We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at Sugar Beach for 8 nights in January, and I was convinced we had chosen a good resort but I was SO wrong. On the positive side, resort is beautiful, well maintained gardens and very clean. Water sport facilities were excellent and there were plenty of sun loungers all around the resort. Food was excellent and plenty of it. Breakfast service excellent thanks to the very attentive Soobis and Dorothy in Guest Relations also provided excellent service. On the down side, rooms were not cleaned well and we experienced problems on a daily basis with aircons and with our room keys loosing their memory and having to be reprogrammed, there were also a lot of ants in the rooms. Rooms were ok but certainly not up to 5 star standard. We found staff very sullen and it was almost as if they did things because they had to, on several occasions we had to request things to be done more than once. Dinner time service was non existent and we were offered tea / coffee one night out of 8!! Dress code for dinner time was not enforced at all. At 9pm there were still small children running around the buffet and some of them were very noisy and badly behaved. Drinks were ridiculously expensive. We had dinner at Thatches La Pirogue one evening and the service was far superior to Sugar Beach Mon Plaisir. All in all a disappointing experience. We took advantage of the Sun International hotel exchange programme and spent 2 nights at Le Tousserok, good move, now we now what service is all about. Totally agree with review written by Bee2011.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,046
    774
    231
    75
    41
See reviews for
1,080
1,614
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We arrived on our honeymoon and were blown away. We stayed in Point aux Piments at the Le Meridien for a few days before coming to Sugar Beach and we were astounded. Its a five star resort in every sense of the word.

We requested a sea view when we arrived as we didn't get on at the first hotel, and we were duly delivered with room 708 which was great - balcony and sea views, probably the perfect room - right next to the 'quiet pool'. Gorgeous grounds, spot on perfectly genial staff and the food there is AMAZING. We were on 'all inclusive' and ate like kings.

Tips:

For couples, request a room with views near the quiet pool. If we go there again (without kids), we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Do not travel during South African school holidays if possible as a couple, the hotel was crammed full of irritating (and rude) children when we first got there.

Citronellas was our favourite place for food, but Tides and Paul and Virginie (next door) were also outstanding.

Room Tip: Near quiet pool, balcony and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent 10 days at Sugar Beach and had an awesome time. We were a group of 8 adults and 5 children so were a big party when we were at the restaurants. We were looked after by Shereen at Tides, who was an absolute star, she was so friendly, saw to all our needs and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant manager also made a plan to get us a booking on the last night when the restaurant was already full!
We also ate at Paul and Virginie at La Pirogue hotel and Asef looked after us there. It is clear he knows his business, he made us feel so welcome and ensured we had a stunning evening.
THe food in all the restaurants exceeded our expectations.
The rooms were kept immaculate by the most friendly housekeeping staff and the mini bar was refreshed daily with a smile!
Thanks to all at Sugar Beach....
The McCabe's

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailly-romainvilliers
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Everything was great, we came for our wedding trip, staff was very friendly, rooms were big and comfortable with extraordinary sea view...
The hotel was a dream!
From the day we arrived till we leave, all the attentions were there... Buffet was everyday different with great quality
A real 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon. We loved hanging out in the main pool. The beach is beautiful, but make sure to bring water shoes because there was a lot of coral and other things in the water. The free water sport activities are great - paddleboarding, kayaks, etc. The food is really great. Thankfully breakfast and dinner were included because the prices are no joke! Our lunches were very expensive even just for a burger and salad. Our room was fine except we had a huge issue with bugs at night. We finally realized that you have to make sure the lights are off as it gets closer to night time. Don't do what we did the first night and put a towel near the door because then the fire alarm goes off. The gym is really great. Probably the best gym I have seen at any resort. The tennis courts are also really nice and they give you free racquets to use. Just make sure to bring balls or be prepared to buy them because they don't give you those for free. For activities outside the resort, do the catamaran tour. The lunch and views are nice. The swimming and snorkeling were also great on the catamaran. All in all, I would give this resort 4.5 stars.

Room Tip: If I were to go back, I would request a room closer to the gym and the Italian restaurant. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We chose the Sugar Beach Resort for a family vacation in September, due to its excellent location on the West Coast of Mauritius and the stay we previously enjoyed at the hotel.

We were pleasantly surprised that from check-in, through the first night's dinner and the next morning's breakfast, that staff at the hotel recognised us and some even remembered our names. Mr Viren Chetty and his staff are to be complimented for their management of the hotel, and for the consistently high quality of service, facilities and food offered at this hotel.

Our rooms during this stay were close to the gym and the tennis courts, both of which we used, as well as the spa. Rachel from the Tennis/sports club deserves special mention for her friendliness and smile each morning!

We will most definitely return to Sugar Beach.


Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach Hotel again for your holidays and for writing a review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback has been much appreciated by our team members and they are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and the various facilities of the hotel. Mr Viren Chetty, our Executive Assistant Manager and Rachel send their warm regards to you.

We thank you again for your comments and hope to be honored again by your presence.

Respectfully Yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited Sugar Beach Resort over Christmas 2013. We had a good stay overall and I loved the resort but there were some things that were offputting.

So the good - Beautiful Resort, lots of palm trees and greenery. The beach was great too, a private beach with blue waters and white sand. Getting a beach chair was never a problem as they were plentiful. The pool area was great too - really big and great for families. They also had a second pool, a "quiet" pool which is meant for people who want to relax and be away from noise. They had a great main restaurant - again with no problem getting a table no matter what time you arrive. The main restaurant is by the main pool which made for a nice setting. There were also two more restaurants at the resort, but these you would need to pay for and make a reservation. Both were really nice though. The rooms were nice too, nice layout and good space. We had a standard room on the 1st floor and loved it. All rooms have a balcony or patio which was nice. Good facilities at the resort, including volley ball, tennis, a spa, free non-motorised watersports and more.

There were negative things as well though which must be noted:

- The buffet at the main restaurant: while the food was quite tasty we found the buffet to be quite monotanous with the same things every night. They tried to change the theme of the buffet each night but the dishes were always the same more or less. The same can be said for breakfast - tasty but the exact same things on the menu every morning. We felt they could have changed it up and given more variety.

-Drinks were really expensive! We were on a half board package. Most people would advise an all includive package. I would not. The all inclusive package is very limiting as you are only allowed to order certain things. I would only suggest All inclusive if you are a big drinker (mainly beer and wine tho) otherwise it may not be worth it. Having said that we are not big drinkers but when we did order something we nearly fell off our chairs. They were charging about 5 times as much as the places in town which was crazy! 130 Rupee for a coke. In town - 30 rupee.

-The TV in our room did not work properly, and after having called someone every day for 4 days straight we finally gave up and accepted that the TV would not be in working order during our stay.

-Lastly, and the most disappointing, was the service. We visited La Pirogue (The sister hotel of Sugar Beach) about three years ago and the experience was amazing! Everyone was falling over to help the customers and it was really amazing to experience such hospitality. We expected the same kind of hospitality at Sugar Beach but we did not get it. When at the pool, we ALWAYS had to walk to the bar to ask for a waiter. Im not sure if they were understaffed or if the waiters were just lazy, but it really was not pleasant especially in 30 Degree heat when you are dying for something to drink! The waiters at breakfast and dinner were pretty much the same - with the exception of one or two. It almost seemed like they were too busy to care about assisting guests. Like i said, perhaps the resort needed to employ more people? But it was not the level of service we were expecting. The bad service was not restricted to Waiters. We experienced the same "dont care" service from the guys at the beach where you need to go to sign up for watersports. The guys at the towel cabana. The concierge. The Front Desk. It was really frustrating!

Sugar Beach resort is a paradise, it really is beautiful and i did enjoy my stay.Should you choose to stay here you will certainly have a good time. However our stay could have been much better should we have gotten better service from the staff. My suggestion - SUGAR BEACH TRAIN YOUR STAFF IN CUSTOMER SERVICE BEFORE YOU LOSE CLIENTS! I do not think we will return to sugar beach. While we enjoyed out stay, our experience at other Mauritian resorts in the past(La Pirouge and Shandrani) was far superior, we felt much more at home and were really disappointed by the Sugar Beach lack of hospitality and customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,431 reviews
11.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,099 reviews
28.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing