We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful honeymoon”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a beautiful intimate resort. Perfect honeymoon, all the waiters new our names and our drinks/coffee orders automatically which was a nice touch. lovely beach. though was a family resort we travelled out of holiday season so was nice and peaceful. 2 a la carte restaurants which were nice and the buffet was excellent. we had an ocean view ground floor room which was gorgeous to watch the sunsets. Very clean and lovely size. we only had room decoration on our last night and not aware we had 2 maids so only tipped the one! The staff really make this place and really go out of their way for you and that's what one me over, they were all brilliant and work so hard. loved the pedaloes they were good exercise as easy to get very lazy!! free wifi around the resort which was handy as couldn't wait to see our wedding pictures. inspired us to travel more. beautiful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sandra

It was a pleaure to host you for your honeymoon at Sugar Beach and am pleased you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the resort during your stay. Even in season this can always be guaranteed as kids are adequately taken care of by our kids club and if thats not enough one can always retreat to our quiet pool which is maintained as a haven of peace and quiet.

I am glad to read that my team members spoiled you as well. We do offer all our honeymooners a floral room decoration at least once during their stay at turndown and am pleased that you enjoyed this attention.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime soon.

Warmest regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,958
    742
    219
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,017
1,566
35
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Absolutely stunning place! The beachfront was beautiful. I'd rate it WAY better than any of its neighbours. Which seemed odd, because of how close the resorts are to one another, but i think Sugar beach has just maintained theirs better than their competitors.

Rooms were clean, and done up quite simple. But I had no complaints with how it was set up. We were quite central to everything, but there were rooms that seemed to be miles away from the pools and restaurants. If I was going back, I would want a room that is central rather than a hike away. ut I guess that all depends on the individual.

I was baffled with the food and drink prices. A large Phoenix beer ( Mauritian) by the pool was $15 (Australian).Which made me not want to spend the whole day at the pool sipping cocktails. Food was crazy expensive as well!! I realise that there is an all inclusive package, but I would of been unhappy with that because that seemed SO limited.

After a few days in the country, It was apparent that Mauritius is a very expensive country. (At least when compared to Australian dollars) It made me understand why Aussies go to Bali and Thailand instead. Why would you want to pay more to eat and drink while you are on holidays at an island destination?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alipaige11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback. We are located on a great beach as you have noticed offering almost a kilometer of beach front in conjunction with our sister hotel La Pirogue.
Accommodation is spreadout over the resort and caters for a wide variety of tastes as many guests prefer the option of a quieter location away from the activity center of the hotel.
It is true that Mauritius can be expensive when it comes to alcoholic beverages hence the reason why we offer a very comprehensive all-inclusive option where all meals and a wide variety of beverages including beers, wines, cocktails and selected international branded spirits are included. For more information on this option please feel free to contact us on info.sbr@sugarbeachresort.mu

It would be a pleasure to have you stay again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We love Mauritius and we love Sugar Beach, 3 differents families going on holiday and OMG, this resort is just best of the best. Everything was just enjoyable from the Foods, Services and the water sports. Our children's had a blast and the adults also.
We did full board and it was a smart idea, highly recommended for anyone going there.
The staffs was so friendly and polite, the resort was big enough to cater for everyone's in the resort.
Keep up the good services and we looking forward to come back in the near future.

Room Tip: This resort has all the excellent ticks from us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa2july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guests

Glad to read that you and the other families travelling together had such a great time with us at Sugar Beach. We do pride ourselves in offering great facilities for families with kids, both in our Sun Kids Club and as they grow up in @sungereration which caters for teens and young adults.
I am pleased that the full board option worked well for you. Note also that we offer an all-inclusive option including drinks as well.

Hope to see you all again sometime soon at the resort.

Warm regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Where do you start, excellent, superb, outstanding.....
We have just returned from a 2 week holiday and have got to say this was a fantastic holiday, all the staff were friendly, courteous and professional, the grounds were immaculate, the rooms very clean and the food in the restaurants was top quality.
We celebrated out 25th Wedding Anniversary whilst there, the staff made our special day, extra special, thank you to everyone at Sugar Beach.

Any negatives, absolutely not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJWLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 25th Wedding Anniversary at the resort. I am so pleased that my team was able to make this so special for you and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Hopefully you will find many more occasions to celebrate at Sugar Beach.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester Park Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was an absolutely amazing holiday, well worth the flight. For a foodie its a dream holiday, for a sun worshiper its a dream holiday, in-fact whatever you like to do, do it as Sugar Beach!

The staff were all super and friendly, they work really hard here at giving you 100% good service. The whole resort is clean and maintained really well. We had a memorable time here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms right in line with the beach, amazing. Get up in the morning and sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellsbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure for us to host you during your recent visit to Mauritius and am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed the resort. We pride ourself on excellent, food, service and facilities and hope you will return sometime soon. If ever I can assist with any preferences or information you may require, feel free to contact me on info.sbr@sugarbeachresort.mu

Warm regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After extensive research on which resort to choose for our honeymoon - we end up choosing Sugar Beach. I'm truly convinced that it was the best place for unforgeable memories.

Check in and first impressions: Very friendly warm welcome, the resort was in an immaculate condition, very clean and well maintained.

Room: We had a balcony sea-facing room think it was 527. Very close to the beach, and all facilities in a good distance from our room - not too far and not to close. So no disturbances.
Room and bathroom was spacious with nice cupboards and shelves to unpack things. We loved the balcony every night we enjoyed a bottle of wine and the sun set from there.

Restaurants: We had the all inclusive package - was well worth it otherwise it would've been a very expensive holiday for newly-weds -but it have set the standard now and will be the way from now on. Good selection, good service. Only a pity that room service was not included in the package but it wont stop us recommending it. Was nice to have la Pirogue next door which made the selection of bars and restaurants even bigger. Value for money! My favourite was Citronella's.
Bar service around the pool at Tides could be better. Too little wait staff around (or was hard to get their attention) and was sometimes quicker just to get up and order at the bar.

Weather: We went end of May and had good summer days (even though its off season) was sunny and caught a good tan, only negative is that the pool water was extremely cold. Was surprised that the seawater was also fairly cold.

Spa: we had a free spa treatment included...what a treat! The hamman was amazing and definitely worth a visit! The free massage was heavenly- much longer & better than expected!
Gym - top of the range equipment - they even lending out trainers!

Excursions: We decided not to do any on this trip as we did catamaran and snorkelling etc.in the past. We did make use of the free watersport like the paddeling boats that was nice. We went out one day to Port Louis ( big disappointed) we couldn't wait to get back to the resort. Very expensive and dirty. The central market was nice but busy. We also had a walk to flic and flac the local town which was nice but also actually a waste of time. If you would like to buy souvenirs buy it on the beach or at the little stalls in the evening in front of the restaurants. We had a long walk on the beach which re-assured us we picked the best resort comparing to the rest in flic and flac.

Entertainment: We went in their winter which was off-season so resort was very quiet. So there wasn't must of a party vibe. Few foreign groups & families that was in numbers and DJ catered for them and they seemed like they had a good time on the dance floor.

Overall - we had a fantastic time and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pikkie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Pikkie

There is nothing nicer than to read your rave feedback about your recent honeymoon at Sugar Beach and am so pleased that we have been able to give you such a great experience at the resort. My best wishes to you for your future married life and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Best regards from a warm and sunny Mauritius.

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel eccellent and well managed. Staff very attentive and could not be of more help. Food, accomodation and local trips very good. It would be hard to fing any negitive comments. Came a welcome relief after our previously poor holiday at the Smugglers Cove in St Lucia.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from Tides as can be a little noisy some evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terence paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Terance

I am so pleased to hear that you have had such an enjoyable 45th Wedding anniversary with us at Sugar Beach. It is indeed our pleasure to turn these milestone occasions into very memorable celebrations. I will make sure that when next you visit we allocate you a nice quiet room away from Tides and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Feel free to contact me on info.sbr@sugarbeachresort.mu if ever you require any assistance or information for a future trip.

Thanks again and warm regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
28.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing