We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice a little windy but very pleaseant”
Review of Solana Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solana Beach
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Beau Bassin, Plaines Wilhems, Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice a little windy but very pleaseant”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

i really like my first experience its different of the other hotels i have been before the view inside the hotel is very relaxing and i was very happy to see the sea from my bed,the room was very clean the food also was good

Room Tip: i was at a higher floors it was ok but next time will prefer lower floor when i will open the terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Farah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for having chosen Solana Beach for your holiday and also for sharing your experience on Trip advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay amongst us, and also the stunning view from your room.

Please visit us again to enjoy even more our hospitality.

With kind regards
Fabio Meo
Resort Manager

(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    357
    79
    17
    10
See reviews for
321
599
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beau Bassin, Plaines Wilhems, Mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Small 4* hotel, but very cosy for family/kids stay. Only negative points i experienced was a very late housekeeping service (in the late afternoon instead of morning) and no wifi inside the room. Food was good however with open buffet for lunch & dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ArshadOzeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your posting your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Solana Beach .

Your appreciations have been conveyed to our dedicated team members. On the other hand we are concerned about your comments regarding the housekeeping. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience encountered. We have reviewed our internal policy and we are looking forward to better serving you in the near future.

With kind regards
Fabio Meo
Resort Manager

(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was here for the week end with my family (around 15 persons). OVerall everyone is happy with their stay at Solana especially the food was very tasty, drinks served by the kind guys at Bar, our rooms were beachfront and the wonderful massage that we all appreciate.

But to our disappointment, i need to say that we were there to celebrate someone's birthday who is struggling with life (cancer) and it was a surprise for her, unfortunately, when we asked for a "small cake" the guy told us that they will do the needful and with our great surprise we learnt that the room service called the concerned room and talked to the concerned birthday person to inform her that it wont be possible for the cake on that but will do the needful the next day. The fact is not that we didnt receive the cake but the surprise has been spoilt and on top of that there was a man "guitarist" who was playing birthday song to the other person who was celebrating and we were very annoyed and disappointed how can our birthday gurl must be feeling " just imagine-put yourself in our shoes". to please our birthday gurl we have asked one of your staff that our surprise has been spoilt but request him if he could please ask the guitarist to play a birthday song at least...we wait for long then on the second request that your staff has gone to have a talk to the guitarist and the birthday gurl was very happy with tears of joys!!! even the next day we left with NO CAKE!!!!

The second thing was that we enter the hotel we got parking on the road as there was no parking inside, request to move our car at around 5.30 inside as parking will be available, to my astonishment when i went to the gate, your staff mentioned that there's no parking available and i was not happy that my car is left on the road, then due to my reaction, the guy asked my car key to move same inside the hotel and the day of my checkout when we left the hotel i found that my car has been scratched infront !!! why we left the car key with you because we trust, but where is the trust!!!!

Thirdly we paid for a deluxe family room, 3 persons and l'acceuille said that they will see for an additional bed or will provide a single room but again nothing was done for that , we manage to have 3 adults in a double bed with a thin cover!!

Fourthly we got 7 rooms, 3 on first floor fully equipped and 4 on the ground floor and none of these 4 rooms was equipped with Gel Douche, shampooing, Soap, Solana Bedroom Slippers, Bathrobe in these room, it's only upon our request on the next day morning that needful was done.

We were not even informed where the restaurant, bar, spa...was situated. We have to query at the reception...That what we had as bad experience but anyway the fact we were not there to make drama whats right or wrong...though we try to enjoy....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your comments left on Trip Advisor following your stay at Solana Beach.

We are sorry that your experience was not a very pleasant one and I can assure you that the described does not reflect our usual high service standards.

Your feedback has been shared with all managers and team leaders, who will look into why such dysfunction arose, as we would obviously like to provide our guests with a much more memorable experience than you have gone through.

Despite your initial impressions we sincerely hope you did have a most enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcome you back at Solana Beach in a near future to experience the services at its best.

With kind regards
Fabio Meo
Resort Manager

(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was here for the weekend and I must say that from the first step til the last one, everything was perfect. The staff is very dedicated, helpful, polite and already ready to help.

On the first day, there was a guy called Clevio I think who was very helpful during dinner despite the lot of people present. I am also very grateful to Neeraj at the bar who was very polite and was of great assistance.

Nothing was never too much for the staff there and the view is simply amazing!

The massage/spa is also awesome...if you go, you need to ask a massage by Fanny, she is amazing!!!

Though the choices were somehow limited, the food was very delicious:)

Overall I will definitely recommend this place:)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Nikhel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for having chosen Solana Beach for your holidays and also for posting a review on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read your appreciation on the different services offered and that our overall team’s friendliness and helpfulness made your stay memorable.

We have shared your comments to all our team members with a special mention to those listed in your review.

We are all eager to welcome you back in a near future.

With kind regards

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager

(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The name Solana itself at its first instant impressed me, though I didn't know anything about the hotel. Had a short stay, but really mesmerized with the service. Highly Recommendable !! Excellent service from Cinammon Restaurant. My Wife being a vegetarian was simply blown away and expectations exceeded when the Chef and the Manager brought a series of veg curry at our table itself without any special order. Value for Money is guaranteed. Hotel is new and staffs were generous. Should look forward for another trip !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view but better opt for a ground room as it faces the sea directly !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mithilesh1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mithilesh1983,

Thank you for your positive comments posted on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us at Solana Beach. I am very pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us and really enjoyed our service highlighting our staffs' professionalism and their passion to provide the best service.

Your feedback has been shared with our team members and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

With kind regards

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Solana was a great first experience of Mauritius for me and my wife. The staff are friendly and always willing to help. We overindulged in the hotel's great food. Be wary of what "All Inclusive" means, although we didn't have any nasty surprises. The all inclusive package is definitely recommended. Some of the staff were not always able to understand what we meant in English but it wasn't a train smash at all.

Room Tip: I didn't see what the other rooms looked like but we stayed in a deluxe superior room on the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EwertTipAdJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear EwertTipAdJhb,

We thank you for having chosen Solana for your first experience of Mauritius and also for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you had an amazing time with us and that we did exceed your expectations.

I have shared your candid comments to all of our team members, who are already looking forward to welcome you back again,

Once again, thank you for having given us the chance to contribute in making your experience to Mauritius a memorable one.

With kind regards

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We honeymooned here. It was beautiful - the rooms are right on the beach, the restaurant and pool area were fantastic and the staff were so welcoming. I would love to go back! The hotel offers free snorkeling, glass bottom boat rides, kayaking and pedal boats.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room away for easy access to the beach, preferably away from the restaurant ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Louise G,

Thank you for choosing Solana Beach for your honeymoon and, for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I very much appreciate your valuable comments and I am delighted to know that our staff met your expectations.

Your candid comments have been forwarded to our team members who will certainly be motivated to keep up the good work.

We look forward to having you again with us soon.

With kind regards,

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
17.3 mi away
Preskil Beach Resort
Preskil Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Mahebourg
2,464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#10 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,224 reviews
4.5 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,348 reviews
1.8 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,052 reviews
0.7 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Beach

Property: Solana Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solana Beach is a 4 star resort embodies a fresh concept with eye-catching patterns in bright colors combined with neutral shades furniture. With its pronounced colours of the 1960's and 70's, associated with trendy decors, Solana Beach is a blend of natural beauty and contemporary design. Our 117 rooms are all sea view, with private balconies or garden patios to enable our guests to indulge themselves into an endless expanse of sapphire sea beyond and a white sandy beach. Solana Beach is proud of delivering a high level of personalised service and ensuring that every guest leaves with lifetime memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solana Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing