We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, staff, service and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Visited in December 2013.

This was our honeymoon and we were on Half Board for 9 nights.

Much nicer hotel compared to the other ones in the area. It’s much quieter and hidden from view from the road, there are security gates on the entrance.

VILLA:
We were given an early check in and were very happy with our villa, its rustic feeling yet modern with lots of wood furnishings and beige tiled bathroom areas. It was very clean inside and around the plunge pool and seating area. We stayed in Villa 102 which had the main pool to one side (but no disturbances) and the beach was only one villa in front. The bar and Coast to Coast restaurant was right next to the pool also where they serve breakfast.
Everything worked in the room, Lights, plugs, TV, Mini bar, showers, toilet etc etc.

FOOD:
We have travelled to many places and found the standard of the food at the Maradiva excellent. There are 2 restaurants but one is split into an Indian and Japanese. The Indian was excellent, we didn’t try the Japanese but the Coast to Coast main restaurant was excellent with a range of very tasty and interesting international and Mauritian dishes. We didn’t have a single disappointing dish.

SPECIAL DIET REQUIREMEMNTS:
One major point to mention is I have Coeliac Disease and have to follow a strict Gluten free diet. We notified the hotel of this via email before we arrived and the hotel Service manager replied to discuss this with us. When we arrived at the hotel the Service Manager Swaraj came to greet us and brought over the Head Chef Ravi to discuss my requirements. They had clearly dealt with this diet before. They were extremely helpful throughout our stay and the chefs all knew my predicament as soon as we gave our villa number. They made me special Gluten free pancakes for breakfast and made me fresh bread; they also altered ingredients on the evening menu to suit my needs rather that just say I can’t have the dish. They made Gluten free Pizza for lunch. The light lunch menu is rather restricted for people with Coeliac Disease as it’s a choice of Pizza, Pasta (I think if you took your own Gluten free pasta they would be delighted to make it for you), sandwiches, Toasted sandwiches etc, but the breakfast and evening is fine. You can eat in the Coast to Coast restaurant for lunch but we didn’t want a large meal at lunch time. We were delighted at how attentive the chefs and staff were at meal times.

BIRDS
There was recently mention on here of birds getting on to the breakfast area. There are lots of birds flying about as some of the areas where you can sit have open sided rooms. The only day we had a problem was when we were sat right at the edge of the breakfast room and another couple were feeding the birds on their table to enable them to capture pictures of them with their camera, they didn’t seem to bother that it was affecting the other people in the area as all the birds flocked around them. I have no issue with birds but when you’re eating id rather other guests not attract them to our table. There were no birds near the food, this was at the other end of the room and was attended by staff and cereals were covered. The hotel also has a large bird table set to the side of the restaurant and they put bread on there to encourage the birds to stay away from the guests, but birds will be birds. They didn’t bother us and my husband isn’t a fan of birds getting close.

FACILITIES
The swimming pool was lovely and had a direct, clear view of the ocean, there was very comfortable sun loungers and beds around the pool and on the beach. There were just enough loungers to accommodate guests but not spoil the view.

The Spa was lovely, we had a honeymoon massage and then went back for an Indian head Massage, the staff again, were lovely and the whole atmosphere was very professional and relaxing.

BEACH
The beach was nice, the weather brought in some seaweed on a few days which drifted in the water so we chose the pool on those days but then cleared up again and was very clear and warm. There are some roped off areas to walk in the water but a warning to people that there are a lot of rocks and coral so you cannot walk out very far. The beach was nice and quiet, we walked down the shore and came upon the Hilton and Sofitel which were so busy and there were many people on the beach lined up. We were glad to walk back to our quiet hotel.
There was also free water sports at the beach and nice staff to help assist you. There is a small glass bottom boat to go out and see the coral and fish, kayaks, windsurfing and peddle boats. You can pay more for trips to swim with the dolphins etc.

Our only disappointment was on our last 3 days when the hotel became very busy. It seemed lots of families had arrived for Christmas and there was screaming children running all around the breakfast area and restaurant and splashing us when leaping in the pool. We were also sat in the Breakers bar having lunch where the hotel has a Grand Piano for an evening singer that performs. Families were allowing their children to go and attack the piano for long lengths of time which was horrible (everyone knows how awful a piano sounds if you cant play it), we did tell the staff and make it clear that we felt it was inappropriate and a disturbance but although the staff seemed to realise that the children shouldn’t be on the piano none of them addressed the problem and asked the children or their mother if they could kindly not play on the piano. Our holiday went from being very relaxed and quiet to feeling like we were in a family orientated hotel where anything goes. This was a shame as it was so peaceful beforehand. We have no problem with children but as this was advertised as a honeymoon hotel our last couple of days were slightly disappointing and my husband was glad we were moving on to Dubai for our second leg. I would suggest going when children are in school.

Overall I was really pleased with the Maradiva, the Villa, staff, food, surroundings and would definitely visit again.

I would like to say a personal thanks to Head Chef ‘Ravi’ and Food and Beverage Manager ‘Swaraj’ who made our stay very comfortable and really looked after us. There were so many staff who also made an impression on us, the head waiters in the restaurants and the other chefs but m afraid we cannot remember everyone’s names.

A lovely holiday and honeymoon.

Room Tip: Room 102 is near the pool, beach, Coast to Coast restaurant and Breakers bar. It is also very privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, General Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Maradiva for your honeymoon and for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience for the benefit of Trip Advisor readers.

It was truly our pleasure to make every moment of your honeymoon a memory that you will always treasure.

We are also pleased to hear that the efforts of our Hosts exceeded your every expectation. I will personally pass on your appreciation to the Executive Chef Ravi, and our Food and Beverage Services Manager, Swaraj.

We do hope you will visit us again for your first wedding anniversary.

Iain McCormack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly they did all that they can to ensure our stay was exceptional. However like any island destination, our Luxury Villa with a private pool suffered from some insects. I think that the resort needs some more on-location entertainment venues since it currently has only 2 restuarants and one mellow beach bar.
In short, the experience was great and i would thank the staff for making it that way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akahaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, General Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our team and have already informed them. Additionally, thank you for highlighting the insects around the pool; we will work on this. We are currently reviewing all our weekly Food and Beverage program and will be introducing theme nights as well as more Beach & Poolside dinners with entertainment. I am very happy that overall you enjoyed your honeymoon and do hope to see you again in the near future!

Iain McCormack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent 16 nights in December in an exclusive Villa right on the beach. We were in heaven. Very relaxing holiday.

Here are some of the good points:-

Villas - unique idea on the island. Very luxurious, private and spacious. Fully equipped with TVs in both lounge and bedroom, Bose ipod connector for both lounge and patio. Individual wifi system that connects the Mauritius telephone company to each villa independently, so although slow compared to European speeds, you dont get peaks and troughs in your download speed. Furniture very comfortable and a really soft four poster bed. Luxurious bathroom with separate toilet and bidet. Outside shower against a screening wall surrounded by flowers and trees. Tea and Coffee making facilities replenished daily and delicious fruit delivered around lunctime. Room-making service is exceptional.

2 Restaurants offering - Japanese, asian and european - all the chefs were very gifted. Particularly good fish (Sachrechien and Daurade). I have never tasted Terriyaki beef softer than this. Desserts are an absolute dream. Dinner on the beach under a tent is highly recommended.

Gardens - these are kept to a high standard and very well stocked with many palm trees and bougainvillae surrounding a fountain in front of the main Reception. Delightful to walk along the main path to dinner every night under the stars.

Beach - very clean and any debris from the sea is removed every morning. Loungers are well spaced and noone encroachs upon the other, unlike other cramped hotel beaches which you will pass if you walk up to Flic en Flac on the beach.

Spa - Very interesting Ayurveda doctor (Aadarsh) who offers some wonderful treatments. Sauna and Jacuzzi and hot pool are a dream to relax in after breakfast.

Staff - the most friendly and helpful personnel we have ever encountered in the dozen or so hotels we have stayed at on the island. They cannot do enough for you. Highly approachable Management (Iain and Kamal) who were extremely friendly and always available. A cut above the rest. We could mention 30 staff by name but it is meaningless as all 240 should be listed. There are some very special ones though - Rishi and Swaraj.

Reception is run by the marvellous Priya and her staff. There are 2 shops selling reasonably priced watches, clothes and sundries - their mosquito spray is highly recommended (!). Hotel does not take huge commission for exchanging Foreign currency, unlike others.

Here are some of the bad points:-

To be honest, no hotel is abolutely perfect but for us, the MV comes close to it.

We finally found our ideal hotel and we highly recommend for couples without very young children who,of course, are catered for but are rarely seen here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chamoixelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, General Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for the positive review of our resort. I am truly grateful for the time you have taken to write such detailed comments, which helps us greatly, especially for training and motivating the staff; I am delighted that you really enjoyed your holidays and you appreciated our facilities and services provided. You can be assured I will pass on your comments regarding the team, they will be very happy reading this.

I am pleased to know that you take away many wonderful memories of your stay among us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Iain McCormack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

After three years living in Mauritius and visits to many hotels, I thought I knew all that the island had to offer. But then I tried Maradiva. It deliberately follows a different path to the road well trodden by other hotels on the island. Instead of packing in extra rooms, Maradiva has just 63 "villas", all single storey and self-standing. This means that you get unparalleled privacy, and there are no tall structures to dominate your view.
Each villa resembles a good quality five star hotel room on the inside, with a good sized bedroom with very comfortable bed, work desk, wifi/internet, a good quality TV, and a large and well-equipped bathroom with a nice touch - full-length windows in the shower to give you a sense of showering outside. The bathroom also opens into a private side entrance with an outside waterfall shower, enabling you to wash off the sand after a day on the beach and then go straight into the bathroom for a shower and change without trampling through the rest of your room.
But what sets Maradiva apart from other hotels on the island is the extensive verandah, which is like an outside living room with a private plunge pool. Although the furniture looks a little old (possibly because it is outside), the verandah is equipped with all the latest modern facilities such as a nespresso machine and a Bose Wave sound system, as well as a well-stocked minibar. Unlike any other hotel I have stayed in on the island, this means you actually WANT to spend time in your villa, allowing you quality, private time with your partner, family or friends. Perfect for couples wanting a relaxing time together, or families with children. And, because if you choose one of the meals packages the food is still included if it is delivered to your villa (room service is usually outside these packages in Mauritius), you really can have that secluded, private, luxury experience if that is what you want.
The service is also pretty special, even by the very high standards Mauritius sets itself. With only 63 villas, the staff know all of their guests, and cater for their needs individually, usually without you thinking about it (eg the wonderful lady who, without prompting, brought me the plate I had forgotten when she noticed me cutting bread at the breakfast bar). The genuinely personal service even extended to menu planning for my baby - I don't know how we are going to get him back on Bledina after his stay in Maradiva with gourmet food designed for him!
To help you choose if Maradiva is right for you, there are a couple of things you might want to think about:
- first, it is on the west coast, so doesn't have the picture-perfect, stereotypical Indian Ocean turquoise lagoons. Tamarin Bay, where Maradiva is situated, is a beautiful location, framed by mountains to the south, but feels somehow more Mediterranean than Indian Ocean. If you are a fan of snorkelling, you might think about booking a day at the fabulous Ile de Deux Cocos in the marine reserve of Blue Bay to complement your trip. And do take a catamaran trip too - there are dolphins in Tamarin Bay and some easily reachable snorkelling sites where you can visit the turquoise lagoons. The beach at Maradiva is in keeping with the private, secluded feel of the rest of the hotel. So much space for so few people, and they have left the trees which creates some fabulous shaded areas for reading or snoozing without the risk of sunburn, as well as privacy.
- second, it only has 63 villas. In almost all respects this is a huge advantage, but it does mean that the hotel only has two restaurants, one offering Mediterranean dishes, the other Asian (Indian and Japanese) cuisine. The food is fine (and there are no buffet meals, you even order your breakfast freshly cooked from a menu), but if like me you believe that variety is important, you might want to think about negotiating a rate with a couple of nights dinner away if you are staying for 2 weeks - I can recommend some restaurants in the area if you are interested. You also, of course, won't find lively bars in a hotel like Maradiva - or actually in any of the 5-star hotels in Mauritius. But if you think you might want a night out, there are plenty of bars in neighbouring Flic-en-Flac that can cater for you.
We will definitely return to this outstanding property. Its a bit of a secret in Mauritius, and if you choose to stay there, the staff will make you feel as special and unique as Maradiva itself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, General Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, with some great feedback for us and future guests who are looking to stay with us. I was enchanted to read how much you entirely enjoyed your time at Maradiva; in particular the serenity, privacy, food, activities and the service. I am proud to share your views with my team.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Iain McCormack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent 10 days at Maradiva. It is expensive (the rack rate on our villa was €1000, around $1,400 per night) but all I can say is that everything is, well, a bit average. Most things are more 4 star than 5 star.
The villas are large and comfortable. The promised butler never turned up, but that was fine. The aircon not working, and the way staff just walked into your villa, wasn't so good.
Generally, the staff needed more training. Nothing got done until you found a manag (and I mean getting an espresso at breakfast, not anything major). 5 star properties have staff who can understand simple requests.
The food was pretty boring, other than the curries (Mauritius is around 65% from the Indian subcontinent). All seafood, most fish and most meat are imported frozen. Nothing is seasonal (the island was full of fresh lychee and a range of fruit and vegetables that were in season, but they never appeared on the menu). And the food, while it looks fancy, has little taste, no seasoning and no spice (even the curries). The local food, creole, is great but you won't find that here for some reason.
So, if you want a luxurious and expensive break, and don't mind dull food and average service, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal N, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly value this feedback from you and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

You can be assured your comments have been addressed with the Management team, in order to apply immediate corrective actions. I wish to thank you for your constructive comments that will certainly help us to provide improved consistent services in future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can assist in the future, I do hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. i.mccormack@maradiva.com

Iain McCormack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

If you want a quiet , relaxing holiday then this is the place to go.

The villas are excellent and well positioned for ultimate privacy, they are clean and well decorated, the gardens are maintained beautifully.

The staff at the pool/beach/bar are superb and go out of their way to make your holiday special. Look out for Nazil / Stefan and Bilal
Also Adil in the Coast to Coast was always very obliging and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for him

Prices for drinks etc were what we were expecting having reviewed other comments and having visited the island before, it is £10 for a glass of wine and £ 40 for the bottle, so be prepared

Agree with previous comments that allocation of 6 coffees per day, set a tone which we felt was unnecessary given the price of the holiday and staying in a luxury resort

Previous comments re the Internet were well founded and we were not prepared to accept Kumal’s response which was that it was to do with the main connection to the hotel, the issue was with the routers in the rooms having European plugs whereas the sockets were UK, also the passwords given for your villa are not necessarily correct. Advice is to take a UK to Europe adaptor with you, or the hotel should use the correct routers & plugs.

We visted all of the restaurants, we loved Cilantro (Japanese) what a good experience and amazing food, the Cilantro (Indian) we did not personally like so much, they almost try to hard !!

Coast to Coast had a good variety of food and we liked the fact it was all A La Carte and not buffet. Service could be a bit patchy, it sometimes seemed that there were too many managers and not enough staff. The staff were always pleasant and willing to please, however at times when the restaurant was busy, you could be waiting for a considerable, for Menu’s or bread or someone to take your order etc. We felt this could be easily rectified by staff having allocated tables, rather than serving any table which had guests, which results in things/people being missed.

Cakes were delivered to your villa every afternoon, this was a really nice touch. It would have been nice to have had a couple more of these extras provided as in other hotels, ie mid morning fruit around the pool, ice cream etc

We did have an issue with wanting to reserve a tent for my wifes 50th birthday, admittedly we did leave it late in trying to reserve this, we were told none were available, we then asked to reserve a table in Coast to Coast and were told that was impossible, it seemed that whatever we asked nothing could be done, at the end of the day we told the manager to forget the whole thing. The following day however there had been a change of heart and the manager had not only reserved us a special table but had also reserved us the tent for the following day, We did appreciate this, however it would have been nice for this to have happened in the first instance. It seemed to be more about what they could’nt do rather than what they could.

Overall, with a few tweaks this could be a truly amazing hotel. We would certainly return to Maradiva Villas and would recommend it for that ultimate holiday

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deaconwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal N, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay at our resort.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time at The Resort; in particular the Japanese restaurant and the service in our food and beverage outlets. We are very proud of the entire team and I will be sure to share your comments with them. I also wanted to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. The details will be reviewed with the team in order for us to improve as we move forward. We thank you for these constructive comments.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Maradiva soon again and would be delighted to assist with the details of a future stay.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is sadly not a 5*.

We stayed here for 12 nights of our honeymoon and sincerely wished we hadn't. Whilst the rooms, with the benefit of a private plunge pool and luxurious bathroom, were pleasant enough, the hotel fell considerably short in many other areas.

However, firstly I would like to stress that many of the staff were wonderful, including the team on reception, the waiting staff at Coast 2 Coast and the bar men. Even Brinda our maid was one of the most friendly and helpful people we had the pleasure of meeting. A special mention should also go to Jusveen in Coast 2 Coast. The team in the spa were equally lovely and we enjoyed our complimentary treatment.

Unfortunately, this is where the positive comments end. The manager at the hotel, in our opinion, lacks the ability and drive to operate a 5* star hotel, which from our experience, takes a lot more than simply chatting to some of your guests at dinner. During our stay, I was taken ill with bacterial gastroenteritis and was sick for 7 days. I fell ill almost four days into our honeymoon and at that point we hadn't left the resort. Ultimately, we do not know what caused my illness although it was likely to have been a bacteria in the food - be it undercooked or perhaps from contamination through bird droppings, and antibiotics were needed. This was not a viral infection as confirmed by the Dr. To pick up bacteria in what is held out to be a 5* resort at this cost is terrible enough, however when we reported the matter to the manager he made it perfectly clear it was his priority to try and absolve the hotel of all forms of liability. Upon becoming ill I immediately notified reception and the restaurant manager, given as I have said, we had not left the resort since arriving. Their first question was to ask if I had enjoyed the food? Next was to deny any kind of liability that this could have been the cause. At no point was I asked if I was ok, or if I needed anything to help ease my discomfort. Each time I subsequently saw the manager over the course of the next few days he immediately referred to the outcome of lab tests rather than to enquire of my health or whether there was anything he could do to help.

My illness continued for 4 days when it became clear we needed to call the hotel nurse and ultimately a doctor. The nurse gave conflicting advice to the Doctor which nearly ended up with me in hospital. It was not until my wife had a particularly frank and quite heated discussion with the manager that he stopped referring to the tests and extra water was provided to help prevent me from becoming dehydrated and plain food was offered.

As other reviewers have stated, local birds - while pretty - do climb all over the tables and leave droppings. My wife leant back in her seat one day and found it on her shirt when we returned to our room. They also reach the breakfast buffet and I regularly saw birds eating the cereals which were still left out for guests, the nets providing little protection.

There were also incidents where the water from the sinks/bath came through brown, albeit that eventually cleared if you ran the taps long enough. Of course we never drank the tap water, but still this is not very nice. One other thing I could never understand was that still water by the bottle was free at breakfast and mostly during the day from the bar - but is chargeable at night - with the same bottle varying from 120Rs to 240Rs on random nights. Wine is, as noted by other guests, also over priced with no reason for this other than "all the other resorts charge this much". The local Spar will sell the same bottle for a fraction of the price and apparently the hotel are OK with you keeping your own alcohol in the minibar?

In summary, the rooms are nice but having spent the remainder of our honeymoon at the Four Seasons on the other side of the island (which we have also reviewed) - there is a HUGE contrast in what actually is 5* and what is trying but failing miserably to be 5*. I would advise against honeymooners booking this hotel, or anyone who values their health, as it is overpriced and below par.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Boston_Gall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal N, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, comments relating to our guests stay is extremely important to me as to identifying areas where we may need to focus and fine tune.

I am most surprised and disappointed to read some of your comments as we pride ourselves on the way we are committed to taking care of our guests especially when guests fall ill from time to time, in your case we spent a lot of time with making sure you were well looked after and informed! We will keep details of the medical proceedings and outcome by relevant bodies, private and confidential as it should be. It is a shame you felt we did not take care of you as expected. I do hope you are feeling much better now and you are back to 100% once again.

When visiting a tropical Island you need to expect elements of local wildlife, be it Mauritius, Maldives, Caribbean etc. This is all part of the experience and charm of these regions, certain aspects of this such as birds flying close to guests during breakfast is unavoidable (same in any of the mentioned regions), we do our utmost to minimize any inconvenience to our guests and protect our food accordingly, most of our guests enjoy this part of the day and actually encourage the birds to join them on their tables by feeding them.

Regarding the cost of water there is only one price in our system to charge and unsure why there would be any conflicting charges, I will monitor this as to ensure there is consistency. The wines at the resort do have a higher charge compared to what you can buy at a local supermarket as is same at every resort worldwide. The wines in Mauritius start off at a high price due to freight and duties when entering Mauritius.

I am pleased to read you recognised some of our team members for which I will be sure to relay to them, however sincerely saddened your expectations were not met especially during your honeymoon and apologise for any misunderstandings or inconvenience. Please find my email address: k.nundloll@maradiva.com I would be delighted to hear from you and discuss any of your concerns together.

Kind Regards.
Kamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,514 reviews
10.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,850 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
27.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: £359 - £951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing