We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above & Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have recently returned from a wonderful stay at this Hotel with my wife, on arrival we were given a nice cooling drink and cold towel to refresh us.
At checkin we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite which had lovely views to sea, there were some tasty cakes and a gift for my wife and myself, which was nice touch.
The room was great with tasteful furnishings and comfortable beds, with a nice balcony with table and seating.
Hotel facilities were great with all non motorised waters ports free of charge, we were on a full board plus deal, with breakfast and dinner buffets and Ala carte at beach restaurant al meals were very good, however at the end of our 9 night stay we were buffeted out.
This trip wast to celebrate our 25th Anniversary, on the third night we were served Champagne and cake in our room.
When it was time to depart at 5.30PM we were given the news that due to a local carnival being held the traffic was so bad that the Taxi would not arrive for two hours as the hotel was situated at the end of a road with the entrance/exit blocked by the carnival, with the result that we would miss our flight flight.
The hotel staff said that they would take us to a sister hotel along the coast where we could walk along the beach circumventing the traffic blocked road to pick up another taxi.
This we did although the journey could not have been accomplished without the aid of one member of staff from the Hilton and another from their sister hotel who helped with carrying luggage, not just along the beach but along sometimes large rocks and through a wooded area we arrived dishevelled but with enough time to get the taxi to the airport and catch our flight on time.
All staff that we encountered at the Hilton from senior management to waiters and maids were great, friendly ,courteous and professional with the two guys who helped us along the beach , being worthy of extra special praise.
Well done the Hilton and thank you for everything

Room Tip: Sea Facing and the Higher the better (Only three Stories)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brimcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Hilton Resort and Spa is a fantastic hotel and this review is based on our experience as a family with a 4 Year old.

Check-In
We were greeted with strike on the Gong to announce our arrival. Sanjay took us to the Vista bar where were given a refreshing fruit cocktail while we completed the necessary paperwork. Even my son got a drink, after a long 11hour flight, this was just what we needed. My son got a real kick out of this. They explained everything about our package and what was included clearly and then escorted us to our room.

The Room
We expected a room with twin beds, but we had a King bed and a single bed for my son. He loved having his own single bed and and asked us not to change rooms.
The Room it self was great. It was clean and had everything that you would need. We requested a ground floor room so that our son could play on the little patio outside. It was right next to the pool which made it easy for us to come and in and out without having to walk up and down stairs
The room was cleaned everyday and was left in an immaculate condition. In the evening the staff left a little present on the bed which was a lovely gesture. Bottles of water were provided every night as part of the turn down service.
One thing to be aware is that from the pool facing rooms, you can hear the band that play each night. So if you are a light sleeper, you may want to request a room further away from the pool area.
As for noise from the other rooms, well this is a hotel and rooms are only a wall or a floor apart so there bound to be some noise from adjacent rooms. During our stay we must have had very quiet people in the rooms next door as we were never disturbed.


Facilities
The hotel has all the facilities that you would need for a perfect holiday.

The Pool is fantastic and there is a little area for kids to splash about in, it's only knee deep so we never worried about our son while he splashed around.
We went in the low season, so there were plenty of free sun beds each day. The Sports cabana provide you with towels so there is no need to use your own.

There is also a Jaccuzi just next to the pool.

We received a 30min complementary Spa treatment so we made use of the Spa. The Spa has a range of treatments at Spa prices. There is also a small gym with some treadmills, Cross Trainer and weights. The gym was clean and empty whenever I went use it Definitely worth checking out.

You can use the pedal boats, kayaks, Wind surfing boards etc at the Boathouse and Dive centre.
We went out on one of the glass bottom boats and were lucky enough to see dolphins.You need to book these trips at the Boathouse. We had a chat with the guys at the Boathouse who advised us the best day and time to go out on the boat.

The Hotel is right on the beach and there are an ample number of sun beds on the beach. There are lots of pieces of broken coral on the beach and in the water so you may need to wear something to protect your feet.
you can walk along the beach past the adjacent hotels and there are a couple of Public beaches as you head north. Flic en Flac town is about 30 mins walk along the beach.


The Hotel has a couple of Tennis courts and some bikes which can all be used free of charge

There is a Kids Club, but when were there, there were not that many kids. My son preferred to play by the pool or the beach so we never made us of this.

Internet Access is available at a cost,however there are some internet terminals near reception which you can access free of charge for 20mins a day.


Food and Drink
The Hotel has 4 restaurants and 2 bars
We ate mostly at La Pomme D'Amour which is where breakfast is served and they have a huge themed buffet every night. Each night there is a different type of cuisine. During our stay we had Indian, Seafood, Asian, African, Gastronomic, Creole & Italian...there were others but I cant remember. There are a large number of vegetarian dishes, which was great as my wife is a vegetarian. They always had some sort of pasta which goes down well with the kids.Although my little boy loved the fresh grilled fish that was available every day.
It was difficult to taste all the different dishes each night but we had a good attempt!!!

Ginger Thai and Melanzane are Thai and Gourmet restaurants and slightly more formal

We went half board so had to pay for lunch which we mostly had at the Aqua Bar or at Les Coquillages.
The Fish Fingers we had on our first day were THE best my little boy had tasted ever...I had two of them and they were fantastic. Not out of a box, but pieces of fish dipped in bread crumbs and fried to a lovely golden brown.

I have to say all the food, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was faultless. The service was brilliant. There was always something for my little boy to eat and if there wasn't they offered make something specifically for him if necessary.


Drinks in the hotel as you would expect are on the rather expensive side, but for the convenience of having cocktails or a beer outside by the sea listening to a live band, it wasn't too bad.

Visit the Vista bar and try one the vast array of Rum that they had...I wish I had more time as I would have definately had a go at getting through some of the bottles.

What made the hotel outstanding for us were the people. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and by the 3rd or 4th day we were being treated as family.
Everyone made us feel special right from the moment we checked in to when we left.

The Hilton Resort and Spa is without doubt one of the best hotels we have stayed in. It had everything we needed for a family holiday and more.
We cant wait to go back and stay again

For an exceptional family holiday, you cannot beat it.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, choose a room away from the pool area otherwise you will hear the band
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ThePatelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel resort is a good nice hotel. But too expensive. The rooms are expensive, the food is expensive, Alcohol is expensive and the SPA is atrociously expensive. Their boat house (where they anchor the ocean activities) close by 5.15 PM. Thats a real bummer. If you arrive a little early, then they take a long time to give you a room. Over all, it was an ok experience and not mind-boggling.

Room Tip: This hotel has only two levels. I found rooms on level two more quieter and has better views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerRamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear TigerRamesh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we have taken due note of your remarks. We are glad that in general you found your stay satisfactory and we hope you will keep a good souvenir of your Mauritian holidays.

Kind regards
Hilton Mauritius Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Guests at a couples and families with children. Basic clean rooms.
When you go to dinner at the hotel first question is always do you have a half or full board ...
The hotel's main restaurant serve always buffet. Two alacarte restaurant (ginger thai and melanzane) is always empty. in the evening could not dine without the men were wearing long pants ... even if the hotel is a basic package holiday hotel…
Tip. Rent a car worth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank BO777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we have taken due note of your remarks and we hope you will keep a good souvenir of your Mauritian holidays.

Kind regards
Hilton Mauritius Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

1.Room floors exceptionally dirty, rooms look more like 4star for Mauritian standards.
2. Given rooms separated by a single door! No privacy at all. Beware couples! And tired people who will not rest as will hear everything happening next door. If they have a baby, you are finished and will wake up all night. Hotel claims these are standard rooms and this is what they give to everyone. This level of nuisance and disrespect for privacy is outrageous!
3. The only lift on one side of hotel did not work throughout the 2week stay, despite regular promises that it "is being repaired and will work by this afternoon", so old people, disabled, or families with babies, avoid at all costs!!!
4. Aggressive wasps all over the place, so you can't relax outside on the balcony, hotel does not care to simply get specialists to treat this.
5. Trees full of coconuts that fall all the time. No safety nets, so you are always at risk of very serious injury or death! Walk around with extreme care!
Service is very bad from half the staff, must be the cheapest untrained labour around.
6. "Fresh" orange juice contained big lumps of a gluey viscous jelly like substance. Looked disgusting and I nearly vomited. I had to skip breakfast. After investigation, juice was not fresh but came from a commercial container with various chemicals as thickener and preservative. Director of operations was not very concerned about the misrepresentation and any health hazard. Simply stopped sending it to our table but continued to serve the same orange juice to everyone else throughout our stay!
7. Director of operations is extremely rude and arrogant. Became "director" so thinks guests are his employees and speaks to you authoritatively where an obvious apology is needed, leave alone compensation. I was particularly shocked on one occasion where he left a guests with his family and baby waiting outside for 3 hours and had not bothered sending someone to inform them about their query! They then went to reception to find out they had been waiting in vain!!! Crazily rude stuff people!
8. My final bill was modified no less than five times in the last 24 hours. It was double the amount and I spent my last day going to reception to explain the mistake and get a correct bill. Then bill will magically double again on system and (mistaken!?) attempts to get more money were continously made until the last minute.
Left without having had time to pack properly.
Left tired, with the feeling of having been bullied by director of operations and an aggressive waiter on one occasion and with more lack of sleep than when I initially came in.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS, EVEN IF OFFERED A FREE STAY FULL BOARD!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Tourist0571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Tourist0571,

We reviewed your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We have taken your remarks seriously and shared same with our team so as to improve our service and the skills of our team members.

We thank you for sharing your views.

The Hilton Mauritius Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked this destination for our 30th wedding anniversary. The Hotel was a fantastic place to stay. Most of the staff were really friendly and went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. They upgraded our accommodation to a suite, set up a private degustation dinner on the beach and truly made our stay memorable. I would recommend this place to any one wanting a romantic getaway and the beaches were superb. Each night they would turn down our bed with a little surprise of scattered flowers and the like. Nothing was too much to ask for.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the pools and beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Fantastic hotel with fantastic people working there. The hotel is located on a gorgeous beach with coral fishes and beautiful lagoon. Dont miss the dolphin expericence, it s just fantastic to swim with dolphins.
Quiet, clean, on the seaside front, many activities are proposed.
We discussed with a few people in Hotel nearby Hilton, Hilton is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VALERY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,963 reviews
18.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,223 reviews
14.6 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90503
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: £199 - £665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, renowned for its Mauritian hospitality, and enjoy a picturesque oceanfront location with unrestricted sunset views. Our location makes it easy to explore the island and its surroundings. We offer a complimentary dolphin trip, water activities and eight spa cabins. Our three restaurants and three bars serve a diverse array of culinary influences, exotic flavors and locally sourced ingredients. The hotel's gorgeous outdoor meeting space has everything you need for an inspired event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mauritius Resort And Spa
Hilton Mauritius Hotel Flic En Flac
Hilton International Wolmar
Hilton Wolmar
Wolmar Hilton
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing