We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I spent a very pleasant and comfortable 10 nights at The Sands. When I booked I hadn't realised two things: that August was in Mauritius’s winter season and that the half board option was only for the buffet dinner.
Luckily, as it turned out, this wasn't as disastrous as it might have been. When I holiday I like a complete change from the British weather (that is, very warm, sunny and reliable) and I dislike buffet restaurants for dinner.
The weather was not as hot as I would have liked it to be but it was reasonably warm during the day if a little chilly at night and we only had one rainy day. This would suit people who don't like it hot.
The food in the buffet restaurant was very good though. It was delicious, well presented and the theme night menus meant that there was a lot of variety. We didn't have the same food twice in the 10 nights we were there. I especially enjoyed the Chinese night but found that the food was a little cold. This is a disadvantage of buffet dining, but fortunately the restaurant manager assured us that we could have food heated up if it wasn't hot enough for us. Unfortunately ,we didn't find this out until later in our holiday. The desserts were the best I have ever seen or tasted and cut into small, delicate portions for sampling!. There was such an irresistible variety that I had to lose a few ponds when I got home! We also splashed out on the lobster dinner on the beach and this was excellent and well worth the price tag.
The breakfast buffet was fine and the hot/cook to order section was particularly good. I felt there could have been more choice of fruit and juice. I saw a few pieces of chipped crockery which I should not have seen in a 4 star hotel. The other hygiene issue was juice and cakes left uncovered for the birds to peck at. However, these are minor, easily resolved issues that didn't seriously detract from the comfort of this lovely hotel.
The room was spacious with seating area, enormous bathroom and walk in wardrobe area and I liked the subtle neutral decor.
There was an amazing view from the pool and beach. Unfortunately, we has to put towels out in order to get a beach umbrellas but there were usually enough umbrellas around the pool.
The staff were absolutely wonderful - attentive and professional at all times, but relaxed enough to crack the occasional joke with guests. Any issues were immediately resolved.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,631
    403
    74
    27
    14
See reviews for
294
1,547
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Well what can I say about this hotel, from the start the pictures of the resort on their website are actually how the hotel looks now. I was so excited about our 8 day stay in Mauritius and I couldn't wait to get there. When we arrived quite jet lagged, we were greeted to a glass of cocktail presented to us in our room which was so lovely. Our room was a sea facing room and what a view..wow!!! All I could see were many coconut trees, many sun lounges, beautiful greenery, many friendly birds and the fabulous blue see. I had to get out there asap, the pool was like a dream an infinity pool which looked like it met the sea quite literally. The food was fantastic as well as the service and they offered music every night. The island was lovely and tranquil and the people so so nice, the hotel offers free water sports and I would suggest if your a keen swimmer to try snorkelling. Also don't forget Sega on a Friday don't miss it. My stay here was by far the nicest and most spectacular, please go.xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleWatson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Österreich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for two weeks at this lovely place with very kind employees. Because Sands is the last hotel at flic-en-flac beach, it is very quiet and for persons seeking for a calm holiday. The food was really tasty each day and the waiters courteous. The staff always helped us with concerns immediately - and yes, they are really friendly.

The room is really big and each room has a view to the sea side. The bed was really comfortable and we slept very well!

For persons who like snorkeling: you should ask at the boat house for renting the boat and go to Le Morne to the south of the island, because the free included snorkeling at the reef in front of the hotel (tamarin) is not that good. The coral reef is mostly dead there! If you go to the south you also have the chance to see some dolphins like we had!

In the middle of September it is winter in Mauritius but the weather was really good - also for swimming and just relaxing all the day. There was hardly no rain and the temperature was about 26°C during the day. The sea had about 23-24°C and the pool is much more warmer, because it gets heated. (Altogether we got a sunburn in winter, huh ;) )

Sadly the Spa and Fitness Room was under construction during our stay. You can use the Spa/Fitness of the neighbour Hotel, they will bring you there - but we've never tried! (Instead we played tennis :) ) You can also run/walk the whole beach which is about 4km long.

To sum it up - you should really try this place!
(And don't forget to order your lunch at the pool - it is just amazing!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbaumgar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Sands Resort and enjoyed our short stay very much. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The views and surrounds were beautiful, it was out of the away from restaurants and shops which wasn't a problem as a taxi was always available for a small cost. The only thing I would suggest is not to take advantage of a package which supplies all dinners at the Sands Resort as we found them not so good and local restaurants excellent which was a shame as ours was a package. The birds at breakfast time was a real problem, although I understand it is a problem but we have been to other resorts in other countries with the same problems and they can control them. This could lead to a health problem if not addressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrone907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent 9 nights at the Sands Resort for our honeymoon in July 2013. We were both looking forward to a relaxing romantic trip away after the craziness of planning a wedding but were also nervous of what to expect as we hadn't travelled to this part of the world before.

After a tiring over-night flight with little sleep we were comforted to be welcomed so warmly by the team and shown to our room immediately. As we were honeymooners we were asked if we would like fruit juice or sparkling wine to welcome us to the resort. The drinks were very welcome and arrived promptly as did our luggage.

The size of the rooms definitely has the wow factor with a large living area, separate bath and shower area with a dressing area with lots of hanging space for clothes, albeit the obligatory insufficient number of hangers. Unlike previous reviewers, we had no issue with the cleanliness or standard of the rooms. My one recommendation would be to have a mirror in the main living area as those ladies like myself who like to bring their own hairdryer cant see the mirror in the bathroom from where the hairdryer needs to be plugged in in the living area.

From previous reviews on here we requested a room in the Tamarind block when we booked to guarantee a level of privacy. Our room was on the other side of the hotel but the team were very accommodating when we requested to move and were able to move us the following morning before the 10am time they promised.

We couldn't fault the quality and variety of food. We had such fun exploring the food choices each evening and deciding whether to have the cold or hot buffet - or both! We enjoyed trying out new foods such as the marlin fish and the Mauritian fruits. It was often very difficult to choose between the desserts so we sampled far too many of them for our waistlines to cope with!

The beach was everything you dream of when you think of an Indian Ocean holiday, clean, white sand, clear blue sea and fantastically comfortable sunbeds. The drinks service on the beach every morning was very welcome and a great touch. The beach itself and the location overall was quite windy which at the time of year we travelled did make the resort feel chilly and I couldnt sit in the bar or restaurant in shorts or a skirt without shivering! We did venture further round the coast and the beaches further down didnt appear to have this wind so I guess it was that specific location at the end of the beach that attracted the winds.

Overall the service at the hotel was very attentive but at times we found it slightly overbearing. This may be more of a reflection of what we are used to than a problem with the Hotel but the combination of the security staff on the beach, the evening delivery of the pre-dinner canapes, the checks on the mini bar and the courtesy phone call to check we were ok all added up to the slight feeling that we couldn't fully relax safe in the knowledge that we wouldnt be disturbed. However, we could have put the do not disturb sign on the door!!

To end on a positive note, we had the most amazing honeymoon meal in the Tamarind restaurant with the surprise of the personalised menu and the beautifully presented food. The quality of which was top class. The meal doubled as my birthday celebration and I was given a fantastic chocolate cake and the chef and the team all came out of the kitchen to present me with the cake. This combined with the "Happy Birthday" message I had in our room made for a very special day that will stay with me forever.

Overall we had a memorable honeymoon which was in no small part due to the excellent team and the Sands.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical, lower floors give you the sea view but less privacy. We enjoyed the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The review is a little late traveled as a couple in April for eleven nights on a half board basis. The hotel overall is very good, the location is perfect and tranquil. The infinity pool is fabulous and the beach idyllic. It is a little remote for anyone wanting things to do nearby although a 45 minute walk down the hill will take you to Wolmar where there are a few shops and restaurants to visit. Be careful on the road though they drive a little too fast for my liking! The only let down for me was the food which was a little repetitive in the evenings although the breakfast was more than adequate.It is a little pricey for lunches and drinks so be prepared for that.The rooms are very comfortable and the pool area is excellent.No need to dash out with the towels in the morning either which is an added bonus. So overall an excellent holiday and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Mr. Macrainbow,

The Sands team would like to thank you for posting your review even if your trip dates several months from now. This shows that you still keep fond memories of your stay with us at Sands.

I take this opportunity to bring some clarification regarding the trip to the centre of the village. The distance from Sands to there is around 8 kms and it is a long distance to walk unless one is looking for exercise. There is a bus terminus at about one kilometer away from the Sands. Taxis are also available just outside the resort. Guests are most welcome to rent bicycles and enjoy the ride to the village centre and back.

We have now a new executive chef, Stephane Thuron who has joined the Sands team and he just started after your stay with us. The buffet themes have been reviewed and menus have been refined to satisfy the most demanding taste buds. It is regretful that during your stay with us in April, you found the food repetitive. As told previously, our chefs would have been more than glad to cook to your taste and your preferences if you would have asked us.

But we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed breakfast, your spacious comfortable guest room as well as the heated pool and the pool area which is the favorite spot of many of our guests.

Thank you again for your highly motivating and constructive review. The whole Sands team would be honored to be at your service again if you come back to visit the island in the future.

Kind regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I actually like birds a lot, but I don't like them all over the buffet breakfast and I don't like seeing them drinking from unsuspecting guests morning glass of orange juice or hopping across their plates! Not only is this off putting but is a severe health risk. My wife and I stayed at the Sands for a week in Sept and really liked the staff who were excellent, our room was pleasant and the facilities very good however even putting aside the bird issue the food was very ordinary and we decided to taxi to restaurants for dinner on most evenings. Would not take too much effort from management to improve the Sands experience from average to excellent.
John Wood

Room Tip: ask for floor 3 with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Mr. Johnwood157,

The Sands team wishes to thank you for having spent your precious time to write a review about Sands.

It is very sad that you were disturbed by the birds during breakfast. The restaurant and the bar being in an open air, makes it very difficult to control the entry of birds. Bird control is very strict in Mauritius and they are well protected. We now attract the birds as far as possible from the restaurant by feeding them in the furthest possible place. For guests who don’t like to be disturbed by birds, our team members are most happy to provide them with a closed space to enjoy their breakfast peacefully. They would have been very glad to help you if you have told them during your stay. However, it is useful to mention that many guests prefer to have their daily breakfast on the Tamarind terrace and not in the restaurant itself.

We regret to learn that the food at the buffet was sometimes not up to your taste. Our chef would have been glad to cook a meal just for you if only you could have told us about your preferences. It is correct to say that you have sometimes dined outside the hotel and we thought that you wanted to discover other aspects of the Mauritian cuisine. We hope that both you and your wife enjoyed the lunch that was offered to you on the day of your departure and we were happy that you took advantage of a free late check out as you had a late flight.

Thank you for mentioning your appreciation of the staff , the room and we are happy that you enjoyed facilities available at the resort.

We thank you again for having commented on your stay with us and you are most welcome to visit us again any time you are back in Mauritius.

Kind regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,399 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,477 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing