We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauritian warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mauritian warmth”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

English is not my first language. So I beg your pardon for any grammar mistakes. I've spent 12 days at the Sands Resort to shorten our cold swiss winter quite a bit. My room number was 323 and it has been located on the third floor, left tract from entry (I highly recommend this tract, as their garden is bigger and more confortable as it contains some sunbeds, cause you'll find that the beach could be too hot for longer readings). Unfortunately you won't see anything of the seaside on the third floor, as you'll see right in the treetops of the palms, which provide cool shadow for the sunbeds underneath. I didn't care much, as I didn't spent much time on my room, but if that's important for you or catch a raining season, you'll probably want to make sure, your room is at the second floor max or the resort needs to plant some higher palms.

The guests of this resort are mostly couples, so travelling as a single, you might get some compassionate glances at the dinner. But you probably have to stand that, spending your time in any resort on this island, cause it surely isn't the most sought after (precise: cheapest / double room rates) destination for singles. The reason I've choosen the Sands is it's size and intimacy and I surely get that. I literally hate those huge tourism complexes with their mass processing like Sofitel, Sugar Beach and the like, where sunbed lies alongside sundbed. You won't even be distrubed by tourists walking along the beach, cause it's located at the end of the beach and the beach takes a corner before it leads into the Sands. I should know, as I read the second half of "An Essay Concerning Human Understanding" from David Hume the time I have been there and the first half of a book on Game Theory.

The breakfast is healthy and you definitely should try "les gauffres" (waffles!). I became addicted to them. Catch your fruits before the tourists plundered them, after 9 they will be gone. The friendlyness of the woman and sir who make them is owerhelming. Totally loved the morning service people (Nicole, V.[I and Indian names...] and their team).

The evening dinner is on buffet (starters, dinner, dessert - and if can't find something to eat here, you probably won't find anywhere and should go to the moon). On other resorts people complain that they only get Fish and Rice or Rice and Fish: Not at the Sands. Each evening is a theme night and if you really won't try anything new, you always can get Pasta. I had the impression the service guys serve you better if you tip them. As I didn't, I have been served better at the start. This wasn't the case with the most lovely concierge-girls of the Tamarind restaurant. Especially the little indian looking girl made my hearth shine and I already miss her deeply. Unfortunetly she never asked, if I want to marry her.

I went to the organized dolphin tour twice (700 MRP), snorkelled twice (included and highly recommandable) and tried out scuba diving (2400 MRP), which they provide together with other resorts (in my case it was at the Pirogue and I highly recommend it, if you're sporty). Also the guys at the Boathouse rock (Aslam?, Kevin, Brandon, etc.). The same goes for two fitness guys.

Things that could be improved:
- The two Internetstations the resort provides aren't up to date and were half of the time not working (They should be replaced).
- Water costs extra (which isn't usual on island resorts)
- I burned myself right at the beginning cause my suncream I had with me was only rated 30. Maybe the resort could provide some small samples of higher rates for newcomers. At the third day I discovered 50 in the boutique, but it already was too late and I had to spend the second day in my room. (Game theory says that the amount spent by a tourist on a sunny day is higher than the cost of his suncream :-) ).
- This one isn't completely in the power of the resort, but if you walk to Tamarin you'll find huge littering on the adjoining beachpart and forrest next to the resort. There isn't established any normative conduct to not litter in Mauritius yet. It's a pity to see that the Mauritius governement (with tourism as one of their major industries) obvisiously fails to introduce an incentive system and therefore doesn't offer refundable deposit on plastic bottles. It would be in their interest as it makes your hearth cry to see.

Room Tip: Second floor max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yannick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,645
    407
    74
    27
    14
See reviews for
301
1,557
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

An absolutely beautiful resort with a luxurious infinity pool, delicious meals, large airy rooms with balconies and, most impressive of all, the genuine and friendly staff. Particularly, Kevin (Duty Manager) ensured we felt very special during our honeymoon. The breakefast and dinner buffets were excellent as were the cocktails. We also enjoyed the complimentary dolphin watching and evening cultural show on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina_Priya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Thank you for such a wonderful honeymoon. The service was amazing. The little extras like the rum and appetisers left in the room, fresh flowers and chocolates on the pillow made it all the more special. Also a great selection of things to do: snorkelling, table tennis, excursions with Summertimes, the pool, bands at night and lots more. Perfect honeymoon location!

We were half board which worked fine because we were out on excursions during the day and the lunch menu was reasonable anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flattj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Sands resort and spa lives upto the reputation that it has on tripadvisor . Its definitely the best resort that i have ever stayed. I and my wife were on our honeymoon trip.The resort is setup in the beautifull town of Flic en flac along with many other 5 star properties sharing the same stretch of the lovely beach. Hotels like Maradiva , Hilton , Sofitelet etc etc are lined up but i m sure Sands beats them all. A couple did share their experience at Sofitel and we were glad we were at Sands. The time from checkin to checkout was truly amazing. Not one thing to complain. The checkin was the smoothest ever. Hot towels as soon ad we stepped out of our car. Was greeted by Robi the friendliest guy i have met. Also the GM of Sands met us and greeted us which is a nice gesture and also he was always around monitoring things.

The room was gorgeous. Very neat and clean and well decorated. Lovely setup for honeymoon. We took room number 329 which is on the top floor or Tamarind bay and very close to beach as well. Honeymoon freebies like fruit platter, free sands branded flip flops and lovely bottle ot South African white wine.

We were on half board basis and food was good majority of times. Good choice of menu every dinner. Breakfast is a set menu but the omlette chefs make sure to create something new for you. Dinner theme is always different and never repeated.

Stephan at the Tamarin bay resto was the best. He was always there without even calling him out. He s the best guy at the resto.

Room , pool and beach were always clean . Loungers and towels always available. Do try the free free watersports its nice. The infinity pool is gorgeous and definitely worth a try. The view is stunning.

Everyone here are awesome. Friendliness redefined. Always stick to the halfboard. Anything outside menu is expensive. A burger with fries and a pasta will cost 1200 MUR. Any groceries can be bought from Pic n pay nearby at the Casavella Shopping village. You can take a bus from near Hilton resort to pick n pay for about 22MUR . You also have money exchange there with a good rate or when you go to caudan waterfront mal a guy near the casino can give you the best rate hut dont forget to bargain.

Thats all about it. SANDS is a a solid 4 star with 5 star service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mejoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is the best place I've ever stayed at to date. staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Made our honeymoon stay an absolute breeze. food was good on most days. the half board option was good enough for us. keep in mind that meals and drinks that you buy are rather expensive. activities offered are good. i highly recommend people to do the "swimming with dolphins" & dinner on the beach- its really something. great infinity pool, restaurants, views, to name but a few.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M_Q_R_669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

A family reunion at Sands to celebrate an 80th birthday was a great success. 15 of us came from Australia, The Isle of Man and South Africa and we had the most wonderful 2weeks. The staff were very friendly, efficient, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable. The layout of the hotel is superb and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The food was of a high standard and the chefs outstanding. We would all like to return as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I returned recently from our 6th stay at Sands Resort & Spa on the west coast of Mauritius and it was as usual a wonderful stay. Last year we wrote a review (A Mauritian Perl) which focused mainly on the beautiful setting of the Sands with the view across Tamarine Bay and over the Ocean, the coral beach and the excellent snorkeling options. Here we tell more about this lovely place. We can really not think of anything negative to say; services and the friendliness and attentiveness of the staffs are in top.

During the day we enjoy reading in the shade under a tree at the beach and we have lunch there served on a little portable table while our feet touch the edge of the water. It is of course also possible to get lunch served on solid ground at the nearby restaurant Pink Peppercorn. During the day guests at the beach and the pool are offered small free snags and glasses of frozen juice by a smiling beach attendant. Snorkeling equipment, pedal driven boats, canoes, windsurfing boards and small sail ships are at free disposal for use in the lagoon. Some jog along the beach others go to the little fitness center or have a game of tennis (free of course).

Dinner-time is in our view the prime time of the day. It starts after sunset while there is still a faint glow on the sky over the Ocean. If the weather permits (and it usually does) tables are placed on the big terrace in the open near the pool, all with Ocean view. One is welcomed by smiling sari clad hostesses who guide you to your table. The buffet is based on different themes each day (international, Mediterranean, creole, Indian Ocean, chefs, etc.), but there are always choices for everyone. The atmosphere is fabulous and a little band is playing on the nearby stage; after dinner one can have a little dance under the stars and/or a drink at the bar. Also, it is nice to retreat to one’s private balcony or terrace with a drink and enjoy the view over the bay. Don’t forget to spot the iconic Southern Cross (Crux) which rises on the sky over Tamarin. In January-February you can see it after dinner.

We recommend a walk on the beach up the coast to the little town Flic en Flac (4 km) or down the coast through the adjacent little forest to Tamarina Beach (1 km). The walk through the forest is nice and shadowy and most of the time one gets a glimpse of the Ocean through the trees. We will also recommend the hilly Black River Gorge National Park where the Visitor Center at the low-end entrance can be reached in about 25 min by taxi. There are many excellent walks (short and long) in the park (about 80 km of well-marked trails). Or one can spend hours in Casela Bird and Deer Park (15 min from the Sands by taxi). There are lots of exotic birds and animals to see. One can for example take the safari buss through the hilly landscape past typical African savanna species such as ostriches, zebras, impalas etc., or one can pat a lion or a cheetah (under strict surveillance by staffs), or one can simply walk around and enjoy the beautiful area.

We have previously told that fares requested by taxies waiting outside in the street have become very high (for shorter trips they are now similar to levels found in North European cities). For longer trips it is a good idea to call one of the bigger Mauritian taxi companies. For example we made a 5½ hours excursion along the south coast to Vanilla Crocodile Farm and back via the central plateau with several stops en route, and we paid the taxi from “Taxis Mauritius” 2,200 rupees for this trip; the local taxi outside the hotel requested 3,000 rupees for the same trip. Local taxis request 250 rupees for the short trip from the hotel to Flic en Flac (3-4 km), while we paid a taxi based in Flic en Flac 200 rupees for the return trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine and have either a balcony or a terrace with ocean-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank J-Dissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,431 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
869 reviews
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Agoda, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing