We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Coin, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Clean, warm, good location, nice beaches, good program, good food, some excellent wines.

This is about all I have to say, what would one like to hear more. However, the settings of the review menu require at least 200 characters before it can be sent..... OK, Done!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leol733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,617
    400
    73
    26
    14
See reviews for
292
1,532
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were there at the Sands Resort and Spa for our honeymoon in July 2013 and the hotel was just a perfect choice.

This has been a long delay in us writing a review, but i am more than happy to state in our thoughts atleast now. The ambience and rooms were great, quite closely related as depicted in the photos. The staffs and restaurants and kitchen within were very approachable anytime of the day. Infact the chefs also prepared special food when stated with our choices, which was very impressive.

Not to forget the spa and private beaches and swimming pool was also a fab experience!

Will plan to visit once again and a definite recommend to anyone who wants a private and valuable time for themselves!

Room Tip: The beach view rooms are great on the first or second floor preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_p_aruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we stayed at Sands in Oct 2011 and again in Sep 2013
It is one of the best resorts on the island. We have 2 children, and we were well looked after.

The chef has changed, and the food was much better this time. Too many choices, and too much food. The staff were very helpful, and welcoming. Special thanks to the morning breakfast team, and the sports coordinator for aquaaerobic every morning, and to the management, for making our stay memorable. If you have children, this is the place to be, small, and very private. We will definitely be going there a 3rd time.

Warm regards,

Avinash, natasha and kids

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coyips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libreville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent 6 nights at Sands Resort as part of our honeymoon in November 2013 (making this a long overdue review). We arrived there slightly early and were shown to the shower room to freshen up while waiting for our room. Our room was a deluxe on the Albion wing ground floor which we found both comfortable and spacious enough for our needs. Cleanliness of the room was about average though.

The staff were generally courteous although we found there to be some variation in their level of friendliness. The staff did not appear very conversant in English and it seemed to us that French speaking guests and return clientele appeared to get more/better attention. However, the restaurant staff and boathouse personnel deserve special mention; we found them to be particularly helpful.

The food was average although there is some variety. There are a lot of birds in the restaurant (and on the shady areas on the beach) and they can be very persistent in trying to liberate food from diners plates/table. This upset my wife a bit. We also found the price of drinks to be slightly exorbitant. On the upside, again I will highlight the service provided by the restaurant personnel. We found them very patient and accommodating when we had to make several last minute changes to our honeymoon dinner menu.

The view from the hotel and its pool is just beautiful.The beach sand is very soft and its an easy walk to town from there. During our time there, the guests consisted of a largely adult crowd with only few couples with children (which suited us just fine). The evening entertainment was rather tame and ended pretty early. There was a DJ one night and a live band on others. There were also Sega dancers on one night which was nice at first but got a bit boring after a while (in our opinion).

We had a couples massage at the newly renovated spa which was a mixed experience (I liked it, she didn't). However, we both enjoyed using the free hamam and sauna. The complimentary (non motorized) water sports are also worth a try. We went on the glass bottom boat once which was a rather pleasant diversion. Although. the coral around the beach appears to be either dead or dying but the view and the associated animal life becomes much more interesting when you go further out.

All in all, a pleasant experience. Not sure if we will stay there again next time we're in Mauritius (there's plenty of choice on the Island) but it was a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, a room on the Tamarin wing may be preferred to avoid the noice from the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corin_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Arrived very early and not impressed with welcome but staff generally lovely and friendly, rooms are perfect and same with facilities, we've missed manager/director welcome or acknowledgment - almost two weeks there, and they should leave buffets as such instead of mixing a la carte and buffet - does not work for neither staff or guests (food is great) swimming pool edged needs a good cleaning and beach towel system plus guests hanging them from balconies it's a bit naff. Good Spa, great bar and despite all criticism we really had a fab time, if only better attention to details could be heaven.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We travelled with Air Mauritius so had a change at Dubai.....a very long trip but so worthwhile. We chose The Sands as it was recommended by our travel agent and it was spot on. As you walk through reception, you walk directly towards the Infinity pool, which is stunning. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Our bags were taken up to the room, which was just as well as we were on the top (3rd) floor, with no lifts. Each unit only has 2 or 3 apartments in, no noise is heard from the neighbours, although the fruit bats at night made a horrendous noise in the trees. Although the bottom floor rooms are accessible to the infirm and wheelchairs. The rooms were really big, with excellent air conditioning and an electric mosquito machine. The bathroom had a seperate shower and bath. Bedding and towels changed every other day. Beach towels provided. There are 91 rooms but quite enough sunbeds dotted all about that there is no need to get up early to throw a towel on one (although the usual suspects still did!).

Breakfast was a buffet, excellent choices. I loved the pancakes with maple syrup whilst my husband had perfect 4 minute eggs. We were half board, but didn't bother much with lunch, although the bar serves the best chips ever (i never eat chips at home) and some good pasta. Dinner was either a buffet or served at table. Again the buffet gave us a huge choice, lots of local dishes with a pasta bar most nights. The one thing i was a little concerned with was that nothing was displayed in any sort of chiller or ice. As it was a buffet, you had no idea how long food was out for and this included sea food, desserts with cream and salads with mayonnaise. As it happened we had no tummy troubles, but we avoided the usual suspects just in case. It was so hot it wouldn't take long for food to warm up.

We took a trip to swim with wild dolphins, which was quite hectic, but we snorkelled with them swimming directly below us.....breathtaking! We hired a car, which is so easy, and they drive on the left....simples! We drove round the south of the island, which is very unspoilt. I went riding on the beach with Arunima on her retrained race horses. I had a bit of a swim with Fearless Thomas, but he was hypnotised with the fishermen and wouldn't go too far in! Sadly we didn't get to Ile aux Cerfs as the weather was not good, the wind had whipped the sea up and it was raining, heavily.

Most of our 10 day holiday was spent relaxing on the beach, which doesn't sound wildly exciting but we had the best time. Maybe we'll get back so we can do the trip to the Ile aux Cerfs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo6406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a very enjoyable seven day break at The Sands - the staff are very warm & friendly making us feel very at home. The pool is amazing, the rooms very spacious & comfortable. The Spa was fantastic, we booked a couples two hour treatment - full body scrub, massage & facial - out of this world.
The downside was the food - a different theme every evening but all very "samey" but we did enjoy the salads and snacks served by the pool from the bar. We were also surprised to see so many children as there is no kids club!
As in most hotels in the world a dress code applied which we were disappointed to see the Hostess in the evening turning a 'blind eye' to, the danger of this being a slippery downward slide!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndylooSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,370 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,418 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Suites Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Suites Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Suites Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing