We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting”
Review of Recif Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Recif Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We agree with most reviewers of this hotel. The location is lovely right on a coral beach. The restaurant is ideally located next to the beach. The grounds and swimming pool are kept immaculately clean. The manager Raynond has a remarkable memory for names and makes each visitor feel personally welcome. We had 2very relaxing and enjoyable weeks . The only downside was that our room was very basic and rather rundown.

Room Tip: Look at a photo of your room to see if you are likely to be satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs F,

Thank you for your nice review.

It was a pleasure meeting you and hosting you during your two weeks at the hotel.

May we precise that Récif Attitude adopts a very minimalistic décor and even though could be visualized as basic, it contains all amenities that a 3-star hotel in Mauritius would offer. We take good note of your comment and rest assure that we will rectify accordingly.

Very kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

This boutique hotel is a small piece of paradise on earth.
Located right next to the Ocean, Le Recif Attitude is the perfect place to forget about the world.
The rooms are organized through two lines of small 2 floors “villas” type. The ones facing the ocean are just amazing, specially to watch the sunset. Magic!
The garden is nicely maintained, and I enjoyed the flowers of “frangipaniers”, with their delicate shape and smell.
Inside the rooms, nothing too pretentious but everything is clean, functional and comfortable.
The management and staff are so friendly; they do their best to make you feel like home.
The immediate beach is actually just on the reef, which makes it a bit hard to walk on the white dead coral and swim… But if you are looking for a nice snorkeling session, this is definitely the ideal place. Plenty of colorful tropical fishes are to be seen on the immediate reef and I even got the chance to follow a turtle! For a more “white sandy” beach, you can opt for the closed by “Mon Choisy” beach which is probably less “exclusive” and can be quite busy on weekends, but is a more “lagoon” type beach closed by.
Right on the beach, the sun beds are covered by nice wooden umbrellas. The “boat house” staff will invite you to enjoy complementary snorkeling gear + one hour snorkeling trip on glass boat off the reef twice a day. Excursions can also be arranged from them at a better price than what travel agency may do.
The infinity pool is also something to enjoy, even though often busy with the kids as it provides a safer environment than the beach.
The hotel also feature a nice reception area, as well as a great terrace-bar where you can enjoy the famous rhum based cocktail or any well deserved drink you might feel to enjoy after a hard day at the beach or on the island main touristic attraction! Wifi is also available there, but you might need to use some patience (at the end of the day, you don’t come here to spend your time on your cell phone… even if I could not resist ;)
Last, but not least, the restaurant is set on a beautiful open terrace (and there is option to dine on the beach for the young romantic couple). The breakfast was great with exotic and tasty marmalade and fresh fruits. They have “A la carte” menu for lunch and the grilled fish was so tasty! The prices are also quite good compared to what I could experience out. And dinners were always a happy moment to share with your loved ones, with either buffet or set “theme” menu, which was a perfect way to enjoy the evening. Every night was featuring a live entertainment that also added to the nice atmosphere.
Seen from outside, I believe that you can really enjoy your time there probably better than on other “big” 5* hotels which were looking like “Tourists factory”…

All and all a wonderful stay in Mauritius and Le Recif Hotel was the perfect place to get the most of it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah17984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Claire,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your family during the festive period.

Thank you for the very sharp description and appreciation of our hotel.

Our best regards to Mr and Mrs A.

The whole team looks forward to welcoming you and your family again at Récif Attitude.

Very best regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly. Despite two days affected by cyclone our stay was really good. Everyone contributed to help us have a memorable stay. Restaurant was nice, room well kept, pool wonderful. Beautiful garden. Hotel director very accessible n proactive.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Ricky9916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Ricky,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We feel privilege to have you among our “very” regular guests and we are looking forward to welcome you, your family and friends again at Récif Attitude.

Very best regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in December 2013 @ Le Recif with our children. This was the best holiday we ever experienced. The location and and the ambiance of the hotel suited our the needs the best. My husband did a lot of research about it and the hotel did not disapprove. The snorkeling was certainly one of the highlights and the beach sack personell was very helpfull and extremely friendly. One was the highlights was also a catamaran trip to Isle de Gabrielle. A visist to the Botanical Gardens was also a highlight. The food and snacks were also excellent, especially the crepes!! The friendliness of the pesonell and the intimacy of the hotel was also great. If ever visist Mauritius again, we will certainly choose this hotel for our stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Alida S,

Thank you very much for your review!

We are delighted that the whole family enjoyed its stay at Récif Attitude and that our snorkeling spot was a highlight!

We thank you again for your visit and look forward to welcoming you again at Récif Attitude!

Best regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is very good, our room was right near the pool before the beach. The staff are very helpful and nice. Staff speak fluent French and English so communication is no problem. The location of the hotel is not so far from public transport or if you do not want to experience a bumpy, speedy ride, you should better get a taxi. Taxi drivers are very helpful also.

One bad thing is ants, since the rooms are ground floor, ants easily find their way in the room, but this can easily be solved by not leaving any food items outside the fridge.

Overall it was a great experience !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejxil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guests from Malta,

Thank you to have chosen our hotel for your Mauritian holidays.

We felt privilege to welcome other “islanders” and we are happy that your Récif Attitude experience has pleased you!

We look forward to welcoming you again on our island and many more of your compatriots!

Kind regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I visited this great hotel March 2013 with my husband for 6 nights.
We needed to get away and it was wonderful!
Where it is situated. The staff. The clients even...
The director of the hotel went out of his way to make us comfortable. He even brought us the acoustic guitar of his daughter for my husband to play and we had a wonderful 'campfire-esque' moment with arriving guests of the hotel.
One definitely needs to reserve a table for the diner on the beach.
Rent a scooter to ride around to the nearby areas for this peaceful hotel is in a world of it's own.Walk down the beach to the nearest shack for some grilled fish...
And when we left, we had a late flight, so they put us in another room so we could have a place to change.
This hotel really is quite a find.

For couples this hotel is great place for romance.
And we just booked a trip back for January for 8 nights... And are looking forward to it.
.

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room next to the center of the hotel with a perfect view on the ocean but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singerontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi C & G,

We thank you for your nice post and we look forward to welcoming you soon at Récif Attitude! Shall I prepare the guitar?

Would be pleased to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just returned from ten nights at the Recif and cannot praise Raymond and his team too highly. A fortnight in Tenerife was going to be our holiday destination until we had the chance of reduced rate seats with Air Mauritius. After some research we chose the Recif all inclusive for our holiday.

There simply arn't the superlatives available to praise this hotel and we both think this is one of the best holidays we have had in 24 years of holidays together. The holiday started with the flight from London Heathrow aboard Air Mauritius which was made very pleasant by very courteous staff, who could certainly teach a few transatlantic airlines about service. Proper metal cutlery was a nice touch and the in flight curry was delicious.

Transferred my minibus to the hotel in around 70 minutes then were greeted with cold towels and even colder drinks prior to checking in. As we had arrived at around 10 am we only had to wait a few minutes for our rooms to be made available to us. In recognising that ocean view rooms attract a premium ours were the next best and every morning we woke up to the sight and sound of waves lapping onto the beach.

Our rooms were very adequate with huge low beds which were very comfortable, and fresh laundry nearly everyday. All the features you would expect - minibar, kettle. Air conditioning, room safe were all built in with a free stock up service for the fridge. Really comfy good quality sunbeds and sunshades made the holiday that much more relaxing, and there were plenty of them.

The bar staff were good and the bsr and lounge area was where many people congregated to use the wifi. An upstairs lounge area has two PCs and a bookcase full of mixed language books and magazines. The seafood restaurant is located upstairs and attracts a premium, and not being a lover of seafood we didn't venture up to this. The main restaurant though was staffed by very smily and congenial people whose only purpose seems to be to make you happy. Boy did they succeed, although it would be unfair to single any out because they were all fantastic. You must mention English football to Gavin. Breakfast was easily the best meal of the day with predominantly continental breakfast of croissants cheese, ham and fresh fruit supported by various kinds of eggs juices besns and crepes.

For those on the all inclusive tariff (11 00-23 00) a lunch menu is provided as well as some barsnacks - these include very tasty vegetable pakoras amongst others. Evening meals are a mix of menu on some nights and buffet on other nights. A very minor criticism for me is that there are only two choices on the evening menu but the waiting staff can always find you an alternative. Nit bring a fish or seafood eater i managed to find enough to eat on the menu nights.

The beach is s mixture of sand and coral and is just a little pebbly in some places. It is more comfortable to wear something on the feet when walking on the beach, but not essential. The sea is clear but there are some ricks and coral so something on the feet is advisable if you are intending more than a paddle in the surf. If you are comfortable with seeing a few fish swimming around you then snorkelling is a must. I hadn't snorkelled for 20 years but marvelled at the beautiful "tropical" fish just a few yards into the sea. I saw a school of beautiful bright yellow angel fish amongst many others, and with a backdrop of beautiful colours of coral it really was a treat to see.

The guys in the beach shack, apart from dishing out the snorkelling gear, also provide kayaks and pedalos. I took out a single seat kayak once but personally prefer the "sit in" to "sit on" craft, but my more experienced friend took one out a couple of times.

There is a spa within the hotel room complex a "hammam" are available free between 1600 and 1900 everyday. I took a "hammam" (steam room) on a number of days, followed by a shower and found it really invigorating. The spa offers all manner of other treatments too.

I needed a haircut during the holiday so walked approximately three hundred yards out of the hotel to Chez Anita also known as Sunset Boutik. Anita has a combined shop, hair salon and beauty centre where she performs all manner of beauty and therapy treatments.i had a wonderful massage including an Indian Head massage which was really wonderful, as well as a pedicure. My wife and her friend had some henna art on their hands and feet, applied by Anita and her daughter, as well as my wife buying up Anita's stock of wraps !!! I strongly recommend a little walk from the hotel (turn right out of the rear gate walk along the road, just past the aquarium, and pay Anita a visit. We didn't visit the aquarium.

So all in all, ten days of utter relaxation, looked after by a very pleasant team of smiling people, who really couldn't do enough for you. One of the best hotels i have ever stayed in and a credit to the management team of Raymond supported by Kevin and Noel.

Room Tip: Although the ocean view rooms are more expensive, the views are stunning. Conversely, the rooms whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wyrleybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Recif Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs B,

Very big thank you for your kind words on our hotel and your warm appreciations of the professional and attentive service of our personnel: we are truly grateful for your compliments.

We were all very honored to serve you all 4 !! and we enjoyed your good mood and your sharp sense of humour !!

We shall very be very pleased to welcome you back at Récif Attitude.

Very best Wishes
Warm regards,

Raymond Duvergé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
8.9 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
948 reviews
5.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,122 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,579 reviews
10.1 mi away
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recif Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recif Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#3 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £76 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Recif Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the north west of Mauritius, Recif Attitude is a must if you want to go back to essentials, to recharge your batteries, to spend time together as a family or as a couple, to spend time with friends...Nestled in a white sandy creek overlooking a beautiful natural marine preserve, this "Adult Only" hotel is an invitation to Farniente. Guests can spend hours chatting, sipping an exotic cocktail bare feet in the sand or in one of the cosy sitting corners... At sunset, the ideal spot to watch that enormous orange sun entering the sea slowly...Dressed in white and wood, Recif Attitude is a mix of comfort, vibrant Mauritian soul and boutique hotel spirit. The 70 room hotel with its cubical architecture, modern furniture and refined design, is decorated with taste. Warm welcome, caring and discreet staff, together with unique body care and facials of the Spa Attitude, without forgetting the seafood restaurant, contribute to the subtle luxury of this 3 star sup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Recif Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Recif Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Le Recif Pointe Aux Piments
Recif Attitude Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing