We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi, Mauritius
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$256
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$323
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$432
US$405
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$601
US$555
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveller rating
1,460
105
30
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,460
105
30
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rockssunken bathwine tastingprivate diningmain restaurantluxury paviliontai chipool villaour honeymoongun powderwalk in wardrobethe general managerchef igordhiren pereiraadult poolturtle baycooking class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
799 - 804 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The customer service has just been outstanding. I cannot fault the efficiency and courtesy with which our booking, queries and changes have all been dealt with. Stayed at many 5 star hotels but the service and attitude from the top down is what sets the best apart from the rest. A 5 star service before we have even got there. This is my first hand travel experience directly with the hotel.Can't wait for the actual stay if this excellent level of service is anything to go by... so watch this space!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 35Abp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your pre review of our resort. We are thrilled that all aspects of your booking are in place and we could accommodate your requests. The team joins me in awaiting you, your family and friends arrival at the resort. We will endeavor to ensure that you all have a memorable stay with us.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a two week stay in the oberoi for our honeymoon. It is a beautiful hotel, the grounds are immaculate, covered with colourful flowers. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern with lots of facilities and an amazing sunken bath. We were lucky to get a room with an ocean view which was fab. The pool and beach are fantastic and the staff being you complimentary water, towels and fruit kebabs to keep you hydrated. The food is equisite. It is expensive but this was expected having booked into a luxury hotel. It is so delicious, it is worth every penny. There are two restaurants, we especially liked the on the rocks restaurant which overlooks the sea. We especially loved the on the
rocks restaurant. Lastly the staff are great. They are so polite
and friendly. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ssarahmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi, Mauritius for your honeymoon. We are delighted that you have carried back fond memories. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the services and product on offer and are considering to return back in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Oberoi, having stayed 4 nights previously at the Residence on the East side of the island. The Residence was excellent, and the Oberoi was much more expensive, so we wanted to see if we felt we'd achieved value for money.
The answer is yes. The Oberoi was just beautiful, we were impressed by the thought that's gone into the design, and the beautiful gardens. The service was certainly excellent, but we really liked the resort itself, which is very spacious and relaxing.
The beaches on the East coast are of fine white sand, whilst the Oberoi beach is course coral sand. This didn't bother us particularly, but bearing this in mind, we were surprised by the number of young families staying at the Oberoi. I wouldn't have thought this hotel was at all suitable for young children. I have to admit that we spent our meal times trying to avoid being seated next to tables with toddlers !
There is an adult only pool, and we spent a good deal of time there. This was very peaceful and has lovely views.
Both restaurants are lovely, and there was a good variety of food. Special thanks to Lorenze, who seemed to be working every shift. And to Rabin for his sense of humor and funny laugh.
We were on B&B only, as we didn't think the half board rate was good value. This view was expressed by people we met who were on half board. However, we noticed that VAT is not included on the menu prices. This was very odd, and initially quite deceptive. Unless VAT is optional, why wouldn't you put that in the price ?
We attended the wine tasting session with Baboo, who was very entertaining and a great character. Baboo is very proud of his friendship with David Coulthard, who has stayed at the hotel ! We also attended the star gazing session, which is taken by a very knowledgeable chap from the astrological society.
Our only grip is that tips/service is not included in the bill. In fact, when you read the room directory, it implies that tips are frowned upon. The service is so exceptional here, that guests should be offered the opportunity to leave a tip when they settle the bill at the end of their stay.
We had to leave for our flight at 04.30am on the day of departure. Dodger made sure we had coffee and pasties in our room before we left, and even wanted to make us a packed lunch.
We had a wonderful time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. The Oberoi is located on the north west coast of Mauritius which enjoys significantly better weather than the rest of the island especially during the Mauritian winter. Sunny days and a non cloudy sky are the order of the day.

Our menus are in line with our competitive hotels on the island where we price all items without VAT. We have taken your feedback on board and will review this decision.

We do not encourage individual tips being given to staff during your stay. We request all guests to leave the say should they so desire in an envelope at reception at the end of their stay and our gratuities are divided equally amongst all team members.

We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose to stay at The Oberoi, Mautirius for our honeymoon and it certainly lived up to our expectations...and much, much more. The hotel is set in beautifully kept grounds and the rooms/suites are very spacious and fitted out to a very high standard while there are several beaches/pools to spend the day on/at. There is fantastic choice of food at both the main restaurant and at "On The Rocks", the second restaurant by the beach - every single meal we had was delicious and always served with a smile. What really sets the Oberoi apart from other hotels, however, is the service - every single member of staff we encountered was friendly, welcoming but above all attentive to our every need. I can't recommend this hotel enough to those looking for a top hotel with world-class service...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexF992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank for for choosing Mauritius and The Oberoi for your honeymoon.the team is delighted that you have carried back fond memories if your stay with us. The team endeavors to ensure that all guests who come through our doors leave as ambassadors of Oberoi Hotels and Resorts. We are pleased that we have achieved the same. We look forward to having you, your family members and friends at the resort in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

For our 5th trip to the island we decided to go to The Oberoi, based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Of the other hotels on the island that we have stayed in, the service levels were matched only ( in our experience) by The Residence on the other side of the island. However the Oberoi wins for us due to the standard of accommodation (all private villas so no wandering down endless corridors of identical rooms), the separate "adults only" pool and beach, the gardens and views. We stayed B&B as we have previously found that the additional cost of half board only makes sense if you can eat three courses of pretty rich food every night. We also wanted the opportunity to visit a previous haunt Chateau Mon Desir (in the grounds of the Maritim hotel) to enjoy the dining there. Indeed the only reason we have given a 4 star rating rather than 5 star was the food ( we have already given feedback to the hotel). It is all pretty rich (protein and carbohydrate heavy) at dinner. Vegetables (at least on our trip) appeared to be a bit of an after thought and rather overcooked so we ended up asking for salad as an option. We opted for room service on a couple of occasions so that we could get some simpler lighter food (Caesar salad/ pasta). However, this niggle aside I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the island for the first time as it gives a fabulous introduction to the joys of Mauritius.

Room Tip: Villas numbered at the lower end are closer to the main pool, beach and main restaurant. Rooms numbered from 400 are closer to the adults only pool. Other than that I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Discerning007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi for your fifth visit to Mauritius. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

We most certainly value the feedback on the food that was given by you. I would like to let all readers know that we have a vegetarian menu each night for dinner with varying healthy and light options for our guests to choose from. We have just changed our room service menu to include lighter and snack items as well. On the Rocks, our lunch and BBQ dinner restaurant also offers light fare at all meal periods.

We thank you once again for choosing The Oberoi and look forward to your continued patronage of Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews