We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

OMG - what a little gem!

The rooms were bright and modern and ours was always kept immaculate - thank you Kishan. His towel art was fabulous. We chose a standard room and asked that we could have an upstairs room away from the entrance with a sea view. Our request was met to the letter. We couldn't have asked for more. We felt that the upstairs rooms are preferable to those on the lower level, having a balcony, and tending to be quieter - but all the rooms were good.

The staff were always friendly and the service was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. Any complaints (we found nothing to complain about) were resolved more than satisfactorily

The food (although all buffets) was very good. Every evening there was a theme (Mauritian, Chinese, Italian etc.) so you could always end up with a decent meal instead of a mishmash which can so often be the case with buffets. The buffet lunches were very good and always included pasta and pizzas, and if you were on the beach at lunchtime, pizzas would be brought across from the Hotel. The buffet breakfasts were also very good and a toaster that actually works quickly for once.

I would recommend the all inclusive otenik option which covered drinks in the mini bar, tea and coffee in your room (not otherwise included and quite expensive - £1 a cup) plus selected drinks and cocktails at the bar and on the beach, an excursion to Ile Aux Cerfs and a picnic lunch if you are unable to partake of the buffet lunch at anytime. Oh, and the savoury snacks at 4 in the afternoon were to die for. Remember to pack roomy clothes to travel home in!

The all inclusive option was extremely well organised. The bar list and the mini bar list showed a double asterisk against all those items that were included and you are also entitled to the items with a single asterisk which is the Emeraude inclusive which is a lesser package but not for those who like to raid the mini bar or like tea/coffee in the room. How many times on an all inclusive have you worried that something you have ordered is not included? It is just not possible here.

The hotel is not on the beach but is just a stroll across the road and there are a good number of sun umbrellas and sun beds for guests.

I'm not sure why this is just a 3 star hotel, but I gather they are trying for a 4 star. The only reason might be that the property is small and, although there were few children when we first arrived, there are no areas where you can escape them - I suppose the beach. It wasn't too much of an issue as most families took excursions but it would be nice to have a quiet area in the evening as the children were allowed in the bar and some children stayed up very late. That is the only downside to this hotel and perhaps the fact that, due to currents, there was no swim areas immediately in front of the area with the sun umbrellas. There was a roped off area further along though.The beach, however, unlike the West and North coasts, is lovely and quiet.

There is a dive organisation at the hotel, which we used. Again very friendly staff and thank you Chris for carrying my equipment for me. Just be warned, however, that the Dive Organisation do not have the facilities for credit or debit cards, so take Mauritian Rupees or the hotel can change travellers cheques. There is an ATM in Belle Mare, I believe, which is an easy walk.

All in all, a brilliant hotel and a wonderful stay. Watch out for one of the waiters (nicknamed 'little dodo') who helped to make our holiday and also Sarita in the Restaurant who always had the most amazing smile.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level are not so dark and have a balcony rather than a patio to sit out on. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappygirlPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    423
    133
    41
    25
See reviews for
268
678
34
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was gorgeous, the beach a real paradise, and the hotel and room were lovely, food was ok the spa was the best by far we had several relaxing massage's during our stay which just added to the relaxation of such a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location in a gorgeous country.

Room Tip: Room are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsShonaDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is quite small, cozy with fantastic and friendly staff! The rooms are clean and have either a terrace or a balcony so you can sit outside and chillout in the evening or during the day. The pool area is quite small and could have some more sun loungers, it gets occupied early in the morning and it is a small chance to find a lounger of your own (But who wants to lay all day next to the pool when you have a fantastic beach!). The beach is like 50 meters across the road and its fantastic! We compared it to several other beaches on Mauritius and I can say that it is the best that we saw! Food is all inclusive style a little bit overdominated by curry (I liked it a lot but my wife got tired only after a few days). The area around Belle Mare is very quiet and with very little people on the beaches, perfect for a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piterski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a small hotel but has a very friendly atmosphere. We found the staff extremely helpful and the place is kept very clean. The beach is just across the road and good for bathing. The food is good but perhaps lacking slightly in choice. We went in October and the weather was great with just the odd shower. I fully recommend the island trip which is available to all inclusive guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iaindaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freuchie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely holiday where the staff are ever so helpful where I will name a few: restaurant - Hugo, Surita, Prianca, Kavy, Jimmy, Akash, Chef Thierry and many more behind the scenes; bar - Mike and the lovely Sammy who made tremendous Sammy cocktails and is always smiling. I can't forget Coco on the beach, he's such a lovely guy and of course Nicoleta and Nicola who entertain you whether in the pool with water polo or at night with singing dancing etc.

My boyfriend Graeme and I had such a lovely 14 night holiday in a wonderful place.

A must for everyone is to have a massage in Spa Attitude with Asha and Pomania who had some laughs with us as Graeme taught them "this little piggy" rhyme as the massaged his toes and feet.

I would recommend this hotel for a special occasion as they go out their way to do something extra special for you. Jimmy kindly set up a beautiful table for lunch before we left.

I hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had 3 weeks holiday here, last week in July and first two weeks in August. Spent a day doing nothing in particular then a day out all through my stay. Temperatures reached up to 30 C.. Days were short as oposite side of equator daylight 6am to 6.30pm period. Whilst English is the language French is more dominant. Met a variety of tourists French, German + South African. . Location was good for being able to travel around. Found best method of touring was by sharing a local taxi. Negotiate a price to eg visit St Louis and coast comming back leave about 9.am return tea time an excellent deal about 55 pounds all in. Though eating out is expensive. Go all inclusive. Bottles of spirits all brands very cheap eg 1 litre Rum about 8 pounds. Hotel + staff all very attentive making you more than welcome.Go on flat bottom boat a must see. also visit Flacq market (I call it entertainment) Have a good trip. Dave K

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidknight70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The only thing stopping me from awarding 4/5 was the rather lengthy wait to check in. To be fair, our BA flight did arrive slightly earlier than the check in time, but it eventually ended up taking us 4 hours to get a room (a new record), and which after a 12 hour flight makes for a very long trip indeed. Anyhow I hope for the sake of other guests this was just a one-off.

The hotel has a good beach and nice quiet rooms - although we found the food and entertainment had a bit of a 'Butlins' feel (i.e. burger and chips for lunch, curry for dinner - that sort of thing, a few other options available. On sitting in the bar on the first evening, hearing the entertainer asking for 5 couples to come up on stage hastened our early exit), otherwise the friendly staff were excellent in taking the time to make you feel welcome and giving a personalized service.

All in all this smaller hotel is very good value - it definitely attracts a more budget conscious sort of traveller (interesting to note that apparently you can do Mauritius on a budget) but is also perhaps a little less corporate in its atmosphere (friendlier?) than the other larger hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jim375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
3.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
17.7 mi away
Coin de Mire Attitude
Coin de Mire Attitude
#1 of 2 in Bain Boeuf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
18.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraude Beach Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Beach Attitude

Property: Emeraude Beach Attitude
Address: Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emeraude Beach Attitude 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emeraude Beach Attitude faces one of the island's most beautiful beaches, Belle Mare beach, with its kilometres of white sand, turquoise and emerald lagoon running along the east coast. Holidays are spent swimming and diving in a turquoise sea, without forgetting the magic of the glass bottom boat trips. To that genuinely Mauritian seaside holiday experience, the two bonuses offered are the beach attendance with Coco and his typically Mauritian beach cart, and the serenity of the Spa Attitude.Wood, stone and thatch are widely used in decoration and architecture. Built in the middle of a lush green garden, the four room bungalows totaling 61 rooms are decorated with refined taste and creativity. Of small capacity, friendly and charming, this 3 star hotel, together with its family members with their typical Mauritian expertise, reminds one of the old days' gentle way of life. Its innovative package "Emeraude Plus" is ideal to enjoy unrestrainedly, as a couple or a family, a seaside holiday in such an exclusive spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emeraude Beach Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Beach Attitude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Beach Attitude Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing