We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most helpful hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived at the Oberoi in September having spent a few days in the south of the island at Chamarel. On arrival we were met by the staff with cool towels and drinks splendid after the drive north. We were introduced to GM Marc and were then whisked off to our room for check in.
As my husband is disabled the hotel offered to transport us around in their buggy to dinner as the restaurant was quite a long walk. This was total customer service at its best.
The following day I was advised that we would be changing rooms as the staff had noticed the difficulties my husband had with walking and they moved us to a stunning room with a view over the Indian Ocean close to all amenities. This meant that he was able to have a stroll to breakfast. The whole holiday was so relaxing and the service was outstanding. We did not have to order breakfast as they knew what we wanted and when to bring it!
The gardens here are really eye catching much better than a trip to the Botanic Gardens and we did the weekly walk( or push in my case as the hotel offrered a wheelchair) around the gardens. There were a lot of things to be done at the Oberoi that were all complimentary we did the walk, the glass bottom boat trip and the wine tasting but there were also lots of other activities to be had.
The food here was very good and on about the 10th night I really needed something just plain! So the chef made me a really nice pasta salmon dish. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in the dining room and everyone stopped to chat. It is amazing that from day 1 they all know your name.
I had noted from Trip Advisor before I went that a number of people made a comment about expense but you only get what you pay for and to us coming somewhere like the Oberoi Mauritius is a treat and what a good way to spend our sons inheritance!!
Thank you once again to all the staff at the Oberoi for your care and attention was gratefully received

Room Tip: 312 Excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llwyngwril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the personalised service provided by the team throughout your stay at The Oberoi, Mauritius. I am sure that your son will understand that his inheritance is well spent. Thank you for the lovely and fun review.

It was a pleasure meeting you in Mauritius last month. From the team and I,

very best and warmest regards.

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

The third Oberoi we stayed and we were at least as enchanted as by the others: spacious and well-attended room in a sumptious well-groomed garden setting with lots of individual space and tranquility. We were spoiled rotten by almost everybody: from kind gardeners explaining plants, animals and their job, to room staff (perfect attention twice a day in our absence without need to use the provided signs), reception, concierge, driver, bar ... and top notch restaurant staff, both in barbeque "on the rocks" and particularly in the main Restaurant, where staff actively engaged in conversations and was very attentive to any desire their guests might not even yet have devised themselves. Italian Chef and Team provide gourmet food gourmand portions, gained two kilos in 10 days... If you venture for local cuisine, you find ample delicious choices (and if so desired cooking instructions are more than readily provided) at all times - but also do try the "creole dinner" twice a week in the "wine cellar" nevertheless, a unique experience in quality and quantity food and personalised Service.

In the spa you believe you are the only guest they are attending... Also at his cocktail reception, the General Manager kept marketing profile low and guest service high, impeccable even for very demanding clients like my husband and I. Additionally, I got even more pampered over my birthday. Wouldn't give the details to not damage the suprise to you.

As for watersports, we only did snorkeling and pedal-boating. Snorkeling is good, although as for quantity and variety of fish at this time of year we've been to more exciting places. The Kiosk however takes great care to find good spots for you when taking you out on the daily tours, and they are very attentive in explaining what you saw and helping in any other way.

Also, treat yourself to the Hotel chauffeur service - you get what you pay for in the best sense of the expression. So, in a nutshell: A DREAM COME TRUE for all senses. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2worldtravelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Have just returned from 10 idyllic days in this little corner of paradise. From the moment we arrived till the moment Marc waved us off we were made to feel like the most important people they had all year- and I know all others felt the same. Food outstanding, the spa blissful, sundowners in the bar stunning ( and no the drinks are NOT expensive for this level of hotel) and the rooms perfect. Gardens beautiful and the overall effect better than pictures could ever be. Most importantly the service from all the team never fell short and felt personal rather than corporate- this may be due to the relatively few rooms.
A final mention for the water sport. and dive team who kept things so relaxed and even found us a whale to play with.
We'll be back again in the new year.

Room Tip: They're all good- have breakfast on your veranda from private dining at least once.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arrived after spending time in South Africa on Safari so definitely perfect for pure relaxation. Food was excellent, lots of choice and we ended up skipping lunch as a result. We welcomed the refreshing snacks of fruit and sorbet served poolside, the guys at the adult pool were just great. Staff are a credit to the hotel and our Spa treatments were some of the best we have ever had.
As we left at 4.30am we had a small group waving us goodbye - a nice end to a lovely stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Well, what can I say – The Oberoi lives up to all expectations and I can genuinely say that it is the best hotel I and my husband have ever stayed at! I hope my detailed review below will do it justice!

The service is impeccable from the moment you drive through the gates, from the grounds men to the general manager, everyone is consistently charming and professional.

We had a luxury Pavilion room (the standard) with views of the gardens, which was furnished beautifully.
Lovely four poster bed, with a medium/hard mattress with luxury quality linen.
The thought that has been put into the room facilities is exceptional – including a glasses rack providing you with the option of every type of glass for any type of drink!
The turn up and down service is handled with military precision – a whole team goes in to turn the room back into its glory every morning and evening – with fresh fruit placed in the room every day, and the most incredible towel sculptures left on the bed! (Small touches which were very well received – and quite comical at times!)

The Bathroom, although it was the smallest we had compared to the other two Mauritian resorts we stayed at, it was very well laid out with beautiful fittings. The bath is sunk into the ground, easily fits two people – you’ll probably find it already run with petals in there when you get back from dinner! Lovely toiletries and good sized shower which feels like your outside as there is an enclosed walled garden right next to you.

The layout of the hotel is lovely, the gardens are immaculate and there are fantastic sculptures every which way you turn.

There are two pools, the larger one is for everyone (family) and the second is for adults only. We were there in the low season so both were extremely quiet and relaxing. At the main pool you have a better selection of drinks to choose from – and the staff were so charming, bringing us nibbles through the day....ones that went with the drink we were ordering! The pool side food is also delicious – My husband never looked so happy eating a burger before!

The beach is very well maintained, deckchairs under palm umbrellas lined up all the way along. It is perhaps not the most stunning of beeches as the sand is not as fine as you will find up in the Trou aux Biches area. You will need protective footwear to swim and the low and high tides mean you need to pick your times right. But the pools more than make up for this, both are right behind the beech with stunning views.

The food – there are three choices:
1) The main restaurant (don’t need to book)– open breakfast and dinner – absolutely delicious! You wish you could stay longer so you could sample everything that is on the menu – I highly suggest eating light lunches so you can properly enjoy the feast at night (their signature smoked scallops were incredible!).
2) On the Rocks restaurant (you need to book in advance) – this is the grill restaurant sat right next to the beech – grilled meat and fresh fish galore! A more relaxed vibe than the main restaurant, with more rustic food. Definitely worth a visit.
3) The Wine Cellar – this is a real treat and was only open Monday and Friday night when we stayed – the cellar is not underground, it is set just above the main restaurant. It only fits three couples in a single sitting, a beautiful stone building with chandeliers and a very romantic atmosphere. It is a chance to taste a wide range of traditional Mauritian food – five starters, then five mains , followed by desert and coffee then liquors! I suggest no lunch the day you eat here! Book this as soon as you arrive and hopefully they will have a table for you during your stay.

There is also a main bar which you will be entertained by live musicians most evenings before and after dinner. The cocktail menu is very extensive and the barmen have serious skills – when I asked if they could make an espresso Martini (not on the menu) they promptly turned out the best espresso Martini I have ever tasted!

The hotel like most offer free water sports, like snorkelling and water-skiing etc. My husband made great use of these! We also had the opportunity to swim with Dolphins as a school had popped up just past the reef – we hired the hotel boat for half an hour (£60 for the two of us) and it was worth every penny! An activity that must not be missed! You may even get lucky and spot a whale shark.

The Spa is open from 8-8pm and is very kitted out for couples to enjoy a range of treatments together. Check at their reception for special offers, as when we stayed if you had your massage booked before 3pm you got 90 minutes for the price of 60 minutes.

There is a gym and 2 tennis courts, but we were too relaxed to make use of them!

Tipping – we are all used to having to tip when in resorts, and sometimes this can become a bit of a stressful exercise over a week. At the Oberoi they request that you do not tip staff individually and if you wish to leave a tip then to do so in an envelope at reception when you leave, noting down any people in particular you wished to thank. I know it allowed my husband to sit back and relax more than anywhere else we stayed at, and it meant all the staff are equally professional. It seems like a very good system to employ as everyone is treated equally.

A special mention to Keesh and Sonah who were so attentive and thoughtful throughout, you both really added to the grins on our faces each day! And to Marc Denton, the General Manager – you made us feels like VIPs!

Overall – yes, the Oberoi is expensive BUT is worth every penny!!! It is the only hotel that has left a lasting impression on us.....we are now more motivated than ever to be successful so that we may enjoy an Oberoi holiday once a year! I only hope we can be that lucky!

Room Tip: the luxury pavilions, although the standard room - are gorgeous and you feel very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Now experinced the " big four in mauritius"
The Oberoi is good
The grounds are well groomed
The staff exceptional
Thye food is very good both in the main restaurant and room service
Can't understand the great entuasiasim for a barbacue in on the rocks restaurant in the evening
Watersports are hampered by the less than ideal beach
So, on a par with St Gerain but different, better than Le Touserock
Royal Plam is the best

Room Tip: Sunken bath is adequate in the first place Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank britclark17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed for 9nights at this wonderful hotel. We are quite well traveled and this is one of the rare occasions when we could have and would have loved to have stayed longer. The hotel staff are all so polite clearly work very well as a team and can't do enough for you. Yes as other reviewers have stated there may be an odd mistake but hey these people are only human, we don't go on holiday to complain and indeed there is very little to complain about. Would we recommend this hotel... Yes definitely. Will we return....hopefully. Final comment .....just go there you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 512 it was the furthest room away from reception/restaurants, bar but fantastic front and side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeantaurus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,334 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,853 reviews
23.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
19.3 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £411 - £1,302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing