We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have been to Sugar Beach a number of times and it was very good this time as well. Very good food, great service, good entertainment...I enjoyed the zumba and aquagym class as well. Only hiccup is that to enjoy the hammam, one must pay a fee. This is not the usual practice in the hotels of same standard in Mauritius...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Mrs Ah Pong

I was so pleased to read that you have once again enjoyed your stay with us. I was sorry however that you found the nominal fee for the Hammam unusual but must point out that this does include the special black soap required to enjoy the hammam experience fully. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again to the resort sometime soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,393 - 1,399 of 3,386 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our first trip to Mauritius and it didn't disappoint.
The Hotel is in a lovely location and the beach is sublime. There is so much on offer at the Hotel in terms of watersports and things to do. We ate mostly at the main hotel restaurant which is a buffet. This may put off some people but frankly they had a huge variety of things to eat for Breakfast and Dinner and the food was always delicious! I would also recommend both Tides bar and Citronella as places to eat as they both have wonderful views and great food!

However if you are going all inclusive with your respective travel company be aware that all inclusive does not mean what you think!! Also the Hotel has a variety of different drinks, meals and other things that are part of the all inclusive package its not as extensive as you think! Nevertheless there was enough to sate the appetite of two 23 year olds so really it wasn't much of an issue. It was more to do with the Holiday provider miss selling the holiday rather than the Hotel's fault.

I would recommend you take some sort of repellent as they bugs do bite at night but apart from that the staff were always kind and courteous, the food was excellent and there was always something to do if you wished. Not limited to Windsurfing, sailing, paddle boarding, kayaking etc!
Would definitely go again but not with Thomson!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for leaving us a feedback on your recent stay at our hotel and assure you that we took note of your suggestions.

We are glad to read that you had an awesome time at Sugar Beach and you enjoyed mostly our restaurants specialties. The hotel indeed offers a variety of free and payable sea and land activities such as Catamaran cruises; Dolphin swimming, Diving courses…

The Sugar Beach team will be delighted to welcome you again and make you discover more of the facilities it has.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed for a week at this beautiful hotel. Great welcome and superb service from all staff, although could be a little slow at lunch time, but hey enjoy their laid back lifestyle, after all you are on holiday! Food was very good at buffet - don't have what you don't like. The food in the main restaurants was superb, some of the best I've ever had. Rooms could do with a bit of an update, problems with air con but staff fixed it quickly. Wifi not available in our room but available in public areas. Beach is lovely with beautiful rooms. My grow up daughter and I also used the local bus to the capital and it was fun, nice to see how the locals live and the area beyond the hotel. Did a boat trip too, didn't see dolphins but had a lovely day at a beach with barbecue and snorkelled on the coral reef. Evening entertainment was also very good. Might take hubby next time! xx

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Liz H,

We would like to express our sincere gratitude for leaving a nice feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that the local experiences you had were fun to you. As you have mentioned Sugar Beach offers many facilities for you to enjoy a nice holiday and we are glad to see that you had the utmost of it. We have Wifi free in the public areas and premium access at a charge in the rooms. It is really sad that you could not use this facility during your stay.
Our concerned team members have taken good note of the highlighted points and are glad to see that you enjoyed their hospitality and services.

Thank you again for your feedback and we remain available on: info.SBR@sugarbeachresort.mu for any queries concerning your next holidays at Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Sugar beach is an excellent resort. Beach is fantastic with crystal blue water, people working their are great and cannot do enough for you, rooms are good and have a beautiful view of the beach, luxury spa is exactly that and sport facilities are good fun.

The only let down is the main restaurant which is a buffet. The food is definitely below 5 star hotel standard. My recommendation is book the Citronella restaurant in the hotel which was excellent, every meal we had there (5 in total) was very tasty.

One thing to remember is about Mauritius is the insects around and unfortunately Sugar beach is no different. Although they try their best to minimize it (repellent etc) there are still lots around and packing bug repellent is strongly advised.

To conclude great resort highly recommended, however feel free to have breakfast outside the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are flattered to learn your perception about the hotel and sincerely thank you for your feedback. There are numerous therapies conducted at the Aura Spa, as you mentioned in your comments and we would like to highlight that even the Spa caters for the teen’s juniors and the kids. There are special treatments such as the Chocolate body wrap available for them. However, we have well noted your remarks on the food at the buffet and insects. We assure you the comments have been forwarded to the concerned team for actions.

Thank you again for your feedbacks and we remain available on: info.SBR@sugarbeachresort.mu for any information required for your next holidays at Sugar Beach.

It will be to our greatest pleasure to welcome you and your family to Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous!! Very picturesque!! The pool was very well designed and maintained. We were allocated a room on the ground floor in front of the beach!! It was such a nice location. It was close to the pool and the restaurant and steps away from the sea!! The beach was clean and we were able to admire a gorgeous sunset!! The dinner at the buffet had a huge variety of food ranging from european to indian style and very tasty. The breakfast had little bit less variety compared to the dinner but very good nonetheless. Overall, very enjoyable stay and a great hotel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on Trip Advisor and for recommending Sugar Beach to other visitors of this forum. It is nice to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Sugar Beach and liked mostly the pool and the restaurants. The hotel has two pools, one near the Tides Restaurant mostly used by the kids and the other one is the Quiet pool found at the South side. The sunset at Sugar Beach is indeed something not to be missed and we are glad that you could admire its beauty.

It has been a pleasure for our entire team to welcome you and we sincerely hope to be honored again by your presence.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this resort in Nov 2013. We travelled with our 18 month twins. We had a ground floor room which was perfect, as the babies could run on the big area in front of the room. There were 2 beds in the room although we had requested cots for the girls. This made the room abit cramped. I was not impressed with the way the room was cleaned everyday. The bathroom is in dire need of an upgrade. I have stayed in 3 star resorts with better bathrooms. With regards to dinning, the food was good. We loved Tides. Pool side service was good although slow at times. We used the Kids club. Lovely Elizabeth minded our babies. She was very sweet and the girls liked her. The grounds on the resort are well taken care of, and the staff is very friendly. Will love to return to Sugar Beach, but hopefully they would have done a revamp on the bathrooms by then.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayCathcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on your last November holidays at Sugar Beach. It is with much regret that we read your resentments on your room requests and have communicated it to our concerned teams. Your feedback remains to us an important element to further improve and maintain our service standards. Hence, we thank you again for your feedback and remain available on: info.SBR@sugarbeachresort.mu for any information with regards to your next holidays at Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This resort was absolute paradise. I stayed here for 10 days with my husband.

Rooms - We had a standard room on the second floor with a balcony. It was on the farthest side of the resort which I liked because it was quieter. The balcony had a nice view of the pool and I enjoyed sitting out every morning as a way to start the day. The room was clean, spacious, and functional. It wasn't overly big, but plenty of space for 2 people to say. The bathroom was a good size too.

Staff - All of the staff was wonderful. Our house keeping staff introduced themselves to us the first day and took care of all of our needs (ironing board, extra items, etc). The waiters and waitresses in all of the restaurants were very attentive and pleasant. We learned there is a staff tip account at the end of the trip that is split on an annual basis and made sure to put money towards the staff as a thank you to the great service we received.

Grounds - Can't be beat and is my favorite part of the stay. The hotel is laid out with a handful of rooms in one building and many buildings like these are laid out throughout the resort (I think there are 200 rooms total or more) with grass, trees, and the pool between the rooms. I liked that the hotel was laid out like this, rather than a large building because made for a much more intimate atmosphere. There are nice walking paths between buildings and along the beach. My room located at the end of the resort was a 5 minute walk to the pool and the beach and to the lobby and breakfast buffet so I did not feel secluded. The grounds are so clean. The grass was nicely cut, trees trimmed, etc. You could tell there is a lot of staff in place to keep everything looking so nice. The lightning at night was also nice. The pool, trees, walking paths were all illuminated which led to a very nice atmosphere if you chose to go out at night.

Pools - Loved that this resort had 2 pools. The main pool was around the breakfast buffet and the restaurant Tides, so it was naturally more busy. The main pool offered a nice view to look at while eating at either location. My favorite spot on the resort was the 2nd pool, called the quiet pool. It was a huge pool with an infinity lip that looked like it was going straight into the ocean. The view alone got me to spend at least a few hours a day each day. And the location was quiet like it said. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas to sit.

Beach - The beach was beautiful. The water was crystal clear and warm. Plenty of chairs to claim on the beach. The only thing worth noting was there are some areas that have coral in the water so it was best to avoid those areas since the coral was sharp against bare feet. It was also nice the hotel included non motorized water sports as a benefit to those staying at the hotel. I used the paddle boats which was fun.

Restaurants - There were 3 total restaurants on the resort. I ate at all and thought the food was spectacular. It was nice that you could also eat at the sister resort, La Pirogue which also had 3 restaurants so that increased the number of options to eat. The food options were different each night so I did not get bored eating at the resort. I had no desire to go off the resort because the food was really good.

Sister resort - It was nice to be able to walk around the grounds of the sister resort next to Sugar Beach, La Pirogue. This made the resort grounds double in size. La Pirogue's grounds were beautiful as well and offered additional beach area too if you felt inclined to move locations.

Overall I highly recommend Sugar Beach Resort. I had a wonderful stay and thought the amenities at the resort were well worth the price I paid per night to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank starla729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with pleasure that we read your descriptive comments on your recent stay at Sugar Beach and we would like to thank you for recommending the hotel on this forum. Your comments have been passed on to our team members and they thanked you for acknowledging the efforts and love put in to make you enjoy a wonderful holiday. The hotel opens a wider range of activities with the interchange facilities it has with its sister hotel La Pirogue. Our valued guests have the possibility to dine in the five restaurants, participate in the shared activities and also enjoy the entertainments in both hotels at night.

Sugar Beach Team has been glad to welcome you and remain available on: info.SBR@sugarbeachresort.mu for further assistance.

We hope to see you soon for a yet another wonderful stay at Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
22.3 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Mauritius

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: £218 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Sunspot Tours, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing