We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Service Ever Experienced By A Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Service Ever Experienced By A Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hello, I will be as honest as I can be. My fiancee and I called this hotel the 22 April 2014 around 5:00pm local time. We have not stayed at this hotel but we were looking forward to plan our wedding there as the reviews seemed excellent however this was far, VERY FAR from the case...

What happened next baffled us completely and by the end we were very much annoyed..

When we called reception and told them we wanted to plan a wedding with them, we were forwarded to (what i believe) was either the Banquet/Event Coordinator and that was when we were treated as fools. When we talked about possible wedding ideas or plans (in the local creole language) out of nowhere, the woman at the end of the phone told us sarcastically that we could speak in english as (i quote) "Ou kapav koze anglais si ou ler EIN, Mauricien konne koze anglais" which was beside the point, i am allowed to speak whatever language i wanted. When we told her we were Mauritians, she continuously asked us whether we had the passport even though we did confirm it several times. When we also asked for a possible price quota and to contact us on our email, she even decided that she had to correct us insisting that 'quota' is not the correct word to be used and said "En francais on dit devise, pas quota" (she also giggled) the sarcasm hit the spot and touched my nerve, i was very annoyed by then.

The point is my fiancee and I both work in Hospitality and we both know better when talking on the phone, there is no need to correct customers or even be sarcastic. If this is how you deal with customers, I am afraid your staff have a lot of basic behavioral training to do...

The reception staff was actually very nice but when we were forwarded to the other lady it went downhill, someone would have thought we were disturbing her.

Oh did i mention we are still waiting on an email (from our conversation) from her? But i think that would be unnecessary now...

It was very disheartening that we received such service as this hotel was actually our first choice, but nonetheless i am happy this happened over the phone and not when planning/during the wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor,
despite the fact that you were not Guests at our property.

We would like to sincerely apologize to you and to your fiancée.
Please rest assured that we are taking the necessary steps to address this problem
to prevent future occurrence.

We would like to wish you all the best in your future life together and hope that you
will find the appropriate location to organize your wedding.

Kind Regards,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    459
    207
    78
    47
See reviews for
468
914
48
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is awesome in every single aspect. The rooms (in my case the king size suite) are beautiful, the small presents every day make the great vacation an awesome vacation. The beach is stunningly white, just a minute-dive away from the coral barrier. The restaurants and the vine cellar are divine, an absolute must-eat-and-drink.

Try the hammam and the massage facility, you will be renewed and as relaxed as ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for having shared your very positive feedback of our Hotel on TripAdvisor; we are delighted that your stay has been up to your expectations and that you find the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort "the best so far and awesome in very single aspect.."

We shall share your comments with our Ambassadors . I am sure that your appreciation will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to achieve excellence in our service to our valued Guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again.

Kind Regards


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a review designed to inform you all what this experience is really like. As we write this we are staying in the resort and have been here 7 out of our 11 night stay.. so it won't be any fresher or rawer than right now. We came to Mauritius on our Honeymoon and used these reviews to select this property so we hope to offer a little clarity to those of you considering staying here.

Before I get into the rough stuff it is important to preface this review with the fact that the resort reception area, gym, the pool and the beach lounges are very impressive. The sea, marine life and weather are everything you could want from a beach holiday.

Everything I am about to say is fairly well covered in amongst the reviews already listed.

Now, if you are familiar with the Sofitel 5 star properties it is best to forget everything you know. It tries to live up to that standard but can't. The reception area and entry which was renovated in 2013 is very impressive however unfortunately the rooms have only had a dusting by comparison. the rooms can be a little dirty and the cleaning staff seems a bit lazy. No tissues replaced one day, dust under the sofa, shower and bathroom areas are the worse with some mould and water stains on tiles and around shower doors. The views from the balcony, however, are incredible. and the bed is comfortable.

Probably the most disappointing part of the whole experience is the customer service - or lack there of. the first few days we thought it was a couple of staff members that just didn't care however as the trip continues I'm almost convinced it's a cultural thing - they just don't know what good service is to appreciate when it is lacking. There is no communication - ever, bills are always wrong, there is a manager for everything, it can take 10 minutes to get someone's attention, staff are non-attentive, chat amongst themselves and conveniently disappear when you need something. You do feel like an inconvenience to them all. As I write this I can appreciate how harsh it sounds - but unfortunately its true. If the management of the Sofitel take anything from this it's that a smile goes a long way and we are all on holiday time, just tell us what the hold up/concern/delay is and we are fine. It's the disappearing without a word when a problem arises that is the issue. To be fair there are one or two that make a bit more of an effort (the concierge and one of the gym attendants) however they are by far the exception.

The food is very average for a 5 star resort. Tips - stick to the basics (Catch of the day or similar), get to the buffet early and prepare to spend a lot of money for very average food and drink (AUD$100-125pp/per night). Long pants are required for some reason I am yet to determine at dinner and in the bar despite being a) on the beach and b) mostly 30+deg

The alcohol is priced accordingly - I ordered a vodka soda on the first night and paid for a vodka (AUD$9) AND a soda (AUD$7)

Now this wouldn't be a problem if the resort was close to something but everything is a taxi ride away (you'll get to know taxis and their ridiculous pricing as its the only way to get around), food in Flic en Flac is no better - so you are effectively stranded

Notes on the island - the tourist dollar is key and you will pay through the teeth for everything; taxi's, food, drink, tours and shopping

Shopping - it is not worth it. the 'outlets' all sell knock off items for genuine prices. Taxi drivers make commission from stores so watch out for places they recommend

tourist attractions - two tiered pricing is prevalent and they make no effort to hide it. there is a resident and a tourist price for everything. Don't pay for tea tasting, sugar plant tours etc. you will just feel ripped off.

Some days trips are worth while - we swam with the dolphins and had a BBQ on the beach which was the highlight of the trip organised through Sunny at the hotel. Port Louis, 7 Earths and Floreal were all a disappointment

Mauritius is a beautiful island and a beautiful place to have a beach holiday. The unfortunate thing is it could really be an amazing place that you want to visit time and time again. The reason it isn't is because it feels like a tourist trap and you are being taken for a ride at every corner. We met some friends who had stayed in a smaller resort on the East coast in their first week and they raved about it - so perhaps the experience is about where you stay and how well you can shrug off the need to make a tourist dollar. Just be prepared to pay a lot for a little.

Room Tip: Make sure it's ocean view and off the ground floor otherwise you could be a mile away and living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to learn that your stay did not meet with your expectations in some areas and at the beginning of your stay, please accept our apologies.

We hope that we have been able to make up for the mishaps when our Marketing Manager met with you.

We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future and thank you again for sharing your concerns.

Yours Sincerely,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is the most beatific hotel I had ever seen in my life.
Everything here makes you want to stay here for ever!!

But, the maintenance in the room is rather low. Also the service will make you wait for your drinks.

But worth every rupee.. Even the attractions here are included: catamaran rentals, snorkel tour, paddle boats and kayaks.

For those that want to go for their honeymoon make sure to state that when you book your reservation, you will receive every day a "daily gift". Champagne, massage in the spa and more.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor; we are delighted to learn that you stayed in "Paradise" .

We have also noted your remarks regarding maintenance of rooms and slow drinks service.
Your remarks are indeed a crucial element in fine-tuning our services for our future guests.
Please rest assured that we are continually finding ways to ensure we meet our guests’ needs during their stay with us.

We look forward to have another opportunity to servce you in the future.

Kind Regards

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The view when you first arrive at the Sofitel is breathtaking. The decor of the hotel has been carefully thought out to offer optimum views of this idilic island. We were very impressed. However the lack of music throughout the hotel does take away from the atmosphere. We upgraded to a 'suite' which turned out to be a villa in the grounds with a garden view. This was very outdated and certainly not worth paying extra money to upgrade to. We asked to be moved that night to another room and were relocated the following afternoon. The new room was modern and much more comfortable.

Food wise The Japanese cooking style experience was amazing. Not to be missed! Would highly recommend it.

The bar staff were unusually slow and seemed more interested in talking among themselves than serving guests. One night it took approximately 20 minutes to get a bottle of wine! Also one of our group was told quiet bluntly and abruptly 'no shorts' he duly went to change so you can imagine we were surprised to see other men in the bar wearing shorts that evening. Consistency is required as well as training staff as to how not to offend/embarrass guests who come to the bar wearing the incorrect apparel. Overall the staff gave an impression of being preoccupied with what they were doing and unwilling to stop to tend to guests. This was especially true with reception.

The pool staff when asked for items were happy to help but there was no initiative shown to cater to guests needs. Also long wait times at the outside bar and again I was left with the impression that the staff felt the guests were an inconvenience.

The beach and pool area were wonderful, however our stay was let down by sometimes rude and often uninterested staff. The bell boys and cleaning staff were the friendliest of all.

We would hesitate to return to this same hotel having seen and eaten at Sunny Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: For a modern room chose a standard room overlooking the sea. If you like to share you accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kbdale25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will keep nice souvenirs of your Mauritian holidays.

We also appreciate your constructive comments which are valuable as they will allow us to improve our service. Please extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and embarrassment caused to your friend and your group.

Also, please rest assured that we are continually finding ways to ensure we meet our guests’ expectations during their stay with us. Following your comments, we have reminded our team to improve our vigilance and be more attentive in all aspects during our guests’ stay with us.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Welcome: Grand open-plan entrance with fountains and bridges and a stunning view of the Indian Ocean. Check -n was friendly,timely and immediate impressions were good. However there was no background music in reception or in the adjacent bar area on arrival which resulted in a general lack of ambiance. We ordered Champagne on arrival and drank it in silence in the lobby! The Hotel Management should address the early evening ambiance because it would improve the overall feel of the hotel.

Surroundings: Beautiful beach, clear water and decent pool area. Well maintained gardens. The hotel is a short drive (less than 5 minutes) to Flic and Flac town center where you can find a number of decent bars and restaurants.

Spa: The Spa was idyllic and well designed. Treatments ranged from good to awesome. Availability was great and packages could be adapted to suit guest requirements. However there was no possibility to receive massage on the beach or at the pool. The hotel should set-up a few massage tents on the beach. It would increase their sales for sure since the spa was often quiet.

Food: The Chinese eatery upstairs had some excellent dishes and the Japanese cookery experience within the Asian restaurant was absolutely outstanding. I would recommend this dining experience to any guest. Despite being half board, I didn't try the central restaurant serving buffet breakfast and dinner since i find buffet dining rather undignified. My travelling companions stated that it was adequate, (As a additional note, the Sugar Beach hotel next door has a lovely Italian and local restaurant)

Rooms: The rooms were well designed, of an reasonable size and offered stunning views across the Indian Ocean. Our travelling companions paid extra to upgrade to a suite however they found it outdated and tired. They subsequently asked to be downgraded to a more modern standard room.

Activities: The hotel offer many trips and water sports. We opted to purchase a trip from a chap on beach called Sunny (his boat is also called Sunny). For around 150 British Pounds we hired his private boat and watched dolphins, snorkeled and visited an Island during a 4 hour trip. Wonderful.

Service: Attention Hotel Management you need to pay attention to this part. For me, the service level within the hotel is your only real failing. Many of the service staff don't smile. When approached they don't glance up. When you are talking to them they don't give you their attention and as a result misunderstandings occur. The Come on, this is really basis Customer Service and something that you could so easily fix. Although we did encounter a few efficient members of staff during our stay, the general service approach was slow and lackadaisical. - a bit disappointing.

All in all through a marvelous stay in a marvelous hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbdale21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to learn that you had “a marvelous stay in a marvelous hotel’ and appreciated most of our services.
Regarding your comments concerning the staff attitude, rest assured that we shall address this problem with our Team.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of your visit again soon.

Yours Sincerely

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Like any top end resort, Sofitel is beautifully designed too, fronting the Indian Ocean. I was really excited to reach at the end of a long day. Check in took a while. I was immediately greeted at lobby and given a nice welcome drink. From there it all went downhill. Over the next five days, I had my worst stay at any luxury hotel anywhere due to poor service. And I appreciate just how demanding a hotel job can be. I was there for a conference, spent only occasional hours at the hotel, yet it turned out to be too long.

The hotel is badly located, about an hour’s drive from the capital Port Louis. It is towards the end of a road, and the only public transport are overpriced cabs. Even bus routes end before the road reaches the hotel. There is nothing around, only more luxury hotels, so anything you need will have to procured earlier or you could pay a hefty extra charge.

The hotel architecture is standardly pretty. Apart from the concession to lattice work railings, the hotel could have been anywhere in the world and you wouldn’t have known where from its interiors. Sea shore hugging white beach – check, blue tiled pool – check, wood and stone themed bar, yes, wooden tent shaped restaurant next to the beach – yes, lawns with cement walkways (avoid goblet ones) – right, pools with lilies, check, Buddha statues - why - not sure, but check, coloured serving staff – of course.

The room was decent. I was on the ground floor, and it had a little verandah that opened towards the sea. It was a really long way from the reception though, and that made it a long walk several times a day. The bed was okay. A nice table and chair set and a spacious lounge meant the room could easily host more than two if required. Room colours were soft pastels. There was a nice walk-in wardrobe. Excellent storage spaces. The wash area was spacious, with a nice deep bath and a separate shower. Shifting panels separate room and washroom – not sure why. Toiletries were Hermes, though not of the brand’s usual retail standards. Separate basins, good. No bedroom slippers. No shoe polish. Tap water not advised and limited water supply in room. Strangely, the first evening, there was a pineapple wrapped in plastic on the table, but was removed by next morning, and never came back. No complimentary food at all, again a first of the many luxury hotels I have stayed in, but okay, that’s up to the hotel! Only very average tea and coffee sachets with the tea maker. Standard TV- most channels in French.

On my first evening there, the room next to mine caught fire, and the electricity for the block went off! First time experience, and could have been a nice ice breaker, only everyone had to largely stand outside and wait for it to be fixed. While the persons whose room had caught fire were shifted, I had a rather tense night, fearing another short circuit. But no offers to change rooms, possibly because the hotel was full, but it wasn’t reassuring.

There were a lot of lamps and soft lights. Also decent bed lamps. When I went to switch them off, I discovered at least four would not switch off. I felt silly complaining about lights, but had to call eventually. When I asked for assistance, some lamps were changed. Then I discovered the TV remote did not work. So I called again. Then I discovered that the only plug points I could plug in were two pin points, and my laptop needed a three pin plug point. On calling for an adaptor, the housekeeping staff asked me to contact reception. Reception said they did not have an adaptor. Needless to say, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so no shops. Anyway shops close by 5pm in Mauritius. No solutions offered. I bought an adaptor next day from Port Louis, only to discover next evening that the plug point was broken. Quite a while later, someone came, and after long testing, shut off mains to repair the point. Darkness again! A hand towel remained unreplaced – and it felt petty to call and point out these things.

The internet was something I had specially requested for, and that proved to be another challenge. Every day I had to call and ask for a password, and even though this was a paid service, did not work for more than a few minutes on any day! One day I called five times and while I was told somebody would come and check, nobody did. I was in fact supposed to get in touch with the hotel’s staff, but couldn’t even write a mail to them. When I asked the reception, they said the lobby has reception, come and work here. Well, the reception is an open area, and it is hot and sticky there, no air con, no real workplace where one can work on a laptop, and of course no place to plug in as no three-point plugs! In fact no plug in points at all. The net issue remained unresolved. Also incidentally, net usage in the room did not come cheap and was charged!

Staff service quality ranged from average to terrible. Housekeeping was okay, though not always the best English speakers. Evening service was very late each day – once around 8.30 pm. A programme of hotel activities, which I told is a daily thing, was left once in my room. Reception was generally unhelpful almost daily. Despite my calling and they being able to recognize the room I was calling from, every day I was spoken to in French when I made it quite clear that I did not speak the language. In fact on my five calls in the evening in about 90 minutes for the net, such was the stonewalling and each time in French initially, that I asked whether the receptionist – same person – could recognize which room I was calling from. Each time the call was replied to in French. Besides the net issue, almost anything I asked was met with blank faces. I am not a ‘white’ person, which I realized from seeing guests over the days, was itself quite rare in the hotel. The reception was supposed to have a folder with conference information in it, and I am still to get it, though the organizers said they had left it there. I reached the hotel around five pm and was supposed in get in touch with the hotel PR person. I asked and was told I would be contacted in my room. When I finally asked around 9pm, I was told she has left – why didn’t I ask earlier? I finally only met her the last day, when it was too late to ask about any work, nor did I have any desire left to do so. I asked for a map of Port Louis once, and was told it is not available. Once I asked the reception how far Casela Bird Park was, and I was told one and a half hours. And with such a why-do-you-even-dare-to-ask look that I did not even have the courage or the heart to ask how to go. Later I discovered the driving distance was 13 minutes from the hotel! Also the airport is at the eastern end of the island, and the hotel at the western, and even that journey, five times longer, had not taken as long. On the last day of my stay, I was walking in and the gateman asked where I was going – and I had smiled at him each morning while leaving! Skin colour matters I guess. Definitely I began noticing, and saw the same surly staff fawning over white guests. One evening at the restaurant, I was looking for someone, and was twice asked whether I would like to eat there. The tone each time was a mix of derision and contempt – and no guest of whatever colour deserves that. I am mentioning skin colour as that was the only way any impression of me could have been made, we had no other meeting ground.

The real let down for me (yes even over the above) was food. The breakfast and dinner buffets at Ravinala were very average and again the worst I have had in a luxury hotel anywhere. Choices were limited each time. There were just a few hot dishes – largely same - wait for your crepe, sad Chinese steamed veggies, basic noodles – not steamed enough, French breads, standard salads, a bit of dry looking Indian rice dish, ‘fresh’ catch seafood which could have been better steamed, the same pasta and huge roundel of cheddar… I thought perhaps I am being picky, till on two separate evenings, my dining companions mentioned the lack of options. There were hardly any local options, and the food again would not have been out of place in any European resort! Not one memorable dish. Even the fruits were just standard with no concession to local options. Once someone asked for papaya at dinner and was given a plate of almost raw, hard ones. Surely the stock for next morning just a few hours away would have available! The best part at breakfast were the beautiful tea pots and little jam bottles! Once, and I sincerely hope as adornment, there were huge cabbages in a basket. Water for dinner is chargeable, even the buffet is about 1,600 rupees plus taxes!!! A bottle of water I got for 19 rupees outside was 120 rupees in the hotel. I discovered that there was so much else on offer food wise outside. And this I was asked to pay for! Mauritius may have started look eastwards but hospitality standards do not match Asian ones yet.

There is a gym that seemed to open pretty late, as does the pool. One can hire boats for sea trips from the beach outside. There is a public beach nearby too. Also because I have a slight limp, tried to locate elevators but failed. Did not try spa.

I daresay my experiences were somewhat unexpected and too many wrongs came together. Why there were so many wrongs is another question altogether. Especially in a luxury hotel. The water and beaches are lovely, enjoy them. Mauritius is full of hotels and at this price, pick one with better service quality.

Room Tip: Opt for a room closer to the reception. Walks can be really long and boring otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to go into a lengthy and detailed description of your stay you shared on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry for the service you experienced at our Hotel, please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for every single mishap you mentioned.

However, allow us also to strongly correct your impression that our staff serve Guests differently according to their skin colour. This impression cannot be further from the truth for Mauritian Staff (of all people) who live in a multi-cultural society and daily provide the same service regardless of cultural background or the skin colour of our Guests.
Furthermore, we would also like to clarify the incident regarding a short-circuit in the room next to yours which was dealt with very promptly.

We shall discuss your comments with our team and take necessary remedial actions where required.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
10.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Prestigia, Holiday Gems and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing