We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View to wake up to!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Caroline

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Caroline
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great View to wake up to!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Considering all the hotels in Mauritius are expensive for an Asian; this was the cheapest I found with the best beach view. Water was crystal clear, and the deck chairs are all I needed for a great holiday. When you are able to wake up, and open the door to the sound of breaking waves, and cool air breeze, who could ask for anything more. The white sandy beach and clear blue sea is super inviting!

If you love diving, there is a dive shop there too. Didnt get to do diving this trip as it rained for 3 days straight and caused a flash flood in Mauritius.

I dont care much for the food here as they taste bad and is very expensive. So unless it's part of your package, then go for it. But if you need to pay, better to walk out and explore other places. But unfortunately, Mauritius is a fairly dead and lazy place, eateries are ONLY open for lunch or dinner. Nothing in between. Stock up at the nearest supermarket which is only less than a mile walk from the hotel.

No internet, so bring a book!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shasharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    368
    152
    57
    25
See reviews for
238
401
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We recently returned from a trip to Mauritius and had the misfortune of staying here on our last night. The location is good, central to everything. The beach is okay, but nicer further south. We found the staff to be very disinterested and the food served at the dinner buffet left a lot to be desired. We previously stayed in a similar boutique resort in the same area, and there really was no comparison. For the price, there are much nicer options in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brakpan, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from Mauritius after staying at Villas Caroline for 6 days, and i think it will be appropriate to rate this small hotel. After having read some of the reviews on tripadvisor,some good,some bad,i didn’t know what to expect.
On arrival and walking through reception, we were greeted by a view out of this world. The turquoise waters is meters away from the hotel and what a contrast with the white beach all around. We were greeted in true Mauritian syle,and by that i mean friendly staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our room could not have been better. It had it all. Maybe a chip of paint here and there missing, but if i expected a flawless 5 star room,i should have rather booked into a 5 star hotel. On trip advisor many people made bad comments re the rooms etc,but having stayed there and seen the rooms,i cant see where the bad comments originate from. Personally i think people are born complainants and moaners.
The hotel is very intimate and the staff is friendly and cater in all your needs. The hotel is neat, clean and has a very cosy atmosphere.
Now to the food and i have to be honest as many people made negative remarks on tripadvisor regarding the food. The food does not compare with the likes of ST GERAN etc,but then again,if that is what you want,go and stay at St.Geran for 10 times the price. We found the food at villas caroline very good and tasty with a wide variety, and it changed every day so there was never as some said,the same food on every other day. What people tend to forget, a buffet can never be in the same class as a la carte. Food does get cold if you don’t dish up when it is still hot and who is to blame if the food gets cold,not the hotel !!! There has been many comments about the waiters not tending to you on a 24/7 basis re asking if you want something etc. The setup at villas caroline does not cater for those type of requests. At the hotel they have a well stocked bar that is 10 meters away from the pool area and on arrival it gets explained to you in every possible language. Walk 10 meters to the bar and order what you want. Seeing 95% of what you can order is on the house, why the big boo aah about walking 10 meters for a free drink and cocktail of your choice.
The boat house that is just about 40 meters from the pool area, caters in all your water sport needs and the staff will go out of their way to make sure every possible need is catered for. Whether its diving with the dolphins, bush braai on a remote island etc,they will arrange it all.Every night there is live entertainment and Kenny “the man”,will make sure you are entertained.
The location of the hotel is as good as you can get. Because of it being on the west coast, there is very little wind, and thus no fear of being blown away like on the east coast. In the little town that is within walking distance from the hotel, you will and can find anything eg restaurants ,banks, coffee shops, curio shops and of course the local spar for anything that you might want.
There has been complaints on tripadvisor about the wi-fi not being excessable outside the bar area. To those that did so complain,i would love to know where in the world ,besides a 5 star hotel can you expect wi-fi outside a designated area.
As i said earlier, the majority of the bad reviews on trip advisor has no substance and is totally contra the true position at villas caroline. People as i said earlier are either born moaners and will irrespective of anything, always find fault. I sometimes wonder if their homes are 100% in tip top condition.
In a nut shell, villas caroline beach hotel is the best value for money anyone can wish for.

Room Tip: rooms closer to the pool area will get more noise at night with the live entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank KonradRontgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Villa Caroline is budget wise a very good destination. Close to a Spar and clothing shops in walking distance. Rooms are comfortable and clean, bathrooms need upgrading, which some of the rooms were under construction while we stayed there. Food was what you can expect of a 3/4 star facility. We could not complain at all. If you wanted 5 star food, you should go and stay at a 5 star facility. The all inclusive package is money well spend. Kenny and his team from Thomas tours were great and also the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

The Spa was a bit of a disappointment, they were working on the rooms right next to the spa, so what should have been relaxing was not. So if you book at the spa, make sure they are not renovating any rooms close by.

Thank you again for lovely stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you are far away from the renovations that is taking place there at the moment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitziv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasolburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked an all inclusive package through Thompson's travel which included all meals, flights, transfers and of course the local cocktails, beers and wine. The kids are 18 and 13 and we did not need to worry about them for they were occupied with daily activities such as table tennis, beach volley ball and tennis, snorkeling etc. Me and my wife could just relax next to the pool with a book and some cocktails. But be careful, the cocktails are so nice they catch up with you quickly. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The food was excellent and i loved the fresh fish (Dorado especially). My wife also went for the Ritual treatment at the Spa and she had to go for a sleep afterwords for being so relaxed. If you get too tired of the beach or a bit sun burned, take a 10 mins walk to local clothing shops, restaurant and spar. We loved our time at Villas Caroline and Kenny from the fun club really made us feel at home.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy, ask for an upstairs room, if you do not mind people walking past while you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dewald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at Villas Caroline with the Thompsons package - all inclusive. The food is largely unimpressive or exciting - most of the visitors said the food was very bland and choices very limited, very hard to find things the kids could eat as not much choice. Lunch needed to be ordered the morning at breakfast and was mediocre at best with the same choices everyday. All all inclusive drinks except the cocktails are self service dispensers which no one told us about and we had to learn about ourselves. The service is very poor to non existant from the waiters and bartenders. They took ages to make 1 cocktail and the waiters try their best not to serve you at meals at all. The entertainment team is very good and the location on the beach is beautiful but the beach is covered in corals and you cannot walk barefoot at all on the beach or in the sea. The rooms really need an urgent upgrade - walls have been touched up but in a different paint colour and you can visibly see the paint brush strokes on the walls, the bathroom was old and musty smelling, the towels were hard and really needed to be replaced and the beach towels provided were old blue bath towels. The rooms were cleaned once a day and the cleanliness was good but the bedding is not replaced during the week at all which is a problem with children as the bedding which only consists of a fitted sheet, top sheet and thin bedspread gets dirty quickly during the week. No room service and no drinks provided in the room except a bottle of water daily. Their is no fitness centre or gym and the kids mini club was closed during the week we stayed without notice which apparently happens often.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I went to Mauritius with a friend, and we have chosen all inclusive pack with Villas Caroline Hotel. Our time was amazing and goals were met: fun and relaxation!
Entertainment was the best thing! People at the hotel were very kind and helpful!
Rooms could use some improvements on the inside, but still the location (ocean facing) and conditions overcame that.
Restaurant service was good overall. We were just expecting more fruits and food diversity.
We loved our time there and definitely next time in Mauritius we'll came back to Villas Caroline!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Irina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flic En Flac hotels
1.3 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#10 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
#9 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Caroline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Caroline

Property: Villas Caroline
Address: Coastal Road, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#8 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#8 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Caroline 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Caroline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Caroline Hotel Flic En Flac
Caroline Hotel Flic En Flac
Villas Caroline Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing