We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Simply superb”
Review of La Palmeraie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Palmeraie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Simply superb”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Nice Looking hotel. Nice welcome by a good looking women with wet towels as soon as you get down from the car. This will highly impress you. Entrance of the hotel is like palace entrance. Small cute reception. Very good stay. I stayed there for a week. Location is very good. wonderful beach. I would say this is the best beach in Mauritius. nice green, light blue and dark blue sea. Those who wanted to go for leisure it is the best hotel. Hotel staffs are friendly, very kind. The hospitality is amazing. Food was very good. Breakfast same menu every day. Absolutely no Indian food. Indians forget Indian food. No spicy food. As soon as you check in they will give you the itenarary for each day activities. They keep you engage every day without boring. Every day night one or other Programs ( such as trio Music, Duo music, Indian dance, salsa dance) . Dining place is exemplary. Very neat. Rooms are good. Unfortunately all the rooms are not sea facing. Hence please book specifically. The superior room are standard rooms. But it is good. Only thing they are not changing the bed spread every day. Otherwise it is good. Mr. Ajay , manager the ever smiling man always helpful. But near by the hotel no shops, restaurant, night clubs. The only problem is taxi fare.,Water are too expensive in this hotel oops 3euro per liter + tax. To get water you have to pay 300 MRS for taxi. Better you buy 5 litres can two or three according to your stay from any hyper market . Free Boating, pedal boat, etc., Spa is very good . It is finally to say that the best hotel for leisure.

regards
Ganesh, Chennai ,India

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ganesh_law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    296
    66
    21
    19
See reviews for
222
672
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We really couldn't have asked for more!
Although our first impressions seemed a little disappointing having arrived in the rain and both tired from the long flight, but our welcome on arrival was extremly welcoming and friendly.
The next day the sun shone bright, and we could really see the hotel at it's best. La Palmeraie is tucked in a quiet corner on a beautiful white sand beach. We had a large seafront room overlooking the Indian ocean, and the sandy beach was kept in perfect order by daily early morning clean ups. The hotel is small, kept in immaculate order and the staff just cannot do enough for you - they really can't! The food is plentiful, some quite spicy, but there is an array of other choices such as salads, pasta, fish and they will cater for any special needs you may have. We were all inclusive and would highly reccommend this option, particularly if you are staying longer than a week as lunch, soft drinks, spirits or cocktails are expensive.
Can highly recommend the catamaran trip on the east coast, really good value for money. Plenty of soft and alcoholic drinks on board, very tasty barbecue, snorkelling, trip on speedboat to waterfall and to see the monkeys in the trees as well as visit to Il Cerfs island. We did also parasail but this was an additional cost - great fun and an excellent day out.
La Palmeraie has excellent staff, to name just a few, Med, Frankie, Jason, and Vicky, they really all do offer great customer service.
We can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romeoandjuliet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

La Palmeraie has it all, a beautiful Moroccan style boutique hotel with great service and an unbeatable location. The rooms are attractive, the food is plentiful and varied and the location is magnificent, right on the beach with free use of kayaks, boats etc in the lagoon. The staff cannot do enough for their guests and we would love to go there again.

Room Tip: Superior beachfront rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Where to start with this wonderful hotel.
We went to La Palmeraie Hotel to have a holiday/beach front wedding/honeymoon, and we were not dissapointed!
We arrived and it was raining which put us in a negative mind set however, we were shown to our room finding the massive bed covered in fresh flowers and very clean and well kept. We had room 303 which overlooked the pool/bar/court yard and above that the Indian ocean. It was not a beach front room, however to upgrade we were advised it would cost £30 per night. We stayed put and didnt regret it. The facilities are great, everything that you need for a lovely holiday with mini bar,safe, balcony,TV, shower, AC etc.... The chamber maid (mostly male), paid close attention to making sure that your room was clean and well stocked! Shampoo, shower gel and body lotion supplied. Hair dryer fixed to the wall in the bathroom and towels supplied.
The food was just fab, I am a pesciatrian and there was fish on the menu everynight. A lot of spicey food on offer however, there is always, a fresh noodle/pasta/salad section to chose from. The service is better to none. The manager of the food section, Frankie ensures that you want for nothing. The waiting staff and bar staff are there soley to see to your every need, they can show the rest of the world how to supply customer service!! And with a smile :) When on the beach during the day, there is water sports facilities available including a glass bottomed boat trip over the coral, kayaking, snorkling at fixed times to ensure the safety of the visitors. We paid extra for parascending and an ocean floor walk with a globe helmet on, it was great! We recommend the east coast Kataraman trip which takes you out to sea, you go snorkling, see monkeys on the river, get fed lots and are given soft and alcoholic drinks, yeehar!!
Our wedding planner Jason Kistnen looked after everyhting from the flowers, photographer , hair dresser, cake etc the wedding took place on the beach front in the middle of the afternoon, and it went marvelously. Good fun and we had the most fabulous wedding feast afterwards with the most romantic meal and ecorated table, the seafood was out of this world!
We then had the rest of the time relaxing and sunbathing.
What a lovely hotel, if you are in two minds, then I hope that this has swayed you.
Thank you La Palmeraie

Room Tip: Go for a beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvbubbles11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed at La Palmeraie with some friends for a week. The staff was extremely friendly and efficient. The location is gorgeous. All watersports are free. The food is amazing and very varied, suiting every taste. The only thing was that I have an extremely light sleep and my room was next to the stairs, which means that I was awake at 6am every morning because I could hear the clearners and the people preparing the restaurant for breakfast. Apparently, that didn't wake up the friend who was sharing the room with me but as I said if you, like me, have a light sleep, this is a problem - so avoid room 206 if you can.
Apart from that, our stay at La Palmeraie was an absolute bliss! We'll come back!

Room Tip: Jus avoid room 206 if you have a light sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyHDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at La Palmeraie for our honeymoon April 2011. We wanted to upgrade to a suite to make our stay more special but we were informed that it would be 40 Euro per night and when you times that by 12 nights its rather expensive. However we were happy with out room when we seen it. We had a beach front room, I would recommend you pay the extra for this as it is lovely to sit on your balcony and have a drink at the end of the day.
The food was the best I have ever had at an all inclusive hotel. It is not your typical buffet, ie cook as much food as possible, let it go cold and wast most of it! There were 2-3 choices of meals FOR dinner, cooked freshly infront of you on a hotplate. This ensured the food was fresh and there was little wastage. The food varied from fish, steak, lamb and pork. There was always a pasta option available if you didnt like anything on offer. The a la carte was available at a suppliment but I highly recommend the lobster it was amazing.
The drink is also good too. I love wine but quite picky about its quality! The wine and beer were very good. I also hate drinking out of plastic cups (usual in all other AI) but in La Palmeraie you were served your drinks in proper glasses, wine/pint glasses. No tiny plastic cups!
Med the food manager could not do enough for you. He goes the extra mile everytime. If there was ever a problem he would sort it out straight away!! He can also help you out with excursions and has many contacts to help you make the most out of your holiday. Med was a good friend throughout our honeymoon. He also arranged a special dinner for me and my husband on the beach which was amazing!
All of the waiters/waitresses were very attentive and wouldnt let you so much as pour yourself more water into your glass or carry your plate back to your table from the buffet! Yes they carried it back for you! The service was amazing. We gave tips most nights as we thought the service deserved it. The bar staff were very friendly and would deliver your drink to your sunbed! To name a few, Kavi, Denis, Vish, Kamal, Vicky were amazing.
The hotel is a very small boutique hotel but it is quiet and perfect for honetmooners that want to be spoiled and made to feel special which you might not get in a larger hotel.
The rooms were very clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed iv ever slept in abroad. The rooms had a mini bar and good air con! There was always fresh flowers on our bed everyday from our valet Sachin.
All in all an amazing holiday all down to the staff members who work very hard to ensure you are taken care of!

Room Tip: Book a beach front room its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellandshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

All in all, good value for money. Staff friendly and courteous, reception efficient - some more than others. I wish I could remember the name of a Gentleman that was in his mid 40's and a young lady in reception - both examples of efficiency and professionalism.
Room somehow always seemed to have sand in it and it was a guess as to what time the room would be cleaned. No security concerns what so ever while I was there.
Beach was a a bit of a disappointment - this isn't the best part of the Belle Mare beach by far.
Food buffet had great deal of choice but taste left something to be desired. To be fair, tough to cater for all tast given the range of clientele. Breakfast was probably the best meal for sure. Book a lobster menu one time at least, it is worth it!

Room Tip: Book all inclusive or half board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LT-Planetwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
19.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
769 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,210 reviews
16.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palmeraie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palmeraie Hotel

Property: La Palmeraie Hotel
Address: Coastal Rd, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 74107
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Palmeraie Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The play of light on land and sea. A glimpse of the jade and turquoise waters of the lagoon through fine voile curtains. Warm, sun-drenched colours. The beauty and purity of natural materials. La Palmeraie at Palmar on the east coast of the island possesses a unique alchemy from which its relaxing and intimate atmosphere derives. Under the MBH label, La Palmeraie offers true authenticity and conviviality, typical of traditional Mauritian family homes. A different way of discovering all the treasures – the people and the natural beauty – of the pearl of the Indian Ocean.Bars and restaurants:La Varangue:In the cool of the early morning or the peace of evening, around the pool, in a world of shimmering colour, La Varangue invites you to enjoy moments of deliciously Mauritian gourmandise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Palmeraie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palmeraie Belle Mare
Le Palmeraie
Hotel La Palmeraie
La Palmeraie Hotel Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing