We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise! Totally breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise! Totally breathtaking!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Me and my husband stayed at EBA for two weeks, hotel is very homely, the service is professional, friendly, warm and helpful. The beach is opposite, across the road from the hotel. We had no problems in getting around the area very easy to visit the local market, taxi stand is outside the hotel, takes around 10mins drive to get there. Our tour guide presented many excursions, me and my husband did 3 out of the choices. We visited Port Louis, the capital and Pamplemousse (the botanical gardens) , took a hour from the hotel. The scenic south where we saw 7 coloured natural sand, giant turtles and the worlds largest statue of lord shiva (108ft high). One of our favourite excursion was a cruise day and visit to Lle aux Cerf the most magical and beautiful island ever seen! It is a nice island with white sandy beaches and lot of marine life. One could do various water activities like parasailing, water ski and snorkeling as well as at the hotel itself! Highly recommend the location for total bliss! :) good luck!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dearest Mr & Mrs Sian,

Thank you for sharing your 2-week experience on TripAdvisor.

We are thankful for your appreciations of our professional service and the friendliness of the whole team.

The Hotel is 50 meters away from a 3.5 kms white and sandy beach and many nautical activities can be booked at the hotel with our partners or should guests wish to relax they can chill out on the beach and take advantage of our beach attendance with Coco.

For your next holidays, please write to me.

Thanking you for having chosen an Hotels Attitude for your Holidays,

Best regards.

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    453
    137
    43
    26
See reviews for
287
709
38
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from 2 lovely weeks at this hotel where we stayed between 16th & 31st May.

Flight: We booked with Thomsonworldwide and flew with Emirates from Manchester via Dubai. Thomsonworldwide ensures you get 14 nights whereas other travel agents only give you 13 due to the travel. Tip for Emirates if you have never flown with them before, they state you can book seats and check-in online 24 hrs before. However you can book your seats the minute you get your reference details. Dubai is big but well signposted if you have to change between gates A,B,C. Some require you to get a 2 min airport train. However you don't need to collect any baggage when in transit.

Arrival at hotel: On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception who talked us through the hotel and details of our package. There are 2 packages, all inclusive and emeraude all inclusive. We had the all inclusive that gives you the addition of access to drinks in the room minibar, unlimited wine at dinner, more of a range of cocktails/drinks at the bar, a free trip to another island and 10% off the spa. You don't have to wear a wristband but will need to tell staff your room numbers and maybe sign receipts. We were given an ice tea during check-in and then our bags were taken to our room by the entertainment guys Niko and Ivan. As they took us through the hotel they pointed out the restaurant, pool and bar and then showed us the facilities in our room.

Room: The rooms are in blocks of 4 situated in lovely gardens. They are modern and clean. The showers don't have doors which is fine for couples but may be a problem for friends or groups. However there is a blind blocking view from the bedroom area. The showers are also lovely and powerful which is sometimes rare to find. Our cleaner Aneera always had a smile and did some lovely towel animals.

Bar: The bar has plenty of choice and drinks are highlighted by stars in the drinks menu. All inclusive guests have access to drinks with 1 or 2 stars, the lesser emeralds inclusive can have those with 1 star and the rest are chargeable. All the bar staff are friendly and provide a great service. The famous Samy also has a great sense of humour. Get him to tell you about the 8th Wonder of the World. They all work hard, remember what you drink and even bring drinks to your table when they see you have an empty glass. The all inclusive package for drinks is 11am to 11pm. If you need to pay for any drinks they tend to be about 120 rupees for beer (approx £3) and 220 for some cocktails (approx £5). The bar area is sandy however I managed to deal with this even in my stiletto heels!

Restaurant: Again all the staff in the restaurant are lovely and can't do enough for you. There was a lovely lady (possibly Ouma?), Kavi (who also works the bar) and another waiter who we called Liverpool as he supports Liverpool football team and didn't yet have a name badge. They are all so efficient and have good senses of humour. The chefs are also great. Food was enough of a choice for us otherwise we tend to overfill our plates with random food. Breakfasts consist of cereal, croissants, meats & cheese, fruits, pancakes, omelette, eggs, sausage, potatoes, beans and porridge. Not sure what else of a choice you would need? Buffet lunch and dinners tend to be rice, curries, veg, pizzas, and meats or fish cooked on the grills. There are also themed nights like Indian, Mauritanian and Chinese. I'm not sure if it was because May was quiet but we also had alternative Al-a-Carte nights. We didn't have to book for these. It was a nice change to be waited on and the food was lovely, with a choice between 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 desserts. The menus are displayed outside every morning. We also went on a trip to the sous chefs house. A lovely man called Seti. He showed us his house and then we met his l wife and son. His wife then cooked us a gorgeous meal. They also offer you lots of drinks including rum. It costs 1200 (approx £12) which includes the taxi there and back. The other couples there spoke French and as we didn't speak any French it was a little difficult to get involved. However our hosts did their best to involve us in the conversation.

Pool/Beach: There are 2 pools. Can be a bit cold but refreshing if a hot day. Again it was quiet while we were there so always plenty of beds. You can change towels every morning between 8-10am. The beach is across a very small road and so no issue accessing. Coco arrives at 11am and gives you a 'do not disturb' and 'service' sign which is a great gimmick. You put up the 'service' sign and Coco will take your drink order. He works hard going from the beach to the bar to save your legs. He also brought out slices of pizza at 11:30am. It's not a stretch of white sandy beach but a much better view than back home. You also need to find a section in the sea with less coral if you fancy a paddle.

Entertainment: There are quiet days and nights and also shows for a bit of a mix. If you want to have a dance and get involved then the entertainment team appreciate it. You also have free WiFi near the bar and restaurant. You have access to a free glass bottom boat trip from the beach across the road. This was a nice experience and lasts about an hour. You need to e-book at reception. Don't leave too late as it can get cancelled in the morning if a bit windy. If you go out on trips you can also pre-order a packed lunch from the hotel that you get in a cute packed lunch bag. Taxis are safe and freely available to access across the road.

Management: The manager is a nice man who wants to keep guests happy. He is always walking around the hotel to check on things. When we were there the paintwork was done and the gardens cut back. Hugo is also a lovely man. He always had a smile and knew exactly when we were leaving and came to wish us goodbye.

Checkout: is at 12pm where you pay off your bill (if you have one). After that you need to pay for drinks/food, so you might want to stock up before 12pm. If you miss lunch on you first day this is free on your last day.

We met some lovely people including staff and guests. Guests come from all over and we made friends with couples from Czech Republic, Portugal and Holland. It was mostly couples when we were there and lots on honeymoon. The hotel is small and so friendly and they pride themselves on service. They reward staff for service and so you know that they are genuinely trying to look after you rather than just trying to get tips (although this is obviously well received and appreciated).

Hopefully the manager will read this and pass on our positive feedback to all. Thank you for making our holiday so special.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 213 which was a great location just a bit beyond the pool in the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JackoWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest,

All the “Family Members” of Emeraude Beach Attitude join me in thanking you for your detailed review of your stay with us.

We were particularly sensitive to your warm feedback on our sense of hospitality and service provided by the entire team – as this is what we want to achieve: share our warmth, culture and our love of our country.

We look forward in welcoming you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude and to Paradise Mauritius.

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The name says it all, attitude. The staff have the most amazing attitude.
Nothing is too much trouble and they are all there to ensure that you have the most memorable, enjoyable holiday ever. Jimmy & Sarita are absolute stars but it is unfair to mention them by name as all the staff without exception were excellent.
You get amazing value for the money you pay. This is a 3* hotel so do not go expecting 4* & 5* food. If you want more, then you must pay more and go to a 4* hotel. Breakfast never varied but there were enough options. There was a different themed buffet dinner each evening and lunch & dinner always had many salads and a few other starter options, mains had pasta & pizza, fresh fish etc and about 4-5 dessert options.
The rooms & bathrooms are new and fresh. We had a very relaxing & enjoyable holiday and as we were on the all-inclusive option, left having no bill to settle. The all inclusive option is to be recommended as refreshments are expensive in Mauritius hotels

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool. The village of Belle Mare is 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel for sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleMinnaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for sharing your Mauritian Hospitality experience while you were at Emeraude Beach Attitude.

We are pleased to read you appreciated the warmth and professionalism service of our "Family Members".
Sarita. our Breakfast Team Leader, and Jimmy our F&B Supervisor, were truly grateful for your kind words on their sense of hospitality.

The whole Team looks forward in welcoming you soon.

Kindest regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at EBA. One word-Fantastic! We have stayed at 5 star Hotels Worldwide and have not enjoyed our stays as much as this. The food could be more varied but if the buffet or menu does not take your fancy just ask one if the waiters for their excellent Chicken and Chips as an alternative. Speak with Ouma and Jimmy who will get you anything and always with a smile (Ouma is the most gorgeous 40 year old we have seen!). Everybody at the hotel are extra friendly and Hugo (the day boss) has a permanent smile. A must for anybody going to Mauritius is the Horse Racing at Champs Des Mares. Our first trip to Mauritiius and this Hotel will definitely see our return. (Especially to room 112 to see Gilbert the Lizard).

Room Tip: Superior rooms do not have much outside space and can be darker than 1st floor standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stumax_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your 2-week holidays' feedback in Trip Advisor.

Hugo, Ouma and Jimmy and the whole Emeraude Beach Attitude "Family Members" are very grateful for your wamr words about our hotel’s overall service whilst in our midst.

The Housekeeping Team will take care of Gilbert the lizard until your next visit!

See you then !!!

Kindest regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We've returned from Mauritius with a sad face.. The hotel ,overall was ok,we had all inclusive package, friendly staff, except the receptionist Sweta ,who wasn't helpful at all.. On the first day of our arrival, we asked for a room closer to the pool but were told that all the rooms are occupied. As per the receptionist,she had to come back to us the next day with couple of options. No one has ever called us,we just could see many new tourists checking in and no one for check out..
On the last day of our 8 days stay,we were packing the suitcase and I found out that my watch is missing..Called the reception and some security guys came,didn't want to come inside the room and take a look just said that I have to call the police. I called again the reception and asked them to call the police in the morning as well as their general manager..The next day the GM didn't come to the hotel even I was trying hard. I wasn't even given the chance to speak to him..Police arrived,wrote a report for 2,5 hrs ,and that's it. I wanted to see the housekeeping lady(the only one who had access to our room),but she was off and our plane was departing in couple of hrs...Got to know from some other staff,that it's not the first time this kind of things happen.They wait until your last day stay,and then take what they like from the room. Even if you find out,there is no time for investigation,as it's the last day and check out is at 12 pm,as usual.
Anyway,floor the manager DIDN'T DO THING!!! Didn't even offer anything for all the stress that we had. The last day was spent on the reception...Frustrated..Asked the manager if we could have couple of hours more in the room,to be able to pack everything again after the police check and after a long conversation,he agreed to not take the money for extended time.
it was AWFUL !!!!! Do not waste your time in this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Tanya,

I thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

The whole Team joins me in thanking you for your appreciations of our overall service, the Otentik all-inclusive package and the friendliness of the “Family Members”.

I am truly sorry we could not accommodate your request for a room closer to the pool. It seems the person who handled your request at the Front Office did not follow standard procedure in this case (this has been reviewed since) . We would like to encourage future guests to not hesitate to reach out to us again if they feel there was a misunderstanding or if there is some frustration in order for us to correct any mistakes we might have made.

However we have noted with much concern the lost watch that you were searching in the Restaurant and the sandy bar area. I wish to inform you that all declared lost items are referred to the Police for prompt action. Theft is not recurring at Emeraude Beach Attitude and it saddens me this impacted your whole stay experience with us. Should we have more information from the Police, we will contact you directly.

Kindest regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day trip to the Emeraude hotel. Lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Breakfast was very basic and more options are needed. Beach is good although very small. Staff compliments go to Ouma and Samy. Ouma would really go out of her way to make sure we were happy. Samy was an amazing bar man, friendly and super service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Leanne,

We thank you for having chosen Emeraude Beach Attitude for your holidays in Mauritius and hope you had a safe journey home.

All the "Family Members", especially Ouma & Samy, are very grateful for your compliments.

The whole Team looks forward in welcoming you in the near future,

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have just returned from a 10 day holiday with my Mum. The hotel is very small but very nice and well kept. We were given a room opposite the beach which was lovely.
It has two small pools, we didn't actually sit round the pool once due to the fact we are beach girls and there were quite a few families staying there and we didn't want screaming kids bothering us.
The beach is across a small road but that wasn't a problem for us at all. We always got a bed on the beach, they bring them down from the hotel at 9am.
The bit of beach this hotel is on is ok, not fantastic but if you take a walk to the right, you hit all the 5 star hotels, we spent a lot of our time up there. They have a gorgeous restaurant at the LUX, it looks like something that should be on a beach in Ibiza, it was stunning and they do lovely cocktails for around £9- £15. The food is great too!
This hotel is very, very chilled so if you want somewhere with a bit of nightlife, it's not for you. Grand Baie is about an hours drive by car, we rented a car for about £40.
I have to thank Rayjay for our lovely towel animals and Sammy for always remembering our drinks and thanks to the waiter and the chef who cooked us beautiful lobster for my Mums Birthday.Fantastic staf and a great little hotel :)
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparklegirl1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your warm feedback and thank you for your appreciation on the overall service provided to you by the ‘Family Members” of our little Hotel.

We are pleased to see that the little attentions for your Mum’s birthday helped make your stay omre enjoyable (the Executive Chef Rajiv and Samy are grateful for your comments)

Jayray, our Room Boy will miss making the animals fold made especially for you.

The whole team joins me in welcoming you time and again at the Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Best regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
3.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
789 reviews
18.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,351 reviews
15.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
1,565 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,315 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraude Beach Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Beach Attitude

Property: Emeraude Beach Attitude
Address: Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#9 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emeraude Beach Attitude 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emeraude Beach Attitude faces one of the island's most beautiful beaches, Belle Mare beach, with its kilometres of white sand, turquoise and emerald lagoon running along the east coast. Holidays are spent swimming and diving in a turquoise sea, without forgetting the magic of the glass bottom boat trips. To that genuinely Mauritian seaside holiday experience, the two bonuses offered are the beach attendance with Coco and his typically Mauritian beach cart, and the serenity of the Spa Attitude.Wood, stone and thatch are widely used in decoration and architecture. Built in the middle of a lush green garden, the four room bungalows totaling 61 rooms are decorated with refined taste and creativity. Of small capacity, friendly and charming, this 3 star hotel, together with its family members with their typical Mauritian expertise, reminds one of the old days' gentle way of life. Its innovative package "Emeraude Plus" is ideal to enjoy unrestrainedly, as a couple or a family, a seaside holiday in such an exclusive spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emeraude Beach Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Beach Attitude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Beach Attitude Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing