We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveller rating
1,460
105
30
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,460
105
30
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rockssunken bathwine tastingprivate diningmain restaurantluxury paviliontai chipool villaour honeymoongun powderwalk in wardrobethe general managerchef igordhiren pereiraadult poolturtle baycooking class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
882 - 887 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Myself and My husband spend 7days at Oberoi resorts.I would rate it as one of the best hotel,perfect setting with outstanding garden view and the Bay, a true paradise! beach with white sands,crystal clear waters.The villa's are decorated very tastefully,perfect luxurious surrounding too,highest standard maintained throughout.
All the staff were amazing provided impeccable service always,be it private dining,restaurants,house keeping, waiters or reception staffs all fab can not fault anyone!always smiling even the General Manager Mark Denton has a smile on his face always,it must be the oberoi Ethos,keep it up guys!I have not come across this level of services in any other 5* hotels anywhere else.Well done Oberoi.We were even allowed to keep our villa until 3pm ie 3hrs late check out as our flight was later in the evening,which was very useful..
I would like to mention few staff for their exceptional services,Nachasha ,Sohani,,Kenny at the front desk & karen restaurant manager,I could go on!
I highly recommend Oberoi as the best in Mauritius,its a unique luxurious experience,i could rave on!
LEELA PRAKASH

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEELAPRAKASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our holiday at the Oberoi Mauritius was the best experience I’ve had in years. My husband (who has stayed in many other Oberoi properties around the world before) was as mesmerized as I was; I think that’s a pretty good grade for this resort :) We booked this trip to Mauritius with luxurydestinations.co.uk and they offered great service and also very competitive prices.

Mauritius is sooo beautiful and the resort was almost as stunning as the island itself. After being greeted by the friendly GM, check in was a 5 minute affair and I couldn’t wait to see our Villa for the first time.. I’m glad we chose a villa with a private garden because it meant that we could dine outside. The bed was extremely comfortable and the whole villa kept clean all week. The best dining experience we had though was in the LOVELY restaurant On The Rocks, it doesn’t matter what you choose to eat because everything will taste divine when you have that incredible view of the Indian Ocean to accompany your meal!

We did take part in some activities and excursions (the wine tasting was great) but for the most part we just relaxed by the pool. Sometimes we went to the beach too - there’s nothing like a dip in the Indian Ocean - but the beach was a bit rocky but still beautiful. The silver lining of our holiday had to be the 10 +++ staff who all deserve an award. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we experienced genuine friendliness. I can’t imagine that any other resort in Mauritius beats the Oberoi and we’re already counting the days until our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just waiting in the Departure Hall of Maruitius Airport, have to admit that Oberoi has made us a perfect Honeymoon!
The villa, the food, the garden, the spa, the water sports center, the beach, actually everything are all stunning and always awesome.
Definitely, you will find the management is trying every efforts to make it an Eden for each individual guest, Great works!
Say, we had booked the dolphin watching early in the morning, to ensure we would not get into any trouble, they lent us a local mobile preloaded with a list of required numbers and prepared us an in-villa breakfast at 0530am and a basket packed with towel ; our departure is near evening ,so they delayed our check out time to1630pm....
Just so attentive!
Besides, the housekeeping is one of the best and most efficient we have even experienced.
Actually, from the gardener, to the restaurant waiters, to the customer relationships, all staffs are really friendly, helpful and cheerful.
We miss them all, we miss the Hotel.
Surely a great choice for all in Maruitiud.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwardlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Actually went here in July 2012 for the 2nd part of our honeymoon for 7 days. (I never got around to writing this earlier as there are so many good things to say and it will take me forever). Both myself and my wife still rave on about this place. The resort itself is absolutely amazing, the setting is perfect and most importantly the service from the staff at the oberoi is simply unique. No request is too much for them, they will surprise you time and time again (in a good way) and always exceed your expectation!

When we arrived in our taxi we were greeted by a staff member who had face towels and a bottle of water for us outside the cab. The general manager then came and congratulated and welcomed us to his hotel. We were assured to let them know of anything we required and thanked us for choosing to stay with them.
We were taken to our room as they show you where everything is/does in the room. As soon as we arrived there was a bottle of champagne and some samosa's etc and a letter to us personally to again congratulate us and to have a great stay. That night we had dinner at the main restaurant, the setting is absolutely perfect and peaceful. The food was amazing and the staff were very attentive and polite. A great romantic start to our stay in The Oberoi.
Next morning we went to the same restaurant for our breakfast, the staff see you coming and always acknowledge us by a 'Good Morning Mr & Mrs...How did you sleep etc? (Which is always a nice touch) The breakfast was cooked to order and was great! They knew we were going out of the resort that day so they gave us a box packed full of bagels, fruit, yoghurt etc when we left the breakfast area. This was a frequent occurence and really helped on our daily ventures. Rahul who was the catering manager at the time was great but so were his staff Mo, Nish etc.
We had dinner that night again within the hotel but this time at the 'On the Rocks' restaurant. Again the service and staff were amazing and by the end of the trip they knew my likes and added things in to my meals at no cost.

There was one occasion at breakfast where my wife wasn’t feeling too well due to a headache which the catering team acknowledged. We went out that day anyway around the island in our hire car. We then returned to our room and there was a knock at the door. Reception had sent over 6 lovely decorated chocolates on a plate with a get well soon note...Wow!! The message had been passed on from catering to the reception and they waited until we were home to give us this. That’s what I call customer service!!
Another occasion of great service was on our final night when a lizard was in our room. I called housekeeping who tried to get rid of it but they couldn’t as it was too fast and eventually couldn’t find it. So out we went for dinner and on return (i think as an apology for not being able to get rid of the lizard) they decorated the sunken bath with petals and candles around the edge...again no need to do this but just show’s how the oberoi go out of their way!!
As we hired a car from a local firm the hotel provided us with a sat nav to use throughout our stay. We travelled around the whole island and seen all the major attractions around the island in our own time and stopped off at various towns and cities. We also visited Port Louis and Grand Baie regularly as they were the closest places of interest to us. David the polite chap at reception went through all the must-see places.

All the staff were very respectful, even walking on the grounds of the hotel regardless of whether it is reception, maintenance, cleaners they will always stop what they are doing as you pass them and acknowledge you with a ‘namaste’. The hotel's primary concern is the welfare and safety of their guests. I realised this when we went somewhere in taxi or retirning home in one, the driver would always let reception know that we are with them, going to such and such place and the time we should be back to the hotel. We were so taken back by the CS here that we bought them loads of goodies before we checked out as a thank you. (They don’t accept tips to individuals during your stay). What a great stay, and this made us realise that the UK and other places around the world are so far behind in terms of ‘Going the extra mile’ for customers. Throughout we were treated like King and Queen and will definitely return one day!

Ps. A week after we got back to the UK we received a letter through the post that thanked us for giving them the gifts and chocolates when we checked out!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chet_D_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We are just coming back from one week at The Oberoi in Mauritius and had a wonderful time in this little paradise. We had a luxury pavillion with private garden and were able to check in right at our arrival around 9 am. Where to start: The hotel is located in a wonderful garden full a flowers, the individual pavillions are located all over the hotel, reception, bar and restaurant are open buildings. The staff is amazing: friedly, attentive, always smiling and helpful. The second morning I asked if they had mangos and they organized them for me. The beach has white sand, the water is crystal clear and as soon as you lie on your comfy sunbed in the shade, the staff brings you a bottle of water, fruitssticks or little cocktails. Dinner is served in the Restaurants and it is not a buffet which we loved. You eat à la carte every evening and they change the menu every four days. Food is delicious and ranges from local to international, it was really great. Also breakfast is individual. They only have a small buffet the rest can be ordered from their large breakfast menu. The staff is amazing, always smiling and helpful and making everyone feeling at home. I forgot my sons cuddly toy and they are sending it back home. They also served us a private full breakfast before our departure at 06:30. The hotel is located on the North West and you can reach the rest of the island easily. All rooms have free wifi and we had a Nespresso machine, iPod station, DVD player and a huge and comfortable bed. The Spas was also perfect and they organize free activities such as Yoga, Thai Chi every morning. We really had a wonderful vacation and hope to come back to Mauritius soon. We can only highly recommend The Oberoi and its staff which made our stay really special. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: If you can, book a Luxury Pavillon with private garden and if you have the budget, take one with a private pool ;-)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pitchounette73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews