We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encore une (deux, trois..) fois!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Encore une (deux, trois..) fois!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Not sure where to start, really..
The only negative point we could find was: outdoor pool not heated.. Clearly only an issue if you travel (like us) during Mauritian winter and feel that 22°C water temperature is slightly on the cold side.
Now the positives:
Didn't prevent us from making use of the pool, although much preferred the shallow sea (slightly warmer) and the beautiful beach.
The accommodation was great, good size room, very clean and even though we left a lot of mess (mostly due to our 3yo) lovingly restored to perfect tidiness by Ginette (special thanks!) and the rest of the team on a daily basis.
We stayed in a superior room on the ground floor near the quiet pool (720, separate bath tub and walk-in shower highly recommended), which was great, as it was in close proximity to the kids club and a short walk away from the main pool, restaurant and reception area.
The short walk was perfect, especially after dinner!
Food was very fresh and well prepared, we used the main restaurant ("Mon Plaisir") for breakfast and most dinner buffets and the whole experience really lived up to its name: it was our pleasure! The service was incredibly accommodating and Sarah had a table prepared for the three of us every night! (Thanks again, Sarah!)
In general, staff at the hotel could not have been any more helpful and always had a smile on their face, nothing more we could ask for.
Our little one also went to the kids club quite a few times (and usually had dinner there before accompanying us to the main restaurant, which made it a lot easier for us).
The Gym equipment was slightly dated, but everything was clean and in good working order, good enough for the occasional morning session.
Overall a great experience!
If you do want to see more of the island than just this beautiful resort, would highly recommend renting a car (which you can do straight at the airport, which might turn out cheaper than pre-booking it from the UK) and driving around. If you are travelling with kids make sure you stop at the Crocodile & Giant Tortoises Park (they will love it!) in the South (but possibly give the aquarium in the North a miss). Also worth a visit are Casela Nature and Leisure Park (which is about a 15min drive from the hotel), Black River Gorges National Park with its stunning scenery and waterfalls and Maison Eureka.
Already planning / dreaming about our next stay and Sugar Beach will definitely be on top of our list of locations to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room on the ground floor near the quiet pool (720, separate bath tub and wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobs0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guests

So pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay in one of our superior villas. It was a pleasure to host you during your visit to the island and hope you will return again sometime soon. Perhaps the next time will be outside of our very short cool season.

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,930
    734
    212
    70
    37
See reviews for
994
1,546
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Recently stayed here on my honeymoon (end of July) and had a superb time. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and looked after our every need! We received great hospitality and the resort was superb. A few extra touches including a honeymoon meal and many other things were superb, and the restaurants in the resort were so good there was no real need to leave! Thank you and we will be recommending you to all who intend to visit Mauritius!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_shad0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guests

So pleased you chose to spend your honeymoon at Sugar Beach and that you enjoyed all our special attentions offered to newly weds. I am happy that you also enjoyed the food and service and that you will recommend us to your friends.

Hopefully you will pay us a return visit as well.

Thanks again for your remarks and best wishes for your future life together

Regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is impeccable. Our stay here has been best to none from the atmosphere right down to the intricate detail the management ensure of. I am booked to stay for over 40nights and it feels like home! Care by staff is immense and every detail is attended to. All issues are dealt at the management level and get dealt swiftly.
No stone is unturned when you stay here.
The general manager does a fabulous job of looking after all the guests on a personal level and maintains staff rapport to do the same.
It's luxury to the maximum here at the sugar beach and a once in a lifetime experience to such an extent that you just have to come back. We look no further than this hotel on paradise island. The service and the food is impeccable!
If you're looking for a pleasant, welcoming and comfortable stay with all the luxuries attached, this is it!

Kind Regards
Haneesha

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hindocha2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Hindocha

Thanks for taking time during your stay to let us have such excellent feedback. As long staying guests I really appreciate your comments which I will certainly share with my team as well.

Rest assured we will continue to take care of you all for the remainder of your stay with us.

Kind personal regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hubbie and I enjoyed our stay at the Sugar Beach 1-7 August 2014. The weather was lovely at about 23 degrees daily, lots of sun and very little rain. This Winter temperature is ideal for sunbathing/tanning and sightseeing but most people found it too cool to swim.

The resort is large (about 250 guests) and was 97% full during our stay but did not feel crowded. The setting is beautiful, with large pools and well-kept gardens, overlooking a calm sea lagoon, protected by a coral reef. There were various water activities that could be done and the non-motorised ones (peddle-boats, wind surfs etc) were at no extra charge. The beach was clean, although coral shells can be sharp, so shoes are recommended for walking. The few hawkers that we saw took no for an answer and did not hassle people.

Some reviewers have said that the staff were unfriendly. We found them to be not ‘chatty’ and personal, but still very accommodating when required. Whilst English is an ‘official’ Mauritian language, we found that quite a few locals do not speak it well enough to hold a conversation.

The hotel provides a list of daily activities. We saw families playing different types of sports. There was music playing most nights and also entertainment at the sister hotel next door which is about 5-10 minutes walk (depending on where in the Sugar Beach resort you are staying). A ‘welcome drinks’ night occurs every Tuesday to meet other guests, but this was unfortunate timing for us since it was at the end of our stay.

Our room was near the quiet pool which is at the Southern end of the resort. It is possible to order drinks from here, but since the idea is to relax, it does not have the bar, music, entertainment, afternoon pancake trolley etc that is at the main pool. The room itself was fine and we preferred the downstairs ‘superior’ rooms because of the separate shower, although it is true that for privacy you need to keep the curtains closed since people walk past regularly. In the room our only real disappointment was the low number of English speaking TV channels and the fact that the movie channels repeated the same movies a lot.

The food was of good quality and there was plenty of choice. The buffet breakfast and dinner was good although we used other available restaurants in the evenings as we prefer waiter service for dinner. There are a few small cats around, including around the tables in the buffet area. My husband dislikes cats and we still did not find this a problem, but if you are allergic or have a major aversion to cats, then this would be somewhere to avoid.

When staying here you need to decide whether to go ‘all inclusive’ or not. The main advantages of doing this are the ability to have lunch each day, drink lots and eat at any of the available restaurants without paying extra (limited menus apply).

We did go ‘AI’ and even though we ate more than we would normally do, ate dinner in the a la carte restaurants, drank cocktails, had drinks with meals, ate pool pancakes and had post-dinner coffees, we found that we only about broke even because:

1) We were not at the hotel for lunch on 3 of the 7 days
2) We don’t drink a vast amount (say 2 alcoholic drinks each with each meal)
3) We did not use any of the items in the room mini-bar

Overall we found the AI option nice since we knew we did not have any more to pay, but for those on a tighter budget it might be a more difficult choice, especially if you are not big drinkers.

As mentioned, we did go out for 3 days on trips to the North, South and Lion encounter (the later one I have reviewed separately). When we arrived at the Sugar Beach our tour guide advised us of the available things to do, but we found there is also a tour office in the hotel (just around the corner from reception with a glass front) that has no external signage and so can be easily missed. The 3 staff in there were very helpful and the prices were a bit cheaper than those that our tour guide offered.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Julia

I really appreciated your detailed review and was pleased that you have in general enjoyed your stay at the resort. We try and offer a wide variety of activities and services on property but was pleased to read that you chose to visit the island as well.

As concerns the cats in the restaurant, we are working on a programme with PAWS, a local animal welfare organization. The programme comprises of catching the animals and them sending them off for sterilization before they are returned to the hotel where they are fed and looked after at our “Cat Café”. This has so far proven to be quite successful and provides an area where cat lovers can visit them while at the same time we discourage guests from feeding cats in the restaurant. Hopefully we will soon be rid of all the cats in the restaurant areas of the hotel.

We have to cater for a number of nationalities and languages as far as TV is concerned and currently provide in English two news channels, four sports channels, two movie channels and an English general entertainment channel. In addition there is a kids channel in English as well as a music TV channel. I will however consider additional channels when next we review the choice to maybe include a documentary channel as well.

Thank you for your valued remarks. It would be great to have you stay again.

Yours sincerely

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Really enjoyed my stay in Mauritius. Food was lovely. Beach was great. Gym was ok. Location was great, really close to the town. Hired a car for a day to explore the island. It's really cheap out there

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback during your recent stay at the resort.

I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and in particular you enjoyed the food, the beach as well as the location of the property.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you once again to the resort.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have never posted in Tripadvisor before, but feel I must comment on our wonderful holiday at Sugar Beach. I have been lucky to stay in many great hotels around the world, but this was one of THE best hotel experiences of my life. It is our 4th 5-star hotel in Mauritius and the best we have experienced.

Wonderful ambience, space with green lawns and very classy decor. But most importantly, we thought the staff were absolutely fantastic. We have never enjoyed such genuine warmth and friendly service. Anne Claire gave us a very warm welcome which started our holiday in the right mood. Sorhab and Rajesh in the towel cabana became our family friends !.

We did have a few hiccups, but each occasion was handled really well. Interestingly, the Department Heads were very hands on......the sign of a good hotel.

We were on all inclusive and the choice and quality of food and restaurants was tremendous.

Thanks to everyone at Sugar Beach for some wonderful memories. We are coming back next year with the extended family !.

Stewart A

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stewart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Stewart

It’s great to read your excellent feedback about the resort and in particular the special mention you have made about our team at Sugar Beach. We certainly pride ourselves in delivering excellent and friendly service and have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with all concerned and in particular those mentioned. I am sure they will be very motivated by your praise.

Please let me know whenever you plan to return and I would be happy to assist with any preferences you may have.

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseHill
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had the opportunity to celebrate our end of year party in this resort. The dinner was excellent and the personnel was so friendly. It was for sure one of the best eoy parties in my life.
We had a buffet style dinner with lot of food and plenty of dessert. The ambiance was too cool and together with my friends, we had a great time. I will love to come back again with my family.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Siva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Siva,

I am glad to read that you still have fond memories of your end of year dinner with us last September and thank you for your kind words and very positive feedback.

It is also pleasing to read that our staff have taken good care of you and your friends and will certainly share your feedback with them. They will certainly be motivated by your positive remarks.

It would be great to have you back again with your family this time and would be pleased to assist you with a future reservation. Feel free to contact us on info.sbr@sugarbeachresort.mu

Best regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,383 reviews
28.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing