We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but some hickups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice resort but some hickups”
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Nice rooms and facilities, but stale smelling room and noisy

I stayed in two resorts while on Mauritius: Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel at the east coast for 300 euro per night half board and Sofitel at the west-coast for 150 euro per night incl breakfast (stay 4 nights, pay for 3 package). Both stays I booked directly through the hotels website a few days earlier, and both were the cheapest rooms available.

The grounds and rooms are very nice.
But as soon as I entered the stale smelling room, where obviously people had been smoking- I realised that when booking on the website, it had not asked for a smoking or non-smoking preference. According to staff I should have made a request for non-smoking room. I recommended that they would give the choice when booking, as I hardly have encountered hotels were people still can smoke in the room. I was given a non-smoking room only the next day. The stale room is the reason for a low score on cleanliness.
Furthermore it is a very noisy place.
I asked for a quiet room when booking. The first day there was a day long annual children’s activity on one side of the complex at the boathouse/restaurant, with loud music audible on the grounds and in my room.
I was recommended to lounge on the grounds further away, but gardening with motorised equipment was going on. So no quiet relaxing there.
When I complained, I received a complementary visit to the musical spa, which was nice and relaxing. But I also asked that as I had to change to a non-smoking room anyway, shouldn’t I move to a room on the other side of the complex, away from the boathouse and restaurant. According to staff my room was really on the quiet side, and the noise would only last for that day.
Well, the next day gardening started on my side of the building, with again a lot of motorised equipment.
The third day, they started cutting two trees at the section where my room was, with motorised saws and sawing the branches in smaller pieces, which took some time as well. What do you mean this is the quiet part of the building?
Furthermore, it seems that it is deemed necessary to put music on in all the public areas such as the lobby and restaurants, as if the sound of the waves, the rustling of the palmtrees and the laughter of the kids playing (I am getting mushy here) is too quiet.
Totally annoying was that in some area's (lobby) you could hear two kinds of music, f.e. the band playing live music and the recorded music in the lobby.

On the positive: compared with Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel, the rooms look much fancier, with a partly wooden floor, a small walk in closet, and a beautiful appointed bathroom with separate rain shower and a detachable shower, and really separate toilet.
The bathroom does have shutters that you can open, to watch tv in your bed. In this case no tap poking in your back as was the case in Belle Mare Plage.
Coffee and tea making facilities are standard, (in belle mare plage you had to ask for them) and the bed is much softer, lovely! And love small details such as daily complementary bottle of water.
Be aware there can be noise from rooms above, probably because of the wooden floors. I would advise the upper (second) floor to avoid that (my non-smoking room was on second floor, more privacy on balcony as well).
There is adsl and wireless in the room, both are not free.
Breakfast buffet offers plenty of choice, with fresly squeezed orangejuice.
Room service; taste of dish was okay, but it arrived almost cold.
One reviewer mentioned central airconditioning; the airco in my room could be totally controlled from the room.

Pool: with its pale blue coloured tiles it looks less fancy than the pools at Belle Mare, but the pool is huge and clean, with plenty of space for kids and for people who want to swim laps at the same time. No complaints there.
And big big plus are the daybeds and hammocks in the gardens. Loved it!!!

Snorkelling was not good, bad visibility and not very interesting coral. A trip to black river was supposedly good for snorkelling according to boat house lady, but could not go through, as visibility was too bad.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    480
    219
    85
    48
See reviews for
490
958
49
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Hi Guys,

My wife and I just spent a couple of days in this hotel. A perfect hotel indeed and met our expectations.

Food and drinks are not cheap but hey, its 5star! In the evening we went ot flic o flac where you have a great choice and its very reasonable.

People are complaining regarding the birds in breakfast area. We loved them and they are NOT getting to your food.

Service is impecable. Did some travelling but the way they assist you is fantastic.

Beach is lovely, protected by the reef, no sharks...etc!!

There is a current offer going on called Chic Picnic which was brilliant. Champagne...the lot.

We would go back there in a heart beat.

Hope this helps.

Wendy/Ingo

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emailtoingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The hotel is set in fabulous tropical gardens - for plantaholics it's great that so many of them are labeled with their botanical names. The swimming pool is huge and unlike many hotel pools you can actually swim in it. There is a long beach front but beware of coral debris which is painful to walk on - a walk along the beach might need trainers! The hotel runs free daily snorkeling and glass bottom boat trips out to the reef but they are not well advertised. There are lots of other activities such are archery & aqua aerobics which are well advertised. The evening entertainment was of a high standard especially the jazz group. Unfortunately there were often few visitors watching the entertainment and the hotel and bars were quiet after dinner.
The room was fine for couples but there was a lack of privacy in the bathroom - the shutters slide back so you can lie in the bath to see the sea. It's also partially open to the dressing area. Personally I disliked the separate toilet with no hand basin.
The staff were wonderful and very attentive - they could not have been more helpful during our stay.
The only downside was the food. Firstly drinks were very expensive - over £5 for a bottle of Evian in the Jacaranda restaurant and no local (cheaper) water was offered. If you are on full board, the meal credit will only buy a main course in this restaurant. The food in the main restaurant was excellent except when there were buffets which happens when the hotel is busy. The main course of the buffet was always luke warm, never hot and hence pretty awful. The buffets featured a lots of asian inspired food. The staff were very helpful in accommodating dietary requirements for allergies etc.
The breakfast buffet was excellent marred only by birds flying around and pecking at the food. The same applies to the lunch venue - they are all over the relishes! The hotel said they were working on a solution to the bird issue but could not be solved overnight.
In summary it would be a fantastic hotel let down by the food and price of drinks.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5*Hotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We love the Sofitel. We've been seven times and are always walmly welcomed. We were treated well, and spolit rotten. The beach is fab, swimming pool is big so there's no swimming into one another. Our favourite entertainment of the week is the Saga dancers. The Spa is fab, with extremely helpful staff. I don't think we came across one member of staff who was unhappy. The staff at the Sofitel cannot do enough to make your stay as great and memorable as possible. I would go again tomorrow if I could. There is a kids club, but not much in the way of entertainment for the teenagers. If they like just swimming in the pool and being on the beach then great. If they expect gaming arcades and load music then this isn't for them. The Sofitel is not a rowdy hotel with lots of teenagers, it's very civillised.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

I chose the Sofitel because it got such excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, and overall I wasn't disappointed! The hotel itself has a really good retreat feel to it, the beach is gorgeous with very comfy sun loungers and double ‘beds’, the overall facilities were very good, and the room was exactly the sort of thing I was hoping for. Staff were also really friendly and helpful.
Having said this, I was very surprised that the bedding (duvet and pillows) smelt musty and damp. To their credit, as soon as I mentioned the problem to a senior member of staff, the entire bedding was changed – they changed the pillows from feather to synthetic ones and changed the feather duvet to blankets and sheets and this solved the problem. Removal of the musty bedding dramatically improved my stay.
I was expecting food / drink to be fairly pricey, so that wasn't a surprise, but as I was on my own for a few nights, it would have been good to have a casual dining option other than a 49 euro buffet.
Overall a gorgeous hotel, and exactly the experience I was hoping for once the musty bedding was sorted out.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journ3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We had a wonderful moment staying at Sofitel Imperial hotel. Friendly staffs, great meal, nice and beautiful beach. One more thing, you could even feed the fish on the beach, just swim a little bit then you will find a bunch of coral where so many different fish. Do not forget to try the Spa.
I strongly recommend anybody who wants to visit Mauritius to stay at this wonderful hotel. No doubt, will go back to stay there for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacoas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2009

A Weekend full of excitement. Beach swimming pool and sun, Kids good time in the mini club. Room comfortable with a mix and match of ancient decoration and modern decoration. Warm welcom and service outstanding, to be recommended to our friends. Feeling comfortable beautiful japanese garden with the splendide baobab.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carcassec2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,130 reviews
10.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
845 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing