We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Going home today after a relaxing ten day break on half board in a superior room. The management attention to detail is brilliant with the General Manager making himself known to each guest. The room we stayed in was steps from the beach and was cleaned to a very high standard and serviced throughout the day. No complaints whatsoever. The buffet theme changes each evening and is plentiful and of good quality. The stunner for me was Citronellas Restaurant bookings required but part of the half board package. I am wheat intolerant Nicholas the restaurant employee could not have been more accommodating the man is a magician. Overall would I come back YES but avoid the school holidays. The last two days coincided with the South African summer break from quiet relaxation to bedlam in 24hours. The management and staff deserve plaudits. Alcohol is expensive so bring along some duty free

Stayed: December 2013
Thank HPJDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you fully enjoyed our Mauritian hospitality specially that of our General Manager and also appreciated our different restaurants. Thank you so much for the nice review and we hope to be honored by your presence again in the near future.

Respectfully Yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,441 - 1,447 of 3,324 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I recommend this hotel to anyone in the world. I have seen people here from all over the world enjoying themselves so much. Kids loved the massive swimming pools. The beach is second to non. Lovely like warm water protected by a reef from waves. The food is excellent. Service brilliant. Entertainment very good. Where else in the world would you want to be? I will come back here again there is no doubt

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland_Ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these kind comments on Trip Advisor and for recommending the Sugar Beach Resort. We are happy to see that have had a nice stay in our hotel and after reading your review, we are very sure that you will keep great memories of Sugar Beach.

We thank you again for your review and look forward to welcome you soon.

Respectfully yours,

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a big resort! The facilities are excellent. We used the tennis courts, gym and spa while we were there which were well maintained and run facilities.

Our room was very good and had a nice view of the well manicured lawns and the beach. Given the number of guests we didn't have a problem with finding a lounger by the pool or beach.

The sea is a lagoon so in the afternoon when the tide goes out you aren't permitted to use the sail boats or windsurfers which was a bit frustrating as the wind usually picked up in the afternoon. The sand in the sea is also littered with dead coral and shells so I would recommend taking some shoes that you can wear if you want to spend much time in the sea (or do the windsurfing).

The breakfast buffet was pretty stunning - a superb choice of food. In the evenings the buffets were generally good but the odd evening was a bit disappointing with a lack of choice for mains.

The downsides of having such a large resort is the service isn't sometimes as slick as it should be. As an example we had to ask for coffee most mornings as it wasn't offered and in the evening we would sometimes be on the starter before our drinks order was taken. At £8 for a large beer it isn't cheap when it arrives!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thefurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write these few lines on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will keep great memories of Mauritius. Further to the issue in the restaurant , please rest assured that we have passed on your experiences to our concerned department so as to avoid such occurrence in the future. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcome you back to Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our 7 days honeymoon-trip in Mauritius is over. It is simply wise to chose Sugar beach restaurant according to the comments from web. There are beautiful views , friendly staff , rich cuisine ,by the way , a round pasta still in my memory which should be the most Chinese people's appetite probably. And there are a few chinese people stay in sugar beach is the most important thing , so that relaxed quiet atmosphere can be preserved.

Room Tip: rooms neer the hall can use free wifi and convenience to go boathouse where can play lots of sport o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach for your honeymoon as well as for dropping such nice words on us on Trip Advisor. We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed mostly our rich cuisine and the service of our friendly staffs and hope to see you again for your first anniversary.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This beautifully located hotel is right on the most gorgeous beach at Flic en Flac. The fabulously landscaped and manicured grounds and pools are second to none. Stunning views in every direction in an atmosphere of bygone colonial luxury.
Standard room was large, clean and well equipped, offering a genuine four star accommodation.
Staff were second to none, waiters and reception staff offering over and above service with genuine & helpful attitudes. Would like to thank everybody from general manger to back room, gardening, catering or cleaning staff for creating a super high standard throughout the environment.
A little disappointed in some areas; entertainment very lacking. Dull and old fashioned. Could have done with some genuine theme nights, outside entertainment or party atmosphere ... Amazing beach but no beach party, no nightclub, no visiting quality entertainers, ( just small resident dance troupe / band). Not very conducive to mixing or meeting others however ideal as chilled out, couples hotel.
Price of food / drinks for half board customers was prohibitive. (large beer approx £8+ .. wine for dinner had to be carefully metered!)
Food a very good standard, plenty of choice but somewhat repetitive after a few days. Could have been more imaginative and kept warmer at times. Hence due to lack of evening entertainment, food, drink costs, rate hotel only 4 / 5.
Gym was very good, well resourced with ample equipment & studio space. Didn't use spa.
Overall highly recommend this beautiful hotel & resort for a touch of quality. Ideal for a couples holiday in fabulous surroundings with polite and gracious attention. Ample sun loungers around beach and swimming pools was a bonus when full capacity.
Don't forget to explore this lovely island... hire a car for great snorkeling in the south, (Blue Bay) or meet the lions at Casela just 15 mins easy drive, (on the UK side of the road!).

Room Tip: I doubt you could have a poorly located room. The grounds are beautiful and separate buildings nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Festive greetings from Sugar Beach,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment on trip advisor. We are pleased to read that you had a nice stay at Sugar Beach Resort and that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. It will be a pleasure to share your experiences at Sugar Beach to our team members. We thank you again and are really looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.

Respectfully yours,

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Spent a week here with a group of friends in late November 2013. Collected from the airport by a hotel shuttle with a friendly and extremely helpful and pleasant driver (Sharif), who was certainly more helpful and informative than any tourist guide or handbook. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted at the door by the general manager which was a good touch. The rooms are neat and tidy, without being extravagant or lavish, which is all one really would expect from a beach resort. The pool area is fantastic with a huge pool and plenty of loungers to relax on. In addition the staff at the pool house are really cool in particular Jerry and Christopher who were part of an informal football game on the lawn with our traveling party. The resort also offers free non-motorized water sports which includes daily snorkel trips to the reef. They are also more than willing to arrange any additional activities such as big game fishing or swimming with the dolphins. The main restaurant is the Mon Plaisir which serves a daily breakfast and themed buffet dinner. The quality of the meals were good if not always spectacular, however with the variety of different dishes on offer one will invariably find something that suits ones palate. Notable mentions must go to the waffles in the morning and the selections of ice cream at the dessert station at dinner time. The heart and soul of the restaurant however are the staff, in particular Kevin, who always made us feel welcome and attended to our every need, including arranging waffles with coffee as a treat after dinner on out last evening, which is something that we appreciated deeply and will look back upon as one of out fondest memories of this trip. Perhaps the only negative side is the cost of food and drink outside that which is provided by the half or full board packages. All things considered Sugar Beach gets a big thumbs up for location and splendid service with a smile.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Festive greetings from Sugar Beach,

It is with pleasure that we read your recent experience at Sugar Beach and are happy to learn how much our team members catered for your needs so as to make you feel welcomed and happy. We thank you for your nice review as well as for mentioning staffs who were of great help to you upon your stay at Sugar beach and hope to see you back among us in a very near future.

Respectfully yours,

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I would certainly recommend this hotel. It is stunning. Beautifully kept grounds, good food, lovely rooms, white sandy beach, palm trees and and blue, blue seas......everything one hopes for in an exotic location. The staff are excellent and the manager is very much in evidence so you can speak directly to 'the boss' if you want to. Unfortunately I cut my foot on some coral, not badly, and had to go to the clinic. The nurse was superb. Very kind and professional and made each visit a pleasure not a chore! I felt in safe hands.
We had such a good time ( in spite of the cut) that we intend returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room looking out to sea....there are just a few that don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Festive greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach for your recent holidays as well as for recommending us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful holiday despite the cut incident and that the nurse took very good care of you.

We are glad that you intend to return as soon as possible, and hope that you will have an even better holiday with us.

Respectfully yours,

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
1 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,237 reviews
9.6 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Mauritius

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: £241 - £889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Sugar Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing