We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Pirogue getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Pirogue getaway”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

As a South African with a decent salary, you will struggle to find a Mauritian West Coast resort better than La Pirogue!! Enormous impeccably kept resort. Staff and service fit for royalty. Save and go

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank louise846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Louise846,
It gives us great pleasure to learn that the relaxed atmosphere as well as the service and attention of our team members made your romantic getaway a real success. We thank you for having chosen La Pirogue for your holidays and for recommending the hotel to other travelers on this forum.
We will be pleased to welcome you and our future guests for a nice and relaxed holiday at the hotel.

Respectfully yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,139
    704
    162
    44
    19
See reviews for
864
1,787
56
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I visited this hotel about 7 years ago on a business trip then it was ok as I only stay there for one evening, they moved me to Sugar Beach for the rest of my stay. I have just returned back on a business trip and found that this Hotel has not changed. The rooms still look old and have no class or style. Small things are missing such as slippers, gowns. The shower head does not work properly. While having dinner it's so dark that you cannot see what you are eating. I found my food that I ate that evening still raw "beef liver" was still bleeding the onions what they serviced with it were still raw. The food was very bland, the only item that was good was the pizza great taste but the centre was under cooked. Breakfast was great. Wifi not working bad when you here on business. Great view of the sea and pool area.

Room Tip: I'm not sure I would want to stay here again, for the price you pay it's not worth the stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It is with great concern that we read your feedbacks on this forum. We are really sad that our authentic hotel and the thatched rooms were not up to your conveniences. Your comments have been passed on to the concerned departments and are being taken into serious considerations. As for the Wi-Fi, you will be glad to learn that it has been upgraded to a much faster one with increased bandwidth and connectivity.
Thank you again for your constructive feedbacks and we hope to see you again at La Pirogue.
Respectfully yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 28Jul-4Aug.

Check in
We arrived at 7pm and was welcomed by the warm and friendly Shirley who made us feel so at home. She made the check-in seamless and was a pleasure dealing with her. We were offered delicious drinks and cold facecloths on arrival as well. Overall impression-great!

Our stay
We stayed in room174 which we found midway between everything and was perfect for us. The rooms were spacious enough for us with ample storage. The grounds and the beach areas were immaculate and were all sheer relaxtion.

Food
We stayed here half board and this suited us perfectly. Yes, prices are very high at the hotels,but this is with all the hotels in the area. At Thatches we found the meal variety plentiful and each night a different theme. On the thursday they had the fish buffet outside which was awesome. Breakfast was just as good with a wide variety. All the staff were friendly especially Poonan who assisted us 1 evening and made us feel so comfortable always checking up on us.
We also at Citronellas (part on half board so no extra costs) and we ate at Tides (here you receive 700rs p/p towards your bill). See seperate review for these restaurants which were nothing short of great.

Overall
I could not have had a better or more romantic time. My hubby and I were just flawed at how super friendly all the staff were and had genuine/sincere passion to make us feel welcomed. We have never experienced that before and yes we have travelled many times.
I honestly dont have anything to complain about and will give credit where do.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It is a real pleasure to read your feedbacks. We are happy that everything was absolutely awesome at the hotel. We have passed on your nice comments to our team members especially to Poonam and Shirley and they have been congratulated for their continuous good job.
We thank you again for choosing La Pirogue for your holidays and look forward to welcome you back soon for another wonderful moments.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a wonderful relaxing 6 nights here in late June. Weather was perfect. The food was wonderful with plenty of selection from various cuisines. The grounds were immaculate with bugalows placed inbetween mature coconut groves. There is plenty to do from the activities cantre....or if not just choose to relax either around the pool or the beach which was our favourite. Service was very good in that old hometown style of engagement. Only criticism; our tv was out of order for three days..we checked up on progress every day and were assured that repairs were in progress but no real detail..In some respects I suppose we didnt need it however incidents like this can marr an otherwise wonderful experience....Overall a great place to stay ...we will come back again...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawsebalthazar1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your joy regarding your June holidays at La Pirogue. We are glad that you were very satisfied with the hotel in general as well as enjoyed mostly its infinity pool, the beach and the friendly service. Nevertheless, we are sorry to learn that despite the maintenance efforts to repair the TV, you were not happy with the service. Thank you for communicating your resentment on it, as we may use your experience as a case study in order to avoid such inconveniences to our future guests.
You are most welcome to visit us again for your next holidays and we remain available on: infolap@lapirogue.mu for any further assistance you may require for your next stay with us.
Warm Regards
The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Always smiling, friendly and serviceminded staff created a nice atmosphere to the Hotel. The surroundings were relaxing and beautiful, Our Bungalow had nice location overlooking the beach. Evening entertainment was great and food was very good. We had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Superiour room was great and had a nice view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreteJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear GreteJoh,
We are grateful that you chose La Pirogue for your recent family holidays. It was a real pleasure to read your feedback after your recent stay with us and we are pleased that you and the family had a good time at La Pirogue. Also, we are glad that our authentic rooms which are only a few metres away from the beach were up to your satisfaction. It will be to our greatest pleasure to assist you should you have any questions with regards to your next holidays with us; please do not hesitate to contact us on: infolap@lapirogue.mu
We look forward to your next holidays at La Pirogue.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flic-en-flac
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel has unique gorgeous design concept, very good service and very helpful staff. Palm tree gardens are exceptional, create relax atmosphere. Very good food quality and service. Variousness opportunity for sport activity for each family member

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Alexander G,
Thank you for leaving a feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that the relaxed atmosphere as well as the Mauritian hospitality was well appreciated. Indeed, for your entertainment whilst on holiday, La Pirogue offers a variety of sports and leisure activities at the Sports Centre, we are happy that each member of your family had something to keep them busy during their stay with us.
Thank you again for choosing la Pirogue for your family holidays and we hope to see you soon for a yet another excellent holidays at your authentic Mauritian Resort.
Respectfully yours
The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
676 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Such a wonderful hotel set in a beautiful location. We love it here. We married here in the coconut grove - our wedding album is all coconut grove and wonderful beach pictures. We had a romantic Wedding night meal on the beach! The bungalows are great - perfect size for us - a very romantic look and feel to them. The grounds are beautifully kept. Nice pool but we didn't ever use it - we preferred the beach when we weren't out on tours. The beach is long and slim - plenty of sun beds. Breakfast lunch and Dinner - all very good. The only problem I had was one breakfast when I wanted butter and my French was so bad I got a Beer! So funny but embarrassing - they said they thought it was odd a lady wanting a beer at breakfast! We really like it here and highly recommend it for a wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane J, Resident Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Madame,
It has been a pleasure for our team to welcome you back after 15 years. We are thankful that you kept very good souvenirs of your wedding at La Pirogue and that you still found the places as charming as your first visit. We are glad that our team members were helpful during your stay and we will definitely congratulate them for the continuous good job.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit at La Pirogue. Meanwhile we remain available for any assistance you may require for your next holidays on: infolap@lapirogue.mu
Respectfully yours
The La Pirogue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,378 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
22.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Property: La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebrated hotel in Mauritius, La Pirogue Resort and Spa offers authentic and comfortable Mauritian bungalows nestled in the heart of the vast 14-hectare coconut plantation bordering the white sandy beach. The delightfully relaxed atmosphere as well as the generosity and attention of the staff have made ​​the reputation of this warm and friendly hotel beyond compare. Beyond its heavenly setting with its extraordinary sunsets, La Pirogue offers a multitude of land and water activities to enable children and adults to enjoy their stay in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Destinology, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing