We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Nearby Hotels
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$269
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$835
US$395
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)
US$168
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$427
US$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$570
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
US$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (3,993)
Filter reviews
3,993 results
Traveller rating
3,224
545
150
46
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,224
545
150
46
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeer hunterblue pennyla citronelleprestige roomcrystal packagegolf courses arelinks coursevilla masterlegend golfgreat golfdeerhunter restaurantgolf staffsohan singhplay golfhalf boardprince mauriceour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,006 - 2,011 of 3,993 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Firstly may i just say that this review is my opinion only!

My girlfriend and i stayed at the Constance Belle Mare Plage for 2 weeks at the beginning of september this year. I must say, my initial reaction of mauritius was that is not what i expected at all. It s a very poor country< i suppose you dont expect to see this when you have these idealistic views as to what somethings going to be like. The Island is beautfiul though, white sandy beaches, crystal blue waters, it is a perfect paradise! We hired a car one day while we were there and drove to the capital (not really that nice, but worth a visit. From the capital we drove to Grand Bai, This place is stunning, definitely a must see!!

The hotel constance, was FANTASTIC! i cannot give this hotel enough praise. I really do think of myself as a bit of a stickler when it comes to been a consumer. I expect a lot for my buck! The rooms were lovely, really well set out and just seconds walk away from our own private resort beach (which may i ad very few people were on) The staff at the hotel set this place apart from most hotels ive been too, They were soooooo friendly, helpful, polite, helpful! Everything you would expect from a 5 Star i know, but regularly not found! I must give a particular praise to Vincent the hotels recreation manager! This guy.... can get you anything you want within minutes, it was like having a private PA. Vincent, can i hire a car...... 1 minute sir and i will arrange that for you. Vincent, Can i take a helicopter tour of the island...... 1 minute sir and i will arrange that for you!!! This guy was amazing! Alot of our customer service industires need to learn a thing or two from the maurtitians when it comes to customer service!!

The only gripe i have about this place would have to be the price of extras, we went half board. so your lunch time meals arn't included. This actually cost us in the long run a lot of money as we paid extra for lunch each day and typically for a burger your looking around about the £12,00 mark! ( you do the math) anyway, thats by the by!

Just another tip i think, if your booking mauritius, try and get a direct flight over there as the connecting flight in from dubai is a killer, about 23 hours from door to door!

again these are just my views, i would whole heartedly recommend this place ro anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benfogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The resort is beautiful, and it was peaceful in spite of all the guests - there's enough room for everyone to disperse. Food is great in all the restaurants of the resort, service is excellent, staff is friendly and courteous. You can tell that the place has an incredibly good training program for everyone who works there. Rooms are nicely decorated and pleasant, and this may seem like a tiny detail, but the shower gels smell so yummy! There's lots to do (tried the parasailing, motorboat day-trip, visited the tea fields and the ylang-ylang farm), front desk staff is helpful with excursions too. Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwanlakeUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Me and my wife went to the Belle mare Plage for our honeymoon. It was absolutely amazing. The service at the hotel is something out of this world. The food is very nice as well as the rooms. All that I can say is that the drinks at the hotel is very expensive. The golf is included but not the buggies. If you visit the hotel be sure to book a boat trip with VICKY (He is a guy walking up and down the beach) that was definately the highlight of our trip. All and all it was a very nice holiday and we enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthAfricaFrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Great hotel and beach resort. The staff are very friendly, food is good, however, drinks can be expensive but no more than you would expect in this kind of resort. I must also mention our great day out on Vicky's boat; Robin our captain for the day made sure we was well catered for - plenty of Mauritian Coffee, just ask he is happy to oblige! First port of call was to the Island of Ile Aux Cerf then on to the see the Waterfalls (if you're not a good swimmer I would advise against going for a dive - if you do go I'd leave your camera on the boat too) there we saw wild monkeys and fruit bats hanging in the trees, then we went to the other side of the island for a BBQ dinner on the beach, fresh fish, Chicken, Langoustine, Prawns, Garlic Bread, salad & BBQ Banana with Blenty of wine to wash it down, all in all a great day out definately worth booking; you can easily find Vicky on the beach - we have added a picture so you'll know what he looks like.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

When we arrived at Belle Mare Plage we were greeted with a cold towel and a mango iced tea. Check in was fast and we were quickly shown to our room where our luggage was waiting. We had been kindly upgraded to a junior suite. To be honest these rooms don't look very luxurious when you take pictures of them. No camera seems to pick up the atmosphere from the lights etc. The room was fantastic in my opinion. Very spacious, with a great balcony - comfortable sofa, two soft chairs and a dining table. Small dressing room/cupboard with plenty of space. The Bathroom was lovely with shutters over the bath you could open or close to look over the bedroom. I did find that the shower could have done with regrouting but I didn't find this to be an issue. The shower is large double shower with a monsoon shower and separate adjustable shower head. The bed was so comfortable (very firm) I could have slept for days. We preferred a higher floor room for safety reasons and view, we requested this in our booking and we got it. Every day we got canapes in our room in the early evening and on our first night a bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate our anniversary. Little things like this make your stay.

Spiaggia was the first restaurant we went to and is so lovely. Each week they have a half board night which is a set menu with a choice of two mains. Take the opportunity when it comes - on our second week the restaurant was closed for most of the week. The choice of mains we had were fish or beef fillet (half board menus never had a vegetarian option but im sure you could ask). The appetiser was some sort of seafood pate or something in a heart shape. There is a waiter who serves bread - you get a choice of three different breads and three different olive oils served with balsamic vinegar. mmmm. Starter was Calamari salad and the main was out of this world! Beautifully presented food. A pheonix beer and bottle of water at spiaggia came to about £8. 1 litre of water is 95 rupees plus 15% vat. Everything is now priced in rupees.

The main restaurant is La Citronelle we always found the food to be lovely.When we ate here we had the mauritius curries on offer and lovely spicy soups. The individual deserts are so pretty and very tasty too. Make sure you try the coconut ice cream. There are different sections Italian, Asian - where they usually cooked some sort of stir fry or curry in front of you, Mauritian - currys, Rotisserie - usually chicken and lamb, salads and deserts. Diners were very casual here, some people had jeans on with polo shirts etc.

We found lunch quite difficult here. We tried to eat breakfast late (they are open until 10:30) so that we could skip lunch and have dinner between 7-8. Lunch was great and very tasty at Indigo and Spiaggia but for me the portions were just too big and too expensive. If we had lunch we weren't able to eat until nearly 10pm. Vegetarian Pizza and chicken bagel with chips, beer and a water came to about £35. We had budgeted for this but it kinda hurt. On a 9 night stay we had lunch 3 times. Take lots of snacks in your suitcase. Vanilla milkshakes are about £3.50 each - we found something like this also kept us going through lunch.


The other restaurant which was one of my favourites is Deer Hunter. It's walkable from the junior suites and much like the spiaggia in a different setting with different food. The deer hunter also has a half board menu but they have it 6 out of 7 nights a week making it a good change to the buffet. After breakfast check the menu boards for that evenings restaurants to see if you like it. The Deer hunter to me felt more formal than the other restaurants. We had kalamari salad (they sure like this stuff!), spicy aubergine soup, chicken skewers with rice and peanut and caramel ice cream. The second time we visited we had an appetiser of courgette something, soup, fish fillet wrapped in banana leaf with sweet potato mash and desert was mango sorbet with cold fruit soup.

Happy hour is every day between 7pm-8pm and 9pm-10pm at the main bar with selected drinks included (look out for the red dots). Cocktails like sea breeze are 330 rupees plus 15%. The selection is big enough and includes lots of cocktails and mauritian rum (230 rupees). Every night they have a band or sega show. There is a nice atmosphere in this bar with comfortable seating. I found other hotels bars in mauritius are dead because drinks are so expensive.

The scent you will notice all around the hotel is amazing. Its some sort of vanilla spray with something else. i cant remember. They spray it in your room daily. It will become the holiday scent.

There are two pool tables near to citronelle/reception but we didn't find them until it was nearly time to leave.

Spa treatments at the hotel spa were 20% off a certain times of the day = i think between 8am and 2pm? If you go through the spa reception you'll find 2 hot tubs which anyone can use and was usually empty.

We had an 9:45am flight back and breakfast was provided between 4-6am in la citronelle for those of us leaving. Nothing hot - but we had pastries and fruit.

The beach is lovely. There can be a lot of seaweed at times and there are areas that are rocky. I've stayed at the Dinarobin on the west coast and Belle Mare Plage beach i felt was a little better as the sand was softer (coral sand). We spent most of our days on the beach. No trouble getting a lounger.

Watersports like snorkelling and water skiing are well worth a try. We saw lots of fish when snorkelling - they take you near the barrier.

Take your laptop - there is an ethernet cable in the rooms for free internet access. There is free wifi for iphones in the bars.

To me this hotel is nearly as good as the Dinarobin. It somehow lacks an 'edge' but is very beautiful, better beach and great atmosphere. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angel290385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews