We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We went to oberoi Mauritius to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.. It was really a great experience from start to end.. Great service from everyone.. Great atmosphere.. Great scenery.. Thank you for making our anniversary trip so special..

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Skp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I'm baffled how a hotel like this can run so perfectly. The team are a credit to the management. It's a tricky one really , I don't really want to go into specifics about how great this hotel is because it will ruin the little surprises. I teach my team to under promise and over deliver at work , but when expectations run so high I wondered how this hotel was going to meet my expectations never mind exceed them. It did . We were booked into room 206 a pool villa. It was 14 steps from the beach the pool was warm the room fantastic. I was concerned the food wouldn't reach my high expectations but it beat them. If you don't see something you fancy just ask and they'll make it for you. The water sports team were superb , the scuba diving was in my opinion on par with the Maldives and sharm. I can't fault this hotel and their team. I normally never return to the same hotel. This is the exception to the rule. See you soon. Thanks Mark.
Neel and Vicki

Stayed: January 2014
5  Thank nbarchha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Barchha,

“I’m delighted”

Thank you for your compliments and praise. I have shared your review with the team, and everyone is really grateful to you for your kind words. We are also pleased to learn that you would consider breaking your rule, and have chosen to return. We hope to see you soon.

Thank you, Mr. and Mrs. Barchha.

With warm regards

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

amazing: food, service, spa etc

not amazing: tiny rooms, cold pool, outdated surroundings etc.

I had a nice time but would rather choose another place. It is not a real 5 star place in my opinion.... 4 star plus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank EnglishMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Ms. EnglishMango,

We have received your review with mixed emotions. Thank you for sharing your views.

Happiness that you found the service, food and spa of a high level.
Surprise and sadness that you found the resort outdated and that you rated the hotel as a 4 star.

We are also sorry to read that you felt that the overall surface of our room was particularly small.

I wish to provide some useful information to readers who may not have carried out preliminary research on the resort, and, who may not have looked at the photographs either on TripAdvisor or on the hotel website. The style and ambiance of the The Oberoi, Mauritius is one of intimacy and privacy and is designed with Asian and African influences. The Pavilions and Villas are all one level accommodation looking out to the gardens and the Indian Ocean. The use of thatch, volcanic stone and timber as well as the vast lush gardens gives it true a sense of place. The Oberoi, Mauritius is more a classic style resort than a contemporary one.

Ms. EnglishMango, thank you for having chosen to spend your holiday at The Oberoi, Mauritius. We truly regret that your impression of the resort is only average.

Sincerely,

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Beautiful property with outstanding service and fantastic cuisine.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were pampered and made to feel special.
The hotel manager is a true professional and you really sensed that all the staff were proud to work there.
Faultless.
We just weren't keen on Mauritius.

Room Tip: All are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jontymot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guests Jontymot,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cuisine at the resort, and that the team was able to personalize your stay.

Thank you too for the compliment.

Yours Truly,

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I only spent one night in this hotel but everything was perfect. The rooms are all very well appointed. Exceptionally comfortable. I love the inside/outside bath/shower facilities, lovely fluffy towels and bath robes.

Food is exceptional and service is first class.

Not only are the staff are warm and friendly they also have a great sense of humour.

I look forward to returning and spending more time at the Oberoi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just back ( Jan 14) from a wonderful 10 days at the Oberoi Mauritius. Just the place to relax in style with someone you love. The staff ensure that everyone feels like a member of the Crawley family of Downton Abbey - generating the kind of warmth and mutual respect which characterises relationships in the much loved TV series.
We arrived very early off the BA flight, but were greeted by the General Manager Mark and members of his team (typical of the hotel's attention and commitment to getting every detail right).
The whole ambience is geared to helping you relax. We went straight to the beach - where we enjoyed the drinks, fruit and sorbets supplied by attentive staff members.
Foodwise, there is plenty of choice and a consistently high standard. First night we took a barbecue at ' on the rocks' where the dress code is informal. Second night we tried the main restaurant, which generally did us proud all week. Third night we sampled a high standard of Mauritian dining in 'Gunpowder' which caters for only 6 people to make it an experience to remember.
The facilities throughout the property are top class. Our room was serviced unobtrusively to keep it immaculate. The spa provided everything you could wish for by way of a laid back space for having treatments and massages.
There is no doubt that the hotel is perfect for couples and families who enjoy spending time with one another. Other guests tend to be interesting individuals from a range of countries who are generally willing to socialise sensibly. But if you don't want to amuse yourselves - engaging in water sports and excursions whenever it takes your fancy - you should not expect lots of interaction or 'organised activities' (though 'star gazing' with a visiting expert was a pleasant surprise).
One episode from our stay exemplifies how the Oberoi will go the extra mile to make sure your holiday goes as intended. We took a day trip in the hotel car, which was arranged through the concierge service ably provided by a helpful young man called David who made sure we knew where to go and what to expect. Our wonderful driver Raj acted as our guide on a tour around the Southern part of Mauritius. Whilst we were out there was a technical problem with the car. Raj managed to identify the issue and organise a replacement vehicle whilst we looked round a couple of shops. Needless to say Raj made sure the rest of the day went without a hitch - and that we really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Our room with a private garden gave us somewhere we could retreat after a stint on the beach. The ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Oberoi over Christmas. We have visited Mauritius several times and previously stayed in two of the most highly rated Hotels on the island. Following a recommendation we booked the Oberoi and were certainly not disappointed. The General Manager of the Oberoi, Marc Denton heads up an exceptional team that are committed to providing a wonderful experience. The staff are superb and the food outstanding . The families celebrating Christmas there seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves with numerous child oriented activities. We enjoyed the opportunity to take advantage of the adult only pool and terrace. We would certainly return to the Oberoi when we next visit the Island.

Room Tip: We would prefer a villa with a sea view rather than a villa with a pool - or you can have both at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,431 reviews
29 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,157 reviews
22.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,507 reviews
6.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £376 - £988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing