We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This resort was recommended by Virgin Holidays, we did not know anything about the country or the resort. What a surprise it was to have found a gem to come and relax in. Not enough can be said about the location, surroundings, accommodation, food or the staff. The title says it all. Private beach with calm and warm Indian Ocean waters creating tranquil settings with tall palm trees and beautifully kept lawns. Accommodation is spacious, clean and comfortable. Large selection of food is provided for breakfast and dinner. Every member of staff from cleaner to gardener to waiter to management cannot seem to do enough for the guests. Overall a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mujijaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,006
    761
    224
    72
    39
See reviews for
1,049
1,592
37
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Being a 5 star hotel, we expected to have the very best, but sadly it only felt like 4 star. Stayed here 2 nights and it was something different. The food and drinks was superb. The room was average. Pools and outdoor facilities good, but expected more. Sun kids club was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Centrino583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I spent the weekend at Sugar Beach in September 2012 with my family and it was a mixed feeling experience. The hotel grounds are beautiful with a nice swimming pool. The rooms are very nicely decorated and feels restful. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty. Although there is a wide choice for the dinner buffet, the food was not very tasty. Major problem was that the water supply in the bathroom was very poor and we could hardly have a proper shower - the water was very thin and was either boiling hot or cold. When I spoke to reception about the water supply, I was informed that they have a water problem at the moment and no solution or alternative room was proposed. The spa was nice and a good place to relax. The hotel is reasonably priced compared to some other very pricey hotels in Mauritius but the service and little problems (water supply for us) does not make the stay at the hotel a wonderful experience..

Room Tip: Enquire about the water supply in the bathroom when you are allocated a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YayShub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtius
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you are looking for a really relaxing hotel where the colonial (creole) architecture prevails, then this is it. I would recommend the visitor to face the Manor at night. It is really a light scenery.

However the standard rooms are showing signs of ageing with dented furniture, leaking taps and clogged bathtub. But the buffet is really good and it is really value for money.
One advice for those who stay for long. Get a visit behind the scene to understand how things work to give us that service.

Room Tip: Avoid room 530, the bathroom lock is faulty and the tap leaks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We transferred to this hotel from the other side of the island as we were not happy with the original hotel we paid for. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely cold drink (which after arguing with virgin for over 8 hours at our original hotel and having to pay for an upgrade when Virgin were in the wrong) was welcomed with open arms! During our 11 day stay, we couldn't fault sugar beach in anyway, our room was clean with a beautiful view of the beach and sea, the food was great and we found it a welxome change to be able to book and dine in at the other restaurants apart from the main buffet. We found the staff couldn't do enough for us and plenty of trips were available to go on.
After the first day of our honeymoon being ruined by virgin holidays, sugar beach saved the day and made our honeymoon memorable for all the right reasons :))

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is our first experience or Mauritius and one of the most memorable holidays. We could not fault it and had a wonderful relaxing and delightful holiday at Sugar Beach. All the staff were helpful, kind and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We particularly enjoyed the wide range of dining options available across Sugar Beach and La Pirogue and felt this added to the enjoyment if only to decide where we would have evening cocktails. Food was without fault, full of variety and would equal fine dining restaurants elsewhere. We had a room near the small pool (as opposed to the main pool) and it was perfect although nowhere was far away but there was a variety of activities that would suit all.

We would have no hesitation and fully recommend the all inclusive option - it was easier and allowed us to just enjoy the resort to its full extent and we sampled all restaurants throughout the stay. Am surprised at any negative comments - it was all very straightforward and if in doubt, there was always someone who could assist. My only recommendation to anyone considering travelling is to purchase some reef shoes as these were essential in the sea but could be bought locally if required.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: All were perfect - if wanting a completely quiet holiday ask for one away from main restaurant but e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at Sugar Beach resort because I love it so much and it will not be the last time .
Firstly the staff from waiters, bar staff, restaurant team, reception, entertainment teams and ground staff really make this hotel. Polite welcoming and very attentive without being overbearing or intrusive. Very strong and thorough management make this hotel a delight. Every member of the hotels staff wants you to have a good time what ever sort of holiday you are looking of for.
The hotel grounds are beautiful. Restaurants serve amazing food. The fantastic Tides restaurant's chef creats world class food and staff describe it beautifully with wonderful service. Tides has an adjoining bar with good nightly entertainment.
The beach carries on for miles of soft sand with a really nice easy walk to Flic on Flac. The main pool is well designed and a great area for kids and the decking is straight on to the beach. The hotel also has a quiet pool away from the central hub bub but still on the beach. It is so peaceful with a small bar for drinks and light lunch .
All inclusive is amazing from breakfast through afternoon tea , ice creams ,dinner and good choices of drinks. It also included sporting and water activities. I did not spend a Rupee during the two week there except on a hat to guard against the sunshine.
On top of the facilities at Sugar beach guests can also use facilities at the sister hotel next door La Pirogue, including sport facilities and the all inclusive package in their restaurants and bars.This again is a very beautiful hotel, very different from Sugar beach in style and feel to the gardens and accommodation but again a very high standard of service.
Rooms at Sugar Beach are a good size and the maid excellent at keeping it clean and tidy. I had a wonderful view of the gardens the quiet pool and the beach. What more can you possibly need.
I should really not be posting on trip adviser as I would like to keep this my secret. But I really feel I should share the wonderful time I had.
From family's to younger and older couples to as my self a single traveller everyone had the same high level of service and from what I saw Everyone enjoyed there stay.
A big thank you to all of the great staff at Sugar Beach. I will be back, I promise.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for a room near the south pool. It really is a quiet pool with the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelfreeman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,146 reviews
11.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,081 reviews
28.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing