We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi, Mauritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We returned to the UK from this amazing island and even more amazing hotel a couple of days ago.
The 13 hour flight is worth every second from the moment that you enter the drive to the Oberoi.
We were warmly greeted with cold towels and mojitos, taken to our room immediately and checked in there. No sitting around in reception. This set the standard for the rest of our stay at a hotel which Marc Denton, the General manager and every member of his staff deliver with genuine friendliness and sincerity.
We have stayed in many superior hotels, but the Oberoi tops them all.
From day one, we were treated to a level of service that we have never experienced before by every member of staff we encountered, including the gardeners of which there are many.
The grounds of this ' sanctuary' are kept immaculate.
The two pools one of which is adult only, are beautiful, and the beaches of which there are three separate areas with lots of sun beds are sandy/coral and spotlessly clean. The beach bar service was really good with complimentary ice and water given out regularly along with surprising other treats during the day. Thank you especially to Keesh and the team.
The hotel beach activity team were really helpful, and there are lots of complimentary water sports.
Whilst we were there, the hotel hosted a Presidential state visit, and when speaking to Sonah the restaurant manager if he and his staff were busier because of it, he said Yes, but the guests always came first. This was evident.
The food and service in both restaurants in the hotel was wonderful.
We were accommodated in a luxury pavillion with fabulous views of both sea and mountains, which was absolutely beautiful. We lost each other in the massive bed which was so comfortable!
You must visit the spa and where we had the best couples massage from Preety and Isabelle in beautifully calm surroundings.
Do participate in the Touching Senses programme provided at no extra cost. We watched Ravi, a sous chef create a delicious fish curry, were taken around the grounds by a world famous conservationist, who explained the many trees, plants and animals, and went star gazing with another expert. There are many others too, but we ran out of time.
We now understand why guests return repeatedly, and we look forward to joining this list.

Finally to Marc, thank you and congratulations to you and all your staff, too many to mention by name for providing us with an experience which will never be forgotten.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guests GillyNewbury,

Thank you for this review full of nice compliments for our team. It is so heartwarming to read that you have recognised so many of our team members.

I hope you will not mind if I use your review to share some general comments in relation to other recent reviews.

Mr. and Mrs. GillyNewbury, I enjoyed our different chats, and look forward to welcoming you at the greeting pavilion next year.


Dear Guests,

As October is drawing to its end, I would like to express my most sincere gratitude to you all for having contributed in making this month a truly fantastic one. Your kind and encouraging reviews help us to strive further for service excellence.

Many of you mentioned the genuine friendliness and sincerity of our staff, the personal touches, individualised care and real concern that we provide. We have set the highest ethical standards and we pride ourselves in providing the best possible service to our guests.

We have again had comments on improving food choices, The Restaurant has been compared to award winning restaurants abroad, prices of meals and excursions have been questioned as well as other points raised which we have taken most constructively. We are grateful to receive feedback, and when genuine, we certainly act upon them to improve our overall guest experience.

From star gazing classes, nature walks, Ravi’s cooking classes in the herb garden, Baboo’s wine tasting sessions in the Gunpowder Barn, to the glass bottom boat trips,….we are also happy that our wide range of land and sea activities are always well appreciated by our guests.

Thank you for your continuous support.

The team joins me in sending you our best personal regards,

Marc Denton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    93
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
204
981
24
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

An excellent and unforgettable holiday at the Oberoi. Every other person is there to make your stay just perfect. Even if anything goes a little wrong, it is corrected right away with pleasure and smiles.
If I go into details, I can say that even the basic room provides total luxury. From the sea view rooms you can enjoy the most amazing sunsets.
There are two restaurants offering excellent food. If you are staying longer than usual the choices may seem limited. But this should not be an issue as the chefs prepare what you desire. They even buy it even if it is not stocked.
The location is beautiful, however I should say it is a little far if you want to visit other parts of the island. The drive through Port Louise slows down to a still during peak hours.
We stayed as a family with a young child and even though one feels this is a dream honeymoon destination families are also well catered for. All in all an excellent luxury holiday with highest level of service and customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impermos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Our two week holiday started with The Residence, we were worried to leave there because we had such a wonderful stay and always a concern may be that you move on and things may not have been better. Fortunately we were proved wrong and should not have worried. For me the key reasons for describing this hotel as above five star for the overall experience was for the personal touch, individualised care and real concern that you were having the best holiday. Examples include, they knew our names, our villa number, what we liked for breakfast, lunch and dinner, when the menu changed mid week, they were delighted to put on a dish from the prior menu, just because my husband mentioned it. During our stay an African President arrived for 3 days, the staff went out of their way to ensure all guests weren't upset by the additional security arrangements and kept checking this point.
Both restaurants were excellent although our preference was The main restaurant preferring The Rocks for our lunchtime salad and beer. The food was beautifully presented, small portion size of fine fining was appreciated and service all round excellent. I was particularly grateful to Sonah, one of the team leaders in the restaurant,who was very kind to me when I developed a bad cold. Without hesitation the ginger and lemon grass infusion was offered together with lavender cloth which really helped.
We stayed in villa 106 which I think had one of the best views are really good privacy in the pool. The sun set was immediately in front of our villa. The villa was beautifully clean and looked like it had recently been refurbished, a very comfortable bed and pillow!
There are so many waterspouts you can keep yourself occupied all day, we tried sailing, kayaking, snorkelling, there was also scuba, catamaran, parasailing and water skiing. We found the reef provided real shelter for the beach and snorkelling was therefore very calm, we have never seen such crustal clear water. The water temperature was between 28 and 30 inside the reef, a little collier outside but comfortable enough for snorkelling, be sure to ask the team for the best snorkelling areas,mew found some location were better than others, there was also some great snorkelling inside the reef off the beach although care needs to taken with all the passing boats. The watersports guys will give you a buoy to keep you safe.
Wi Fi access excellent. We did not turn the tv on or watch any of the films which were available.
All in all a wonderful stay and although we try new places we will definitely come back again, every box was ticked and we had the most brilliant time. Our very grateful thanks to the General Manager, Marc Denton, for leading a team of staff that really do want to ensure you have a fabulous holiday.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adafiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llwyngwril, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived at the Oberoi in September having spent a few days in the south of the island at Chamarel. On arrival we were met by the staff with cool towels and drinks splendid after the drive north. We were introduced to GM Marc and were then whisked off to our room for check in.
As my husband is disabled the hotel offered to transport us around in their buggy to dinner as the restaurant was quite a long walk. This was total customer service at its best.
The following day I was advised that we would be changing rooms as the staff had noticed the difficulties my husband had with walking and they moved us to a stunning room with a view over the Indian Ocean close to all amenities. This meant that he was able to have a stroll to breakfast. The whole holiday was so relaxing and the service was outstanding. We did not have to order breakfast as they knew what we wanted and when to bring it!
The gardens here are really eye catching much better than a trip to the Botanic Gardens and we did the weekly walk( or push in my case as the hotel offrered a wheelchair) around the gardens. There were a lot of things to be done at the Oberoi that were all complimentary we did the walk, the glass bottom boat trip and the wine tasting but there were also lots of other activities to be had.
The food here was very good and on about the 10th night I really needed something just plain! So the chef made me a really nice pasta salmon dish. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in the dining room and everyone stopped to chat. It is amazing that from day 1 they all know your name.
I had noted from Trip Advisor before I went that a number of people made a comment about expense but you only get what you pay for and to us coming somewhere like the Oberoi Mauritius is a treat and what a good way to spend our sons inheritance!!
Thank you once again to all the staff at the Oberoi for your care and attention was gratefully received

Room Tip: 312 Excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llwyngwril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the personalised service provided by the team throughout your stay at The Oberoi, Mauritius. I am sure that your son will understand that his inheritance is well spent. Thank you for the lovely and fun review.

It was a pleasure meeting you in Mauritius last month. From the team and I,

very best and warmest regards.

Marc Denton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usingen, Germany
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The third Oberoi we stayed and we were at least as enchanted as by the others: spacious and well-attended room in a sumptious well-groomed garden setting with lots of individual space and tranquility. We were spoiled rotten by almost everybody: from kind gardeners explaining plants, animals and their job, to room staff (perfect attention twice a day in our absence without need to use the provided signs), reception, concierge, driver, bar ... and top notch restaurant staff, both in barbeque "on the rocks" and particularly in the main Restaurant, where staff actively engaged in conversations and was very attentive to any desire their guests might not even yet have devised themselves. Italian Chef and Team provide gourmet food gourmand portions, gained two kilos in 10 days... If you venture for local cuisine, you find ample delicious choices (and if so desired cooking instructions are more than readily provided) at all times - but also do try the "creole dinner" twice a week in the "wine cellar" nevertheless, a unique experience in quality and quantity food and personalised Service.

In the spa you believe you are the only guest they are attending... Also at his cocktail reception, the General Manager kept marketing profile low and guest service high, impeccable even for very demanding clients like my husband and I. Additionally, I got even more pampered over my birthday. Wouldn't give the details to not damage the suprise to you.

As for watersports, we only did snorkeling and pedal-boating. Snorkeling is good, although as for quantity and variety of fish at this time of year we've been to more exciting places. The Kiosk however takes great care to find good spots for you when taking you out on the daily tours, and they are very attentive in explaining what you saw and helping in any other way.

Also, treat yourself to the Hotel chauffeur service - you get what you pay for in the best sense of the expression. So, in a nutshell: A DREAM COME TRUE for all senses. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2worldtravelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Have just returned from 10 idyllic days in this little corner of paradise. From the moment we arrived till the moment Marc waved us off we were made to feel like the most important people they had all year- and I know all others felt the same. Food outstanding, the spa blissful, sundowners in the bar stunning ( and no the drinks are NOT expensive for this level of hotel) and the rooms perfect. Gardens beautiful and the overall effect better than pictures could ever be. Most importantly the service from all the team never fell short and felt personal rather than corporate- this may be due to the relatively few rooms.
A final mention for the water sport. and dive team who kept things so relaxed and even found us a whale to play with.
We'll be back again in the new year.

Room Tip: They're all good- have breakfast on your veranda from private dining at least once.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived after spending time in South Africa on Safari so definitely perfect for pure relaxation. Food was excellent, lots of choice and we ended up skipping lunch as a result. We welcomed the refreshing snacks of fruit and sorbet served poolside, the guys at the adult pool were just great. Staff are a credit to the hotel and our Spa treatments were some of the best we have ever had.
As we left at 4.30am we had a small group waving us goodbye - a nice end to a lovely stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,287 reviews
23.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
11.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,246 reviews
10.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Property: The Oberoi, Mauritius
Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing