We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This resort was absolute paradise. I stayed here for 10 days with my husband.

Rooms - We had a standard room on the second floor with a balcony. It was on the farthest side of the resort which I liked because it was quieter. The balcony had a nice view of the pool and I enjoyed sitting out every morning as a way to start the day. The room was clean, spacious, and functional. It wasn't overly big, but plenty of space for 2 people to say. The bathroom was a good size too.

Staff - All of the staff was wonderful. Our house keeping staff introduced themselves to us the first day and took care of all of our needs (ironing board, extra items, etc). The waiters and waitresses in all of the restaurants were very attentive and pleasant. We learned there is a staff tip account at the end of the trip that is split on an annual basis and made sure to put money towards the staff as a thank you to the great service we received.

Grounds - Can't be beat and is my favorite part of the stay. The hotel is laid out with a handful of rooms in one building and many buildings like these are laid out throughout the resort (I think there are 200 rooms total or more) with grass, trees, and the pool between the rooms. I liked that the hotel was laid out like this, rather than a large building because made for a much more intimate atmosphere. There are nice walking paths between buildings and along the beach. My room located at the end of the resort was a 5 minute walk to the pool and the beach and to the lobby and breakfast buffet so I did not feel secluded. The grounds are so clean. The grass was nicely cut, trees trimmed, etc. You could tell there is a lot of staff in place to keep everything looking so nice. The lightning at night was also nice. The pool, trees, walking paths were all illuminated which led to a very nice atmosphere if you chose to go out at night.

Pools - Loved that this resort had 2 pools. The main pool was around the breakfast buffet and the restaurant Tides, so it was naturally more busy. The main pool offered a nice view to look at while eating at either location. My favorite spot on the resort was the 2nd pool, called the quiet pool. It was a huge pool with an infinity lip that looked like it was going straight into the ocean. The view alone got me to spend at least a few hours a day each day. And the location was quiet like it said. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas to sit.

Beach - The beach was beautiful. The water was crystal clear and warm. Plenty of chairs to claim on the beach. The only thing worth noting was there are some areas that have coral in the water so it was best to avoid those areas since the coral was sharp against bare feet. It was also nice the hotel included non motorized water sports as a benefit to those staying at the hotel. I used the paddle boats which was fun.

Restaurants - There were 3 total restaurants on the resort. I ate at all and thought the food was spectacular. It was nice that you could also eat at the sister resort, La Pirogue which also had 3 restaurants so that increased the number of options to eat. The food options were different each night so I did not get bored eating at the resort. I had no desire to go off the resort because the food was really good.

Sister resort - It was nice to be able to walk around the grounds of the sister resort next to Sugar Beach, La Pirogue. This made the resort grounds double in size. La Pirogue's grounds were beautiful as well and offered additional beach area too if you felt inclined to move locations.

Overall I highly recommend Sugar Beach Resort. I had a wonderful stay and thought the amenities at the resort were well worth the price I paid per night to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank starla729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure that we read your descriptive comments on your recent stay at Sugar Beach and we would like to thank you for recommending the hotel on this forum. Your comments have been passed on to our team members and they thanked you for acknowledging the efforts and love put in to make you enjoy a wonderful holiday. The hotel opens a wider range of activities with the interchange facilities it has with its sister hotel La Pirogue. Our valued guests have the possibility to dine in the five restaurants, participate in the shared activities and also enjoy the entertainments in both hotels at night.

Sugar Beach Team has been glad to welcome you and remain available on: info.SBR@sugarbeachresort.mu for further assistance.

We hope to see you soon for a yet another wonderful stay at Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 3,433 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I spend three days at the Sugar Beach Resort. The setting was beautiful with palm covered lawns and white beaches. The pool near the main part of the hotel was sparkling blue and gorgeous at night. The food was fine but not exceptional. The service was inconsistent - some of the wait staff were cheerful and attentive, others, especially at breakfast, looked as though they would rather be anywhere but there and getting attention for a 2nd cup of coffee took real effort. But our room was a good size with a balcony view of the ocean. We did not a fair number of mosquitos that seemed to like our balcony, but didn't notice a problem elsewhere on the property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandD701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. It is with mixed feelings that we read your comments as you mostly enjoyed the setting and the immense pool near Tides Restaurant but were disappointed with the service. Your inconveniences have been addressed to our concerned team members and a constant follow up is being conducted so as to avoid such occurrences. Our housekeeping team also provides mosquitos repellents and we are sad to see that you did not call for their assistance. Nevertheless, we have taken good note of your remarks and assure you that necessary actions will be taken.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to your next stay at Sugar Beach. We remain available on: info.SBR@sugarbeachresort.mu for any further assistance.

Respectfully yours,

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at this resort for 10 days and had the most memorable holiday. Although rated 5 star, this has to be seen in the context of a resort and not compared to a 5 star city hotel - this done you can relax and enjoy this paradise island from a prefect location.

We opted for the all inclusive package and felt that the food and drinks offered on the package were very fair and sufficiently varied especially if you dine at the different restaurants on offer between Sugar Beach and La Pirogue. Tides has delicious lunches and dinners with well presented fresh, fusion food. Citronella's is highly recommended for delicious Italian food and Paul and Virginia was a Mauritian food treat.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the grounds and pool gorgeous and immaculately kept and, most importantly, the beach sublime with powdery white sand and postcard blue sea. What an absolute treat to be able to relax on loungers, choose between swimming in the beautiful lagoon or sparkling swimming pool, enjoying boat rides, snorkelling, tennis or cocktails. An unforgettable, stress free family holiday.

The sunsets are spectacular and best enjoyed on the beach with a refreshing drink in hand.

My only complaint is that the bathrooms in the standard rooms are quite small and ordinary and the shower over the bath was a bit disappointing and unexpected. Housekeeping in the rooms was inconsistent and sometimes only done late in the afternoons which was inconvenient.

Room Tip: I would suggest selecting a superior room - the standard rooms have a shower over the bath which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivetoTravelRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, we are happy to learn that you had an unforgettable, stress free family holiday at Sugar Beach Hotel and appreciated most of our services and facilities. Nevertheless, it is with deep regret that we read that the standard rooms and bathrooms were not up to your expectations and would like to highlight that we also have superior rooms with bigger bathrooms. We would like to leave our email address: info.SBR@sugarbeachresort.mu for your next reservations requirements. We have also briefed our team with regards to the inconveniences you had.

Our team members were delighted to welcome you and hope to see you back at Sugar Beach in a near future for a yet another memorable holidays.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent a most amazing family holiday here, with six other adults. The pools were huge, sparklingly clean and, most surprisingly of all, absolutely empty. We swam for hours, and relaxed around the pool side.

Three of us went diving, through the dive centre at the joined hotel next door, and that was excellent too — a very professional service, and a high standard of kit maintenance. Snorkeling off the beach, or on one of the included boat trips, was brilliant.

The centrepiece, however, was the food: we opted for half-board, and so had breakfast and dinner included, and I have never seen such wonderful food in a hotel. Freshly cooked, regularly refreshed and with such a huge choice. We all have different preferences, and there was, every single night, something — usually more than one thing — for everyone.

Those who had alcoholic cocktails said that they were excellent, and the non-alcoholic ones were delicious.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room, and others in the party had a "normal" room — the nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Mr Neilzone,

We would like to express our sincere gratitude for the wonderful comments on Trip Advisor and for choosing Sugar Beach for your recent holidays. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you mostly enjoyed the Sundivers LTD found at the sister hotel La Pirogue. The Diving Centre indeed offers international courses, Nitrox tanks, scooters, safari dives and photo courses. We trust you were pampered by our professional and dedicated diving team.

Your thankful comments and appreciation for the food have been passed on to our team members who are delighted to read that you enjoyed their hospitality.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to your next holidays at Sugar Beach hotel.

Warm Regards

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Dining –

Mon plaisir restaurant - the buffet area was like most buffets at leading hotels. The one thing that can be looked at though is the warming mechanisms. It is not nice when you arrive within dining times and are greeted to food that is shrivelled and dried out because of the lighting/warming plates. Also the refilling process needs to be looked at. Quite a few times we had gone through the buffet options only to stumble on something we would like to try and then firstly had to ask for the items to be refilled and worse we had a few times were we were told that they had run out of the dish. Keeping in mind that we were still well within the dining times. Not good planning in this area.

We loved the fact that they were always willing to cater for specific dietary requirements and would offer to make us dishes if requested. Upon check in we filled in a card with our allergies but was disappointed on the one evening which was an Indonesian theme night. I have an allergy to nuts and although some dishes were marked with what they included like the nuts, some were not and I had a severe reaction to the food as the dishes were not labelled correctly. Also on that night we found that most dishes contained nuts which did not leave you with a wide range to choose from. Being a 5 star resort and having this information available you would think they would cater for this appropriately.

Overall we found that this restaurant really focused on quantity and not the quality factor. The staff were really friendly though.

Tides restaurant – we had a few lunches at the tides and were not blown away with the food. The menu needs to be looked at to cater for all dietary requirements. When the food arrived it was over cooked and bland. We also had my husband birthday dinner here on the one evening and were not very impressed. The food was average. I ordered a Chocolate fondant for dessert but when it arrived it was over cooked and was like a chocolate cake. The cocktails here are really good though.

Citronella’s café – This restaurant by far is the best restaurant in the resort. The staff are friendly and are ever willing to help. They greeted us personally and were aware of my allergies and made sure they removed any items that had traces of nuts. The food was awesome fresh and delicious! We did not order any dish that left us disappointed. They even prepared me a chocolate fondant the one night after I told them of the disappointed one I had at the Tribes which ended up being one of the best fondants that I have eaten. This dish was not even on the menu but they were sweet and surprised us by preparing one for us. The drinks were also good here. Because we were on the all-inclusive package most of the dishes were included in our package which was great.

Spa – My husband had a spa treatment and was really impressed by the service and treatment itself. He would definitely recommend having a treatment if you have some spare time.

Pool – the pool and surrounding areas were always kept clean and tidy and made spending our time there relaxing. It was good that there were so many comfortable chairs wit the umbrellas giving how hot it can get during the day. This was the main pool near the Tides restaurant and not the one at the South side.

Entertainment – this was the one big thing that was lacking at the resort. If you decided to stay in and relax at the hotel the entertainment was bad. On some night they had these local groups that tried to sing but were not very good. We decided to go back to our rooms and watch tv which looked like what everyone else did as the area was always quite in the evenings. We were also not impressed that for a Sunday night there was no entertainment planned. This is one thing that can be learnt from a Club Med who makes sure that there was always some good entertainment in the evening that’s catered for both young and old.

Activities – We tried to do some of the activities but it was too hot during the day. It would be great if they extended the closing hours by an hour or so to give you time to maybe do some of the activities while the sun is about to set.

Overall the resort is clean and well kept. If we have the chance we would definitely look at revisiting Sugar Beach even though a few things can be fixed we had a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side we found better. Closer to pool and restaurants. not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TashnViven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with deep concern that we read your constructive comments on Trip Advisor and we are grateful to you for sharing your feelings and perceptions on your March holidays at Sugar Beach. Your comments have been addressed to our respective teams and we assure you accurate actions will be taken in order to determine the cause of the inconveniences mentioned in your review.

We regret to learn that we did not live up to your expectations and hope to welcome you again at Sugar Beach for you to see the improvements conducted.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in Christmas. The hotel was amazing, great food great service and easy access to events. The beach was immaculate. Whilst we were there there were plenty of events to keep us entertained, Christmas Carol singing and so on.

100% recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gideontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for recommending Sugar Beach to other travellers on Trip Advisor. It gives us great pleasure to read that you have had a nice Christmas with us and that our team members provided great services to you.

We thank you again for your review and hope to see you again this Christmas for another excellent stay.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We are seasoned family Mauritian travellers (12 times). Ourr welcome was luke walm to say the say the least and VERY long - 45 minutes after a LOOONG commute.

We have NEVER had such bad beach service ever... and I promise we are not alone in our complaint heard numerous people complaining, you literally had to rugby tackle someone to pay you attention on the beach - with 28 degrees drinks were very necessary!!

I agree with all the other Tripadivsor respondents the resort is wonderful in every way but a lack of leadership is very noticable in the lack lucstre staff with few exceptional gems such as Vikram and Sashim (Cintrollena) otherwise staff really not interested and going through the motions.

We took the all inclusive for the first time and found it for us more expensive - wine choice disappointing and limited. In general value for money vs last 10 times lacking.

Would we go again - probably not due to lack of service and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear beachymum,

We regret to read that you were utterly not satisfied with the services. As mentioned in your comments we have been having a lot of complaints on the services and we wish to assure you that necessary actions such as immediate recruitments and constant training are being done in order to avoid such occurrences. For the wine selection, we would like to highlight that our wine list comprises of wines from France, South Africa, Chile, Australia and Italy and also offers wine by glass.

We thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and sincerely hope that these inconveniences will not stop you from choosing Sugar Beach Hotel for your next holidays.

Should you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us on: info.SBR@sugarbeachresort.mu

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,668 reviews
11.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Mauritius
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,324 reviews
27.9 mi away
Long Beach Mauritius
Long Beach Mauritius
#4 of 12 in Belle Mare
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Mauritius

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: £202 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Sunspot Tours, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sugar Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing