We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked our Honeymoon with Kuoni and we were spoilt with Champagne and good customer service. They put on our holiday notes that we were a Honeymoon couple and upgraded our hotel room and to the Gatwick Departure Lounge (which for any holiday I would recommend).

Once we arrived at Mauritius it was very cloudy and overcast...this was because August is the Mauritian winter. We knew this before, but were not put off as no-one can control the weather. It was the location of a tropical island in the Indian ocean that tempted us.

At the hotel we were greeted with Ice Tea drinks (I thought I wasn't going to like it, but they were delicious and very much needed after a 12 hour flight!). The receptionist was lovely and made us feel comfortable.

We were shown to our room (upgraded to the superior room). However, we were not aware that all superior rooms are ground level. I was not keen on sleeping at ground level, and asked if we could look at the rooms above. The only difference was the superior rooms have a sofa, and in the standard rooms this space was occupied with a balcony. The choice between a sofa in our room or a balcony with sea views one side and mountain views the other, we requested to be moved to the standard rooms. The interior was exactly the same, and we still had our premier all inclusive package.

We started unpacking and quickly spotted a number of ant trails in the room and bathroom. We figured the room may not of been properly prepared for us as we changed rooms. However, it was not a great start to our Honeymoon. We were hoping for flowers on the bed and towel swans, not ants.

Within this time of arriving our Kuoni Rep was due to arrive for our welcome meeting. Berinda was lovely and very helpful. We mentioned the ant problem to her, and straight away she spoke to the hotel. After the meeting we went back to our room and outside was a can of bug spray. We sprayed our room throughly and the problem was solved. We only had to use the spray one other time. We reminded our selves we were in a tropical country surrounded by palm trees!

The hotel's beach was beautiful. Clear waters and white sands. Very clean too. Coco served us drinks from the hotel on the beach and was very polite and friendly. The beach could get a little windy, and cloudy but when the sun was out it was hot! We felt very relaxed on the beach. The hotel provides you with clean towels every day which is a bonus. As it was the Mauritian winter the beach was quiet, so I can only imagine it becoming busy in summer, so early reservations of sun loungers would be advised.

The hotel staff were all helpful. You did have to ask if you wanted something in particular. We found out about some services through others guests that had been staying their a few days before us. Don't be frightened to ask, the staff are only to happy to help once you say what you'd like. However, we hoped as Honeymooners that we might have a few special treats...But sadly it seemed that nothing was mentioned on our holiday notes and it appeared that the hotel did not know. If it wasn't for us saying, we may not of experienced the small perks. The spa was nice too. I booked for a relaxing massage, and requested a lady, however when I arrived for my treatment and soon realised I was booked with the man who works at the spa. I wasn't too keen and not entirely happy with the change of plan. But kept an open mind. I wasn't relaxed for the whole session. The massage was somewhat different to ones I've experienced in the UK. I felt there was a communication barrier.

For special occasions the hotel provide a special evening meal. We noticed other couples having this and did not know about it before. We had to ask the receptionist about it. You order from a set menu and the chef cooks up your order. The table is set up either by the pool or in the hotel restaurant with flowers and candles. Very romantic, and you get waiter service. The food we ordered was steak and veg with dauphinoise potatoes, we got steak and chips! This was fine with us as it was a welcomed treat after 10 days of hotel food. The hotel food varied from good to average. It is Buffet style for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you ask the chef to cook you something different this would be no problem. Also on a morning if you want bacon and eggs, just ask they will cook it, it's just not on the hot plates.

The bar area was great, with sand effect floor. In the day you get lots of small birds, but they are no problem. Sami who served us our cocktails and drinks was a pleasure to meet. He made us very welcome to the hotel and made us some wonderful cocktails. Please try his Sami special Green-peace cocktail...it's amazing! He was very attentive to guests with good waiting service, and keeping the bar and pool area clean and tidy. He is a great asset to the hotel.

Evening entertainment was interesting! There is music every night, and then for 3 nights in a week live performances inc. African dancers & drummers, duet singers, and a dance act from around the world. All average. You are advised not to go walking along the beach on an evening as it's pitch black with no lighting. So we felt a little restricted and confined as we like to go for a wonder.

Places to go and see: Botanical Gardens, Port Louis and the Mauritian indoor markets (the fresh fruit and veg is bright and vibrant). Do taste the traditional tropical sugar cane rum too! Also Il aux cerf island is a little slice of paradise, but get there early (9-10am) as it gets busy. If your feeling adventurous and you don't suffer from back problems have a go on the quad bikes in the mountains, it was the best trip we booked. So much fun, spectacular views of the north and south of the island and lunch included (but not your drinks so take extra money). The guides are nice and knowledgeable. We didn't do the glass bottom boat trip as it was too windy and we heard not much to be seen. Watch out for small jelly fish when it's very windy.

Tips: Make sure you take bite repellant in any season! The hotel provide plug in packs for your room too. If going on trips always check out the prices of the taxi's who wait outside the hotel. They are very good, slightly cheaper and reasonable. It is their livelihood too! We went to the market with Ram, who waited for us which gave a time to look around the port at our own leisure. There is wi-fi at the hotel so you can get internet access from the bar on your iPad/mobiles.

In general: a 3 star hotel - a little pricey for value for money. But a lovely honeymoon holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bekiLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

What can we say, it was a fantastic hotel, Ravi, you know how to run this hotel, we have been to many5 star hotels , but you came out on top of them all, nothing was too much for you, your staff ie Gary well his food was fantastic ,nothing too much trouble for him, he made us some lovely food, and sammy at the bar always happy, and coco on the beach , such a smile off him every day , you all deserve a big pat on the back,we will come back again, as you said Ravi we can stay at your house , but we had to come back home to work , thank you for a wonderfull time at your hotel ,room 109 and 110 your friends Mr Mrs Borras and Mr Mrs Payne xx

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValerieBorras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Borras, dear Mr and Mrs Payne,

Ravi joins me in thanking you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at Emeraude Beach Attitude.

We are especially grateful for your comments regarding the attentive service of our personnel, which has been shared with the team members (including Sammy, Coco, and Gary).

We would be pleased to welcome you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Looking forward to meet you personally,

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in the Emeraude Attitude hotel from the 16th to the 30th august and what a wonderful time we had. As soon as we arrived we were met by a friendly and welcoming reception team, they brought with them a cocktail and face towels which were generously received after such a long journey (epic flight!!!) We had the package we had chosen explained to us, which was the full a la carte all inclusive, and were then taken to our room, room 209 overlooking the pool. Coco and the maintenance man (never found out his name!) then helped us to our room with our bags and left us to it.

First impressions of the room were small, but lovely, cosy and clean. All the amenities were there, fridge freezer with minibar which was replenished daily, lovely powerful shower which we could’ve spent hours in, and a nice big bed which was very comfortable. The pillows for me were not quite what I am used to, however the other half thoroughly enjoyed them! After settling in and unpacking we went for a late lunch which the staff had kept on for us despite arriving mid afternoon, this was lovely and again welcoming after a long trip.

The theme of the staff going out of their way to be helpful and welcoming continued throughout the holiday and the staff within the restaurant were truly exceptional. Cant name and remember everyone unfortunately, but a special thanks to Ravi, Jimmy, Surita, Mike, Gary the chef and all the other staff I’ve forgotten! On the second day my girlfriend didn’t really enjoy anything that the buffet had to offer, Ravi noticed this and came to the table to ask if everything was ok and asked if she’d like something cooked especially. This has never happened anywhere we’d been before and is truly one of the benefits of a small and friendly hotel. Every mealtime after this she was offered a meal cooked especially for her if she didn’t like the choices at the buffet which was happily explained before tucking in at lunch and dinner. I am quite an adventurous eater and tucked in happily to the buffet which was varied and delicious every day, the fish vindaloo being a personal highlight!! On occasion we also sampled the table d’hôte menu which was like an ala carte meal and this once again was delicious.

The food was not the only highlight of the hotel, just a 10 second stroll out of the hotel across the easily crossed road was one of the most beautiful beaches we have seen. Stunning turquoise blue waters rolled onto the beautiful white beach, always looking good for a photograph! Laying on the beach in the Mauritian winter was different to what we expected as the winds were extremely strong on most days, but there are curved sunbeds which we used as windbreaks when possible and this made the temperature more than pleasant. The sea wasn’t just nice to look at and was very pleasant to swim in, although don’t go too far as you may get a telling off!
Back in the hotel the pool itself, of which our room had a lovely view, was very nice for a dip to cool off after baking when the sun was out (about 50/50 for our two weeks) Not heated, but there was no need, and to sound like a typical Brit “it’s alright once you’re in!” Another highlight of laying by the pool was the waiter service provided by the bar. Probably around every hour the barman would come around and ask if you’d like a drink, this again was a novelty to us and made us feel like rockstars for the entire visit! It would’ve been a bit nicer though if Samy had matched Jimmy and Alvin’s customer service, yes he brought drinks regularly, but if I’m honest for the first week it was with a forced smile if at all and as soon as we’d checked out he was plain rude. This didn’t taint the holiday or the experience of the other bar staff as Alvin who worked on an evening and Jimmy during the day were smiling happy souls who went out of their way to keep you refreshed and in Alvin’s case plain drunk!!

Other pleasures of laying by the pool were the almost daily free sample massages. It was definitely worth hearing the spa staff explain the massage menu to receive five minutes of relaxation! Later in the holiday we went for a couples massage, both of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience and rub down, however the male masseuse is a bit too adventurous with his hands which lead to my girlfriend feeling uncomfortable and me feeling seen off that the lady wasn’t adventurous enough!! I would say to anyone wanting an individual massage be wary of the young lad in there, as a woman you could be made to feel uncomfortable.

The hotel provided two free trips within the a la carte option, a boat trip to the lovely island of Ile aux Cerf which provided great photo opportunities and is definitely worth a visit. We also took the glass bottom boat trip from the beach which was good as you could see all the fish that you couldn’t otherwise see. On another day we visited Casella Nature Park. This was arranged through our tour operator and it turned out that the trip itself was fairly priced but the transfer could’ve been arranged with the taxis outside the hotel for around half the cost. This didn’t affect our enjoyment of the trip and everything we experienced there from the ‘Walking with Lions’ (amazing!!) to the interaction with lion cubs, to the safari in which you see and feed zebras, ostriches and other wild animals is just fantastic, definitely worth a visit.

On an evening after dinner one day in two or three there would be entertainment on. This usually consisted of local dancers or singers and was enjoyable. On the evenings when there was nothing on though the nights could’ve dragged without Alvin’s alcoholic beverages! This is the one small gripe we could have had with this hotel and I don’t want to end on a low so I won’t and will say to anyone thinking of booking here, do not hesitate, you are treated with such respect and small things like tips not being expected made us feel like their service and kindness was completely sincere.
Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay!!

Almost forgot to thank our maid for the lovely towel animals, great work Aneera, cheers!!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first floor, you have a better view!! We had room 209 and the view of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear guest,

Please receive our thanks for your warm appreciations on our Hotel and the attentive service of our personnel: your kind words have been shared with all the ‘Family Members’ (thanks also for the picture of the animal shaped towels!)

I would like to address your comment regarding the behavior of one of our former Spa member. Rest assured that we hold paramount the values of respect, humility and courtesy and that such misconduct is not tolerated.

We were pleased to know you enjoyed your Holidays in Mauritius while staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you back in Mauritius at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

All the best,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks at the end of August and where looked after to the highest level. With people like Samy behind the bar who has got to be the best barman we have ever met and his assistant Alvin they was always on the ball when it come to drinks we would never have a empty glass. The restaurant staff from the morning to the evening where amazing. Ravi,serita,jimmy,mike,kavi,isaae and the rest of the staff where like one big family you would be looked after on all three meals a day.The food was great there is something for everyone there was themed nights everyday and they made an effort of even decorating the restaurant to that particular night. If you didn't like the buffet style food the staff would always offer you a cooked meal from steaks to grilled chicken. You couldn't complain.The rooms where great and clean,towels where changed everyday, the air conditioning worked very well and you could always tune in to English telly. The pool was very small and relaxing, the only issue was having to get up extra extra early to get a sun lounger. The weather was very unpredictable but we was lucky to get a good few days of sun as it was there winter. Some days where overcast but it was still very warm. WHen it rained it only lasted for 10-15 mins. The beach was absolutely beautiful with white sands and crystal clear water. Coco was the assistant on the beach he was very helpful and friendly. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel and the staff to everybody. Since we have come home my boyfriend has found a taste of chilli rum thanks to Alvin and the staff who created it haha

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammy335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Sammy,

On behalf of all the ‘Family Members’ of Emeraude Beach Attitude, I would like to thank you for your kind words on your recent stay: it’s always with pleasure to read that you truly enjoyed your Holidays in Mauritius while vacationing with us.

I have passed on your warm appreciations with the team (especially Ravi, Sarita, Jimmy, Samy, Alvin, Mike, Kavi and Isaae) – Alvin was pleased to know its creation will be given a new life in England!

Bouncing back on your remark regarding the sun loungers, additional sunbeds have now been made available on the Beach and Pool areas.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for 17 days in May, it wasa wonful. The staff are excellent and the pool is nice and clean. The food is ver varied and whilst there are theme nights each week the menu choice is varied. The drinks are plentiful and we helped ourselves in the restaurant, the only time we had waiter service was when the head manager came to inspect. The beach also has waiter service for drinks and brings pizza and samosas around in the afternoon.

We can recommend the catamaran trip and the day to see giant tortoises and the private beach, expensive but well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good pool views more so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smedleyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Emeraude Beach Attitude in May.

We are happy to know you made the most of your stay in Mauritius while staying with us and that the food, beach attendance and the attentive service of our personnel met your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon towards the end of August for 2 weeks. We have recently returned home and had an amazing time in Mauritius. The Emeraude is a small and very personal hotel which suited our needs perfectly. It is 3 star but the service is certainly well above this level. It is very clean, the rooms are great, the staff are unbelievable and treat you like royalty, the food is excellent and it is situated just across the road from a beautiful beach with a stunning view of the coastine.

I honestly find it hard to come up with faults for this hotel and cannot believe some of the recent comments on here. If you dont do abit of research into where you are going or dont fully confirm what is included in your booking, how can you blame the hotel for your disappointment? It is true that there are 2 AI packages. We were on the basic package which includes 3 meals a day, water, soft drinks, beer and a glass of house wine at dinner. What more do you need? If you want more then the higher package also includes cocktails, spirits and use of the minibar.

The staff are what makes this hotel exceptional. They always have a smile on their faces and nothing is ever too much trouble. They are all exceptional but the service provided by Ravi (the restaurant manager) was just outstanding. My wife has a particular food allergy and after being made aware of this, Ravi was constantly checking that there was something suitable for her to eat. If there wasnt, he would happily arrange for a special meal to be made by the chef. This was very impressive. We were also given a 4 course honeymoon meal which was fantastic.

The food is buffet style but you have the option of choosing a set menu on an evening. The buffet was varied and plentiful, even when the hotel got busier towards the end of our stay. There is something for everyone and it is always fresh. Each night has a different theme but they do try to mix things up each week so that it isnt exactly the same meal. It certainly isnt fine dining but again I think people expect far too much. I personally thought the food was excellent and if you thought otherwise, the staff would happily prepare an alternative meal with no fuss at all.

The pool area is very nice but there could be more sunbeds which would put a stop to the towel saving culture on a morning. This isnt a massive problem though due to the fact that you can cross the road to an amazing beach which is one of the best on the island. We could have stayed there alot longer and never got bored of the view. The sea is crystal clear and if you go on the glass bottom boat trip you can see plenty of marine life!

The weather was quite varied for the first week but even when it is overcast, it is always warm and soon changes. The sun is never far away and even though it was their winter at the time, we were lucky enough to get plenty of sunshine over the 2 weeks.

I would urge you to get around the island and see some of the sights. We did a catamaran trip to Ile Aux Cerfs and a trip around the south which included the seven coloured earth, a hindu temple, rum tasting at a distillery and lunch at a stunning restaurant in the middle of the mountains. We arranged these through the tour operator. We also did a half day trip to Tamarin to swim with dolphins. This was excellent value and provided by Pascal. His company have an affiliation with the hotel and he is there on a Monday evening to promote his trips. I would definitely recommend this as an unforgettable experience.

Evening entertainment took place at the hotel on a Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. The 3 piece band was our personal favourite. Due to the fact that you cant go out of the hotel, there could be more to do on an evening. Even if it was as simple as a quiz or bingo, it would make things a bit more interesting.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the only other issue we found was the over friendly male masseuse in the spa.

Overall, we had an amazing honeymoon and would definitely return to this hotel in the future. Mauritius is a beautiful island and you wont be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_rim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Jim,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Emeraude Beach Attitude for your Honeymoon in Mauritius: your kind words on our Hotel and its personnel have been shared with all the ‘Family Members (Ravi was happy to have made your stay more enjoyable).

As regards to the Spa, it was with dismay that we found out that one of our former team members did not behave in accordance with our values of respect, humility and courtesy. Rest assured that the Management teams hold paramount the well-being of our guests and that such misconduct will not be tolerated.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Warn regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We booked our 2 week "ALL INCLUSIVE" holiday though the BA website, the hotel, the hire-car, the excursions etc., a complete package to celebrate 35years of marriage.

We upgraded to a "Superior" room on the BA website

(SUPERIOR Sleeps 4, Bed Type: Double(s), SUPERIOR , Air conditioning, In Room Movies, Balcony/Lanai/Terrace, Minibar, Private bathroom, Separate Shower, Television)

This hotel doesn't have this type of room; they do not have rooms with 2 Double beds or Private bathroom.

The shower is separate from the toilet but is open to the main room except for a venetian blind arrangement for privacy, there is no bath.

There is a minibar and you can have still water (in 500ml size) for free, anything else is charged extra for even the larger bottles of water or sparkling.

Tea and Coffee are provided in the room but are charged for (take your own).

Television only has 4 channels, 3 are the same and one is for films (some in English, most in Indian,) which would change at random times during the film ( I presume that the night watchman had control of the decoder box)

We ended up with a family room with one double bed and a sofa with pull-out bed underneath, not what we had paid for.
The room was clean enough, we had no qualms about that and the air-con worked very well.

ALL INCLUSIVE .... This hotel is NOT all inclusive, the hotel offers 2 levels of "all inclusive" neither of which are, you have :

'Emeraude Inclusive' is included in the cost and provides: • Breakfast (served from 07:00 until 10:00) • Lunch (served from midday until 14:30)- sandwiches, pizza, hamburgers, panini from the main restaurant or 'picnic box' • Dinner (from 19:00 to 22:00) from a themed buffet/menu table d'hote. • A selection of drinks (from 11:00 until 23:00), includes mineral water, soft drinks, draught beer (from the bar or beach service during the day) and one glass of wine during lunch and dinner. • Glass bottom boat and snorkeling.

the Emeraude also offer an upgraded All Inclusive package, which is available at an extra cost. This includes: • Breakfast (from 07:00 to 10:00) • Lunch (from midday to 14:30) • Buffet or menu table d'Hôte from the main restaurant or "Picnic Box" • Dinner (from 07:00 to 22:00) • Themed buffet/menu table d'hôte • tea/coffee time with pastries (from 16:00 to 17:00). • Selection of drinks (from 11:00 to 23:00), includes mineral water, soft drinks, draught beer, wine selection, selection of cocktails, fruit juice from the bar or beach service during the day. • Selected items from the minibar - mineral water, soft drinks, beer (refilled once daily) 15% discount on massage treatment at the Spa Attitude, • Glass bottom Boat and snorkelling • One day trip to Ile aux Cerfs with Picnic Box via Le Tropical Hotel (7 night minimum stay/weather permitting). Prices from 01 October 2012 are inclusive of the upgraded All Inclusive package.

You pay for your tea and coffee in your room, you pay for spirits at the bar (local and imported), you pay for coffee at the bar, you pay for bottled beer at the bar, you pay for bottled wine at the bar.
The only all-inclusive drinks at the bar are local draught beer (Phoenix), wine from a plastic bag (decanted into bottles, sometimes), fruit juice, soft drinks from the mixer and still bottled water. (Gets very boring after 2 weeks)
There are no daytime snacks or ice-creams, cocktails are charged for as they have local spirits in them.

This was not like any other “all-inclusive” holiday that we have been on before.
It appears that everyone is booked onto the “Emeraude Inclusive” package and if you want actual “all-inclusive” (which it isn’t) you have to pay 20 GBP per person per day when you arrive, the general feeling of all staying at the same time as us was one of bewilderment, everyone had the same issue.
We raised our concerns with the hotel and the local BA rep and whilst everyone was very pleasant about it nothing was resolved and we had to get on with what we were given.

Now this might sound as though we didn’t enjoy our stay at the Emeraude Hotel, however, we did, the staff were the most pleasant that you could hope to meet (with the exception of the reception staff and management who were a total waste of space) the bar and restaurant were very well run, the site was clean and tidy as were the rooms, the security staff were always in evidence day and night we felt that we were well looked after and felt safe at all times.

The beach is clean and has a scattering of thatched umbrellas and loungers, the sea was clean and warm (although you should watch out for “bluebottle” jelly fish there were a few about and more than one person was stung by them.)
There are various activities available from the beach varying from the glass-bottomed boat (free) to scuba, fishing, etc. Which are all available at a cost (priced for the rich American tourist methinks)

The restaurant was very well run; the menu was pretty basic and at times repetitive but we never went hungry, due to the open plan nature of the restaurant you often had birds on the table during the day and at mealtimes. Cereal in the morning was Cornflakes or Weetabix (we bought our own) the coffee was undrinkable (we bought our own) the tea and coffee were available at mealtimes and were made in an urn (tea with milk already in …. Yuk)

The Bar area is open plan with a small stage area (mind the step, we saw a few people fall off of it) it has sand on the floor which was home to thousands of sand-flies which were always biting your ankles (don’t forget the repellent) there were also biting insects around the pool area close to the bar area.

Names to look out for Ravi and Sarita in the restaurant excellent service, Alvin, Sammy, Jimmy at the bar …. In fact, with the exception of the reception staff and management they were all great.

We would visit again, we wouldn’t expect all inclusive, we wouldn’t pay for a “Superior” room which doesn’t exist; 7-10 days would be more than long enough.

I think that the basic problem with this hotel is that the management think that they are running a 5 star establishment, it is listed as a 3 star, I wouldn’t place it that high, maybe a 2 star but certainly not more.

Room Tip: All rooms come with free Gekko's (so cooool), at least one of the ground floor rooms had mice (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickmansworth117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Emeraude Beach Attitude.

We have taken positively your remarks on our hotel and facilities and would like to address the points below:

Emeraude Beach Attitude is a 3-star property offering 2 types of rooms, Superior and Standard, and 2 levels of All-Inclusive packages: Emeraude Inclusive and All Inclusive Package. We are grateful for all travelers to check their package/meal plans and rooms type with their respective Agencies before coming to our Hotel to avoid disappointment.

Being on an Island, tropical birds are part of the daily life of the Hotel. We would like to once again seize the opportunity to ask our guest not to feed the birds, as it makes it harder for our personnel to manage the situation.

Thank you for your positive comments on our food and service, your personal order-taker was the chef de cuisine Garry and you enjoyed some specialities offered to you. We would like to precise, that for breakfast, hot beverages are self-service whereas milk is served separately and not mixed with tea as per your review.

Please note that Ravi, Sarita, Sammy & Jimmy are all from our Management Team caring for our residents at all times.

My Family Members and I look forward welcoming you again to Emeraude Beach Attitude and trust next time you check your package well before booking to our 3 star property in the East Coast.

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
3.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
864 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#4 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
39 reviews
18.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
15.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,777 reviews
17.8 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraude Beach Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Beach Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: £73 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emeraude Beach Attitude 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emeraude Beach Attitude faces one of the island's most beautiful beaches, Belle Mare beach, with its kilometres of white sand, turquoise and emerald lagoon running along the east coast. Holidays are spent swimming and diving in a turquoise sea, without forgetting the magic of the glass bottom boat trips. To that genuinely Mauritian seaside holiday experience, the two bonuses offered are the beach attendance with Coco and his typically Mauritian beach cart, and the serenity of the Spa Attitude.Wood, stone and thatch are widely used in decoration and architecture. Built in the middle of a lush green garden, the four room bungalows totaling 61 rooms are decorated with refined taste and creativity. Of small capacity, friendly and charming, this 3 star hotel, together with its family members with their typical Mauritian expertise, reminds one of the old days' gentle way of life. Its innovative package "Emeraude Plus" is ideal to enjoy unrestrainedly, as a couple or a family, a seaside holiday in such an exclusive spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emeraude Beach Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Beach Attitude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Beach Attitude Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing