We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Beach Resort(Flic En Flac)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,062
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aanari Hotel & Spa(Flic En Flac)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pirogue Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manisa Hotel(Flic En Flac)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Caroline(Flic En Flac)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,585)
Filter reviews
3,585 results
Traveller rating
2,314
875
257
84
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,314
875
257
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet pooltides restaurantsugar beachmanor housesouth poolmon plaisirkids clubsister hotel la pirogueall inclusive packagecitronella restauranthalf boardmain restaurantour honeymoonmain poolcolonial stylebuffet restauranta la carte restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
1,594 - 1,599 of 3,585 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 8 nights at Sugar Beach. We had been somewhat reluctant to go to an all inclusive resort as we thought that this may compromise on quality, however it was an excellent decision and we would highly recommend holiday makers opt for AI, as otherwise the food and drinks are ridiculously priced (about £12 for a salad, £6 for a bottle of beer). You have a good choice of restaurants (Tides (both by day and night), Citronella and the main restaurant (the breakfast, including bubbles, and the themed buffet dinners are vast here) were excellent. We also thoroughly enjoyed Paul & Virginie at La Pirogue (the sister hotel next door) although we much preferred the vibe at Sugar Beach.

We had a standard room, however were lucky enough to be right on the beach front and next to the the South Pool which is a quiet area (i.e. no screaming kids). The views from our room (which was upstairs) were unbeatable, so ask for room 801 if you want peace, quiet and great views. The only draw back for some may be that it is the furthest point from the restaurants, however for us this was a bonus as it kept it quiet at all times.

We went to the spa twice for great full body massages (about £60 for an hour) although the first treatment we received 20% off.

There are about 6 tennis courts in great condition and a decent enough gym too.

We enjoyed swimming with dolphins and loved the day trip to the Ile aux Cerfs too.

The staff are friendly, the entertainment was really great (good evening singers, dancers and a truly excellent jazz band).

All in all, we had a fantastic trip and cannot find fault. And for what we got, the price was incredibly good value.

We would recommend this highly to anyone. We are in our early 30s with no kids, however we made friends with couples with kids of all ages who were loving their holiday too. There is something for everyone here.

Room Tip: 801 - right on the beach, upstairs, furthest from the restaurants and next to the quiet /South pool - very quiet and peaceful with uninterrupted views of the sea.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LemurToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We would like to thank you for such a nice and detailed review. We are indeed pleased to learn that all in all, you had a fantastic trip and cannot find fault in Sugar Beach. Indeed the hotel has three restaurants and gives you two more options that are the Thatches Restaurant and Paul Virgine in order to make you discover a little more on the Mauritian Gastronomy.

We very much appreciate that you enjoyed most of our services and facilities and would be happy to welcome you back for you to enjoy once more the uniqueness of Sugar Beach.

Respectfully Yours

The sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Food disappointing. Service pathetic. All inclusive package not that all inclusive. Only thing positive to mention was the weather and the beauty of the resort. Exchange was daylight robbery. Boasting a kids club but resort definitely not kids friendly. Food not suited for kids. Buffet times start at 19h00 and three year old already starving. Kids club take kids older than two years but they don't mention that if not potty trained, then need to hire baby sitter. Ridiculous!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We regret that you did not experience a good holiday at Sugar Beach and have well noted the highlighted points and assure you that we shall look into the matter. However we would like to inform our readers that the Kids Club is opened from 09h30 to 22h15 with a small pause from 17h00 to 18h00 and various activities such as crab hunt, wind surf, swimming, tennis as well as educational excursions are organized by our professional and trained team members for the kid’s entertainment. Lunch is served as from 12h30 to 13h30 and is a la carte. Dinner is from 18h00 to 19h30. As for potty trained it is well mentioned on our website that for evening events, the services of a babysitter are necessary for children aged 2 to 3.
We again regret that you did not enjoy a good December 2013 Vacations and look forward to welcome you back.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just booked our tickets to return once again. We stayed first two weeks of Dec. This was our fourth time to the resort. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff are first class, from reception, to the ladies who serviced our room. This time we never really left the hotel. Special thanks to ,Jason, Didier, Shervin, Christophe who kept the hubby busy and entertained. You can do as little or as much as you want to at the resort. We learnt to SUP (stand up paddling) and did some snorkeling. Citronella the Italian restaurant which you can eat at on HB, is excellent, both the food and service. We used the spa and gym everyday. Thank you to the very hands on MD, Andre Sloan who make this resort run so well .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We are pleased to learn that your tickets to return once again have been booked already; we thank you for continuously believing in us and for your loyalty to Sugar Beach. Our team members have reserved more sea activities such as windsurfing, kayaking, paddling and many others for you to enjoy on your next visit.

We would also like to thank you for acknowledging our staffs who contributed in making your holidays so good and are patiently waiting for your next visit to make you enjoy once again Sugar Beach’s unique experience.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A long trip from the UK, but so well worth it, even for a week. We felt relaxed the moment we arrived at the hotel. The staff were amazing, anything you wanted you could have. The food was plentiful and varied, I'm vegetarian and there was always more than enough for me to eat. The two restaurants on the beach are well worth booking for a perfect evening meal. I would recommend the All Inclusive - the mini bar was included and even the chap who drove along the back of the beach all day serving drinks was also included.
The only point I would make is that I would avoid South African school holidays - it got a bit busy in the buffet restaurant for the last couple of days of our holiday.
The Spa is well worth a visit, I had a lovely massage.
Very relaxing, but with lots of activities if you want to join in, if not, choose a spot on the beach away from the main area and you could be on your own desert island!
I would definitely go back...started saving already!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulaandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We thank you for acknowledging the efforts put in for you to enjoy a perfect and relaxed stay at Sugar Beach. Mon Plaisir Restaurant has 14 different themes for dinner which is indeed varied with a large choice for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. We really appreciated that you enjoyed most of our facilities and services and assure our readers that there are even more to do at Sugar Beach.

It will be a pleasure for our whole team members to welcome you back to Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My fiancé and I spent 7 nights at the Sugar Beach recently. We absolutely loved our stay there. After a long trip flying from London via Dubai we were greeted with a refreshing cocktail and shown to our room. After reading reviews on here many people suggested requesting rooms by the 'quiet pool'. Our room (511) was nowhere near the pool- I'm so glad it wasn't. Room 511 is a few feet away from the beach with the most stunning views. The rooms are clean, modern and ours (superior room) had a separate bath tub and walk in shower.

The pools are lovely, although I didn't really use them as the beach is just stunning. There were plenty of beds by the pools and on the beach. I would highly recommend taking advantage of the water sports.

We stayed on an all inclusive package and we worked out that for the two of us this was more cost effective. For example, a lunch would have cost us approximately £70. This included one salad, one pizza, one fruit salad with a beer and a cocktail. I would recommend making reservations for Tides before you go. We booked a table for our first evening before we left the UK. We were really pleased we did, as it was four days before we could get a reservation for an evening meal again. The food was delicious in all restaurants. The service in Tides the first evening was very good, but the second time was quite slow. The staff in all the restaurants were attentive and couldn't do enough.

We booked a couples massage at the spa which was lovely. You have access to the plunge pool/sauna etc for 30 minutes before your treatment. I booked this before leaving the UK.

I would highly recommend Sugar Beach, both to couples and families. Mauritius is a beautiful place and I hope one day we will return!

Here's some info on the tours we did:

One afternoon we went to Casela to walk with lions. I wasn't particularly keen on this, but my fiancé wanted to do it. The tour guides were extremely knowledgable and friendly. The lions were amazing, but I admit I lingered at the back of the group as far away from them as I could, which didn't go unnoticed by the tour guide! The park itself was quite good.

We also did the catamaran day trip to île aux Cerfes. This is a whole day tour. We were collected from the hotel and driven to the other side of the island. Then we were taken onto a catamaran where we sailed to an island off of the coast. I thought the beach at the resort was amazing, but the water here was even warmer and so crystal clear. The only downside is that there were probably another 9 catamarans each with 30 people on board, so it's not quite as deserted as we were led to believe. All food and drinks were provided and the staff were great.

Room Tip: Ignore reviews about the 'quiet pool' rooms. We loved our room 511- only feet from the beach and we couldn't hear Tides at all! I'm sure you won't be disappointed with your room, wherever it is located.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonOlivia2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Let us first express our sincere gratitude for leaving such a lovely and detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are sure that our readers will make the utmost of the tips you left here and that by reading your comments they will enjoy an even better experience at Sugar Beach.

Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach for your holidays and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews