We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far more than just an all inclusive 5* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff, location and attention to detail made Sugar Beach the holiday of a lifetime! The menu and restaurant choices for AI were wonderful (could be pricy if you were B&B) and it was fabulous to be able to eat in a restaurant instead of just at the buffet which although varied and tasty did suffer from a lack of hot plate/serveries to keep food warm. The Tides Bar staff and menu at lunchtime ensured we dragged ourselves off the sunbeds without fail and they always had a cooling classic Mojito ready and waiting! The wide range of water sports and sports activities kept our kids happy while the beautiful beach, stunning pools and personal service ensured we were happy too. This is the first holiday where we have already said we want to come back and this is all thanks to Andrew Slome and his dedicated team.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellis4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Ellis

Thanks so much for your appreciation. I am obviously delighted to read how much you and the family enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Although we do have both plate warmers and hot serving counters on the buffet I will make sure that we pay more attention to serving temperatures in future.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 3,437 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Not sure where to start, really..
The only negative point we could find was: outdoor pool not heated.. Clearly only an issue if you travel (like us) during Mauritian winter and feel that 22°C water temperature is slightly on the cold side.
Now the positives:
Didn't prevent us from making use of the pool, although much preferred the shallow sea (slightly warmer) and the beautiful beach.
The accommodation was great, good size room, very clean and even though we left a lot of mess (mostly due to our 3yo) lovingly restored to perfect tidiness by Ginette (special thanks!) and the rest of the team on a daily basis.
We stayed in a superior room on the ground floor near the quiet pool (720, separate bath tub and walk-in shower highly recommended), which was great, as it was in close proximity to the kids club and a short walk away from the main pool, restaurant and reception area.
The short walk was perfect, especially after dinner!
Food was very fresh and well prepared, we used the main restaurant ("Mon Plaisir") for breakfast and most dinner buffets and the whole experience really lived up to its name: it was our pleasure! The service was incredibly accommodating and Sarah had a table prepared for the three of us every night! (Thanks again, Sarah!)
In general, staff at the hotel could not have been any more helpful and always had a smile on their face, nothing more we could ask for.
Our little one also went to the kids club quite a few times (and usually had dinner there before accompanying us to the main restaurant, which made it a lot easier for us).
The Gym equipment was slightly dated, but everything was clean and in good working order, good enough for the occasional morning session.
Overall a great experience!
If you do want to see more of the island than just this beautiful resort, would highly recommend renting a car (which you can do straight at the airport, which might turn out cheaper than pre-booking it from the UK) and driving around. If you are travelling with kids make sure you stop at the Crocodile & Giant Tortoises Park (they will love it!) in the South (but possibly give the aquarium in the North a miss). Also worth a visit are Casela Nature and Leisure Park (which is about a 15min drive from the hotel), Black River Gorges National Park with its stunning scenery and waterfalls and Maison Eureka.
Already planning / dreaming about our next stay and Sugar Beach will definitely be on top of our list of locations to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room on the ground floor near the quiet pool (720, separate bath tub and wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobs0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guests

So pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay in one of our superior villas. It was a pleasure to host you during your visit to the island and hope you will return again sometime soon. Perhaps the next time will be outside of our very short cool season.

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Recently stayed here on my honeymoon (end of July) and had a superb time. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and looked after our every need! We received great hospitality and the resort was superb. A few extra touches including a honeymoon meal and many other things were superb, and the restaurants in the resort were so good there was no real need to leave! Thank you and we will be recommending you to all who intend to visit Mauritius!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_shad0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guests

So pleased you chose to spend your honeymoon at Sugar Beach and that you enjoyed all our special attentions offered to newly weds. I am happy that you also enjoyed the food and service and that you will recommend us to your friends.

Hopefully you will pay us a return visit as well.

Thanks again for your remarks and best wishes for your future life together

Regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is impeccable. Our stay here has been best to none from the atmosphere right down to the intricate detail the management ensure of. I am booked to stay for over 40nights and it feels like home! Care by staff is immense and every detail is attended to. All issues are dealt at the management level and get dealt swiftly.
No stone is unturned when you stay here.
The general manager does a fabulous job of looking after all the guests on a personal level and maintains staff rapport to do the same.
It's luxury to the maximum here at the sugar beach and a once in a lifetime experience to such an extent that you just have to come back. We look no further than this hotel on paradise island. The service and the food is impeccable!
If you're looking for a pleasant, welcoming and comfortable stay with all the luxuries attached, this is it!

Kind Regards
Haneesha

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hindocha2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Hindocha

Thanks for taking time during your stay to let us have such excellent feedback. As long staying guests I really appreciate your comments which I will certainly share with my team as well.

Rest assured we will continue to take care of you all for the remainder of your stay with us.

Kind personal regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hubbie and I enjoyed our stay at the Sugar Beach 1-7 August 2014. The weather was lovely at about 23 degrees daily, lots of sun and very little rain. This Winter temperature is ideal for sunbathing/tanning and sightseeing but most people found it too cool to swim.

The resort is large (about 250 guests) and was 97% full during our stay but did not feel crowded. The setting is beautiful, with large pools and well-kept gardens, overlooking a calm sea lagoon, protected by a coral reef. There were various water activities that could be done and the non-motorised ones (peddle-boats, wind surfs etc) were at no extra charge. The beach was clean, although coral shells can be sharp, so shoes are recommended for walking. The few hawkers that we saw took no for an answer and did not hassle people.

Some reviewers have said that the staff were unfriendly. We found them to be not ‘chatty’ and personal, but still very accommodating when required. Whilst English is an ‘official’ Mauritian language, we found that quite a few locals do not speak it well enough to hold a conversation.

The hotel provides a list of daily activities. We saw families playing different types of sports. There was music playing most nights and also entertainment at the sister hotel next door which is about 5-10 minutes walk (depending on where in the Sugar Beach resort you are staying). A ‘welcome drinks’ night occurs every Tuesday to meet other guests, but this was unfortunate timing for us since it was at the end of our stay.

Our room was near the quiet pool which is at the Southern end of the resort. It is possible to order drinks from here, but since the idea is to relax, it does not have the bar, music, entertainment, afternoon pancake trolley etc that is at the main pool. The room itself was fine and we preferred the downstairs ‘superior’ rooms because of the separate shower, although it is true that for privacy you need to keep the curtains closed since people walk past regularly. In the room our only real disappointment was the low number of English speaking TV channels and the fact that the movie channels repeated the same movies a lot.

The food was of good quality and there was plenty of choice. The buffet breakfast and dinner was good although we used other available restaurants in the evenings as we prefer waiter service for dinner. There are a few small cats around, including around the tables in the buffet area. My husband dislikes cats and we still did not find this a problem, but if you are allergic or have a major aversion to cats, then this would be somewhere to avoid.

When staying here you need to decide whether to go ‘all inclusive’ or not. The main advantages of doing this are the ability to have lunch each day, drink lots and eat at any of the available restaurants without paying extra (limited menus apply).

We did go ‘AI’ and even though we ate more than we would normally do, ate dinner in the a la carte restaurants, drank cocktails, had drinks with meals, ate pool pancakes and had post-dinner coffees, we found that we only about broke even because:

1) We were not at the hotel for lunch on 3 of the 7 days
2) We don’t drink a vast amount (say 2 alcoholic drinks each with each meal)
3) We did not use any of the items in the room mini-bar

Overall we found the AI option nice since we knew we did not have any more to pay, but for those on a tighter budget it might be a more difficult choice, especially if you are not big drinkers.

As mentioned, we did go out for 3 days on trips to the North, South and Lion encounter (the later one I have reviewed separately). When we arrived at the Sugar Beach our tour guide advised us of the available things to do, but we found there is also a tour office in the hotel (just around the corner from reception with a glass front) that has no external signage and so can be easily missed. The 3 staff in there were very helpful and the prices were a bit cheaper than those that our tour guide offered.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Julia

I really appreciated your detailed review and was pleased that you have in general enjoyed your stay at the resort. We try and offer a wide variety of activities and services on property but was pleased to read that you chose to visit the island as well.

As concerns the cats in the restaurant, we are working on a programme with PAWS, a local animal welfare organization. The programme comprises of catching the animals and them sending them off for sterilization before they are returned to the hotel where they are fed and looked after at our “Cat Café”. This has so far proven to be quite successful and provides an area where cat lovers can visit them while at the same time we discourage guests from feeding cats in the restaurant. Hopefully we will soon be rid of all the cats in the restaurant areas of the hotel.

We have to cater for a number of nationalities and languages as far as TV is concerned and currently provide in English two news channels, four sports channels, two movie channels and an English general entertainment channel. In addition there is a kids channel in English as well as a music TV channel. I will however consider additional channels when next we review the choice to maybe include a documentary channel as well.

Thank you for your valued remarks. It would be great to have you stay again.

Yours sincerely

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Really enjoyed my stay in Mauritius. Food was lovely. Beach was great. Gym was ok. Location was great, really close to the town. Hired a car for a day to explore the island. It's really cheap out there

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback during your recent stay at the resort.

I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and in particular you enjoyed the food, the beach as well as the location of the property.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you once again to the resort.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have never posted in Tripadvisor before, but feel I must comment on our wonderful holiday at Sugar Beach. I have been lucky to stay in many great hotels around the world, but this was one of THE best hotel experiences of my life. It is our 4th 5-star hotel in Mauritius and the best we have experienced.

Wonderful ambience, space with green lawns and very classy decor. But most importantly, we thought the staff were absolutely fantastic. We have never enjoyed such genuine warmth and friendly service. Anne Claire gave us a very warm welcome which started our holiday in the right mood. Sorhab and Rajesh in the towel cabana became our family friends !.

We did have a few hiccups, but each occasion was handled really well. Interestingly, the Department Heads were very hands on......the sign of a good hotel.

We were on all inclusive and the choice and quality of food and restaurants was tremendous.

Thanks to everyone at Sugar Beach for some wonderful memories. We are coming back next year with the extended family !.

Stewart A

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Stewart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Stewart

It’s great to read your excellent feedback about the resort and in particular the special mention you have made about our team at Sugar Beach. We certainly pride ourselves in delivering excellent and friendly service and have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with all concerned and in particular those mentioned. I am sure they will be very motivated by your praise.

Please let me know whenever you plan to return and I would be happy to assist with any preferences you may have.

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,671 reviews
11.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Mauritius
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,325 reviews
27.9 mi away
Long Beach Mauritius
Long Beach Mauritius
#4 of 12 in Belle Mare
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Mauritius

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: £200 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Sunspot Tours, Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sugar Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing