We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife and i honeymooned here= HEAVEN on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

In April of 2013 my wife and i spent 10 days here for our honeymoon. We spent hours reading reviews looking at others opinions- what a waste of time! Peoples opinions are their opinions, this is a place where you will have to make your own opinions and memories- memories of which we will always cherish and never forget.
On arrival we were greeted by the manager of the resort Mr Marc Denton and a few members of the team. They greeted us with their warmest welcomes, best views and cocktails. We knew we were in paradise.
The surroundings were phenomenal,beautifully kept gardens, cleanest oceans and staff that went above and beyond!!!
Me and my beautiful wife had the most romantic moments every second of every day, memories we will cherish forever and can not wait to return to re-live some of the great experiences we had together.
An example of the service here is this- my wife is petrified of bugs, we had a private villa with a pool, it became to much for her, I got on the phone, with in 15 minuets we had five members of staff over making it bug free, cutting down all the trees and bushes and totally exterminating the problem.
We will be returning here and have had the best holiday of our lives! thank-you to all the staff and Mr Denton for making this our dream honeymoon and for the great memory's we will cherish.
One negative I will say is, the service is so great on our return to the UK we became so offended in every restaurant, bar and hotel we have stayed in because the service at the Oberoi Mauritius is second to none!!!

Room Tip: You pay for quality, get a beach room or a private villa with a pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Mr. Kam h,

I wish to thank you for your delightful Trip Advisor review further to your honeymoon at our resort in April 2013.

We are truly pleased to learn that the staff, the food as well as the landscape left you with so many fond memories.

While all necessary measures have been exercised to ensure a relatively insect-free environment for our guests, the seasonal and climatic changes of our tropical setting prove challenging at certain times of the year. We are glad that our team dealt efficiently with the insects problem.

Mr. Kam h, thank you again for having stayed with us and we do look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Mauritius for one of your many anniversaries.

Sincerely,

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Everything about this resort is first class . The staff were second to none , nothing to much trouble , the room was excellent , the breakfast is superb , , the food at the restaurant was excellent , the water sports available are fabulous , we stayed three nights wish it had been longer , we will go again ,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A fantastic hotel, the highlights of this place are the restaurant with its outstanding kitchen, the charming staff - from the receptionist to the General Manager - and the water sports offered. We had a great time at the hotel from arrival to departure and we looking forward to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd stay within a year at this wonderful resort, What makes this stands out is not just the beautiful accommodation and surroundings but all the wonderful staff who without exception make this an absolutely delightful place to stay. Nothing is a problem and everything is tailored to individual needs. Even the Head Chef asked us if we had any special requirements to just let him know. The staff are the most friendly and attentive that I have ever met and I have stayed in a lot of 5 star resorts.
Raj met us at the AirPort and transported us to the Hotel in a quick and efficient manner in a very nice BMW. We have come to know him a little now and he has a very warm and friendly manner. He also took us on an excursion during our stay and he is very knowledgeable, he made the whole experience very interesting and enjoyable. Again it is all about tailoring to individual needs.
On our arrival we were met by Natacha and Amanda and after welcoming drinks were shown to our glorious Royal Villa, wonderful views and great accommodation.
It was my birthday during our stay and all the staff knew and extended their good wishes throughout the day, this was then concluded by an exceptional Dinner on the beach. A truelly memorable experience that my husband will find hard to follow, unless I spend all my birthdays here which is not such a bad idea!!
The food is also delicious with a choice of Restaurants providing a good range of choices. The waiters are very quick to remember your likes and dislikes and are always very helpful and ready to cater to your every need.
A visit to the Spa is an absolute must, even my husband availed himself of their treatments and was not disappointed.
We were made to feel like part of the Oberoi family which made us feel very much at home but in much better surroundings.
Marc Denton, the General Manager, has a lot to be proud of here and to be honest needs to change nothing as this place is an absolute Jewel in the Crown.

Room Tip: Royal Villa 412 has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Mrs. Sue R,

We had equally great pleasure pleasure in welcoming you and Mr. R back at The Oberoi, Mauritius for a third time in the span of a year. We are naturally delighted that we have lived up to your expectations once again.

Thank you for recognising Chef Erik, Raj, Natacha and Amanda. They were very pleased to see their names in your review.

Mrs. Sue R, we do look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Mauritius on your next visit to Mauritius. Mr. R will again be cross with me, as I still have no intentions of closing the gym despite that he keeps asking me to do so. It is there for a good reason!

With my best personal regards,

Marc Denton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in July 2013. The whole stay was faultless, from the amazing reception with a virgin mojito when we arrived through to staff and manager seeing us off as we left. The bungalow with private pool was beautiful, as we're the grounds and beach and the food was delicious. But the service was beyond perfect... we've never been so well looked after, with such pleasance and humour. Simply perfect.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Psychicdante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

One of the most extended resorts and still only 75 rooms. Very well located at the North-west coast and therefore hardly any rain. A little bit outdated, but everything is very clean, impeccable service and good facilities. The rooms are big with a nice view, balcony and big bathroom with a big shower. Breakfast is superbe with a buffet and also a la carte, all included. The beach is rather small, but there are two nice swimming pools. Snorkelling can be done, but not much too see. The Spa is expensive, but ok. The restaurants are good, especially the one at the pool. Superb grill! Further I would advise to have dinner at the neighbours, the Maritime Hotel. They have a restaurant called Chateau Mon Desire. Very good. Even better was The Pescatore, about 12 minutes drive. Visit for sure Port Louis and forget Grand Bay. Very touristic and bad restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Oberoi Mauritius is absolutely deserving of the #1 spot on Trip Advisor.
From the moment we arrived at the airport to the moment of departure, the service and staff were warm, friendly and efficient. Rooms are clean, light, airy and spacious. The bathrooms are lovely and large with excellent water pressure. Despite walking along the beachfront of multiple other properties, we never saw anything which came close to comparison. It would be hard to over-emphasize how lovely and friendly each member of staff was-this makes such a difference to the guests’ experience. Pool and beachside service was terrific, particularly the regular delivery of ice cold water. Complementary water is also replenished in the rooms twice each day. Nespresso coffee machines and real/fresh milk in the mini-bar adds a nice touch to in-room convenience. Sunset-watching from the main bar while sampling some local rums is highly recommended. “On the Rocks” provides a tasty assortment of salads and wraps for lunch (try the Spiced Beer Cooler for something unusual) and fresh grilled-to-order fish for dinner. The main restaurant offers an interesting assortment of European fare, along with some delicious Mauritian, Indian and Creole dishes. Of the various “extra” activities on offer, I highly recommend the Tuesday night star-gazing. A passionate, knowledgeable astronomer provides an interesting commentary of the current night’s sky including observation through a high-tech telescope. We saw the Southern Cross (didn’t need the telescope for that!) as well as Jupiter and Mars. A couple of bonus shooting stars added to the experience. We are not ones to re-visit places-there’s a big wonderful world to explore-but our exceptional experience here may make us re-consider and return to Mauritius in a few years. If so, I promise you it will only be at the Oberoi. Maybe a villa with private pool next time…

Room Tip: We had a room in the 5-series...sea view lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,334 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,851 reviews
23.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
19.3 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £408 - £1,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing