We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just arrived”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived to Oberoi. First impressions are amassing. It all looks perfect!!! The staff is so pleasant and kind!!! The view from our pavilion is like on the postcard!! The whole resort looks like Maia Resort on Seychelles, which we visited in 2011. I love this kind of hotels and don't mind to pay for them!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ministar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We came here for our wedding anniversary and stayed for 12 days. We stayed in one of luxury pavilion rooms which was very spacious with our own private secluded outdoor area with sunbeds and faced the sea.

Would recommend the spa for treatments. Bikes can also be hired which was handy to head out to the local towns.

We didn’t go half board, as it seem to only work out good value, if you want 3 courses every night. The food is good, there were a few problems when we are there, but this was rectified immediately by the Executive Chef and Managers, nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was a la carte but you can still order as much as you want and was never crowded which was such a nice experience compared to other luxury hotels which still offer buffet breakfast.

The rocks is good if you want more relaxed BBQ food, recommend the seafood, whereas the main restaurant provided a more fine dining experience but equally room service was fast and efficient. If your choice was not on the menu, the chefs would make you what you wanted with no hesitation.

We also dined at the gun powder room which we recommend for the local cuisine experience, but make sure you go with an empty stomach as there is a lot of food!

The watersports facilities was very good and the team were excellent and very helpful and friendly and took us fishing everyday on the boat.

When we left for the early morning flight back to London, leaving the hotel at 4.30am, a breakfast packed lunch with fresh fruit, juice and pastries was supplied for our taxi journey back to the airport, what a nice finishing touch.

Overall excellent place for a relaxing holiday with great friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveller674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I have been very lucky to have enjoyed many "luxury" holidays over the years and there is no doubt that our holiday at the Oberoi over Christmas 2013 was our best ever. From the moment we arrived bleary eyed off the overnight flight from London, the customer service was superb. We were greeted by the team with cold towels and a refreshing drink and whisked straight to our beautiful room where a light breakfast awaited. The customer service was consistently excellent throughout our 9 day stay - whether that was in the restaurant, in the bar, at the watersports centre or at the gym. The room was kept spotlessly clean and was serviced quickly. Indeed, we never once came back to our room to find an unmade bed or towels which hadn't been changed. The food was superb. We ate in all 3 restaurants - including the Gunpowder Room - which isn't widely publicised but is well worth experiencing if you want to enjoy a traditional Mauritian feast in the privacy of a historic building. We're not drinkers, but we could have sat in the bar watching the sunsets and the world going by for ever. Drinks are reasonably priced - which has not always been our experience at 5 star hotels. We waterskied every day and the equipment was very good. We made full use of the free watersports and also took the day trip south to swim with dolphins - definitely a once in a lifetime experience and highly recommended. We are both keen runners, and were delighted to be able to do a decent run every evening along the beach. We always felt safe, which hasn't been the case when we've gone running on Caribbean beaches. As we were waved off by the team at 5am, there were tears in our eyes and we know that we will be back.

Room Tip: Our regular ocean view room was absolutely lovely. Not convinced that you need to upgrade to one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Mrs. Caroline M,

We thank you for your lovely review and for having chosen to spend your 2013 Christmas Holidays at The Oberoi, Mauritius.

We are extremely happy to learn that you appreciated the festivities and your holiday at our resort.

Allow me to seize this opportunity to wish you and your family, as well as all our Oberoi Mauritius guests, and all the Trip Advisor readers, a very happy and prosperous new year 2014!

Sincerely,

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I spent one night in Mauritius on business, and decided to stay at this magical property. It was a faultless experience in every respect. I would say it right up there with Aman resorts, except the location was not quite as exceptional as Aman resorts would have them. Excellent food, great gym, amazing room and bathroom - everything perfect. I should also mention the charming staff and the very nice general manager. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arthurlsbastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Mr. ArthurlsBastings,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you on a few occasions.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 – on business, or maybe also for leisure next time.

With best regards,

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have just completed an extended family break in Mauritius. We took 4 rooms so as to accommodate relatives traveling from various parts of the world, ranging from Ireland to Australia. The service before, during and after our stay was top class. I would add that, with one of our group being confined to a wheelchair, I had some reservations in advance. However, the management team at the Oberoi did a great job ensuring that all preparations were made so that wheelchair access not a problem. It was a memorable holiday and we are already planning our next trip! Thank you very much to Marc, Natacha and the rest of the team.

Room Tip: If you like the extreme luxury of having your own private pool, I would recommend villa + pool. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJCH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

i would say great staff , great food , one of the best resort i have seen in the world , it was a very nice to stay very friendly atmosphere ,safe place , the staff is always on the toes as our wish is there command,one of the best spa i have seen i would recommend great place for honeymoon and for family.

Room Tip: they have the villa concept and all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amideeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I should declare up front that I have a bias as we got married there. I say that as that could potentially make us more likely to overlook the negatives but, put frankly, I enjoy complaining. Even then, this was just the most amazing resort. There are small negatives which I will come to but these are just complete 'postscripts' and didn't take away from things at all. People obviously want different things from their holiday and our top priorities were relaxation and good food. It met what we wanted perfectly.

Firstly, the positives:
FOOD!
- Breakfast is incredible. It is the first hotel I've stayed in where breakfast is really a relaxing affair. There is a small buffet of breads and juices and meats/cheeses, etc. However, the real star is that there is a fantastic menu of freshly prepared treats: pancakes, waffles (amazing!), and the usual bacon and eggs, etc, as well as Mauritian fare too. I've never had a three course breakfast but here made it a daily ritual.
- Lunch is also good. We were on half board so this wasn't included. As other reviews have said, it is expensive but I found that it was still good value if that makes sense. For example, it normally cost us around £10-£15 each for lunch for, say, a freshly prepared spicy prawn salad type thing. These were delicious, good quality and also is in a proper restaurant with table service and nice bread on the side, etc, so we didn't feel short-changed at all. Obviously though it can add up, which is something to be wary of.
- Dinner. We went to On the Rocks a couple of times which is beautiful and romantic and has a simpler barbecued menu, made right next to the sea. Beautiful sea food and, surprisingly, a lovely meat platter too. The main restaurant is also lovely. I am going to be honest and say it isn't a mind-blowing 3-Michelin starred standard but I wouldn't want that for an entire week. It is however a mix of inventive and traditional dishes beautifully cooked and served, with a nudge towards local recipes, definitely worth 1 star as it was so consistently tasty. For example, a beautiful lamb shank cooked with rum and onions, or a kind of lightly smoked scallops (I think...?) - we loved it all. And dessert...don't even get me started on how nice the pistachio ice cream was.

- We both liked the layout of the pools and beach. Others have commented on the beach not being perfect but, again, for us it was lovely. The pools were infinity pools so you could look out over the sea from the them, or hop back and forth from the beach, with ample sun-loungers available at each and towels always quickly available
- the villa was absolutely incredible. We were lucky enough to have a pool villa and it was just stunning. It was cleaned quickly and efficiently (they got to know what kind of time we would be out, so they could clean it, turn down service was nice) and also well thought out. A lovely outdoor terrace to eat at, a couple of sun loungers, a massive bathroom and beautiful sunken bath, a proper coffee machine, etc.

Negatives (mostly really tiny things)
- Obviously it is very expensive. It is worth it but, hey, it isn't nice to not be able to afford to go back for so long!
- Perhaps a couple of evening activities could be more than once a week e.g. star-gazing could be more than once a week as we missed it and would have loved to have done it.
- I could see how some people wouldn't be happy with the sea as there is a lot of dead coral underneath it, but we just bought cheap diving shoes and it wasn't a problem for us at all.

WEDDING (just in case anyone else is looking at this hotel for that):
- Do it. We had a beautiful private ceremony on their quiet beach followed by a lovely candelit dinner on the beach and a Mauritian feast. We were made to feel really looked after and relaxed, my wife had a wonderful day getting ready in the spa, the cake the hotel made was beautiful, and it was just a brilliant day.

I could go on forever but I better wrap up the positives by saying that it is the ambience of the place that makes it a winner. The staff seem to have real pride in what they do. Obviously I don't know if they are paid more or just given more ownership and freedom over it, but they really make the difference and what could seem like a gimmick at another hotel just seems genuine here: staff say hello and remember your name, they can't get over quick enough if you need a towel on a beach chair, they will happily make sure you leave dinner completely full, they will clean your sunglasses by the pool (!): it goes on and on... this sounds all invasive but I should say that they are also quite happy to just let you get on with it and we didn't feel like it was in-your-face at any time. The hotel also offers free activities as part of their 'Senses' programme. Things like star-gazing, or wine tasting, etc. I know the hotel is expensive but we've stayed at other 5 star hotels that charge for things like this and here they are offered free and delivered really nicely. We watched the chef cook a fish curry and then we all sat down to eat it for lunch and it completely filled us up and was free. Another time, at wine-tasting Baboo wanted us to try a wine with some salted chocolate that he couldn't find so he hunted us down at dinner that evening and gave us a glass of dessert wine just so we could try the chocolate he had found. Just a couple of examples.

Too often you go on holiday and spend a lot of money on a hotel and then everything ends up costing so much when you're there that you resent it. Go half-board and enjoy the 'Senses' activities and the ambience and you will just feel spoiled and not regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Olly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,404 reviews
29 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,083 reviews
22.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,468 reviews
6.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £381 - £1,586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing