We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, ideally located, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aanari Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, ideally located, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is located just few meters from the beautiful beach of Flic-en-Flac and it is ideally located to explore the rest of the island. We hired a car and used it as a base to explore both the south and the north of Mauritius. The staff was polite, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious with a massive bed and a nice balcony, clean and tidy. One slightly negative point is that there was not an extractor in the bathroom, so it smelt of damp a little bit. There is a small but nice swimming pool, a gym and a spa (but cannot comment on the spa as we have not used it). We chose half board and the food was nice, abundant and different every night (different theme every night). There was also music provided by a talented and polite man. Wifi was free (lobby and room) but not very fast
Clearly this is not a 5 star luxury hotel, for that you need to pay a lot more and food is not Michelin star. However it is a very good hotel with a great value for money (we paid 450 GBP for 1 week half board for 2 people) and a nice location/atmosphere. Nearby you can also find a Spar supermarket and Italy Tour travel agent (for excursion and tours)
All in all a great experience, great value and absolutely recommended

Room Tip: 213 is big, towards the beach and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    241
    61
    35
    19
See reviews for
114
249
51
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. All the staff is very helpful and always with a smile. Enjoyed our stay and will recommend for others. Convenience shops, bank, dive centre is walking distance away. Watching sunset while lying down at beach was an awesome experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarawanan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel was great and the staff perfectly trained and very friendly. we really enjoyed this place and we will come back. Right front of the beach and no need to run every where to find a shop as there is a supermarket right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Right next to everything, shops, bank, supermarket, beach, restaurants and activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

You are guaranteed warm, friendly, courteous and charming service from the staff at this hotel, which really makes for a great holiday. This hotel was attractive to stay in, very comfortable, clean and had everything to hand from beach, to shopping, everything, nearby restaurant called Beach Shack one of best in Mauritius, a world class restaurant. The food hotel restaurant was good, different menu every night. My special thanks to Catherine (always with a very bright smile, cheeerfulness and to top up the breakfast coffee), Shan, and Bajal (the day security man) who helped me with a sports injury. I likes the privacy in the hotel swimming pool and liked the gym.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrylRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A huge thank you to all the fantastic management and staff for making our honeymoon so special. Our second visit to the hotel and another wonderful experience. Room 114 is stunning, request it if possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTeaBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I've been staying at this hotel for a couple of nights and the service from the front liners were very professional. I've been welcome by friendly staff, cocktails and fresh towels were given. Avi and Hans at the reception is very professional and they are the best person to inform you about the hotel services and places to visit around. Special mentioned to Catherine and Shiv in the restaurant. They are very pro-active to customer needs. Room is very clean and tidy. We have not use the spa area as therapist were not available. The hotel provides some sunbed and umbrellas also on the beach. Internet very slow. I've no choice than to go to the nearby cybernet to send some important files to my company. The hotel location is very good as in the surrounding area,there is a supermarket,a pharmacy,some souvenir shops,a post office as well as a police station.

Room Tip: It's good to book a delux room as they have a balcony. Smokers can enjoy a good cigarette on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We read the reviews before travelling to Mauritius and suspected a group of serial complainers as it is all too easy to remember to post a complaint HOWEVER we can confirm that every negative comment made is correct and we experienced it.

Early check-in - no rooms available and we were required to wait 2 hours. Having said that we were offered a free breakfast!
Breakfast - processed ham and cheese, processed "hot cooked breakfast" items and the choice of seasonal fruit - unripe pineapple and grapefruit. This was accompanied by soft granola - not the best start. As were were here on business the 7.30 breakfast start time cut it close and there was no fresh bread as "the bakery doesn't open until 8". The omelette option was manned by a lady who never smiles and had no real enthusiasm for the job. Positives were a friendly waitress who remembered our coffee order in the morning and the opportunity to feed the sparrows out of our hands they were so tame.

WiFi was so slow at one point they offered us the use of the reception computers and what was available was only in the lobby or bar and not the rooms as suggested by the Room Services booklet.

The gym (part of the criteria for booking) was limited - treadmill, bike, cross trainer and free weights. All were worn and not adjustable ie seat height but they did work. The air conditioning sadly not. The water machine was empty and when both were reported a shrug and "we will look" or "water man finished" - same response every time.

The pool - yes there are only 6 or 7 sun beds and you would struggle to swim at all as the photo is creative to say the least. The pool is grey not blue (slate/stone lined) and around 6 feet wide in the 1.2m deep end - more of a splash pool.

The rooms contained a random selection of towels by the day sometime face cloths, hand towels and bath towels, sometimes removed but not replaced?! and unless the room faces out wards onto the road you will need to keep the curtains closed as people walk past and can see in. A previous comment in a review we had read also referred to the erratic cleaning times being as late as 4 pm, on this they excelled and we were still chasing at 5 pm when a surly "a toute a l'heure" from the housekeeping team resulted in the room (after further chasing) finally being cleaned after 6 pm.

To give the hotel the opportunity to deal with our complaints we addressed them directly with a gentleman who identified himself as the Manager his response being "OK, OK, it's not a problem" (really!!) and no follow up when I asked him to come back to me when he had investigated.

A fruit plate appeared in each of our rooms around 10 pm before our early 7.45 am departure the following morning with no indication of its purpose - apology or leaving gesture? No apology or explanation was ever received.

In our opinion - AVOID IF LOOKING FOR RELAXATION AND QUALITY

PS Daniel, if you are reading this thank you for brightening the days we were there!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alison_P1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aanari, General Manager at Aanari Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Our response:
Our check in time is 14.00 hours and early check in is on availability. The guests arrived at around 8am, and as the allocated rooms were not yet available, they were offered complimentary breakfast and checked in their rooms at 10am, (four hours ahead of check in time).
Our breakfast consists of ham (2 varieties), cheese (2 varieties), cooked food (6 varieties), selection of fruits, (usually 4 to 5 varieties), granola (3 choices), pastry (chocolate filled, raisin bread and croissant), French baguette, sliced bread, toast, pancakes, eggs station, a selection of juice, water, coffee and tea. Freshly baked French baguette is served daily direct from the next door bakery which opens at eight.
Regarding wifi , it does happen from time to time, that it gets slow for various reasons beyond our control, and we try our best to give connection from our front office.
Our gym is in fact a small one but with equipment working properly. The gym opens daily from 7am to 7pm with the air conditioner, on timer as from 7am. However, the guest went to work out at 6am and up to 7am, the air conditioner being on timer, could not be activated. The guests complained the day after, and immediately our staff reset the timer to enable the air conditioner to operate as from 5am instead of 7am. Complimentary water in the gym was replaced the next morning following the guests’ complaint on the night before.
The pool floor is tiled with grey slate, hence the grey reflection.
The housekeeping was busy at the time of the stay, and showed up to clean the rooms in the afternoon, however the guests requested the service for a later time. We apologize that cleaning was late and will look into the shortcomings of the housekeeping.
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
23.8 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aanari Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanari Hotel & Spa

Property: Aanari Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Road, Pasadena Village, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#10 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aanari Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanari Hotel & Spa is located on the west coast of the island, 50 km, (45 mins car drive), from Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam International Airport, and 35 km, (30 mins car drive), from Port Louis, the Capital City. It is strategically located in the heart of Flic En Flac within walking distance of tourist attractions and services. Aanari awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Aanari Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aanari Hotel And Spa
Aanari Hotel Flic En Flac
Aanari Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing