We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the hotel staff and feel like going back to meet them”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved the hotel staff and feel like going back to meet them”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Mauritius is a very nice place in itself but what left a mark on us was the friendly nature of the hotel staff. They indeed did do everything that was possible for them to make our honeymoon trip a memorable one.
It is a very fine property offering you a great deal of solitude. The villas are designed in a way such that no second resort gets a chance to peep into your's.

Our expectations were far exceeded by the notable dedication that Rishi displayed. We still remember and miss him very much. The helpfulness of another staff named Kunal was also very appreciated. For every person who is looking to visit Mauritius in the near future, Maradiva Resort and Spa is highly advisable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nehashah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    109
    44
    23
    16
See reviews for
142
585
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We have just returned from a magical week at the wonderful Maradiva Villas Resort & Spa in Mauritius.
As a keen spa-goer, I have to say that their Ayurvedic spa was stunning. The Shirodara treatment, where warm essential oils were poured gently onto my forehead, was so relaxing I drifted off.
Our young children, aged 7 and 9 loved splashing about the warm shallow lagoon and being able to keep an eye on them from our beachfront villa, without having to move from the sun-lounger was a real bonus. They both learned to waterski in the week and we took advantage of the waterskiing every day . . . . Sometimes even twice a day whilst we were there!
At dawn one morning we were whisked out to sea on a speedboat to watch the dolphins and we all jumped in and swam with them as the sun rose . . . It was a magical experience we will never forget.
During the day hundreds of colourful birds flitted through the gardens and at night we ate on the beach which was lit by lanterns suspended from the acacia trees.
The team of staff were considerate without being over-bearing and filled us in on local hotspots, including a charming seafood shack called Hippocampe in the local town, Flic en Flac, where we watched our dinner being hauled in from the sea. One of the highlights of our trip was visiting the giant turtles . . and indeed riding on their backs!
I’ve recommended Maradiva to all our friends and we have already booked a return visit this Christmas.

Room Tip: All of the villas are fantastic!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank jackielindsay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I thought I had already posted this last year after we came back from our honeymoon in Apr 2010, however, I did not so thought would put it on now - We have just come back from the Maradiva Hotel & Spa for our 10 day honeymoon and we couldn't have wished for anything more. It really was a wonderful place to stay at, the attention to detail and service was more than we could ever have imagined.

We stayed in one of the luxury villas, all the villas have their own little plunge pool which was great for being able to chill out by yourselves if you didn't want to go to the main pool or beach, each villa also has a day bed to sunbathe on and a separate seating area (with sofa and table & chairs for in villa dining) as well as ipod docking station so you can listen to music whilst relaxing round the pool or eating etc. There is also a spa (where we had our complimentary massage as part of our honeymoon package along with rose petal bath), gym, business centre for free internet, free use of books and dvd's and use of bicycles if you want to have a bike round.

The main infinity pool is at Breakers Bar where you can have lunch and the pool is wonderful, access to the beach is also by the pool, there are ample sunbeds by the pool and beach plus towels, most days my husband and i were the only ones round the pool which was great, it was almost like having the hotel to ourselves, we only really saw people at breakfast and dinner, it really is the place to come if you want peace and quiet and definitely not the place to come to if you're looking for something buzzing, but for the purposes of our honeymoon it was heaven. The staff were simply outstanding and I don't think either of us have ever been to somewhere where we have been so well looked after, from being ferried around in the little golfing buggies if you wanted to be taken anywhere, to the daily free fruit and cakes delivered, free water, a massive chocolate chicken for Easter, nightly turn down and change of towels, buckets of ice delivered whenever you wanted and in villa dining we really couldn't have wanted for anything more.

The food was outstanding, I'm quite a fussy eater but they catered to what I needed and my husband really enjoyed the wide selection of food, we even went to the other restaurant Cilantro for tapinyaki which was great fun watching the Chef at work! There is a wide choice of breakfast including fruit, continental, pancakes (American or French style), cooked breakfasts and Mauritian style breakfasts, every person's tastes will be catered for. Lunch is provided in Breakers Bar which served pasta, pizza, wraps, bento boxes and panini's, you're looking at 500rupees for a pizza etc. and drinks are fairly pricey but you are staying at a 5 star hotel so wasn't expecting anything less. Cocktails are about £12.50 and spirits about £7-10 depending on what you have but the measures are big! We were on half board so just had to pay for our lunch and as the food is fairly expensive I would highly recommend you go half board if you can.

As part of our honeymoon package which we booked through Turqouise Holidays (I would really recommend them as my husband said that they did a great job searching for our perfect honeymoon), we had the free spa treatment as mentioned above, a separate rose petal bath in our room, candelit dinner with food chosen by ourselves under the tents by the beach and a free champagne breakfast served at our villa, heaven!!

We also hired one of the speedboats at the Boathouse (which has free trips for snorkelling, pedalos, canoes and then paid trips round the island, dolphin watching etc) and Coco took us out to go dolphin swimming which was simply the most amazing experience, you had to be fast off the boat mind to get in the water and snorkel to see the dolphins swim under you / near you but it was one of the highlights of our honeymoon, I'd never been snorkelling before so ended up missing the dolphins the first few times as I spluttered with the seawater and got to grips with it all, but managed to see quite a few afterwards so I would recommend that you practice before you go if you've never snorkelled before!! It was £200 for 2 hours which some might say is expensive but we thought it was worth every penny, there were a few other boats but they had quite a few people on them but it was just the two of us so it was much better and that's what you're paying for, being on your own and not having to share with other guests, we booked direct with the hotel rather than the tour operator, Mauri Tours who had quoted us £250 so shop around.

All in all we had the most amazing start to married life and I would love to come back here in the future, we would highly recommend anyone to come here, it was out of this world!!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank tinkertaylor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We chose the maradiva as the location to get married in Mauritius and from start to finish the service was exceptional. They only have one wedding per day so no feeling of being on a conveyor belt and all their efforts are focused on you. The little touches really make your visit special from every member of staff knowing your name and that your getting married, attention to every detail and the fact that they make getting married so relaxing unlike the stressful situations in the UK.
The location, views, food, service and villas are outstanding, although most of the 65 villas were occupied the design of the complex makes it feel like your the only people there. Overall we could not fault any part of the wedding & honeymoon, the staff make every day really special.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halpin-rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

The first thing you need to know is that Maradiva is a warm and welcoming place. The surroundings are lush and breathtaking, the staff are helpful and friendly and the accommodations leave nothing wanting. It's marvelous. The villas are spacious while remaining private, the in-villa dining is truly a treat, and the beach is...well, a beautiful beach. What more could you ask for?

However, no place can ever be perfect. There will always be exceptional instances that could vex the highly-strung and easily irritated. The point is whether these instances are the rule, and our experience here has been of unfailing courtesy and service. We have no complaints at all.

Last, but not least, if you plan to come to Mauritius, then you are probably expecting some sort of paradise. You won't be disappointed. Relax and unwind. Holidays are what you make of them and Maradiva is a very good place to start.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank savvymcsavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Duration: 6 nights in Beachfront Villa
Location: West coast, best location because of less rain and less wind. Last Hotel at the beach, so privacy ensured.
Check-in: Fast and professional. The General Manager came to welcome us.
Villa: Huge room, with very comfortable beds. Bathroom is just perfect, with the possibility to take a private outdoor shower as well. All amenities as expected for this class of resort. Each villa has a veranda with private pool (always clean), TV and mini bar + espresso machine. Everything was working always in a perfect shape.
Cleaning: You can chose when checking-in at which hour housekeepers will come for cleaning and they will come absolutely on time. Quality of cleaning is perfect and professional.
Breakfast: A la carte, not buffet. Fresh baked rolls every morning. Huge variety of dishes to be ordered. Service very friendly, but a little bit slow. Quality good.
Dinner: Local dishes and international dishes. Try the local ones, delicious. Good quality and very friendly staff. We were invited by the chef (French) to visit the kitchen and to see when the local fishermen were bringing the fresh fish to the kitchen, to be cooked the next day. The chef by himself checked out the best quality and rejected the not so good one. This was really amazing, in which hotel you will be invited to see the kitchen? And it was during dinner time, a lot of people were working. This was the proof for us; in this kitchen there is nothing to hide. Overall quality of food was good.
Beside from this main restaurant there is an Asiatic one. Very nice food and location, but totally overprized.
Gym and Spa: First class. Nothing to add.
Beach: Strand always clean and water beautiful. Beach boys are very helpful and friendly. Everyday we have gotten little fruit snacks and drinks (for free).
Maintenance of the resort: Perfect. All was in a perfect shape. I never have seen so many gardeners working at a hotel.
Overall a really perfect stay. If I only should highlight one big value of this resort, these are the employees. Always helpful. Always smiling (down to the gardeners), always saying “Hello”,…
One advice: Mix up with the locals. The best is to hire a taxi and the driver will take you around the island. From the bottom of our heart we can recommend our taxi driver Gunnes (ask in reception for him). He provided us with great tours and very interesting explanations. I doubt a professional tourist guide will do it better, as our friend Gunnes. Thanks for this.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadridDucados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

The hotel, rooms and general surroundings were extremely nice.

The one thing that put us off was the quality and cost of the food.

When we were there the hotel was pretty empty so atmosphere was lacking in most of the restaurants.

Lunch was pretty disappointing. I can only assume that because the food was so expensive people were skipping lunch, I say that because the first few days when we did have lunch we were the only people eating in the one restaurant serving food. After a while we followed the crowd and skipped lunch (30GBP for a small pizza is a bit much).

The evenings we didn't do much better... My wife who is not a big curry fan had the pasta. This cost around 32GBP and was sold as pasta with tomatoes. (there were approx 2 cherry tomatoes, no sauce). Turns out, when we asked the sauce cost extra... We didn't bother.

The Asian fusion and the tapenyakki restaurants were good, but again pricey, and we usually dined alone or with one other couple...

Overall was missing atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fairplay4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
27.1 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Property: Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing