We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wery nice hotel with nice beach, pool and garden.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Everything was perfect and we was very satisfied. Food was also tasty. Nice hotel, room was clean, twice in day check. You have also free wifi at the room and also little to beach. Staff is friendly and help, prepared glutten free bread for as every day.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for this comment on Trip Advisor.

We are really pleased to hear that you were satisfied by the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa and by your stay with us.

Please rest assure that we will always do our utmost to fulfill our guests' wishes.

We hope to see you back with us in a near future.

Best Regards
Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Apart from ants in the room( :( ), nothing can be criticised. Great time and excellente value for money.
Daily menu were great especially sea food, mediterranean and mauritian. *****

Great staff too. *****

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels
Thank AyaBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please rest assure that the needful is being done concerning our friends the ants.

We are pleased though, to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you in a near future.

Very kind regards
Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I spent 15 lovely days with my husband in this hotel. I loved every minute of that: the hotel itself and its luxury, the beaches, the garden, the food and above all the people, everything was great. Accommodation was comfortable, lovely balcony with the view over ocean, lots of palms and Mediterranean flowers with lovely smells everywhere, sandy beaches with crystal green-white water, warm for swimming in it. Very rich and very varied food for breakfasts and for dinners (7 different kitchens (French, Indian and so on). Very warm welcome, people warm and gently, smiling, joyful. Everything was very well organized and lots of possibility to entertain yourself Holiday for remembering..

Room Tip: Every room has view on the ocean. We have been on the right side of the hotel and that was very suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slobodanka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comment on trip Advisor.

We are most pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please rest assure that we will always do the needful to keep our standards.

We hope to see you with us in a near future.

Very best regards
Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Pros : Its a great property located on one of the best beaches of Mauritius. Rooms are excellent and with a enchanting view of the ocean. Bathroom offers a nice relaxing bath after tiring day on sea side. Sofitel offers some water sports activity such as snorkelling, boating, kayaking, surfing, etc on the house. Great place to relax and unwind. Food was ok. Breakfast was almost same everyday. Dinner though had variety but we couldnt enjoy much on food front. One of the evening during my stay, management had organised a cocktail party. What more can you ask for. Their band plays great music and livens the evening, the tunes almost make you dance.

Cons : Hospitality is not as great when you term it 5star. The expectation with a 5star is quite high. We had issues with management while check out and check in. Even though the rooms were available they dint allows us to checkin even a minute before (literally). We asked if the room was ready at about 1.50pm (2pm is checkin time) and got a rude answer " there are yet 10mins to go". We were kind of disappointed and annoyed especially after a long flight.

Tips: For those travelling to Mauritius, please remember to buy water from local supermarket as complimentary water supply is only 1/2 litre perday per person and water at Sofitel is very very expensive

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PiyushJalandhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for this comment on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to see that you globally enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa.

We thank you again for the remarks on flaws observed during your stay. Please rest assure that the needful will be done to see what happened and that the appropriate decisions will be taken.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at h1144-sm2@sofitel.com if you would like to talk about your experience.

We hope to see you with us in a near future.

Best Regards
Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at the hotel for four nights, unfortunately I was in Mauritius for business and not on a holiday. The hotel is really very good in so many ways - beautiful setting, beach, rooms, foyer etc. Maybe for holidayers it would be perfect, but I found a few things that were not so great. The buffet breakfast was reasonably varied, while the equivalent for dinner was, I felt, poor and poor value. Across the board, prices were really very high - we visited some of the island's best restaurants during our stay and found their prices to be half or less those at the hotel. So, please visit this hotel, but don't be afraid to take a taxi to a local (excellent) restaurant or bar for a less expensive night out.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 3rd floor, very nice and quiet with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for this comment left on TripAdvisor,

Please rest assure that we will see what was served at the Ravinala restaurant on that day and what happened during your stay. Be sure that each comment helps us to move forward and ensure even better service to each one of our guests.

We hope though that you will stay with us again in a near future.

Very best regards
Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel end of June 2012 to beginning of July 2012 (7 night). The gardens and the beach are lovely, the rooms are ok for 5 star but not out of this world. However there are definitely some features which do not make this hotel a 5 star, there are no lifts whatsoever so you/the porter have/has to carry luggage up flights of stairs which is inconvenient and soar to the eye. Furthermore it is impossible to use the jacuzzi and steam room unless you pay for a massage in advance per person. I believe that the steam bath and jacuzzi are part of the hotel experience and should definitely be included in the price especially with regards to a hotel portraying itself as a five star. The food is ok, definitely not wow and restricted for people who do not eat fish, or are not too keen on oriental food, since most of the days the food is heavily based on the orient feel and the only a la carte restaurant there is serves fish.

The hotel is quite a large one, yet no upgrades are given to honeymooners despite the note from the agent. Having said this, sweet surprises are left in the room such as swan shaped towels and petals, and complimentary water on a daily basis.

During carnival, we were stuck in traffic for 4 hours in flic-en-flac due to inefficiencies that surround this country unfortunately, it was the euro final and no arrangements were made by the hotel to take complimentary supper at least from the buffet area to our room since no televisions are provided in the bars and whatsoever. They told us they were just going to extend the supper time by some 15 minutes but that was it. We understand that there was no fault of the hotel in the carnival traffic, but then again it was a clear national circumstance which hindered us from being on time for supper,

Else staff are really nice and polite, they have given my husband a birthday cake and a card which was greatly appreciated. They always tried to accomodate our requests as best as they could. There was also an invitation to complimentary cocktails which was a really lovely gesture. Also the welcome drink was really nice.

All in all the hotel is lovely, but definitely not outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for this comment left on TripAdvisor.

Being a beach resort with only first and second floor we unfortunately do not have a lift and we are sorry that this felt like a negative aspect of your stay. Concerning the Spa issue, in fact we have a So Spa which offer a lot of exclusive services such as the Spa by Night and the music pool, we cannot offer free access to the Jacuzzi and steam bath as the space available would not be suitable for all hotel residents.

We hope that you enjoyed the Ming Court restaurant or the teppanyaki tables where you can have a marvelous experience of Chinese and Japanese fine cuisine.

Thank you again for this comment as each of them help us to improve our services and we really hope to see you again at the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to talk about your experience h1144-sm2@sofitel.com

Very best regards
Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The Sofitel property in Mauritius is lovely, with an amazing beach and great food! But the service is horrible and the staff is rude and indifferent especially to Indians. We had booked luxury rooms but when we arrived we were given lower category of rooms, after showing our recipt and email to the receptionist, our rooms were ready only in the evening. But when we requested for a half hour late check out we were flatly refused.

The staff at the buffet were not helpful and if we requested for something atleast 5 times we were rudely told that "it takes time". The general attitude of the staff including the people at the spa was not hospitable. We had made the entire payment in advance and on the last day we were billed again because of some fault of the hotel and local travel agent. The lady at the reception refused to check in her system and just kept insiting that we have to pay again. After fighting with her she finally checked and realized that they had received the money.

The food in the restaurant is outstanding especially the chinese restaurant, even the vegetarian food was really good. Overall our experience was bitter because of the attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khyati133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for this comment on TripAdvisor.

We are really sorry that some misunderstanding with our staff led to a sad experience.
Nevertheless we are pleased that you enjoyed our different restaurants during your stay.

Please rest assure that the utmost will be done to know what happened during your stay and that the appropriate decisions will be taken to avoid those kind of situation in the future.

Thank you again for your comment, as each comment helps us to move forward and reach even better service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us personally at h1144-sm2@sofitel.com if you would like to talk about your experience.

Best regards
Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,588 reviews
10.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,245 reviews
22.7 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: £172 - £666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing