their vanilla is the best i've tasted).

The staff are very attentive and friendly. Before you have finished asking for something, another waiter is already bringing it. At La Kaze, two members of staff were exceptional - Budhoo and Subhash. They always went out of their way and our daughter even took to calling one of them uncle Budhoo. He couldn't have done more to be more hospitable.

Unfortunately our daughter refused to go on the beach, so we stuck to the pools. There are 3 main pools to choose from. We spent time by each pool throughout the day. The pool which is by the bar is not really used and is more for aesthetics.

We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar. Drinks are not too expensive with cocktails ranging between 260 - 360 rupees, beer is about 340 and rose wine is 260.

There is a kids club "Kakoo club" where you can let your kids play but if they are over 4 or potty trained. We took our daughter there to play on the swings and play with their toys.

We did the glass bottom boat trip which takes you out to the coral reef to see the different sea life.

I had a 45 minute back massage in the spa as a birthday treat. They gave a free 45 minute scalp massage. The back massage itself was very good.

The few downsides was the following:
1) as our flight was arriving to Mauritius at 5:30am, we were told that we wouldn't be able to check in until the afternoon, so we had to book the room for an additional night so that when we got to the airport we could check in straight away because our 2 year old daughter would have been extremely tired after the 12 hour flight. However, upon arrival, we were taken to the bar to wait whilst they checked us in. We had to wait for about an hour as they had to clean the room and it was not ready. One would have expected to have been able to go to the room given that we paid a lot of money for the extra night specifically for that purpose.. It did not give me a great first impression.

2) service at the bar was mixed. Sometimes it was good but then others it was lacking.

3) baby changing facilities are lacking in the main areas of the resort.

I would suggest booking on the full board plus basis and definitely not half board as the cost of the lunches otherwise does not warrant the prices that are charged.

But on the whole, I would definitely recommend BelleMare Plage and had a very relaxing time. Most of the staff ensure that they know your name which is a good touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

We thank to you and your family for kind and positive feedback on your recent holidays with us and on the service received by our team members. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you were satisfied not only with the solution offered on the arrival, but also in general with the whole setting of the resort and the services throughout your stay.

The way in which our “smaller” guest spend their holidays is very important to us and of course to you as parents thus we are pleased to enjoy they enjoyed our Kakoo Club.

Your feedback on the arrival experience, bar service and baby changing facilities have been of value and shared with our team .

Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel thanks you again for the kind words looks forward to welcoming you back, here or any other Constance Hotels.

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Playing Golf in Heaven
We revisited Belle Mare Plage and found it to be still magical, a heaven on earth. Again we could not find any faults with BMP.
For us the best part was playing golf. Both the courses are beautifully kept, even better than we were there last time. Staff were very charming and polite. Sebatian Pilot, the Golf Director and the Golf Professional was very helpful , clearly Sebastian has set a very high standard in managing his staff and has excelled in providing 1st class service to his guests. Our heartfelt thanks to him for making it a very memorable time for us at Belle Mare. The Legend has a lot of beautiful features with water, some with beautiful tropical lilies and other exotic flowers which my wife loved and I also liked the Links golf course which I found very challenging. Greens were very fast and true, the fairways were like velvety carpets. Playing on these courses was wonderful. Also on the 6th Hole and 13th Hole, on the Legend we saw a lot of deer, what an awesome sight. We really enjoyed playing there and are already planning to go there again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rafdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

We are indeed very grateful for your return visit and kind words.

It is a pleasure to know that you have yet again enjoyed your holiday with us, specially the beauty and service at out well known golf courses. Your compliments will be shared with Sebastian Pilot, our Golf Director, and his decicatd and passionate team.

We sincerely thank you for such positive response after your repeated visit, and are looking forward to the next one.

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Thank you to everyone at Constance belle mare plage we had an amazing time. The quality of food was excellent the rooms/ suites perfect. Loved our golf particularly on the links ( guys the legend maintenance is not ' on par' with the links). The standards throughout the resort are 1st Class and the attention to detail on service is wonderful. Special thanks to ghitto ( sorry if I got the spelling wrong) asst manager from the front desk your communication and follow up made our third visit in 3 years the best yet. We upgraded to a villa for the last 3 nights and they really have the wow factor. Special call out to la Spaggia team your food and service is world class to remember a food allergy amongst our family without being reminded blew us away. Thank you all at BMP we hope to be back many many more times

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jadehana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

It is a pleasure to know that you have yet again enjoyed your holiday with us, golfing and dining moment and the service of our dedicated team.

Your compliments for the mentioned team members will be shared with Mr Guito Simiette , our Assistant Front Office Manager and the Spiaggia team.

We sincerely thank you for such positive response after your 3rd visit with us and as you, are looking forward to the 4th one, too.

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

It is rare to find a hotel where there is simply nothing to criticise! But this has been our experience at the a Belle Mare Plage.
Arranged through Trailfinders, we had an excellent driver to take us from the airport to the hotel. Reception were waiting for us for the swiftest, most welcoming check-in ever,
Room superb, and air-com set at the perfect temperature.
Buffet restaurant offered a wide variety if foods - French, Indian, Mediterranean, all beautifully cooked and presented. Staff could not be more friendly or helpful.
5 stars all round!
Mauritius is no further than the Caribbean, but SO much more welcoming, and the people so much more approachable and friendly, with excellent English. Look no further for your ideal next holiday!
And no, I don't work for the hotel and I'm not on commission: just overwhelmed by the place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

We thank to you for such positive feedback on your recent holidays with us and on the service received by our team members. Please rest assured that it will be shared with the whole team as it is such reviews as yours that motivate us in daily work.

Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel thanks you again for choosing us for your holidays – we all look forward to welcoming you back, here or any other Constance Hotels.

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,405 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,085 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,887 reviews
33 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £181 - £918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing