We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary special”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel was exceptional, the food, particularly in Tides restaurant was beyond anything else we have experienced before in an extremely good way. The management and their team could not be more obliging. We would recdommend this hotel to anybody as you could not fail to fall in love with the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitstop P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest

So pleased to hear that you fell in love with the resort. Hopefully you will return again sometime soon to celebrate another anniversary with us.

Warm reguards from us all at the resort.

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    743
    220
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,022
1,568
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed at the Sugar Beach Resort for honeymoon 14 - 30 June 2014 and so glad we paid the extra to come to Mauritius. The grounds of the hotel are stunning well kept and beautiful, the beach has lots of coral on it but still lovely and sandy too, water is clear and still as it is a lagoon in front of Sugar Beach. All beaches in Mauritius are public beaches even in front of the hotels so you do get the locals walking up and down everyday trying to sell things, but they are friendly although it can be slightly annoying if you are sat on the beach being asked more than 5 times if you want to buy a sarong! The pool was quite cold when we were there but once you were in it was fine, weather temperature around 25 degrees everyday, one or two cloudy days but we came back with a great tan considering it was their winter.
Food is great particularly at Tides restaurant in the evening it is al a carte and absolutely lovely. We were given a bottle of champagne in our room during our stay and a honeymoon meal on the beach with souvenir photo which was a really nice touch.
Would recommend walking with the lions at Casella Park approx £80 per adult but the experience it well worth the money. The staff were all lovely helpful and friendly at all times. We went all inclusive and would definitely recommend this as food and drinks were expensive, £62 for 1 pizza, a salad and 2 drinks at lunch had we not of been all inclusive! Would love to go back some day!

Room Tip: We first had a room by the quiet pool (782) but this room also had an interconnecting door and we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your recent review of the resort. It was a pleasure to host you during your stay on the island and was glad to read how much you enjoyed the resort.

Hopefully you will return again.

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Situated on the west coast near Flick en Flac Sugar Beach is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Located right on the beach this hotel provides a stunning location and views of the west coast. The staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They will go the extra mile, particularly if you are celebrating a special occasion. Special thanks to guest relations and the hotel management for making our 25th wedding anniversary so special. Buffet dining in Mon Plaisir was superb with a differed themed buffet every evening. Lunch in Tides was also excellent with everything freshly cooked and served to your table. Would definitely recommend going All Inclusive as food and drink is very expensive, as you would expect at a luxury 5 star resort in Mauritius. The all inclusive package offers everything you would want in terms of food, beer, wines and spirits. Room and bed sizes are generous with the added touch of bathrobes. Mini bar well stocked and replenished every day. The south pool is quieter but offers a stunning location with plenty of comfortable sun beds and drinks service. All in all a fantastic hotel which we would definitely recommend. Thanks to everyone and hope to visit again some time in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Ronald

Thanks for the great feedback. I am pleased that we were able to make your anniversary such a memorable occasion and hope that you will find many events to celebrate at Sugar Beach in the future.

Hope to welcome you back someday.

Warm regards from all the team

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We took a trip to Mauritius to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and chose the hotel based on reviews on trip advisor. On arrival, the hotel staff could not have been more welcoming. It was early morning and they offered us breakfast and our room was ready straight after. On our wedding anniversary, after dinner we were very pleasantly surprised to receive a celebratory cake and when we got back to our room it had been beautifully decorated with flowers and swans made from towels. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained and it appeared that all rooms had a sea view. I would single out Dorothee, one of the reception staff, whose commitment to customer service was exceptional: she was wonderfully friendly, had a permanent smile on her face and couldn't do enough to help.
The beach is beautiful but take pool shoes if you have them as the broken coral in the ocean where you paddle and swim is quite sharp and uncomfortable. If you are looking for peace and quiet then wander to the edge of the complex, towards the Italian restaurant where the beach is much quieter.
A few glitches that marred what really could have been the perfect holiday. The room was plagued with ants, particularly the bathroom. Despite the room being thoroughly cleaned each day, the daily bind of dusting the ants off of the towels, removing them from your shoes and having to pick them from all the toiletries in the bathroom became too much to bear by the end of the week - and I'm not talking just the odd ant - there where a significant number crawling in and out of everything. For 3 days, despite paying a fee equivalent to £36 for multiple device internet access we had no internet in our room. We brought this to the attention of hotel staff twice. On the first occasion we were told it was a general hotel internet issue and would be resolved the following day and then on the second occasion were told an engineer would attend. He did not turn up at the time advised and we had to ring reception to find out where he was. We essentially lost a few hours of our holiday waiting for him and there was no adjustment made to the internet fee at the end of our stay. We would have complained but we left at 4 am and just didn't have the energy for it. Then the safe stopped working - it was clear the battery needed changing as there was no power to it. We reported this promptly to the hotel staff and again were given a time the engineer would attend. He did not turn up at the scheduled time and then when he did appear, did not have a battery with him and said he would return again an hour later. We could not go out as we had nowhere to secure our valuables and therefore lost another half day waiting.
We chose to go half board as neither of us are big drinkers however a sandwich at lunch time with a coke and then a coffee and ice cream in the afternoon cost the two of us approximately £40 per day. I would thoroughly recommend that you go full board.
The island itself is stunning and I would thoroughly recommend exploring it. The best way to explore the island is to use a taxi - we used Destination Soleil - a full day outing visiting volcanos, lakes, waterfalls, religious sites was about £50 in total and a visit to the same locations advertised by Kuoni would have cost £74 per person.
Overall a lovely hotel but there are a few things Sugar Beach need to improve on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emm1473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 15th Wedding Anniversary at the resort. I am so pleased that my team was able to make this event so special for you and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us

It is also pleasing to read that our staff have taken good care of you and will certainly share your feedback with them, in particular Dorothee.

Unfortunately I am sorry to read that your holiday was marred due to some issues with regards to the safe and the ants which were not resolved during your stay. It certainly gives me a lot to investigate and improve on and I think I will use it as a kind of case study with my management concerned. Please accept my most profound apologies.

We are currnently in the process of placing individual Wi Fi access points in all our rooms so as to improve the connectivity. At the same time the download speed is also being increased.

We understand your feelings and assure you that your valuable feedback will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve quality.

It will be a pleaure to welcome you once again to the resort and would be more than happy to assist you with any preferences or information you may require for a future booking. I can be reached by email through info.sbr@sugarbeachresort.mu

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just set the scene for this fabulous colonial style hotel set in well manicured and extensive grounds. We all (3 sons including) had a relaxing stay with the option of having leisurely water sports or a long walk on the beach as the most exerting activity we did while we were there.

We were treated as guests by all but particularly by Rajesh (who regally) served at the quiet pool; Kevin (who went the extra mile) at dinner; and Scyam (who charmingly) arranged our departure. Ritesh (who daily) served at breakfast.

It was not too busy when we went in June and the quietness meant that there were plenty of sun beds. We mainly stayed on the beach because the clear blue sea water was warm enough to swim in. Of all the destinations (many) we have been to this is the only one with a good beach and good clean sea water with do able water sports as well.

Buffet varied every evening with chefs preparing fresh food at the counters.

We look forward to our next relaxing visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your glowing feedback. I am pleased to read that you and the family has had a great stay with us and that you are likely to return.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with all the team as well as those team members you mentioned, who I am sure will be happy to hear from you.

I am so pleased that we have been able to give you such a wonderful experience at the resort and look forward to see you all again sometimes soon for another relaxing holiday.

Kind regards,


Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved our time at Sugar Beach and didn't want to leave!
Very impressed with the overall standard of the hotel, beach, facilities, food, friendly staff and Management.
We had the most special dinner on the beach for our anniversary, they really know how to treat their guests!
We had a room on the far side of the south pool which was very quiet and had a great seaview. Might be bit far for those that want to be closer to the activity but we didn't mind the walk after all the delicious food we ate!
Would certainly recommend Sugar Beach to anyone and hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Anton,

I am extremely pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable wedding anniversary with us at Sugar Beach.

We pride ourselves in excellent guest service and attention and have shared your comments with my team, who I am sure will be very pleased to hear from you.

It will be a pleasure to have you back to celebrate another anniversary with us and can be contacted on info.sbr@sugarbeachresort.mu for any information or assistance you may require.

Thanks again and warm regards,


Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had the most wonderful, relaxing, memorable holiday at Sugar Beach. Taking the all inclusive option was right for us. We celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary and was treated to a wonderful romantic meal on the beach with our own waiter, this was so special. Bucket list, tick!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 27th Wedding Anniversary at the resort. I am so pleased that my team was able to make this so special for you and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back, either for another special occasion or for just another few days of rest and relaxation.

Kind regards,


Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,468 reviews
28.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Odigeo, Destinology, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing