We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel on the beach with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden
1 review
“Beautiful hotel on the beach with excellent staff”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 weeks. As it was out of the high season (Oct/Nov), there weren't so many guests and it felt like we had the beautiful sanding beach and crystal clear water to ourselves. Apart from the beach, the hotel has all the amenities including a really good spa, where the massage and relaxation experience was very good. What really stood out about this place was the incredibly friendly and attentive staff. Any of our needs or questions were quickly addressed with a smile from everybody. A really good atmosphere. We will go back there for sure.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redshift46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    475
    216
    85
    47
See reviews for
484
941
49
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Our experience at Sofitel Imperial has overall been a positive one. I would recommend this hotel for the good price/quality ratio of the accomodation costs.
PROs:
Nice rooms, well appointed, modern design.
Staff has been very helpful and freindly.
The beach is really nice, sunbeds are made of white plastic though, should be upgraded to the wooden ones like they have at the pool area. One comment on the beaches of Mauritius here: if you are into exploring virgin beaches with a dreamlike feeling like in the Seychelles, Mauritius is not the place to go to in my opinion. The public beaches are not so nice, the beaches of the high end resort hotels however are very pleasant and you should stick to those. Worth visiting other hotels too as the beach acess is unrestricted.
The pool area looks nice.
Very well located, Flic-en-Flac/Wolmar is very close to the best sightseeing of Mauritius, the Black River Gorges, Chamarel and all the other nearby spots of interest like waterfalls and mountains.
The japanese section in the chinese restaurant features good food.
As a side note for the amateur and semipro astronomer, the sky is abosolutely fascinating. You should definetely bring your telescope with you if possible, especially if you usually live in the northern hemisphere.
You can hire daily trips to swim near dolphins and spot them (note "near ", but do not expect doplhins to come to you, they will mind their own business)

CONs:
Breakfast and the evening buffets at the main restaurant are definetely not 5 star. The costs however are a solid 5 star.
The atmosphere at the bars after 9 pm tends to be very dull for an outgoing couple, also cocktails are quite unimpressive
While the beach is nice, I couldn't help noticing that the sunbeds of the hotel are also used by local hawkers. Don't get me wrong, they should be freely allowed to walk by and sell souvenirs which enhaces the experience of the local flavour, but somehow it didn't feel right to have them sitting all day long reading the newspaper on the Sofitel sunbeds. They complain about "poor business" in selling their merchendise but that's normal when you only try to sell the same stuff over and over again to just a few hotel customers.
Some areas of the hotel need polishing. Some fine details in the finishing of the rooms also lack finesse but that shouldn't be a big hinderance.
Snorkeling and bathing in the sea is not top quality. The reef is quite far and if you are going there by boat they will not take you very close to it, the water will be quite deep and the colours of the marine wildlife pretty fade. Boats pass very close to the beach.

To summarize it, Sofitel Imperial is a very good hotel (especially rooms and beach), it is affordable and does have features worth of a 5 star hotel. Minor improvements should place it among the top5 hotels of Mauritius. It all depends on what are you looking for.
I warmly recommend it, but because I liked it I also wanted to share the negative aspects in order to help them improve.
Have a nice trip to Mauritius!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank volrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Grand and spacious hotel possibly the best in the area (having walked past others along the beach the sofitel has a spacious confortable and well groomed feel) but i'm surprised that a hotel that is clearly addressing the french market has such average food.

I have to admit that I'm only here for a couple of days, so maybe my experience is not representative, but frankly I don't think so.

Its August , it feels out of season (upside is its really quiet) and so it echoes a bit - today was 27 degrees, tonight its about 18 , so bring a cardy. and the a weather has improved, earlier this week it was miserable. I'm on business so it does not matter, why are tourists here for a beach holiday when its so hit and miss? are they being told its a great time?

And this is a beach resort - but recognise, as in Red sea that off shore reefs means that sand is not great, a bit course, and frankly, the boats going along close to the beach make swimming and certainy snorkeling rather dangerous - but thats true of the whole beach and true for all hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks, UK
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Stayed here for 10 nights when on honeymoon. My wife and I had a fantastic time. The room was really amazing, nice views of the garden and beach. The Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom design was brilliant because it had shutters you could open and close. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive and the grounds and the Oriental design meant that the it was all very relaxing.

I'm not sure that I could have picked a better hotel in the area for our honeymoon, we were both certainly very happy with our stay.

Best Bits

Room - amazing room, was about a luxiourious as we could have hoped for.

Setting - the hotel grounds are really well put together, the gardens are very well kept and look amazing in the sun. The views of the mountains from the Spa are also very soothing. The beach was very nice and not too busy.

Staff - all very friendly, the restaurant team were superb and looked after both of us really well.

Tipping - there is no tipping required! The approach taken is to leave a tip at the end of the stay and that is divided up between the staff. This works well and avoids any awkward situations when doing anything around the hotel.

Food - my wife was in love with the buffet dining experiences, the huge arrays of dishes meant that there was something for everybody. The only slight catch is that if you are there more than 6 or so nights the menus loop back around, but given the huge choices you should still be kept entertained.

Minor Niggles
Lots of ants .. these seemed to present in our room and would go for our toilet and the mini-bar area. For the most part they were a mild annoyance, the Room service people were very good in helping to keep them at bay

Half board is recommended because the food at the hotel otherwise is quite expensive. The only downside is that when the hotel is not that full they move away from the fantastic buffets to a set menu service which did restrict choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani-Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Was in Mauritius for a short business trip with my colleague. I'm not sure whether it's the winter season in Aug that is keeping the tourists away, as the hotel was generally pretty quiet. It's a good hour car ride from the air port and 30 mins from Port Louis, the capital. For those who crave for some peace and quiet, away from the hectic city life, this is the perfect hotel.

The rooms were GREAT. Big, roomy, with the most comfy bed I have ever slept on. I stayed in one that has a balcony that looks out to the sea (though the view was kind of blocked by some coconut trees, but never mind). Perfect place to chill with a glass of wine with your loved one. Beach was nice with blue crystal clear waters and white sand. Do catch the sunset if you can, cos it would take your breath away. The pool was big, but really too freezing cold but anyone to swim in for long. Breakfast was alright, could do with more spread.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devil-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

August is in the Mauritian winter but temperatures hit around 23-24C in the day so it is very pleasant and not too hot. Although a small island, the weather really does vary dramatically with the location. This hotel is on the west coast which means it is not windy unlike the east or south. A taxi driver told us the hotels on the west and north coasts are best for the Mauritian winter so this was a good choice for us.
We travelled with a family of 5 including 2 children and an infant. The room we were given was a prestige villa which was ideal as it was divisible into 2 separate rooms by a big sliding door. The kids slept on a decent sofa bed and had their own bathroom. The main bed was a king size and there was a separate cot for the baby. House keeping was good.
We were full board and the food was excellent. Breakfast was a variety buffet and lunch and dinner were 4 course meals. Dinners were often themed nights and with top class service.
The hotel has its own beautiful beach within a large turquoise lagoon and plenty of free water sports including water skiing and doughnut rides, not forgetting the huge swimming pool - (though there is no life guard and it is not heated so is a bit cool). Scuba diving (strongly recommended) is at a reasonable price from the in house dive centre. Trips to local islands and excursions around the island are best arranged through the hotel as we found these to be more reasonably priced.
The only room for improvement I would suggest is for the dining areas to be made non-smoking and for the spa to be segregated for males and females - as it was mixed, we didn't use it. The pool should be guarded and preferably heated this time of year. Also, it could do with free internet access, some thoughts for the management after all this is the 21st century. Otherwise, an excellent resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illuminator1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My husband and I decided to take our 20 month old toddler along for a wonderful holiday in the sun, but she unexpectedly fell ill and the staff was unbelievably sympathetic. There were several nights which we could not attend the inclusive dinner and NIdza Josef (the fantastic PRO) would arrange for our meals to be delivered to our room (at no additional room service charge). A doctor was swiftly arranged and medication was delivered to the hotel as well. All staff in the restaurant was extremely efficient (especially Sam at the Ravinala restaurant). They would remember finer details; like how I’d like my eggs done or my favorite juice at breakfast. The food was 5 star gourmet and a different menu was prepared every night. It is overall an excellent place for families and great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramelloCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
10.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
28.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing