We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Caroline - 4 star!”
Review of Villas Caroline

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Caroline
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Villa Caroline is budget wise a very good destination. Close to a Spar and clothing shops in walking distance. Rooms are comfortable and clean, bathrooms need upgrading, which some of the rooms were under construction while we stayed there. Food was what you can expect of a 3/4 star facility. We could not complain at all. If you wanted 5 star food, you should go and stay at a 5 star facility. The all inclusive package is money well spend. Kenny and his team from Thomas tours were great and also the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

The Spa was a bit of a disappointment, they were working on the rooms right next to the spa, so what should have been relaxing was not. So if you book at the spa, make sure they are not renovating any rooms close by.

Thank you again for lovely stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you are far away from the renovations that is taking place there at the moment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mitziv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked an all inclusive package through Thompson's travel which included all meals, flights, transfers and of course the local cocktails, beers and wine. The kids are 18 and 13 and we did not need to worry about them for they were occupied with daily activities such as table tennis, beach volley ball and tennis, snorkeling etc. Me and my wife could just relax next to the pool with a book and some cocktails. But be careful, the cocktails are so nice they catch up with you quickly. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The food was excellent and i loved the fresh fish (Dorado especially). My wife also went for the Ritual treatment at the Spa and she had to go for a sleep afterwords for being so relaxed. If you get too tired of the beach or a bit sun burned, take a 10 mins walk to local clothing shops, restaurant and spar. We loved our time at Villas Caroline and Kenny from the fun club really made us feel at home.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy, ask for an upstairs room, if you do not mind people walking past while you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dewald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at Villas Caroline with the Thompsons package - all inclusive. The food is largely unimpressive or exciting - most of the visitors said the food was very bland and choices very limited, very hard to find things the kids could eat as not much choice. Lunch needed to be ordered the morning at breakfast and was mediocre at best with the same choices everyday. All all inclusive drinks except the cocktails are self service dispensers which no one told us about and we had to learn about ourselves. The service is very poor to non existant from the waiters and bartenders. They took ages to make 1 cocktail and the waiters try their best not to serve you at meals at all. The entertainment team is very good and the location on the beach is beautiful but the beach is covered in corals and you cannot walk barefoot at all on the beach or in the sea. The rooms really need an urgent upgrade - walls have been touched up but in a different paint colour and you can visibly see the paint brush strokes on the walls, the bathroom was old and musty smelling, the towels were hard and really needed to be replaced and the beach towels provided were old blue bath towels. The rooms were cleaned once a day and the cleanliness was good but the bedding is not replaced during the week at all which is a problem with children as the bedding which only consists of a fitted sheet, top sheet and thin bedspread gets dirty quickly during the week. No room service and no drinks provided in the room except a bottle of water daily. Their is no fitness centre or gym and the kids mini club was closed during the week we stayed without notice which apparently happens often.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I went to Mauritius with a friend, and we have chosen all inclusive pack with Villas Caroline Hotel. Our time was amazing and goals were met: fun and relaxation!
Entertainment was the best thing! People at the hotel were very kind and helpful!
Rooms could use some improvements on the inside, but still the location (ocean facing) and conditions overcame that.
Restaurant service was good overall. We were just expecting more fruits and food diversity.
We loved our time there and definitely next time in Mauritius we'll came back to Villas Caroline!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Irina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From the arrival and complimentary cocktails, our stay in one of most beautiful beaches on Earth started, We took 2 weeks package because we thought a week will not be enough to explore the island , and with kids we were not sure we wanted organised tours.The first week we spend at the hotel enjoying the beach, snorkelling The reef is as we've seen it on NatGeo.. the fish all curious and view as in tropical aquarium, The best - no experience required because everything is just on front of our villa,My son-9 was first courteous but after that I could not stop him snorkelling. Rooms were splendid for this class of hotel,The view from the balcony, The sunsets, chilling on the balcony while kids playing on the beach.
Sea or pool was their choice all day, even in their winter the water was warm enough.The second week we rented car and toured the island-trough alleys and mountains..
The hotel staff were friendly Food was Ok with different choices for different tastes, The breakfast omelette is one of the best we had done as we wish by the lady chef,
And the best asset the hotel and Thomson's tours can have: Kenny, From our arrival he was always there for us, The kids still mentioning that they miss him and they miss his games and dances,Thanks Kenny, we hope we will see you again.
In the hotel they had few functions, and we could experience different cultural events, weddings, birthdays, athletes awards party. With the vibrant music,and dances, it assembles Caribbean spirit Smile
The hotel quality is good value for money,Child friendly,save and great location.
Thanks to all at Villas Caroline!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 403,Family room with 2 single beds in the lounge and king size bed in the main bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick_Ver0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We had a really great stay at Villas Caroline! From the minute we arrived at the airport we were well taken care of. The resort has everything you need, and anything else you want or need you just have to ask and Kenny will have it taken care of for you immediately! We were really impressed with the service of all staff members, who went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. The beach & snorkelling are amazing, and the guys at the dive centre very accommodating. We did 2 dives with Pierre & were blown away by how much there is to see & how beautiful the marine life is!

The food was ok, as could be expected from a buffet style meal, however, we were really treated to some great food on our last night. Kenny arranged a 4 course dinner for my hubby & I for my 30th birthday, which was very special and showcased the culinary skills of the chefs.

Overall a memorable experience!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jarda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

As south Africa is only four hours away from MAURITIUS, we visit the Island often and usually stay in FLIC EN FLAC and we stayed in most of the hotels. Most big brand names. I read about this hotel and could not believe some of the comments so we decided to come. We have been here now for six days and I need to share my experience. Best location with the biggest beach. small hotel but capable of everything and only for a fair price considering what one gets.The food is very tasty, big variety and we were fortunate to have PRAKESH , the restaurant manager and his team looking after the food and beverage. he is an ambassador for the hotel. I have mingled with many other guest from other countries and no one had any complaints. Only compliments about the quality and variety of the food. As far as friendliness of the staff, one can only speak to the manager of the hotel. His personality, helpfulness, reflects on the staff. Everyone is friendly , helpful and well trained. It is a pleasure to be a guest at this small hotel. CHARLIE, at the boat house must be mentioned. As the rest ,very well mannered and helpful. He is always smiling and keeps a watchful eye on the bathers. The presence of the security gives one that extra peace of mind.They have an excellent access control to the hotel. The cleaning ladies are the unsung heroes. Behind the scene whilst one is at the beach, they clean your room and put fresh towels in bath/shower area and fresh linen on the beds..Then there is KENNY. Very polite, helpful and friendly. He is a friend of every guest. I only learn yesterday that he is actually part of the THOMPSONS / THOMAS COOK GROUP BUT GIVES ATTENTION TO EACH AND EVERY GUEST. It is a pleasure to be a guest in a resort like this. JUST FOR RECORD PURPOSES:- I have no family or friends that are in any way connected with the hotel or any travel agency. JOHAN PRETORIUS. 082 872 4943

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank johan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flic En Flac hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,558 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#10 of 18 in Flic En Flac
622 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Flic En Flac
1,033 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#13 of 18 in Flic En Flac
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Caroline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Caroline

Address: Coastal Road, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#9 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: £108 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Caroline 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villas Caroline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Caroline Hotel Flic En Flac
Caroline Hotel Flic En Flac
Villas Caroline Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing