We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pocket-friendly creole cuisine...”
Review of Comlone Restaurant - CLOSED

Comlone Restaurant
Restaurant details
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Pocket-friendly creole cuisine...”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

On the last day of our week-long stay in Flic-en-Flac, we were looking for a pocket-friendly luncheon option and we were quite eager to try the local cuisine. Walking along the beach road, we spotted the Comlone Restaurant and found the place well patronized by the local folks. We walked into the restaurant pretty late for lunch, say around 2.45 PM. But the young lady patiently took down our order with a sweet smile.

We asked for the starters – a portion each of crispy chicken and squid, which was probably the freshest sea food I have ever tasted! Both the portions were served in grand quantities, enough to be shared by four of us. The youngsters ordered a non-veg meefoon soup, which came in a large portion with sufficient chicken pieces and bamboo shoots. We also asked for a portion each of octopus salad, plain rice (served in a big platter), veg curry (an interesting concoction of peas, cauliflower and large chunks of cottage cheese) and fish curry with too many chunks of fresh fish. The dishes were gulped down with plentiful of locally brewed Phoenix beer, seven pints of it to be precise. And after such a satiating meal, our total bill was only MUR1550.00 – a great lunch indeed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great takeaway”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had a very good takeaway with good sized portions, all the food was very good, all 6 of us really enjoyed it. We had a cocktail while we waited which was very reasonable and the service was good too, the waitress was very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Food Big Portions”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was told by our driver to dine here and when we went, we saw a decent looking place although nothing awesome about it. Ordered Octopus curry, Chicken Chopsuey (not the ones I knew - no fried noodles here) and Turmeric (saffron) rice.

The portions are huge and we (two of us) could not finish the food. Rice was really tasty. The total bill came to 550 MUR.

The waiter who served the food was very polite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khalidraza9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average ambience but good food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We went to Comlone for a dinner and ordered octopus salad, chilli and garlic prawns and Mauritian fried rice. The sauce on the prawn was amazing and just what we wanted, and it went really well with the fried rice.
Unlike some previous reviews, two waiters came to take drink and food orders within 5 minutes of seating and everything came out quickly. We paid straight away as soon as we walked over to the cashier too, so no problem there at all.
The music was loud so maybe not suited for a romantic dinner, but it was a good place for a quick easy dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Koomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mauritian-chinese style”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were there the first evening. The restaurant has not an exceptional atmosphere but the food is good, courses are abundant and cheap. I personally think that you can find better places in flic and flac but, surely, I can't say that the restaurant is not OK.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tripevangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Comlone Restaurant also viewed

Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing