We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a perfect place to escape from your everyday life and relax. The resort has a very hig standard of design and beauty. Every detail seems to be considered. We had a marvellous time.

The rooms are of good standard and the cleaning is both frequent and thourough. The prestige rooms are all located directly towards the sea and spacious enough. Only problem was a noisy aircondition blowing the air directly at the headside of the beds.

We mostly ate at the buffet restaurant la Citronelle. The food was ok, but not in any way fabulous. After a while you get to know the dishes. The fresh fish was always an alternative and the omelette for breakfast. The service was good, even if there was a decline in the service after the holidays. It is not Four Seasons or Shangri-la level of service, but good enough. Best service at the Bar and la Kaze restaurant.

The beach is good and frequently cleaned. It is not however the paradise beach of your dreams with the green/turqouise water that you find further south, probably because of the windy conditions on this side of the island. No sharks or jelly-fish or other nastys in the water though.

Most people that visit this hotel are probably golfers, since the hotel has the two best courses on the island. For others there are plenty of other acitivities. Both SPA and gym were excellent. Also very good water-sports.

We really liked "The Bar". Cosy and relaxing and with just the right level of entertainment and music. Especially since we had the cyclone Bejisa visiting for a few days, this became our living room.

Other info: No mosquitos. No other bugs. No criminality. No diseases. High prices for food and drinks. Many russians. And dont miss the boat trip going south. Absolutely amazing.

We would like to mention a few of the staff that really "walked the extra mile" for the guests: Deepak in la Kaze, Alexandre in th Bar and of course Mr Vincent.

Room Tip: The prestige rooms are all located towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scaniahelsingb0rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 3,881 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

An excellent hotel with really good staff that was very service minded and arranged everything to our satisfaction. The two neighboring golf courses were of very high standard and were easy to get access to.
The hotel has a lot of nice restaurants with a great variety of food, as we were travelling the whole family including small grandchildren the buffet dinner is an excellent choice.
Being a large group of people 17, the personal really tried to give us good seating together. Also the pool bar was appreciated by our sons spending a lot of time there.
The easy access to both bathing in the sea and in the many swimming pools is also a great advantage; the service at the beach was also of high quality.
I can therefor strongly recommend a stay at the Belle Mare Plage.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor is excellent for people travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We recently had the privilege of staying at this incredible resort . We spent 2 wonderful weeks in the most beautiful of settings , with unbelievable food, service and accommodation . We had beach front rooms on the ground floor with the beach being just a few metres away . The extent to which the hotel catered for in terms of food and entertainment on a daily basis was superb . The new year celebrations were beyond expectations . I highly recommend this resort for anybody searching for a break in paradise .

Room Tip: Every room has a sea view . I would be happy to stay in any room . Obviously beach front is most sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great resort on a wonderful beach. Food was above average, about right for a 4 star resort, pools were really good. lots of activities available and tours etc. Hotel is modern and spacious with extremely friendly staff. Good service all round. The beach is the highlight of the place, and worth visiting the resort for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a superb hotel and probably the best hotel we've visited on the island to date. Despite the hotels size, you never feel that the hotel is crowded. With 5+restaurants, 4+ pools and superb bathing, what more could one want.
Hotel is very pram and kid friendly, with a fantastic kiddies club.
Hotel is modern with all rooms sea facing. We had a ground floor sea facing room, which not only overlooked the ocean, but was modern and next to the pool.
The sea by this hotel is fantastic for swimming, and not like the typical lagoons and shallow beaches of the other resorts. Service at the hotel is with a smile.
The buffet in the main restaurant is really large and there is no lack of variety or choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just arrived back home from this "rip-off"- vacation !! My family (3 pers in a junior suite , 11 nights) spent christmas and new year at the Belle Mare who claims to be a 5 star hotel . It is really a 3,5--4 star hotel ! The service is extremely slow. If raining the facilities for indoor eating is lousy.The staff are well rehearsed but very low educated. The worst I think was what they served at the buffet over these holidays--nothing extra though the price was very much extra (high) !!
For example , on new years eve we paid supplementary for just the food 5500 rupees/person in "the fine" restaurant for a nice but not such a special dinner! Compare this price to any good restaurant in europe.........So if you wanted to avoid the buffet and have some better food the extras you had to pay was a "rip-off" !!
The staff handling waterskiing had a 2 hour lunch break (12--14) when we the clients wanted to ski--who´s on vacation ?? We have been to Paradise hotel on the south tip of the island and could recommend it though its 20--25 % more expensive but its worth every rupee.

Room Tip: Do not go there !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for having taken the time to write on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at our resort.

I am particularly sad to learn from your comments after that you have left our hotel, that you encountered service issues and also that the dinner of the 31st was not to your convenience.

I may understand your opinion on each and every point raised, but I must say it again, that sadly our team were not given the chance to rectify things whilst you were still at the resort. All our efforts are for our guests' well-being and you will agree with me that though tastes and opinions are different, we can still come to term when things are put on the table right away.

I trust that you have received our feedback from your Tour Operator as we would very much like to welcome you again at our resort.

I look forward to the pleasure and honor of welcoming you at our resort on a next trip to Mauritius.

With sincere regards


Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was our second visit to the Belle Mare Plage, having been there in 2009.
We thought the hotel 'out of this world' then and although still impressive, there was little sign of further development in the intervening five years. Lots to do if you like golf, water sports or tennis
We had a top floor junior suite which was large and had a nicely furnished balcony with thatched roof. The bathroom was in need of updating. Service was superb with friendly, hard working staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Golf excellent on both courses although Legend is our favourite. Local caddies very knowledgeable and helpful. There were not as many English people staying at the hotel as last time and the golf courses were relatively quiet.
Beach excellent and always plenty of sun beds available at any time of the day.
We ate mostly in the Citronelle restaurant which has a wide variety of buffet food, freshly cooked and catering for all tastes. Service in the Deer Hunter was quite slow and the food was not quite as good as we remembered. The wine is ridiculously expensive but the same in all hotels in Mauritius.
All in all a great holiday - Mauritius is the best holiday destination we have visited (and we are well travelled). There is much more competition now on the island in terms of top class hotels and I hope the Belle Mare Plage hotel stays ahead of the game.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Junior suites are much bigger than Prestige rooms and well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for fantastic review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reading through your comments make us feel very proud working for this resort and I am particularly glad to read that my associates are committed to genuinely make our guests enjoy magical moments.

We are also delighted that you have brought with you the memories of great facilities and experiences. We are very delighted to mark the difference and will keep our promises to stay ahead of the game.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Constance Belle Mare Plage for some more exciting adventures.

Warmest regards,

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,427 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,146 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,665 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,583 reviews
13.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £177 - £641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing